DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claims, particularly claim 1, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for determining that the size of the block”, “means for selecting the inverse NSPT”, “means for inverse transforming a block”, “means for decoding the block”, “means for forming a prediction block”, “means for determining the inverse NSPT”, “means for retrieving coefficients”, “means for determining a second block”, “means for inverse transforming the second block”, “means for decoding the second block”, “means for reorganizing the block”, and “means for inverse transforming”.
--Review of the specification indicates:
-“means for determining that the size of the block”, ¶76 and fig. 3 discloses a video decoder 300 may decode a size of the block and apply an inverse NSPT corresponding to the NSPT to which the size and/or prediction mode. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for selecting the inverse NSPT”, ¶76 and fig. 3 discloses video decoder 300 may determine an inverse separable transform to apply to the transform block. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for inverse transforming a block”, ¶75 and fig. 3 discloses a video decoder 300 may inverse transform a block. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for decoding the block”, ¶75 and fig. 3 discloses a video decoder 300 may inverse reproduce a residual block. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for forming a prediction block”, ¶75 and fig. 3 discloses a video decoder 300 may form a prediction block. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for determining the inverse NSPT”, ¶76 and fig. 3 discloses a video decoder 300 may decode a prediction mode for the block and apply an inverse NSPT corresponding to the NSPT to which the size and/or prediction mode. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for retrieving coefficients”, ¶74 and fig. 3 discloses video decoder 300 may decode values for syntax elements of the bitstream that further define prediction and residual information for blocks (e.g., CUs) of video data. ¶75 discloses residual information are represented by quantized transform coefficients. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for determining a second block”, ¶75 and fig. 3 discloses a video decoder 300 may inverse reproduce a residual block. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for inverse transforming the second block”, ¶75 and fig. 3 discloses a video decoder 300 may inverse transform a block. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for decoding the second block”, ¶75 and fig. 3 discloses a video decoder 300 may inverse reproduce a residual block. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for reorganizing the block”, ¶145 discloses that video decoder 300 may reorganize a one-dimensional (1-D) list of N output NSPT coefficients based on an array (defining a pattern/scan) correspond to a position in a 2-D block. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
-“means for inverse transforming”, ¶75 and fig. 3 discloses a video decoder 300 may inverse transform a block. ¶46 discloses video decoder 300 may be software instructions executed in hardware using one or more processors.
Pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2023059056 (A1), filed 5 October 2022 and published in Korean, which is the equivalent to CHOI; Jangwon et al. US 20250203113 A1, which is a Pre-grant US publication of the WIPO Publication WO 2023059056 (A1). The prior art rejections below are based on Pre-grant US publication US 20250203113 A1. Included with this office action is an English translation of the WIPO prior art published in Korean, which were downloaded from Espacenet and correspond to the content of the US publication. These English translations are deemed to fully comply with the translation requirement of MPEP section 1207.02. See USPTO memorandum "Machine Translation of a Non-English Document Being Relied Upon by the Examiner in Support of a Rejection in an Examiner's Answer," located at http://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/exam/20091117_mach_trans_memo.pdf. The English translation of the foreign patent documents is attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,6,18,25-27,31-34,38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEO; Jin et al. (US 20200374516 A1) in view of CHOI; Jangwon et al. (US 20250203113 A1) in view of CHOI; Jungah et al. (Choi2)(US 20240357111 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Heo teaches,
A method of decoding video data, (¶142 and 51-54, “decoding apparatus” (200) may reconstruct “video in relation to a process by which video information is processed”) the method comprising:
determining that a size (¶87, “size of the non-separable transform matrix”) of a block of transform coefficients (¶87, size of the transform matrix of “target block to be transformed”) of a block of video data is one of a determined size; (¶87, size of the transform matrix varies to be sizes with exemplary dimensions of “width or height of the target block is 8 or more” such as 8x8, and “width or height of the target block is 4” such as 4x4)
in response to the size of the block of transform coefficients being one of the determined size (¶87¸ 8×8 size may be derived “if the width or height of the target block is 8” and 4×4 size may be derived “if the width or height of the target block is 4” used to generate the residual sample by inverse-transforming) selecting an inverse non-separable primary transform (NSPT) such that the inverse NSPT has a size corresponding to the size of the block; (¶142 and 87, “inverse-transforming” the transform coefficients based on non-separable transform information; such as, if the dimension of the target block is 8, “the non-separable transform matrix of the 8×8 size may be derived”, and if the dimension of the target block is 4, “the non-separable transform matrix of the 4×4 size may be derived”)
inverse transforming the block (¶142, decoding apparatus may “perform inverse transform” a current block) of transform coefficients of the block (¶142, generate modified transform coefficients of the current block by “inverse-transforming the transform coefficients”) of video data (¶142 and 51-54, performed video decoding of a current block that is a “processing unit block of video decoding” such as “a transform unit”) using the inverse NSPT, (¶142, generate “primary transform coefficients” based on “non-separable secondary transform information”) without using an inverse separable transform, (¶142, generate transform coefficients based on “non-separable secondary transform information”) to reconstruct a residual block of the block (¶142, “generate the residual sample” of the current block) of video data, (¶142 and 51-54, performed video decoding of a current block that is a “processing unit block of video decoding” such as “a transform unit”) and
decoding the block (¶142, “decoding generates” the “transform coefficients” of the current block) of video data (¶142 and 51-54, performed video decoding of a current block that is a “processing unit block of video decoding” such as “a transform unit”) using the residual block. (¶142, “residual sample” of the current block used to “generate the transform coefficients” of the current block)
But does not explicitly teach,
determining that a size of a block of transform coefficients of a block of video data is one of 4x8, 8x4, 4x16, 16x4, 8x16, or 16x8;
in response to the size of the block of transform coefficients being one of 4x8, 8x4, 4x16, 16x4, 8x16, or 16x8, selecting an inverse non-separable primary transform (NSPT) such that the inverse NSPT has a size corresponding to the size of the block, wherein selecting the inverse NSPT comprises selecting the inverse NSPT according to a mapping that maps the size of the block of transform coefficients to the inverse NSPT having the size that can be applied to the entire block of transform coefficients;
