DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2012/0227666) in view of Kurihara (U.S. Patent Number 5,820,685).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a substrate processing apparatus (abstract) comprising: a body configured to spin-rotate, the body including an upper plate (figures 5a and 5b, element 102 being the ‘body’ and ‘upper plate’; paragraph 40). Examiner notes that the body is configured to spin-rotate because the entirety of the apparatus, including the body, may be rotated as an entire unit. Kim further teaches a plurality of support pins installed on the body so as to support the substrate thereon (figures 5a and 5b, elements 150 being the ‘plurality of support pins’; paragraph 45); a plurality of chuck pins installed on the upper plate of the body so as to grip a side surface of the substrate (figures 5a and 5b, elements 110 being the ‘plurality of chuck pins’; paragraph 45); a chuck pin driver device configured to move at least one of the plurality of chuck pins from a stand-by position to a grip position when the substrate has been seated on the plurality of support pins (figures 5a and 5b; paragraphs 45 and 54). Examiner notes that this can be found because Kim teaches that each of the plurality of chuck pins are “actuated and extended vertically” from a position within the base to a position along the side surface of the substrate (figures 5b and 9, elements 110 and 120 and step S3; paragraphs 45 and 54). This inherently requires some type of “chuck pin driver device” to perform the ‘actuation.’ Kim further teaches a support pin spacing device configured to space the substrate at least one of the plurality of support pins from each other while the plurality of chuck pins are gripping the substrate, the support pin spacing device including a support pin elevating and lowering device configured to support and move the at least one of the plurality of support pins so as to elevate or lower the at least one of the plurality of support pins through the upper plate (figures 5a and 5b; paragraphs 45 and 54). Examiner notes that this can be found because Kim teaches that each of the plurality of support pins are “retracted” from an extended position above the upper plate to a lowered position within the upper plate (figure 9, step S4; paragraph 54). This inherently requires some type of “support pin spacing device” and “support pin elevating and lowering device” to perform the ‘retraction.’
While Kim teaches the support pin elevating and lowering device, Kim does not teach the structure of the support pin elevating and lowering device. Kurihara teaches a substrate processing apparatus (abstract) comprising: a body configured to spin-rotate, the body including an upper plate (figures 2 and 3, element 21 being the ‘body’ and ‘support plate’; column 3, lines 16 – 21); a plurality of support pins configured to support the substrate thereon (figures 2 and 3, elements 26 being the ‘plurality of support pins’; column 3, lines 35 - 56); and a support pin spacing device configured to space the substrate and the plurality of support pins from each other, the support pin spacing device including a support pin elevating and lowering device, the support pin elevating and lowering device being configured to raise and lower one support pin of the plurality of support pins (figure 3, element 30 being the ‘support pin spacing device’ and ‘support pin elevating and lowering device’; column 3, line 63 – column 4, line 31). Choi further teaches that the support pin elevating and lowering device includes a support pin moving table, the support pin moving table being configured to support and move the plurality of support pins so as to elevate or lower the plurality of support pins through the upper plate, the support pin moving table being under the upper plate of the body (figure 3, elements 30 and 21; column 3, line 63 – column 4, line 31). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a support pin elevating and lowering device for raising and lowering a support pin, as taught by Kim, wherein the support pin elevating and lowering device comprises the support pin moving table of Kurihara, because Kurihara teaches that such a support pin elevating and lowering device provides the benefit of raising and lowering a substrate (column 3, line 63 – column 4, line 31), as desired by Kim (paragraph 54).
Claim(s) 2 – 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kurihara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Furuya (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0083038).
As to claim 2, Kim teaches that the support pin elevating and lowering device is configured to lower the at least one of the plurality of support pins such that a vertical level of a top of the at least one of the plurality of support pins is lower than a vertical level of a top of at least one of the plurality of chuck pins corresponding thereto (figure 5b, elements 150 and 110).
However, while Kim in view of Kurihara teaches a support pin spacing device for raising and lowering support pins (figure 9, steps S1 and S4; paragraphs 53 – 54), neither Kim nor Kurihara teach how to operate the support pin spacing device. Furuya teaches a substrate processing apparatus (abstract) comprising: a plurality of support pins configured to support a substrate thereon (figure 1, elements 21 being the ‘plurality of support pins’; paragraph 29); a support pin spacing device configured the plurality of support pins (figure 1, element 4d being the ‘support pin spacing device’; paragraphs 32 – 34). Furuya further teaches that the support pin spacing device comprises a controller configured to apply a control signal to the support pin spacing device based on a type of process (figure 1, element 7 being the ‘controller’; paragraphs 21 and 76). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the support pin elevating and lowering device of Kim in view of Kurihara with the controller of Furuya because Kim teaches the support pin spacing device being configured to lower the plurality of support pins and one skilled in the art would appreciate that the controller of Furuya would provide the benefit of operating the support pin spacing device of Kim in view of Kurihara with the ability to provide a lowering control signal to the support pin spacing device at the desired time, based on the type of process.
As to claim 3, the discussion of claim 2 is incorporated herein.
As to claim 4, Kim teaches that the plurality of chuck pins are configured to grip the substrate (figures 5a and 5b, elements 110 and 120; paragraph 45). Furthermore, the support pin elevating and lower device of Kim in view of Kurihara and Furuya is configured to lower all the support pins relative to the one chuck pin of the plurality of chuck pins when the one chuck pin of the plurality of chuck pin grips the substrate.
As to claim 8, Kurihara teaches that the support pin moving table is embodied as a support pin moving plate for supporting the plurality of support pins (figure 3, element 32 being the ‘support pin moving plate’; column 3, line 63 – column 4, line 5); and the support pin elevating and lowering driver device is embodied as a support pin moving plate cylinder for elevating and lowering the support pin moving plate (figure 3, element 31 being the ‘support pin moving plate cylinder’; column 3, line 63 – column 4, line 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 4 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0319905) teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a body including an upper plate; a plurality of support pins installed on the body; a plurality of chuck pins installed on the upper plate of the body; a chuck pin driver device; and a support pin spacing device.
Ikeda (U.S. Patent Number 5,989,342) teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a body including an upper plate; a plurality of support pins installed on the body; a plurality of chuck pins installed on the upper plate of the body; a chuck pin driver device; and a support pin spacing device.
Jo (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0020465) teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a body including an upper plate; a plurality of support pins installed on the body; a plurality of chuck pins installed on the upper plate of the body; a chuck pin driver device; and a support pin spacing device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725