Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/12/2023 and 06/11/2024 were filed before the mailing date of the FAOM. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. claim 1 line 10 – “ heating means ” is revealed in the specification as “ heating resistance ” ( paragraph 66 ) and deemed to read on resistance heaters or equivalent structures capable of producing heat Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 -5, 8, 11, and 13-1 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berberich et al (US20170241712A1 published 08/24/2017; hereinafter Berberich ). Regarding claim 1 , Berberich teaches a n apparatus (a laboratory device having a melting apparatus – paragraph 9) for processing a histological sample to be embedded in an embedding material, comprising a dispensing system (a melting apparatus 200 – paragraph 9 and Fig. 2) of embedding material arranged to dispense different layers of embedding material in a liquid state, wherein said dispensing system comprises: - a containment tank (a reservoir container 400 – Fig. 2) for receiving solid grains of embedding material (paraffin 1 – Fig. 2) , - at least one hopper operatively connected to said containment tank and configured to gradually convey the embedding material poured within the containment tank (a screw conveyor system 410 – Fig. 2) , - at least one heated container (a melting container 210 – Fig. 2) operatively connected to the at least one hopper by means of at least one connection duct ( a duct formed by walls around the screw conveyor system 410 – Fig. 2) , wherein the at least one heated container comprises heating means (melting container heating device 220 comprising inductor s in the form of coil windings 220 – paragraph 40 and Fig. 2) arranged to heat a volume of the at least one heated container at a temperature useful for melting the embedding material received in a solid state from the at least one hopper (the melting container heating device 220 melts paraffin 1 – Fig. 2) (“ useful for melting the embedding material received in a solid state ” is an intended use of the heating means and deemed to read on a heater capable of a volume; see MPEP 2114.II), so that the at least one heated container is arranged to receive material still in the solid state conveyed by the at least one hopper (solid paraffin 1 in the top of the melting container 210 – Fig. 2) and to melt the solid grains making embedding material in the liquid state (molten paraffin from the bottom of the melting container 210 – Fig. 2 and paragraph 41) , and - at least one dispensing device operatively connected to the at least one heated container (a valve 230 and a storage container 300 – Fig. 2) , arranged to automatically regulate an outflow of liquid material to be poured within a containment group containing the histological sample (the valve 230 opens with a signal from a fill level sensor 320 – paragraph 42) , - wherein the containment tank, the at least one hopper and the at least one heated container are connected to each other in cascade (the reservoir container 400, the screw conveyor system 410, and the melting container 210 are connected in cascade – Fig. 2) , so that limited quantities of embedding material received in the solid state from the at least one hopper are gradually melted in the at least one heated container (limited quantities of paraffin 1 in the melting container 210 – Fig. 2) , compared to a total quantity introduced within the containment tank (a total quantity of paraffin 1 in the reservoir container 400 – Fig. 2) . Regarding claim 2 , Berberich teaches t he apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said dispensing system comprises an electronic controller (a control device 195 – paragraph 38) configured and programmed to control multiple dispensing processes (the control device 195 can preferably be configured to activate melting container heating device 120 – paragraph 38) (the control device 195 configured to open a valve – paragraph 38) , and wherein said dispensing system is integrated within an automation system configured to work continuously and to connect different processes on the embedding material (automatic refilling from a reservoir container can also occur, for example by means of an automatic transport device – paragraph 16) , before and after operations performed with the dispensing system ( the melting apparatus 200 is capable of being connected to different processes – paragraph 42 ) . Regarding claim 3 , Berberich teaches t he apparatus according to claim 1, wherein within the at least one heated container there is a heated area for melting the solid grains (an oblique floor 212 – Fig. 2 ) , wherein the heated area comprises a heated surface arranged to receive by gravity the solid grains from an upper opening in communication with the at least one hopper (the oblique floor 212 having a heated surface to receive by gravity the paraffin 1 from an upper opening of the screw conveyor system 410 – Fig. 2) , and to melt the solid grains thus deposited on the heated surface (the paraffin 