inverse transforming the block of transform coefficients of the block using the inverse NSPT, without using a non-separable secondary transform, wherein inverse transforming using the inverse NSPT comprises applying the inverse NSPT to all coefficients of the block of the transform coefficients in a single step to reconstruct an entirety of the residual block, wherein applying the inverse NSPT to all coefficients of the block of transform coefficients in the single step comprises applying the inverse NSPT to all coefficients of the block of transform coefficients without partitioning the block of transform coefficients into smaller blocks;
However, Choi teaches additionally,
determining that a size of a block of transform coefficients of a block of video data (¶339-341 and fig. 25, determine “whether the conditions regarding the size and/or shape of the current block satisfy a predetermined condition (S2502)” depicted in fig. 25) is one of 4x8, 8x4, 4x16, 16x4, 8x16, or 16x8; (¶339-341,278-286, and fig. 22a-22b, determine the size and/or shape of the current block satisfies a condition such as the size of “input block is 8×4 or 4×8” or “input block is 16×8 or 8×16”)
in response to the size of the block of transform coefficients being one of 4x8, 8x4, 4x16, 16x4, 8x16, or 16x8, (¶339-341,278-286, and Fig. 22a-22b, determine the size and/or shape of the current block where size of “input block is 8×4 or 4×8” depicted in fig. 22a and “input block is 16×8 or 8×16” depicted in fig. 22b) selecting an inverse non-separable primary transform (NSPT) (¶339-341,278-286, and fig. 22a-22b, applying non-separable primary inverse transform based on “non-separable primary transform” applied to regions “indicated by a thick line”) such that the inverse NSPT has a size corresponding to the size of the block; (¶339-341,278-286, and fig. 22a-22b, 8×4 input block where “4×4 non-separable primary transform may be applied to each of the subblocks Sb1 and Sb2”, 4×8 input block where “4 non-separable primary transform may be applied to each of the subblocks Sb3 and Sb4”, 16×8 input block where “8×8 non-separable primary transform may be applied to each of subblock Sb1 and Sb2”, and 8×16 input block where “8×8 non-separable primary transform may be applied to each of the subblock Sb3 and Sb4” as depicted in fig. 22a-22b)
inverse transforming the block (¶334-341, and fig. 24-25, “current block”) of transform coefficients of the block (¶334-341, and fig. 24-25, “inversely transform a residual block of the current block”) using the inverse NSPT, (¶334-341, and fig. 24-25, “non-separable primary transform (NSPT) may be applied to the current block” when prediction mode of the current block is a predetermined mode) without using a non-separable secondary transform, (¶334-341, and fig. 24-25, non-separable primary transform (NSPT) may be applied to the current block, which is not a “method other than the non-separable primary transform” applied when “prediction mode of the current block is not a predetermined mode”) wherein inverse transforming (¶334-341 and fig. 24-25, “inversely transform a residual block of the current block”) using the inverse NSPT (¶334-341 and fig. 24-25, “non-separable primary transform (NSPT) may be applied to the current block” upon determining the prediction mode of the current block is a predetermined mode) comprises applying the inverse NSPT (¶334-341 and fig. 24-25, “inversely transform a residual block of the current block” where non-separable primary transform (NSPT) applied to the current block) to all coefficients of the block of the transform coefficients in a single step (¶334-341 and 353-356, perform applied “non-separable primary transform” on blocks with inverse transform of a number of “residual coefficients” based on whether the “prediction mode of the current block is a predetermined mode”) to reconstruct an entirety of the residual block; (¶125,334-341, fig. 3 and 24-25, inverse transform “inversely transform the transform coefficients to obtain” a residual signal of a “residual block” using an applied “non-separable primary transform (NSPT”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi which is applied to either transform or inversely transforming a residual block of the current block. Use of non-separable transforms in this way allow for improved coding efficiency of a residual block.
Choi2 teaches additionally,
wherein selecting the inverse NSPT (¶192 and 265, “a predetermined first flag (e.g., nspt_flag) may be signaled to indicate whether non-separable primary transform is applied” as an inverse transform to the input block) comprises selecting the inverse NSPT according to a mapping that maps the size of the block of transform coefficients to the inverse NSPT (¶203 and 192, “non-separable primary inverse transform” may be “included as an MTS candidate and provided as an independent inverse transform candidate” such as signaled by a first flag “(e.g., nspt_flag)”) having the size that can be applied to the entire block of transform coefficients; (¶203,192,265, and 288-294, “non-separable primary inverse transform” may be provided as an “independent inverse transform candidate” based on “width and height of the input block” with KxL block or LxK block dimensions associated with mapped intra prediction modes)
wherein applying the inverse NSPT to all coefficients of the block of transform coefficients in the single step (¶265 and fig. 19, “applying non-separable primary transform/inverse transform to the entire input block” at step (S1930) as disclosed in fig. 19) comprises applying the inverse NSPT to all coefficients of the block of transform coefficients (¶265, applying non-separable primary transform/inverse transform to the entire input block based on “width and height of the input block”) without partitioning the block of transform coefficients into smaller blocks; (¶265, applying non-separable primary transform/inverse transform “to the entire input block” instead of an alternative “subblock”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the inverse transform of Choi2 which signals a corresponding non-separable primary transform for an input block. This allows for techniques that can improve compression performance and avoid mismatch between encoding and decoding.
Regarding claim 2, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
Heo teaches additionally,
forming a prediction block (¶137, “generates a predicted sample” of the current block) for the block (¶137, generates a predicted sample of the current “block”) of video data (¶137 and 51-54, current block that is a “processing unit block of video decoding” such as “a prediction unit”) using an intra-prediction mode; (¶137, generates a predicted sample based on the “intra prediction mode” of the current chroma block)
Choi teaches additionally,
determining the inverse NSPT (¶334-341 and fig. 24, “non-separable primary transform (NSPT) may be applied to the current block” upon determining the prediction mode of the current block is a predetermined mode) according to the intra-prediction mode. (¶334-341,287-292, and fig. 24, “non-separable primary transform (NSPT)” applied to the current block with a “CIIP mode” which is a “Combined Inter and Intra Prediction”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 which is applied to either transform or inversely transforming a residual block of the current block. Use of non-separable transforms in this way allow for improved coding efficiency of a residual block.
