Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Amley et al. (US 2007/0221275, hereinafter “Amley”).
As to claim 1, Amley discloses a suction valve stem for a medical device, the valve stem comprising:
an elongate body (body portion 60 of shuttle 48, Fig.2,3A);
a first opening in the elongate body (88, Fig.3A, [0030]);
a second opening in the elongate body (opening of passage 78 at 80, Fig.3A, [0030]);
a lumen (passages 78,84, Fig.3A, [0030]) extending from the first opening to the second opening (Fig.3A);
a first seal (seal 70, shown in annotated figure below) extending circumferentially around the elongate body (shown in Fig.2) at a location proximal of the first opening (see location right of opening 88 in annotated figure below); and
a second seal (seal 70, shown in annotated figure below) extending circumferentially around the elongate body (shown in Fig.2) at a location distal of the first opening (see location left of opening 88 in annotated figure below);
wherein the first opening is a radial opening (opens radially to surface 62, Fig.3A) and the second opening is an axial opening (opens along longitudinally extending passage 78 at 80, Fig.3A) in a distal end of the elongate body (80 constitutes a relative “distal” end opposite a relative “proximal end”), the second opening being in fluid communication with the first opening to allow a negative pressure through the first opening and the second opening (via passages 84,79, the openings/passages are capable of allowing fluid flow/pressure in either direction, Figs.3A,3B); and
wherein the elongate body, the first seal, and the second seal are formed from a single material (the body portion and seals can be integrally formed from an (same) elastomeric material as an alternative to being formed from separate material and bonded together, [0029]).
As to claim 2, wherein the elongate body, the first seal, and the second seal are monolithic (as set forth above with respect to claim 1, [0029]).
As to claim 3, further comprising: a third seal (seal 66, Fig.3A, [0029]) extending circumferentially around the elongate body (shown in Fig.2) at a location distal of the second seal (see location left of second seal 70 in annotated figure above), wherein the third seal is formed from the single material used to form the elongate body, the first seal, and the second seal ([0029]).
As to claim 4, further comprising: a first recess (see annotated figure below) extending circumferentially around the elongate body at a first axial location (see Fig.2); and a second recess (see annotated figure below) extending circumferentially around the elongate body at a second axial location spaced from the first axial location (see Fig.2), wherein the first seal extends from the first recess to the second recess (as shown in annotated figure below).
As to claim 10, wherein an engagement portion extends proximally from the elongate body (portion of body 60 extending proximally of the first seal 70 (to the right of first seal 70 in the figures), and including seal 68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amley et al. (US 2007/0221275, hereinafter “Amley”) in view of Hernandez et al. (US 2021/0204797, hereinafter “Hernandez”).
As to claim 5, Amley only discloses that the elongate body and seals is formed from an elastomeric material and thus fails to disclose that the material is a thermoplastic elastomer. Hernandez teaches that the body and seals of a valve stem (i.e. components of the valve stem, [0090]-[0091]) can be formed of a thermoplastic elastomer (e.g. thermoplastics) ([0092]). Since Amley fails to specify any particular elastomeric material for the elongate body and seals, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed such components from a material known in the art to be suitable for such components, including thermoplastic elastomers, as taught by Hernandez.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amley et al. (US 2007/0221275, hereinafter “Amley”).
As to claim 6-7, Amley, as set forth above with respect to claim 1, fails to disclose any particular dimensions for the valve stem, and specifically that a wall thickness of the elongate body between the lumen and an outer surface of the elongate body at an axial location between the first seal and the second seal is in a range of 1.00 millimeters (mm) and 2.00 mm, or at least 1.50 mm. However, choice of wall thickness when designing the valve stem of Amley to provide adequate support for the intended purposes of functioning as a valve stem would qualify as an obvious choice in design (e.g. thickness capable of accommodating dynamic fluid pressures while providing enough rigidity to accommodate a stem movement force without deformation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the wall thickness at any location between 1 mm or more since Applicant has not disclosed that a wall thickness of 1 mm or more provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected, depending on the particular material used to construct the valve stem, a wall thickness of 1 mm or more to provide adequate support for the intended purposes of functioning as a valve stem.
Claim(s) 8 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amley et al. (US 2007/0221275, hereinafter “Amley”) in view of Moss (US 2014/0191452)
As to claim 8, Amley, as set forth with respect to claim 1 above, fails to disclose the durometer of the material used to form the elongate body and seals, and thus fails to disclose that the single material has a durometer in a range of 50 Shore A to 75 Shore A. However, Moss evidences that a suitable durometer for a valve seal material, in order to provide the desired characteristic of sealing, can be between 20 and 95 Shore A, depending on the material used ([0021]). Since Applicant presents no advantage, particular purpose, or solution to a stated problem for the claimed durometer range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a material having a durometer in the range of 50 Shore A to 75 Shore A since such durometer values fall within the range known as suitable for a valve stem seal, as evidenced by Moss.
As to claim 19, Amley discloses a suction valve stem for use in an endoscope having a suction valve well, the suction valve stem comprising:
an elongate body (body portion 60 of shuttle 48, Fig.2,3A);
a first opening in the elongate body (88, Fig.3A, [0030]));
a second opening in the elongate body (opening of passage 78 at 80, Fig.3A, [0030]);
a lumen (passages78,84, Fig.3A, [0030]) extending from the first opening to the second opening (Fig.3A); and
a seal (seal 70) extending circumferentially around the elongate body (shown in Fig.2) at a location proximal of the first opening (either location of seal 70, Fig.3A),
wherein the elongate body and the seal are formed from a same polymer material (the body portion and seals can be integrally formed from an (same) elastomeric material as an alternative to being formed from separate material and bonded together, [0029]).