1 melts on the heated surface of the oblique floor 212 – Fig. 2) . Regarding claim 4 , Berberich teaches t he apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the heated area has an extension (an intermediate floor 211 – Fig. 2) substantially covering a volume of the at least one container below the heated area (the intermediate floor 211 covering a volume of melting container 210 – Fig. 2) , preventing a direct fall of the solid grains from the upper opening towards a bottom wall of the at least one heated container (the intermediate floor 211 prevents the paraffin 1 from directly falling to the bottom of the melting container 210– Fig. 2) . Regarding claim 5 , Berberich teaches t he apparatus according to claim 4, wherein within the at least one heated container there is a peripheral free space (a detachable sieve 250 – Fig. 2) obtained between a side surface of the at least one heated container and a perimeter of the heated area (the detachable sieve 250 located between a side wall of the melting container 210 and the oblique floor 212 – Fig. 2) , wherein said peripheral free space is obtained with a function of making the solid grains melted on the heated surface pass, towards the bottom of the heated container (the detachable sieve 250 is capable of allowing melted paraffin 1 to pass towards the bottom of the melting container 210 – Fig. 2) , and wherein the heated surface has an inclined shape so as to direct the liquid material from a central area of the heated surface, towards the peripheral free space (the oblique floor 212 is inclined to direct the paraffin 1 from a central area of the oblique floor 212 towards the detachable sieve 250 – Fig. 2) . Regarding claim 8 , Berberich teaches t he apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the dispensing device (the valve 230 – Fig. 2) is operatively connected to the at least one heated container by means of a dispensing duct ( a duct between the valve 230 and the melting container 210 – Fig. 2 ) , and wherein the dispensing duct has a proximal portion connected to a bottom opening obtained on the bottom wall of the at least one heated container ( a proximal end of the duct is connected to a bottom opening of the melting container 210 – Fig. 2 ) . Regarding claim 11 , Berberich teaches t he apparatus according to claim 8, wherein said heating means (coil windings 220 – Fig. 2) comprise a first heating resistance configured to heat the heated surface on which the solid grains of embedding material is deposited (middle coils of the coil windings 220 is capable of heating the oblique floor 212 – Fig. 2) , a second heating resistance configured to heat the structure of the at least one heated container (top coils of the coil windings 220 is capable of heating the top of the melting container 210 – Fig. 2) , and a further heating resistance to heat the dispensing duct (bottom coils of the coil windings 220 are capable of heating the duct by the valve 230 – Fig. 2) . Regarding claim 13 , Berberich teaches t he apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the dispensing system comprises a single heated container (melting container 210 – Fig. 2) to which two dispensing devices are connected (the valve 230 and a separation apparatus 250 – Fig. 2) , to parallelize the dispensing of different layers of embedding material (the valve 230 and the separation apparatus 250 are capable of dispensing paraffin 1 at the same time – Fig. 2) . Regarding claim 14 , Berberich teaches t he apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the at least one heated container is a container of cylindrical shape (the melting container is a cylinder – Fig. 2 and paragraph 40 ) defining a side wall (a side wall below the intermediate floor 211 – Fig. 2) , an upper wall (a side wall above the intermediate floor 211 – Fig. 2) and said bottom wall (a horizontal bottom wall below intermediate floor 211 – Fig. 2) , and wherein the upper wall has said upper opening connected to an end portion of the connection duct, to receive the solid grains from the at least one hopper (the side wall above the intermediate floor 211 is open to the duct of the screw conveyor system 410 to receive paraffin 1 from the reservoir container 400 – Fig. 2) . Regarding claim 15 , Berberich teaches a process for embedding a histological sample in an embedding material, wherein a step of dispensing embedding material is provided for dispensing different layers of embedding material in the liquid state, wherein said process comprises the steps of: - setting up an apparatus according to claim 1 (Fig. 2), -inserting the solid grains of embedding material within the containment tank (paraffin 1 in the reservoir container 400 – Fig. 2) , - gradually conveying the poured embedding material within the containment tank by means of the at least one hopper ( the screw conveyor system 410 conveying paraffin 1 – Fig. 2 and paragraph 45 ) , - melting the solid grains of embedding material gradually received from the at least one hopper ( the screw conveyor system 410 gradually transfer paraffin 1 to the melting container 210 – Fig. 2) , by means of said at least one heated container (the melting container 210 melts paraffin 1 – Fig. 2) , and - dispensing a layer of embedding material in the liquid state by means of said dispensing device (the valve 230 opens with a signal from a fill level sensor 320 – paragraph 42) , so that in the at least one heated container limited quantities of embedding material received in the solid state from the at least one hopper are gradually melted ( limited quantities of paraffin 1 are melted in the melting container 210 – Fig. 2) , compared to a total quantity introduced within the containment tank (a total quantity of paraffin 1 in the reservoir container 400 – Fig. 