Regarding claim 6, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
Heo teaches additionally,
reorganizing the block of transform coefficients (¶58-61, “re-arranger (221) may rearrange the quantized transform coefficients into a two-dimensional block form” corresponding to coefficient scanning performed by the encoding apparatus) to form a reorganized block of transform coefficients; (¶58-61, “quantized transform coefficients” input to the “re-arranger (221)” may rearrange the quantized transform coefficients “corresponding to coefficient scanning performed by the encoding apparatus”) and
inverse transforming the reorganized block (¶58-61, “inverse transformer (223) may inverse-transform the transform coefficients”) of transform coefficients. (¶58-61, rearranged the “quantized transform coefficients”)
Regarding claim 18, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
Heo teaches additionally,
decoding the block of video data (¶52-54 and fig. 2, “video decoding apparatus (200)”, depicted in fig. 2, applied to “processing unit block” of video decoding) comprises:
forming a prediction block for the block of video data; (¶52-54,62, and fig. 2, video decoding apparatus (200) including “predictor (230)”, depicted in fig. 2, “may generate a predicted block” for the current block) and
combining the prediction block (¶72 and fig. 2, “predicted sample”) with the residual block (¶72 and fig. 2, “residual sample”) to form a decoded block for the block of video data. (¶72 and fig. 2, “add” a residual sample to a predicted sample to “reconstruct a current block or a current picture” by adding the residual sample to the predicted sample in units of a block)
Regarding claim 25, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
Heo teaches additionally,
encoding the block of video data (¶53-54, “video information is processed in the video encoding apparatus” applied to “processing unit block”) prior to decoding the block of video data. (¶53-54 and fig.2, video decoding apparatus (200) may “reconstruct a video in relation to a process by which video information is processed in the video encoding apparatus” applied to “processing unit block”)
Regarding claim 26, it is the device claim of method claim 1.
Heo teaches additionally,
A device for decoding video data, (¶52, “video decoding apparatus (200)”) the device comprising: (¶52, “video decoding apparatus (200) may include an entropy decoder (210), a residual processor (220), a predictor (230), an adder (240), a filter (250), and a memory (260)”)
a memory configured to store video data; (¶52 and 155, video decoding apparatus (200) implemented in software as a module “stored in a memory” such as “a read-only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a flash memory, a memory card, a storage medium and/or other storage devices”) and
a processing system (¶52 and 155, video decoding apparatus (200) executed by “a processor”) comprising one or more processors implemented in circuitry, (¶52 and 155, processor of video decoding apparatus (200) may include “application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs), other chipsets, logic circuits, and/or data processing devices “) the processing system (¶52 and 155, video decoding apparatus (200) implemented in software as a module stored in a memory and “executed by a processor”)
Refer to mapping of claim 1 to teach the additional limitations of claim 26.
Regarding claim 27, dependent on claim 26, it is the device claim of method claim 2, dependent on claim 1. Refer to mapping of claim 2 to teach the additional limitations of claim 27.
Regarding claim 31, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teach the limitations of claim 26,
Heo teaches additionally,
a display (¶74 and 154, decoding image processing of “display device”) configured to display the decoded video data. (¶74 and 154, memory (260) of decoder (200) “may output reconstructed pictures” as part of image processing of “display device”)
Regarding claim 32, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teach the limitations of claim 26,
Heo teaches additionally,
the device (¶74 and 154, decoding image processing of “display device”) comprises one or more of a camera, a computer, a mobile device, a broadcast receiver device, or a set-top box. (¶74 and 154, decoding image processing may be for “a TV, a computer, a smartphone, a set-top box”)
Regarding claim 33, it is the device claim of method claim 1.
Heo teaches additionally,
A device for decoding video data, (¶52, “video decoding apparatus (200)”) the device comprising: (¶52, “video decoding apparatus (200) may include an entropy decoder (210), a residual processor (220), a predictor (230), an adder (240), a filter (250), and a memory (260)”)
Refer to mapping of claim 1 to teach the additional limitations of claim 33.
Regarding claim 34, dependent on claim 33, it is the device claim of method claim 2, dependent on claim 1. Refer to mapping of claim 2 to teach the additional limitations of claim 34.
Regarding claim 38, dependent on claim 33, it is the device claim of method claim 6, dependent on claim 1. Refer to mapping of claim 6 to teach the additional limitations of claim 38.
Claim(s) 4,7-10,29,36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEO; Jin et al. (US 20200374516 A1) in view of CHOI; Jangwon et al. (US 20250203113 A1) in view of CHOI; Jungah et al. (Choi2)(US 20240357111 A1) in view of KOO; Moonmo et al. (US 20210377568 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teach the limitations of claim 1,
Heo teaches additionally,
retrieving coefficients for the inverse NSPT (¶59-61,87, and fig. 2, “coefficient scanning performed” by “re-arranger (221)” that is communicated to “inverse transformer (223)” that uses “non-separable transform matrix to generate transform coefficients” depicted in fig. 2) from a memory storing coefficients (¶58-61,87, and fig. 2, re-arranger (221) of video decoding apparatus (200) performs “scanning performed by the encoding apparatus” according to a “non-separable transform matrix” of decoded “quantized transform coefficients” from entropy decoder (210)) for a plurality of inverse NSPTs, (¶87, derived “non-separable transform matrix”) the plurality of inverse NSPTs including a 4x4 inverse NSPT, (¶58-61,87, “non-separable transform matrix of the 4×4 size may be derived”) an 8x8 inverse NSPT, (¶58-61,87, “non-separable transform matrix of the 8x8 size may be derived”)
But does not explicitly teach,
the plurality of inverse NSPTs including a 4x8 inverse NSPT, an 8x4 inverse NSPT, a 4x16 inverse NSPT, a 16x4 inverse NSPT, an 8x16 inverse NSPT, and a 16x8 inverse NSPT.
