DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's reply filed 6/29/2026 includes claim amendments and corresponding arguments. The previous action set forth a Claim Objection (Claim 3, minor informality) and a 35 USC 112(b) Rejection (Claim 17), and both have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s amendments are supported by the instant disclosure. Applicant argues the art of record does not disclose all limitations set forth in amended Claim 1, including the new limitations directed towards the claimed support structure. Examiner agrees the primary reference (Wakimoto) of the previous action does not disclose amended Claim 1. After an updated search and consideration of the amended claims, the claimed invention remains obvious over Wakimoto, and further in view of new prior art (Kawate and Urano). See updated action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto et al., US 20180375070 A1, and further in view of Kawate, US 20170365839 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Wakimoto discloses a secondary battery (rectangular secondary battery 20 [0056], Figs. 1-26) comprising:
an electrode assembly (electrode body 3) having a first electrode tab (negative-electrode tab group 50 [0056-0057]) and a second electrode tab exposed on respective sides (positive-electrode tab group 40 [0057]; see [0071]: tab group 40 is “at one end portion of the electrode body element” and tab group 50 is “at the other end portion of the electrode body element”);
a first current collection part electrically coupled to the first electrode tab, and comprising a first current collector plate (negative-electrode current collector 209 is welded to the negative-electrode tab group 50 [0074-0075]) comprising an edge part welded to the first electrode tab (tab connection portion 209b [0118-0124], see “Edge Part” in Annotated Fig. 22) and a central part (terminal connection portion 209a [0118-0124], “Central Part” in Annotated Fig. 22);
a case accommodating the electrode assembly and the first current collection part (rectangular casing 1 [0056], Figs. 2 and 22);
a first cap plate sealing a side opening of the case (sealing plate 202 [0056-0060, 0119], “1st Cap
Plate” in Annotated Fig. 22);
a first terminal mechanically and electrically coupled to the first current collection part (negative-
electrode outer conductor 211, “1st Terminal” in Annotated Fig. 22), and exposed to an exterior of the first cap plate (see Fig. 22); and
a support between the central part of the first current collection part and the electrode assembly (resin cover 261 disposed between the negative-electrode current collector 209 and the electrode body 3 [0134], “Support” in Annotated Fig. 22),
wherein the central part (209a) protrudes further toward the first cap plate (202) than the edge part (209b, see Fig. 22).
Wakimoto – Annotated Fig. 22
Wakimoto does not disclose the support comprises the claimed “upper surface portion contacting the central part of the first current collection part, and a lower surface portion opposite and parallel to the upper surface portion and contacting the electrode assembly along a flat surface of the lower surface portion.” However, this limitation is taught by Kawate.
Kawate teaches a support for a secondary battery (upper spacer 90 [0033, 0059-0064], Figs. 9-13B). Kawate teaches the support has an upper surface portion contacting a current collection part (upper wall portion 94A contacts swaged portion of current collector 60A), and a lower surface portion opposite and parallel to the upper surface portion (lower wall portion 95A extends from a lower end of the side wall portion, and is “substantially parallel” to the upper wall portion 94A [0061]), contacting an electrode assembly along a flat surface of the lower surface portion (lower wall portion is positioned on the electrode assembly 20 [0062]). Kawate teaches the upper spacer supports the connection between the current collector and external terminals, while also preventing breakage of the current collecting tabs and minimizing the height of the electrode assembly ([0067-0075]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the support of Wakimoto (261) to add the upper and lower surface portions of the spacer of Kawate, in order to support the connection between the current collector and external terminals, while also preventing breakage of the current collecting tabs and minimizing the height of the electrode assembly.
Kawate – Fig. 10
Modified Wakimoto
Regarding Claim 2, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses the support comprises an insulating material (Wakimoto, resin used as an insulating material, cover 261 is a resin cover [0056, 0134]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses the first current collection part (209) further comprises a second current collector plate contacting the first current collector plate (negative electrode terminal 10 [0120] contacts upper surface of 209a, “2nd CC Plate” in Fig. 22), and contacting and welded-bonded to an inner surface of the first terminal (Wakimoto, [0072-0073], see “inner surface of 1st terminal” in Annotated Fig. 22):
Wakimoto – Annotated Fig. 22
Regarding Claim 4, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses the central part has a central region protruding outwardly (see Wakimoto Fig. 22: central part 209a protrudes “outwardly” towards first cap plate 202), and an outer surface coupled to an inner side of the second current collector plate by welding (Wakimoto, welded joint 33: negative-electrode current collector 9 is welded to the flange portion 10a of negative electrode terminal 10 [0076]), and wherein the edge part extends from the central part to respective sides (Wakimoto, 209b extends from 209a to other side of electrode body 3), and is welded to the first electrode tab of the electrode assembly (Wakimoto, [0074-0075]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses the first current collector plate further comprises a connection part between the central part and the edge part (Wakimoto, stepped portion 209c between the terminal connection portion 209a and the tab connection portion 209b [0122]) and inclined in a direction from the central part to the edge part (Fig. 22).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses a protrusion part (insertion portion 10b) that protrudes outwardly from a central region of the second current collector plate (Wakimoto, insertion portion 10b protrudes outwardly from flange 10a [0119], “central region” is an outward-facing surface of 10a).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses an outer surface of the protrusion part (outer surfaces of 10b and 10c) is coupled to the inner surface of the first terminal by contacting and welding (Wakimoto, [0060, 0072-0073, 0119]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses an insulator between the first terminal and the first cap plate (Wakimoto, outer insulator 15, which is made of a resin, is disposed between the negative-electrode outer conductor 211
