DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being US 2016/0040303 by Gershon et al (Gershon).
Regarding claim 1, Gershon discloses a photocatalyst decomposition system comprising:
a gas phase generation apparatus (100, figs. 1-4; [15]) configured to convert a liquid phase containing a decomposition object into a gas phase; and
a photocatalyst member (101-106, figs. 1-4; [15]) configured to come into contact with the gas phase to decompose the decomposition object by light from a light source ([14]-[17]),
wherein the photocatalyst member includes a base material ([15]-[17]) formed of a porous material ([16]-[17]) and a photocatalyst layer provided on a surface of the base material ([15]-52]).
Regarding claim 2, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, wherein the photocatalyst member is also configured to come into contact with the liquid phase to decompose the decomposition object (figs. 1-4; [15]-52]).
Regarding claim 3, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, wherein an outer surface of the photocatalyst member and a surface of a pore in the photocatalyst member have electrical continuity (figs. 1-4; [15]-52]).
Regarding claim 4, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, wherein a transparent conductive thin film layer (101, figs. 1-4; [16]) is provided on a surface of the photocatalyst layer or between the base material and the photocatalyst layer ([15]), and the photocatalyst layer and the transparent conductive thin film layer are electrically connected to each other (figs. 1-4; [15]-52]).
Regarding claim 5, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, further comprising: a configuration ([33]) configured to adjust a potential by at least one pair of electrodes in contact with the photocatalyst member (figs. 1-4; [15]-52]).
Regarding claim 6, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, further comprising: at least two of the photocatalyst members ([15]-[42]); a proton conductive film (103, figs. 1-4; [24]) provided between the at least two photocatalyst members (figs. 1-4); and a pair of electrodes connected to the at least two photocatalyst members, respectively (figs. 1-4; [15]-52]), wherein a potential is adjustable by the electrodes ([33]), and a gas or water vapor is supplied to the at least two photocatalyst members, respectively ([16], [35]).
Regarding claim 7, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 5, wherein a generated substance is separated by adjusting the potential by the electrode ([33]-[35]).
Regarding claim 8, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, further comprising: a housing (fig. 4) configured to accommodate the photocatalyst member, wherein the light source is sunlight ([17], [37]), and a transparent window (16]-[17]), a lens [47]), or an optical path is provided in the housing ([47]), and the sunlight is emitted to the photocatalyst member via the transparent window, the lens, or the optical path (figs. 1-4; [15]-52]).
Regarding claim 10, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, wherein the base material transmits light having a wavelength of at least visible light or ultraviolet light (figs. 1-4; [15]-52]).
Regarding claim 12, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, wherein the porous material forming the base material contains SiO.sub.2, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, TiO.sub.2, MgO, ZnO, CaCO.sub.3, CaO, SnO, or a transparent carbon nanotube ([22]).
Regarding claim 13, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, wherein the photocatalyst layer is at least one of substances listed in the following (1) to (4): (1) BiVO.sub.4 doped with Rh or black phosphorus, or BiVO.sub.4, (2) SrTiO.sub.3 doped with Rh, Ir, La, or Al, or SrTiO.sub.3, (3) LaON, TiO.sub.2, GaP, SnNb.sub.2O.sub.6, or NaTaO.sub.3 doped with La, or NaTaO.sub.3, and (4) TaON, LaTiO.sub.2N, TaON, Ta.sub.3N.sub.5, SrTa.sub.2ON, LaTa.sub.2ON, ZnRh.sub.2O.sub.4, Sm.sub.2Ti.sub.2O.sub.5S.sub.2, Y.sub.2Ti.sub.2O.sub.2S.sub.5, g-C.sub.3N.sub.4, Ga.sub.3N.sub.4, Cu.sub.0.25Ag.sub.0.25In.sub.0.25ZnS.sub.2, or CuAgZnSnS.sub.4 (22]-[24]).
Regarding claim 14, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, wherein particles of a co-catalyst material are supported on, or a thin film of the co-catalyst material is provided on at least a part of the photocatalyst layer ([31]).
Regarding claim 15, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 14, wherein the co-catalyst material is WO.sub.3, Rh/Cr.sub.2O.sub.3, Ag, Rh/SrTiO.sub.3, Pt, CoO, Co.sub.3O.sub.4, IrO.sub.2, PtO.sub.2, phosphorus, NiO, RuO.sub.2, AgSbO.sub.3, or ZnRhO.sub.x ([31].
Regarding claim 16, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, further comprising: a light supply apparatus (fig. 3) configured to supply light to the photocatalyst member and the gas phase generation apparatus; and a collection apparatus (fig. 3) configured to collect a gas phase generated by decomposition by the photocatalyst member (figs. 1-4; [15]-52]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gershon as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of US 8,790,754 to Rangan et al (Rangan).
Regarding claim 9, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose which Rangan discloses:
light condensed outside the housing is introduced into the housing through an optical fiber and emitted to the photocatalyst member (col. 8, lines 30-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have light condensed outside the housing introduced into the housing through an optical fiber and emitted to the photocatalyst member as taught by Rangan in the system of Gershon so as to create the most energy, thus limiting the amount of outside voltage that must be applied (Vb), thus increasing the efficiency (col. 8, lines 11-13; Rangan).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gershon.
Regarding claim 11, Gershon discloses the photocatalyst decomposition system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose that the base material has a pore width of 10 μm to 500 μm and a porosity of 40% to 95%.
However, Gershon discloses in [16]-18] that the base material (base electrodes) have pores. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the base material with a pore width of 10 μm to 500 μm and a porosity of 40% to 95%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12,304,814 to Tozawa et al.
US 12,270,114 to Guerra
US 9,364,808 to Yoon
US 2021/0040625 to Guerra
US 2020/0407859 to Kobayashi et al
US 2019/0322797 to Ullah et al.
All references above describe general state of art.
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746