However, Choi2 teaches additionally,
the plurality of inverse NSPTs (¶228-238 and fig. 15a to 15d, “non-separable primary transform”) including a 4x8 inverse NSPT, an 8x4 inverse NSPT, an 8x16 inverse NSPT, and a 16x8 inverse NSPT. (¶230, non-separable primary transform applied to “input block” of sizes “8x4 or 4x8”, or “16x8 or 8x16” as depicted in figs. 15b and 15d)
Koo teaches additionally,
the plurality of inverse NSPTs (¶319, “non-separable” transform may be applied when target block is “vertically partitioned” or “horizontally partitioned”) including a 4x8 inverse NSPT, (¶319, non-separable transform performed “on each of the two subblocks” when the target block is “4x8” that is “horizontally partitioned”) an 8x4 inverse NSPT, (¶319, non-separable transform performed “on each of the two subblocks” when the target block is “8x4” that is “vertically partitioned”) a 4x16 inverse NSPT, (¶319, non-separable secondary transform may be performed when the target block is greater than 4×8 or 8×4 includes target blocks being “4xN” (N≥16) such as 4x16 when horizontally or vertically partitioned) a 16x4 inverse NSPT, (¶319, non-separable secondary transform may be performed when the target block is greater than 4×8 or 8×4 includes target blocks being “Nx4 (N≥16)” such as 16x4 when horizontally or vertically partitioned) an 8x16 inverse NSPT, (¶319, non-separable secondary transform may be performed when the target block is greater than 4×8 or 8×4 includes target blocks being “MxN (M≥8, N≥8)” such as 8x16 when horizontally or vertically partitioned) and a 16x8 inverse NSPT. (¶319, non-separable secondary transform may be performed when the target block is greater than 4×8 or 8×4 includes target blocks being “MxN (M≥8, N≥8)” such as 16x8 when horizontally or vertically partitioned)
Koo specifies performed non-separable transforms that suit conditions where the target blocks are partitioned into 4x8, 8x4, 4x16, 16x4, 8x16, and 16x8 transform blocks. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the non-separable transforms of Koo which discloses target block shape permutations where non-separable transform is performed. This allows for techniques which can improve transform efficiency and coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 7,
However, Koo teaches additionally,
inverse transforming (¶201, “inverse transformer 322 of the decoding apparatus”) the block of transform coefficients (¶201, inverse transformer 322 applies “transform kernel matrix to transform coefficients”) comprises:
constructing a one-dimensional list of coefficients (¶201, “transform coefficients arranged in one dimension according to the scanning order”) from the block of transform coefficients; (¶201 and 102, “transform coefficients” such that “two-dimensional signals (transform coefficients) are rearranged to a one-dimensional signal” of a transform coefficient block) and
applying the inverse NSPT (¶102, generate “modified transform coefficients” based on “non-separable transform matrix”) to the one-dimensional list of coefficients (¶102, “rearranged to a one-dimensional signal” used to generate modified transform coefficients based on non-separable transform matrix) to reconstruct the residual block. (¶102, “modified transform coefficients” are generated of two-dimensional signals (transform coefficients) rearranged to “a one-dimensional signal”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the non-separable transforms of Koo which arranges transform coefficients into a one-dimensional signal. This allows for techniques which can improve transform efficiency and coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Koo teaches the limitations of claim 7,
Koo teaches additionally,
one-dimensional list of coefficients (¶291 and Table 16, matrix operation of the transform coefficients “one-dimensionally arranged according to the forward diagonal scanning order” as shown in Table 16) from the block of transform coefficients (¶291 and Table 16, transform coefficients in the “4×4 region” shown in Table 16) comprises applying a sub-block diagonal scan to the block of transform coefficients. (¶291 and Table 16, transform coefficients “one-dimensionally arranged” according to the “forward diagonal scanning order” as shown in Table 16)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the non-separable transforms of Koo which arranges transform coefficients into a one-dimensional signal. This allows for techniques which can improve transform efficiency and coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 9, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Koo teaches the limitations of claim 7,
Koo teaches additionally,
one-dimensional list of coefficients (¶291 and Table 15, matrix operation of the transform coefficients “one-dimensionally arranged” according to “row-first order” as shown in Table 15) from the block of transform coefficients (¶291 and Table 15, transform coefficients in the “top-left 4×4 region, the top-right 4×4 region, and the bottom-left 4×4” shown in Table 15) comprises applying a horizontal scan to the block of transform coefficients. (¶291 and Table 15, transform coefficients “one-dimensionally arranged” according to the “row-first order” as shown in Table 15)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the non-separable transforms of Koo which arranges transform coefficients into a one-dimensional signal. This allows for techniques which can improve transform efficiency and coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Koo teaches the limitations of claim 7,
Koo teaches additionally,
one-dimensional list of coefficients (¶291 and Table 17, matrix operation of the transform coefficients “one-dimensionally arranged” according to “column-first order” as shown in Table 17) from the block of transform coefficients (¶291 and Table 17, transform coefficients in the “top-left 4×4 region, the top-right 4×4 region, and the bottom-left 4×4” shown in Table 17) comprises applying a vertical scan to the block of transform coefficients. (¶291 and Table 17, transform coefficients “one-dimensionally arranged” according to the “column-first order” as shown in Table 17)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the non-separable transforms of Koo which arranges transform coefficients into a one-dimensional signal. This allows for techniques which can improve transform efficiency and coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 29, dependent on claim 26, it is the device claim of method claim 4, dependent on claim 1. Refer to mapping of claim 4 to teach the additional limitations of claim 29.
Regarding claim 36, dependent on claim 33, it is the device claim of method claim 4, dependent on claim 1. Refer to mapping of claim 4 to teach the additional limitations of claim 36.