and the sealing plate 202 [0119-0120]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses a size of the central part of the first current collector plate is less than that of an inner surface of the second current collector plate (see height “h1” of the first current collector plate 209 is less than height “h2” of an inner surface of the second current collector plate 10, Annotated Fig. 22):
Wakimoto – Annotated Fig. 22
Regarding Claim 11, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses the electrode assembly comprises a Z-stack electrode assembly in which a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate are inserted into respective sides of a separator bent into a Z-stack (Wakimoto, positive electrode plates 4 and negative electrode plates 5 are stacked with rectangular polyolefin separators therebetween, the separator may be folded in a zigzag pattern [0071]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses the separator is fixed by an adhesive in the electrode assembly (Wakimoto, [0071, 0084]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses the support further comprises a side portion connecting the upper surface portion and the lower surface portion (Kawate, side wall portion 93A [0061-0062]), and wherein the lower surface portion (Kawate, lower wall portion 95A) defines a space portion in which respective cut ends are spaced apart from each other (Annotated Kawate Fig. 10):
Kawate – Annotated Fig. 10
Regarding Claim 17, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses the support comprises a C type (see overall shape of upper spacer 90 in Kawate Fig. 10), in which at least one bent part is provided on the side portion (Kawate, see side wall portion 93A):
Kawate – Annotated Fig. 10
Regarding Claim 18, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto discloses an open hole (Kawate, transversely- elongated opening portion 98A [0061], Figs. 10-16) is defined in the support from the upper surface portion (Kawate, upper wall portion 92A) to the lower
surface portion (Kawate, lower wall portion 95A).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified
Wakimoto discloses a clad sheet may be placed between the first current collection part and the first
terminal (Wakimoto, see nickel-cladding on exterior of first terminal 11/211: “a nickel layer may be formed on a surface of the negative-electrode outer conductor 11” [0060-0063]).
Claims 10, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Wakimoto as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Urano et al., US 20060073382 A1.
Regarding Claims 10 and 14, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto does not disclose “the support presses the first current collection part toward the first terminal” (Claim 10) and also does not disclose the support is a plate-shaped spring (Claim 14). However, these limitations are taught by Urano.
Urano teaches when a plate-shaped support (insulating plate 11) comprises a groove 23 or thin portion 30 for downward bending, the support will provide pressing forces between an electrode assembly and terminal in a battery can ([0045-0057], pressing forces of Urano are consistent with the use of “spring” in light of the instant specification). Urano teaches the pressing forces of the support prevent the electrode body from shaking in the battery can, and also secure a space to protect the bent current collector lead ([0015-0021, 0053-0060], Figs. 5-10).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a groove or thin portion for downward bending to the support of modified Wakimoto, in order for the support to function as a spring with pressing forces that protect the first current collection part and secure the electrode body.
This modification would make the support have pressing forces upward on the central part of the first current collection part (Wakimoto, 209a) and downward on the electrode assembly (Wakimoto, 3):
Modified Wakimoto
Regarding Claims 13 and 16, modified Wakimoto discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Wakimoto does not disclose “the adhesive is inside the support” (Claim 13), and also does not disclose “the space portion has an adhesive passing therethrough” (Claim 16). However, these limitations are also taught by Urano.
Urano teaches a current collector lead 7 passing through an area (i.e., a “space portion”) between an upper and lower surface portion of an insulator (22 and 27 []). Urano teaches when the lower portion of the current collector lead 7 is covered with an insulating tape 9, the lead will not be short-circuited if it comes in contact with the wall of the battery can 1 ([0036, 0047, 0054-0055], Figs. 6-10).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add an adhesive (Urano’s insulating tape on the current collector) inside the support, wherein the adhesive passes through the space portion, in the spacer of modified Wakimoto, as Urano teaches the adhesive will prevent a short circuit if the current collector and battery can wall come into contact.
Urano – Fig. 10
Double Patenting
Applicant's request for abeyance in the reply filed 6/29/2026 is acknowledged to the extent that Applicant's lack of response to the cited rejection will not be treated as non-responsive under 37 CFR 1.111(b). However, since the rejection is considered proper, it will be maintained until a complete response to it is filed or conditions appropriate for removal of the rejection are present.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/927,785 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Compared to the claims of the copending application, instant Claim 1 further requires the first and second electrode tab be “exposed on respective sides.” Although the copending application does not specifically recite this limitation in the claims, Claim 1 of the copending application requires a first current collection part be electrically coupled to the first electrode tab, therefore teaching the first electrode tab is at least partially exposed. Additionally, the specification of the copending application discloses the limitation (see [0006]: “A secondary battery according to embodiments of the present disclosure may include an electrode assembly having a first electrode tab and a second electrode tab exposed on respective sides”).
Compared to the copending application, instant Claim 1 further requires the first terminal be “mechanically and electrically coupled” to the first current collection part. These limitations are recited in Claims 1 and 20 of the copending application. Additionally, the specification of the copending application discloses the limitation (see [0006]: “a first terminal mechanically and electrically coupled to the first current collection part”).
Applicant’s reply filed 6/29/2026 has amended instant Claim 1 to require the support comprise “an upper surface portion contacting the central part of the first current collection part; and a lower surface portion opposite and parallel to the upper surface portion and contacting the electrode assembly.” These limitations are recited in Claim 15 of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office
action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721