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 6 -7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berberich in view of Yang et a l (US Pat No. 6,441,348 B1 published 0 8 / 27 /2002; hereinafter Yang ) . Regarding claim 6 , Berberich teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the heated area is supported within the at least one heated container spaced above the bottom wall (the oblique floor 212 is above the bottom of the melting container 210 – Fig. 2), wherein one support rod vertically extending within the at least one container (a rod extending from the detachable sieve 250 – Fig. 2), such that the heated area (the oblique floor 212 – Fig. 2) and the support rod ( the rod – Fig. 2) form an umbrella configuration covering the volume of the at least one container below the heated area (the oblique floor 212 and the rod form an umbrella configuration covering the volume the melting container 210 below the oblique floor 212 – Fig. 2) , preventing the direct fall of material coming from the at least one hopper onto the bottom wall (the oblique floor 212 and the rod preventing the direct fall of material onto the bottom of the melting container 210 – Fig. 2) . However, B erberich does not teach a support rod extending from the bottom wall. Yang teaches an apparatus for melting paraffin wax comprising a support rod extending from the bottom wall (a pillar, with a fast heat thermistor 36 and a safe temperature thermistor 39, extending from a heat conducting plate 26 – Fig. 1 and column 3 lines 25 and 44). Yang teaches to use the pillar with the arranged thermistors 36, 39 (Fig. 1) to provide feedback to the control circuit 34 to keep the paraffin below the safe temperature limit (column 3 lines 43-46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the melting container 210, as taught by B erberich , with the pillar and thermistors 36, 39, taught by Yang, to keep the paraffin below the safe temperature limit. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Berberich and Yang teach devices for melting paraffin. Regarding claim 7 , Berberich , modified by Yang, teaches the apparatus according to claim 6 . Although Berberich , modified by Yang, does not teach wherein the heated surface has a general substantially conical shape with two sides sloping in opposite directions joined at a central upper vertex, or a general shape of a spherical cap , Berberich teaches an oblique floor 212 with a shape and dimension that would not perform differently than the claimed spherical cap. Per MPEP 2144.04IV a change of shape of the container is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berberich in view of Robinson et al ( US20090026230A1 published 01/29/2009; hereinafter Robinson ) . Regarding claim 9 , Berberich teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the dispensing device comprises an automatic adjustment device (a fill level sensor 320 – paragraph 42) for automatically adjusting the outflow of liquid material (control device 195 recognizes that the quantity of molten paraffin 4 has reached or exceeded a predefinable upper threshold, control device 195 can preferably be configured to deactivate melting container heating device 120 and/or to close the valve. – paragraph 38), including a valve (a valve 230 – Fig. 2) and a dispensing tap (an outlet of the melting container 210 – Fig. 2), and wherein the dispensing tap is controlled by the valve (the outlet of the melting container 210 is controlled by the valve 230 – Fig. 2) which is controlled by the electronic controller on a basis of a feedback signal sent by a level sensor for measuring the level of liquid material deposited on the bottom of the at least one heated container (the fill level sensor 320 interact with valve 230 in such a way that valve 230 opens as soon as the fill level of the molten paraffin in storage container 300 reaches or falls below a predefinable lower threshold value – paragraph 42). However, Berberich does not teach a solenoid valve. Robinson teaches a solenoid-actuated thermoplastic material dispensing valve assembly with a solenoid valve (electromagnetic solenoid assemblies 104,106 – paragraph 15). Robinson further teaches electromagnetic solenoid assemblies can be accurately adjusted to optimize the operational cycles of the hot melt adhesive or other thermoplastic dispensing valve assembly (paragraph 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the valve, as taught by Berberich , with the solenoid valve, taught by Robinson, to optimize the operational cycles of the hot melt adhesive or other thermoplastic dispensing valve assembly. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Berberich and Robinson teach device for melting and dispensing hot melt adhesives . Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berberich , modified by Robinson, in view of Sears et al ( US20200174029A1 published 06/04/2020; hereinafter Sears). Regarding claim 10 , Berberich , modified by Robinson, teaches the apparatus according to claim 9 . However, Berberich , modified by Robinson, does not teach wherein the electronic controller is configured and programmed to take into account, during a dispensing operation, information previously acquired on a volume occupied by the histological sample within a mould , and on a size of a bottom of the mould , in order to adequately calibrate dispensing of a quantity of embedding material to reach a predetermined level. Sears teaches a tissue processor wherein the electronic controller (a tissue processor can include a controller configured to receive the reagent data from a server or computing system – paragraph 14) is configured and programmed to take into account, during a dispensing operation, information previously acquired on a volume occupied by the histological sample within a mould (checking whether the measured purity level meets a predetermined purity level of the reagent associated with the at least one container – paragraph 12), and on a size of a bottom of the mould , in order to adequately calibrate dispensing of a quantity of embedding material (at least one sensor for detecting a level of the process fluid in the retort – paragraph 43) to reach a predetermined level (the controller operate the tissue processor to stop filling prior to reagent being delivered to the at least one container – paragraph 39) . Sears teaches to use the controller to check if the reagent purity is within the tolerance range of values of the predetermined purity level (paragraph 19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the control device 195, as taught by Berberich as modified by Robinson, with the controller, taught by Sears, to check if the reagent purity is within the tolerance range of values of the predetermined purity level. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Berberich , Robinson, Sears teach device for dispensing hot melt adhesives . Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berberich in view of Thiem et al (US Pat No. 6,827,900 B2 published 12/07/2004; hereinafter Thiem ) . Regarding claim 12 , Berberich teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the dispensing system comprises two heated containers (the melting container 210 – Fig. 2) (a storage container 300 is also heated – Fig. 2 and paragraph 42) operating in parallel to the containment tank by means of a respective hopper (the melting container 210 and the storage container 300 are capable of operating in parallel and connected to the reservoir container 400 via the screw conveyor system 410 – Fig. 2). However Berberich does not teach two heated containers connected in parallel, wherein each of the two heated containers comprises a respective dispensing device, so as to parallelize the dispensing of different layers of embedding material. Thiem teaches an automatic stainer comprising two heated containers connected in parallel (multiple melting containers 9 – Fig. 3), wherein each of the two heated containers comprises a respective dispensing device (each melting container 9 having a transport basket 4 lifted by lifting device 7 – column 4 lines 28-29) , so as to parallelize the dispensing of different layers of embedding material (the multiple melting containers 9 are capable of being used to parallelize dispensing embedding material – Fig. 3) . Thiem further teaches that the temperature in each container 9 can be adjusted separately and independently by way of controller 15 (column 4 lines 19-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device, as taught by Berberich , with the multiple melting containers 9 and controller 15, taught by Thiem , so that the temperature in each container 9 can be adjusted separately and independently. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Berberich and Thiem teach devices for melting paraffin. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN205175773U – an embedding machine for melting wax Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT TINGCHEN SHI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2538 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9am-6pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Charles Capozzi can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-3638 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /T.C.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1796 /CHARLES CAPOZZI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798