Claim(s) 5,30,37 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEO; Jin et al. (US 20200374516 A1) in view of CHOI; Jangwon et al. (US 20250203113 A1) in view of CHOI; Jungah et al. (Choi2)(US 20240357111 A1) in view of Egilmez; Hilmi Enes et al. (US 20200366937 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
Heo teaches additionally,
block of transform coefficients comprises a first block of transform coefficients (¶87, “transform matrix of the 8×8 size may be derived”) having a first size, (¶87, transform matrix of the 8×8 size if the “width or height of the target block is 8 or more”) the block of video data comprises a first block of video data, (¶87 and 36, “target block” with width or height of 8 also referred to as a “current block”) and the residual block comprises a first residual block, (¶87, generate transform coefficients “for the residual signal”) the method further comprising:
determining that a second block of transform coefficients (¶87, width or height of the target block is 4 resulting in “non-separable transform matrix of the 4×4 size may be derived”) of a second block of video data has a second size (¶87 and 36, “width or height of the target block is 4” also referred to as a “current block”) different than the first size; (¶87, transform matrix varies according to “width or height of the target block is 4” which is different from “the width or height of the target block is 8 or more”)
based on the second size being different than the first size, (¶87, “size of the non-separable transform matrix” varies according to “size of the target block” such that “width or height of the target block is 4” which is different from “the width or height of the target block is 8 or more”) inverse transforming the second block of transform coefficients using the inverse non-separable transform (¶87, “if the width or height of the target block is 4, the non-separable transform matrix of the 4×4 size may be derived” so that “inverse-transforming the transform coefficients based” on non-separable transform information) to reconstruct a second residual block of the second block of video data; (¶87 and 142, transform performs based on “non-separable transform matrix to generate transform coefficients (or secondary transform coefficients) for the residual signal” using non-separable transform matrix of the 4×4 size) and
decoding the second block of video data using the second residual block. (¶87 and 142, decoding apparatus generates “residual sample of the current” block by inverse-transforming the transform coefficients based on “non-separable transform matrix of the 4×4 size”)
But does not explicitly teach,
inverse transforming the second block of transform coefficients using the inverse separable transform and an inverse low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) transform to reconstruct a second residual block of the second block of video data;
However, Egilmez teaches additionally,
inverse transforming (¶121 and fig. 3, “inverse transform processing unit 308” configured to apply both “inverse low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) and one or more inverse separable transforms” to a transform block of video data) the second block of transform coefficients (¶121 and fig. 3, “transform coefficients” of the “transform block of video data”) using the inverse separable transform (¶121 and fig. 3, inverse transform processing unit 308 configured to apply “one or more inverse separable transforms”) and an inverse low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) transform (¶121 and fig. 3, inverse transform processing unit 308 configured to apply “an inverse low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST)”) to reconstruct a second residual block of the second block of video data; (¶120-121,127, and 117, inverse transform processing unit 308 generates “residual block associated with the current block” that is used by Reconstruction unit 310 to “reconstruct the current block” of decoded video data)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the inverse transforming of Egilmez which applies two transforms to a transform block. This allows for a technique that reduces signaling overhead and can improve coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 30, dependent on claim 26, it is the device claim of method claim 5, dependent on claim 1. Refer to mapping of claim 5 to teach the additional limitations of claim 30.
Regarding claim 37, dependent on claim 33, it is the device claim of method claim 5, dependent on claim 1. Refer to mapping of claim 5 to teach the additional limitations of claim 37.
Claim(s) 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEO; Jin et al. (US 20200374516 A1) in view of CHOI; Jangwon et al. (US 20250203113 A1) in view of CHOI; Jungah et al. (Choi2)(US 20240357111 A1) in view of Egilmez; Hilmi Enes et al. (US 20210092381 A1) (Egilmez 81)
Regarding claim 11, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 11,
However, Egilmez 81 teaches additionally,
inverse NSPT is defined as a matrix of size MxN, (¶149, “LFNST transform matrix within inverse transform processing unit 212” being the “size of MxN”) where M is an integer value denoting a number of basis vectors (¶149, MxN where “M denotes a number of basis vectors“) and also a number of rows in the matrix (¶149, MxN where M denotes “a number of rows”) and where N is an integer value denoting a number of support samples (¶149, “a number of reconstructed LFNST coefficients”) for the inverse NSPT. (¶149, MxN matrix where “N denotes a number of reconstructed LFNST coefficients after applying the inverse LFNST”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the inverse transforming of Egilmez 81 which specifies a particular transform matrix. Using the techniques disclosed in the prior art allow for the possibility to reduce the mount of data used to represent the transform coefficients.
Regarding claim 12, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Egilmez 81 teaches the limitations of claim 11,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 12,
However, Egilmez 81 teaches additionally,
matrix includes eight-bit precision values. (¶149, “transform matrix entries may be in 8-bit” precision)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the inverse transforming of Egilmez 81 which specifies a particular transform matrix. Using the techniques disclosed in the prior art allow for the possibility to reduce the mount of data used to represent the transform coefficients.
Claim(s) 13-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEO; Jin et al. (US 20200374516 A1) in view of CHOI; Jangwon et al. (US 20250203113 A1) in view of CHOI; Jungah et al. (Choi2)(US 20240357111 A1) in view of ZHAO; Xin et al. (US 20210160519 A1)
Regarding claim 13, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 13,
However, Zhao teaches additionally,
selecting the inverse NSPT from a set (¶129,56-57, and Table 1, “non-separable transform matrix can be selected from the one or more non-separable transform matrices in the transform set” as used by “scaler/inverse transform unit (551)” to output blocks comprising sample values) of possible inverse NSPTs. (¶129, transform set of the “multiple transform sets” used that include “non-separable transform matrices” in each of transform set)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao which teaches inverse transform that comprises sets of transforms. Use of non-separable transforms in this way allow for improved coding efficiency for certain directional image patterns.
Regarding claim 14, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 13,
Zhao teaches additionally,
selecting the set of possible inverse NSPTs from a plurality of sets (¶129, a transform set can be selected from the “one or more non-separable transform matrices” included in each of the “multiple transform sets”) of possible inverse NSPTs. (¶129,56-57, and Table 1, transform set of the “multiple transform sets” used that include “non-separable transform matrices” in each of the multiple transform sets as used by “scaler/inverse transform unit (551)” to output blocks comprising sample values)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao which teaches inverse transform that comprises sets of transforms. Use of non-separable transforms in this way allow for improved coding efficiency for certain directional image patterns.
Regarding claim 15, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 14,
Zhao teaches additionally,
selecting the set of possible inverse NSPTs (¶129-132, “transform set can be selected from the multiple transform sets”) comprises selecting the set (¶129,56-57, and Table 1, a transform set can be selected from the “one or more non-separable transform matrices” included in each of the “multiple transform sets”) of possible inverse NSPTs (¶129,56-57, and Table 1, transform set of the “multiple transform sets” used that include “non-separable transform matrices” in each of the multiple transform sets as used by “scaler/inverse transform unit (551)” to output blocks comprising sample values) according to an intra-prediction mode for the block of video data. (¶129-132, “transform set” obtained based on transform set index for the “multiple transform sets” based on intra prediction index with relationship between “the intra prediction modes and the multiple transform sets”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao which teaches inverse transform that comprises sets of transforms. Use of non-separable transforms in this way allow for improved coding efficiency for certain directional image patterns.
Regarding claim 16, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 13,
Heo teaches additionally,
selecting the inverse NSPT (¶87, “non-separable transform matrix” varied according to the size of the target block) comprises selecting the inverse NSPT (¶87, “size of the non-separable transform matrix” may varied according to “size of the target block to be transformed”) according to a size of the block of video data. (¶87 and 38, non-separable transform matrix may vary according to the “size of the target block” in a picture)
Claim(s) 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEO; Jin et al. (US 20200374516 A1) in view of CHOI; Jangwon et al. (US 20250203113 A1) in view of CHOI; Jungah et al. (Choi2)(US 20240357111 A1) in view of LEE; Jin Ho et al. (US 20210274197 A1)
Regarding claim 17, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 17,
However, Lee teaches additionally,
performing sign prediction (¶378, “transform coefficient sign prediction”) to predict one or more signs (¶378, “signs of N non-zero transform coefficients in the transform coefficient group” are predicted) for one or more of the transform coefficients. (¶378, “non-zero transform coefficients in the transform coefficient group”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the image decoding of Lee which teaches transform coefficient sign prediction. This allows for evaluating the cost of sign combinations that can help enhance the decoding efficiency.
Claim(s) 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEO; Jin et al. (US 20200374516 A1) in view of CHOI; Jangwon et al. (US 20250203113 A1) in view of CHOI; Jungah et al. (Choi2)(US 20240357111 A1) in view of ZHAO; Xin et al. (US 20210160519 A1) in view of KOO; Moonmo et al. (US 20210377568 A1) in view of Francois; Edouard et al. (US 20240121403 A1)
Regarding claim 19, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 19,
However, Zhao teaches additionally,
wherein inverse transforming the block of transform coefficients (¶55-57,104, and fig. 5, decoder (510) with “scaler/inverse transform unit (551)” outputs blocks comprise sample values using video coding technology related to “non-separable transform” used in a “primary transform”) comprises inverse transforming 20, 24, or 32 non-zero-valued transform coefficients (¶125 and 104, generate “core (primary) transform coefficients” in an 8x8 region using “non-separable transform”) and zero-valued transform coefficients for remaining transform coefficients. (¶104 and 127-128, primary-only “transform coefficients” obtained from a primary transform are “non-significant (e.g., zero) when the LFNST is applied”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao which teaches applying transform based on a last-significant position. This can indicate that a number of primary transform operations is reduced, which can simplify the transform coefficients.
But does not explicitly teach,
block of transform coefficients is one of a 4x16 or 16x4 block, and the block of transform coefficients comprises inverse transforming 20, 24, or 32 non-zero-valued transform coefficients and zero-valued transform coefficients for remaining transform coefficients.
However, Koo teaches additionally,
block of transform coefficients is one of a 4x16 (¶319, non-separable secondary transform may be performed when the target block is greater than 4×8 or 8×4 includes target blocks being “4xN” (N≥16) such as 4x16 when horizontally or vertically partitioned) or 16x4 block, (¶319, non-separable secondary transform may be performed when the target block is greater than 4×8 or 8×4 includes target blocks being “Nx4 (N≥16)” such as 16x4 when horizontally or vertically partitioned)
Koo specifies performed non-separable transforms that suit conditions where the target blocks are partitioned into 4x16 and 16x4 transform blocks. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao with the non-separable transforms of Koo which discloses target block shape permutations where non-separable transform is performed. This allows for techniques which can improve transform efficiency and coding efficiency.
Francois teaches additionally,
wherein inverse transforming (¶103-104 and 266-271, entropy decoding that includes an “inverse transform process” impacted by complexity information or metrics (CMs), such as “proportion of blocks” of “non-zero transform coefficients values” for a particular size of “samples” in “non-zero areas”) the block of transform coefficients (¶266-271, “NumNonZeroX Blocks” indicating number of blocks with “non-zero transform coefficient values” for a number of samples “from x=16,32,64,128,256” derived “in the decoder”) comprises inverse transforming 20, 24, or 32 non-zero-valued transform coefficients (¶266-271, “NumNonZero64 Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 64 samples that ranges from 0-64 (which includes 20, 24, or 32 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) and zero-valued transform coefficients for remaining transform coefficients. (¶266-271, remaining samples of the set of 64 samples not included in the “NumNonZero64Blocks” indicating 20, 24, or 32 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the range from 64 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 20, 24, or 32 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values are block with zero transform coefficient values)
Francois discloses inverse transforms that are impacted by information of a known proportion of blocks of non-zero areas. The non-zero areas are similar to the determination of a number of non-zero transform coefficient values as a proportion of a number of samples. This determination of the number of non-zero transform coefficient values is respective to size of the set of samples. When the inverse transform and number of non-zero transform coefficient values are considered together, they provide a teaching which relates to inverse transformation impacted by the determined amount of non-zero transforms coefficient values in a sample set. While the it does not expressly describe the number of non-zero blocks claimed, it does disclose any number of non-zero transform coefficients as a proportion of a whole set of samples. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao with the non-separable transforms of Koo with the decoding of that is impacted by the proportion of non-zero areas of Francois which enumerates the number of non-zero transform coefficient values in a set number of samples. Determining this information allows for a technique that can improve the compacity of the decoding complexity metrics.
Regarding claim 20, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Zhao with Koo with Francois teaches the limitations of claim 19,
Francois teaches additionally,
wherein when there are 20 non-zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-271, “Num NonZero64Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 64 samples that ranges from 0-64 (which includes 20 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) the remaining transform coefficients are 44 zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-271, remaining samples of the set of 64 samples not included in the “NumNonZero64Blocks” indicating 20 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the range from 64 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 20 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values number 44 blocks with zero transform coefficient values)
when there are 24 non-zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-271, “NumNonZero64 Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 64 samples that ranges from 0-64 (which includes 24 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) the remaining transform coefficients are 40 zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-271, remaining samples of the set of 64 samples not included in the “NumNonZero64Blocks” indicating 24 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the range from 64 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 24 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values number 40 blocks with zero transform coefficient values) or
when there are 32 non-zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-271, “NumNonZero64 Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 64 samples that ranges from 0-64 (which includes 32 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) the remaining transform coefficients are 32 zero-valued transform coefficients. (¶266-271, remaining samples of the set of 64 samples not included in the “NumNonZero64Blocks” indicating 32 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the range from 64 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 32 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values number 32 blocks with zero transform coefficient values)
Francois discloses inverse transforms that are impacted by information of a known proportion of blocks of non-zero areas. The non-zero areas are similar to the determination of a number of non-zero transform coefficient values as a proportion of a number of samples. This determination of the number of non-zero transform coefficient values is respective to size of the set of samples. When the inverse transform and number of non-zero transform coefficient values are considered together, they provide a teaching which relates to inverse transformation impacted by the determined amount of non-zero transforms coefficient values in a sample set. While the it does not expressly describe the number of non-zero blocks claimed, it does disclose any number of non-zero transform coefficients as a proportion of a whole set of samples. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao with the non-separable transforms of Koo with the decoding of that is impacted by the proportion of non-zero areas of Francois which enumerates the number of non-zero transform coefficient values in a set number of samples. Determining this information allows for a technique that can improve the compacity of the decoding complexity metrics.
Claim(s) 21-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEO; Jin et al. (US 20200374516 A1) in view of CHOI; Jangwon et al. (US 20250203113 A1) in view of CHOI; Jungah et al. (Choi2)(US 20240357111 A1) in view of ZHAO; Xin et al. (US 20210160519 A1) in view of Francois; Edouard et al. (US 20240121403 A1)
Regarding claim 21, Heo with Choi with Choi2 teaches the limitations of claim 1,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 21,
However, Zhao teaches additionally,
block of transform coefficients is one of an 8x16 block or a 16x8 block, (¶128, non-separable transform for a block restricted to an “8x16 transform”) wherein inverse transforming the block of transform coefficients (¶55-57,104, and fig. 5, decoder (510) with “scaler/inverse transform unit (551)” outputs blocks comprise sample values using video coding technology related to “non-separable transform” used in a “primary transform”) comprises inverse transforming non-zero-valued transform coefficients (¶125 and 104, generate “core (primary) transform coefficients” in an 8x8 region using “non-separable transform”) and zero-valued transform coefficients for remaining transform coefficients. (¶104 and 127-128, primary-only “transform coefficients” obtained from a primary transform are “non-significant (e.g., zero) when the LFNST is applied”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao which teaches applying transform based on a last-significant position. This can indicate that a number of primary transform operations is reduced, which can simplify the transform coefficients.
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of the claimed invention,
the block of transform coefficients comprises 32 or 40 non-zero-valued transform coefficients and zero-valued transform coefficients for remaining transform coefficients.
However, Francois teaches additionally,
wherein inverse transforming (¶103-104 and 266-268, entropy decoding that includes an “inverse transform process” impacted by complexity information or metrics (CMs), such as “proportion of blocks” of “non-zero transform coefficients values” for a particular size of “samples” in “non-zero areas”) the block of transform coefficients (¶266-268, “NumNonZeroX Blocks” indicating number of blocks with “non-zero transform coefficient values” for a number of samples “from x=16,32,64,128,256” derived “in the decoder”) comprises inverse transforming 32 or 40 non-zero-valued transform coefficients (¶266-268 and 272-274, “Num NonZero128Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 128 samples that ranges from 0-128 (which includes 32 or 40 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) and zero-valued transform coefficients for remaining transform coefficients. (¶266-268 and 272-274, remaining samples of the set of 128 samples not included in the “NumNonZero128Blocks” indicating 32 or 40 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the range from 128 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 32 or 40 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values are block with zero transform coefficient values)
Francois discloses inverse transforms that are impacted by information of a known proportion of blocks of non-zero areas. The non-zero areas are similar to the determination of a number of non-zero transform coefficient values as a proportion of a number of samples. This determination of the number of non-zero transform coefficient values is respective to size of the set of samples. When the inverse transform and number of non-zero transform coefficient values are considered together, they provide a teaching which relates to inverse transformation impacted by the determined amount of non-zero transforms coefficient values in a sample set. While the it does not expressly describe the number of non-zero blocks claimed, it does disclose any number of non-zero transform coefficients as a proportion of a whole set of samples. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao with the decoding of that is impacted by the proportion of non-zero areas of Francois which enumerates the number of non-zero transform coefficient values in a set number of samples. Determining this information allows for a technique that can improve the compacity of the decoding complexity metrics.
Regarding claim 22, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Zhao with Francois teaches the limitations of claim 21,
Francois teaches additionally,
there are 32 non-zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-268 and 272-274, “NumNonZero128 Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 128 samples that ranges from 0-128 (which includes 32 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) the remaining transform coefficients are 96 zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-268 and 272-274, remaining samples of the set of 128 samples not included in the “NumNonZero128Blocks” indicating 32 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the 128 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 32 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values number 96 blocks with zero transform coefficient values) or
when there are 40 non-zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-268 and 272-274, “NumNon Zero128Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 128 samples that ranges from 0-128 (which includes 40 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) the remaining transform coefficients are 88 zero-valued transform coefficients. (¶266-268 and 272-274, remaining samples of the set of 128 samples not included in the “NumNonZero128Blocks” indicating 40 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the 128 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 40 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values number 88 blocks with zero transform coefficient values)
Francois discloses inverse transforms that are impacted by information of a known proportion of blocks of non-zero areas. The non-zero areas are similar to the determination of a number of non-zero transform coefficient values as a proportion of a number of samples. Determination of the number of non-zero transform coefficient values is respective to size of the set of samples. When the inverse transform and number of non-zero transform coefficient values are considered together, they provide a teaching which relates to inverse transformation impacted by the determined amount of non-zero transforms coefficient values in a sample set. While the it does not expressly describe the number of non-zero blocks claimed, it does disclose any number of non-zero transform coefficients as a proportion of a whole set of samples. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao with the decoding of that is impacted by the proportion of non-zero areas of Francois which enumerates the number of non-zero transform coefficient values in a set number of samples. Determining this information allows for a technique that can improve the compacity of the decoding complexity metrics.
Regarding claim 23, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Zhao teaches the limitations of claim 1,
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of claim 23,
However, Zhao teaches additionally,
block of transform coefficients is a 16x16 block, (¶117, non-separable transform calculated based on “16x16 transform matrix”) and wherein inverse transforming the block of transform coefficients (¶55-57,104, and fig. 5, decoder (510) with “scaler/inverse transform unit (551)” outputs blocks comprise sample values using video coding technology related to “non-separable transform” used in a “primary transform”) comprises inverse transforming non-zero-valued transform coefficients (¶125 and 104, generate “core (primary) transform coefficients” in an 8x8 region using “non-separable transform”) and zero-valued transform coefficients for remaining transform coefficients. (¶104 and 127-128, primary-only “transform coefficients” obtained from a primary transform are “non-significant (e.g., zero) when the LFNST is applied”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao which teaches applying transform based on a last-significant position. This can indicate that a number of primary transform operations is reduced, which can simplify the transform coefficients.
But does not explicitly teach the additional limitations of the claimed invention,
the block of transform coefficients comprises 32, 40, or 44 non-zero-valued transform coefficients and zero-valued transform coefficients for remaining transform coefficients.
However, Francois teaches additionally,
wherein inverse transforming (¶103-104 and 266-268, entropy decoding that includes an “inverse transform process” impacted by complexity information or metrics (CMs), such as “proportion of blocks” of “non-zero transform coefficients values” for a particular size of “samples” in “non-zero areas”) the block of transform coefficients (¶266-268, “NumNonZeroX Blocks” indicating number of blocks with “non-zero transform coefficient values” for a number of samples “from x=16,32,64,128,256” derived “in the decoder”) comprises 32, 40, or 44 non-zero-valued transform coefficients (¶266-268 and 275-277, “NumNonZero256Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 256 samples that ranges from 0-256 (which includes 32, 40, or 44 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) and zero-valued transform coefficients for remaining transform coefficients. (¶266-268 and 275-277, remaining samples of the set of 256 samples not included in the “NumNonZero256Blocks” indicating 32, 40, or 44 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the range from 256 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 32, 40, or 44 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values are block with zero transform coefficient values)
Francois discloses inverse transforms that are impacted by information of a known proportion of blocks of non-zero areas. The non-zero areas are similar to the determination of a number of non-zero transform coefficient values as a proportion of a number of samples. This determination of the number of non-zero transform coefficient values is respective to size of the set of samples. When the inverse transform and number of non-zero transform coefficient values are considered together, they provide a teaching which relates to inverse transformation impacted by the determined amount of non-zero transforms coefficient values in a sample set. While the it does not expressly describe the number of non-zero blocks claimed, it does disclose any number of non-zero transform coefficients as a proportion of a whole set of samples. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao with the decoding of that is impacted by the proportion of non-zero areas of Francois which enumerates the number of non-zero transform coefficient values in a set number of samples. Determining this information allows for a technique that can improve the compacity of the decoding complexity metrics.
Regarding claim 24, Heo with Choi with Choi2 with Zhao with Francois teaches the limitations of claim 23,
Francois teaches additionally,
when there are 32 non-zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-268 and 275-277, “NumNonZero256Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 256 samples that ranges from 0-256 (which includes 32 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) the remaining transform coefficients are 224 zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-268 and 275-277, remaining samples of the set of 256 samples not included in the “NumNonZero256Blocks” indicating 32 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the range from 256 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 32 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values number 224 blocks with zero transform coefficient values)
when there are 40 non-zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-268 and 275-277, “NumNonZero256Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 256 samples that ranges from 0-256 (which includes 40 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) the remaining transform coefficients are 216 zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-268 and 275-277, remaining samples of the set of 256 samples not included in the “NumNonZero256Blocks” indicating 40 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the range from 256 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 40 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values number 216 blocks with zero transform coefficient values) or
when there are 44 non-zero-valued transform coefficients, (¶266-268 and 275-277, “NumNonZero256Blocks” indicating number of blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from a set of 256 samples that ranges from 0-256 (which includes 44 non-zero transform coefficients) of the transform values being non zero) the remaining transform coefficients are 212 zero-valued transform coefficients. (¶266-268 and 275-277, remaining samples of the set of 256 samples not included in the “NumNonZero256Blocks” indicating 44 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values from the range from 256 transform values where the remaining number of blocks not part of the 44 blocks with non-zero transform coefficient values number 212 blocks with zero transform coefficient values)
Francois discloses inverse transforms that are impacted by information of a known proportion of blocks of non-zero areas. The non-zero areas are similar to the determination of a number of non-zero transform coefficient values as a proportion of a number of samples. This determination of the number of non-zero transform coefficient values is respective to size of the set of samples. When the inverse transform and number of non-zero transform coefficient values are considered together, they provide a teaching which relates to inverse transformation impacted by the determined amount of non-zero transforms coefficient values in a sample set. While the it does not expressly describe the number of non-zero blocks claimed, it does disclose any number of non-zero transform coefficients as a proportion of a whole set of samples. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the image decoding of Heo with the non-separable primary transform of Choi with the inverse transform of Choi2 with the video coding of Zhao with the decoding of that is impacted by the proportion of non-zero areas of Francois which enumerates the number of non-zero transform coefficient values in a set number of samples. Determining this information allows for a technique that can improve the compacity of the decoding complexity metrics.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDEMIO NAVAS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483
/JIMMY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2483