Amley fails to disclose that the material has a durometer in a range of 50 Shore A to 75 Shore A. However, Moss evidences that a suitable durometer for a valve seal material, in order to provide the desired characteristic of sealing, can be between 20 and 95 Shore A, depending on the material used ([0021]). Since Applicant presents no advantage, particular purpose, or solution to a stated problem for the claimed durometer range, and since Amley fails to mention any particular durometer values, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a material having a durometer in the range of 50 Shore A to 75 Shore A since such durometer values fall within the range known in the art as suitable for a valve stem seal, as evidenced by Moss
As to claim 20, Amley further discloses a first recess (see annotated figure above with respect to claim 4) extending circumferentially around the elongate body (see Fig.2); and a second recess (see annotated figure above with respect to claim 4) extending circumferentially around the elongate body (see Fig.2), wherein the seal extends from the first recess to the second recess (seal 70, as shown in annotated figure above with respect to claim 4).
As to claim 21, Amley, as set forth above with respect to claim 19, fails to disclose any particular dimensions for the valve stem, and specifically that a wall thickness of the elongate body between the lumen and an outer surface of the elongate body at an axial location between the first seal and the second seal is in a range of 1.00 millimeters (mm) and 2.00 mm, or at least 1.50 mm. However, choice of wall thickness when designing the valve stem of Amley to provide adequate support for the intended purposes of functioning as a valve stem would qualify as an obvious choice in design (e.g. thickness capable of accommodating dynamic fluid pressures while providing enough rigidity to accommodate a stem movement force without deformation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the wall thickness at any location between 1 mm or more since Applicant has not disclosed that a wall thickness of 1 mm or more provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected, depending on the particular material used to construct the valve stem, a wall thickness of 1 mm or more to provide adequate support for the intended purposes of functioning as a valve stem.
As to claim 22, wherein the first opening is a radial opening (opens radially to surface 62, Fig.3A) and the second opening is an axial opening in a distal end of the elongate body (opens along longitudinally extending passage 78 at 80, Fig.3A; 80 constitutes a relative “distal” end opposite a relative “proximal end”).
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez et al. (US 2021/0204797, hereinafter “Hernandez”) in view of Moss (US 2014/0191452).
As to claim 19, Hernandez discloses a suction valve stem for use in an endoscope having a suction valve well, the suction valve stem comprising:
an elongate body (main stem 22,Fig.1);
a first opening in the elongate body (hole 28, Fig.2);
a second opening in the elongate body (opening 38, Fig.4);
a lumen (channel 32, Fig.4) extending from the first opening to the second opening (Fig.4); and
a seal (gasket 48) extending circumferentially around the elongate body at a location proximal of the first opening (gasket 48 at top of Fig.3),
wherein the elongate body and the seal are formed from a same polymer material (same polymer material, [0090],[0091]).
Hernandez fails to disclose that the material has a durometer in a range of 50 Shore A to 75 Shore A. However, Moss evidences that a suitable durometer for a valve seal material, in order to provide the desired characteristic of sealing, can be between 20 and 95 Shore A, depending on the material used ([0021]). Since Applicant presents no advantage, particular purpose, or solution to a stated problem for the claimed durometer range, and since Hernandez fails to mention any particular durometer values, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a material having a durometer in the range of 50 Shore A to 75 Shore A since such durometer values fall within the range known in the art as suitable for a valve stem seal, as evidenced by Moss.
As to claim 20, Hernandez further discloses a first recess (recessed portion of main stem proximal of gasket 48) extending circumferentially around the elongate body; and a second recess (recessed portion of main stem distal of gasket 48) extending circumferentially around the elongate body, wherein the seal extends from the first recess to the second recess (largest diameter of gasket 48 extends between the recesses, Fig.3).
As to claim 21, Hernandez, as set forth above with respect to claims 19, fails to disclose the wall thickness between the lumen and the outer surface of the stem (either between the first and second seal, or at the second location). However, Hernandez does indicate that the holes (e.g. opening 30) can be from about 1 mm to about 4 mm in diameter ([0070]), suggesting from relative dimensions of the hole 30 and wall thickness in figure 4, that the wall thickness is anywhere between at least 0.5 mm and 2 mm. In addition, choice of wall thickness when designing the valve stem of Hernandez to provide adequate support for the intended purposes of functioning as a valve stem would qualify as an obvious choice in design (e.g. thickness capable of accommodating dynamic fluid pressures while providing enough rigidity to accommodate a stem movement force without deformation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the wall thickness at any location between 1 mm or more since Applicant has not disclosed that a wall thickness of 1 mm or more provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected, depending on the particular material used to construct the valve stem, a wall thickness of 1 mm or more to provide adequate support for the intended purposes of functioning as a valve stem.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 and 23-24 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Rejections and objections from the previous Office Action that have not been repeated in this Office Action should be considered as addressed or corrected, and thus hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed February 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s amendments directed to the specific locations of the openings avoids the Hernandez reference and thus such rejection has been withdrawn. However, the Examiner would like to make a few comments. Firstly, recitation in the claims that the valve stem is for “suction” or “for an endoscope having suction” are merely intended use recitations that carry no weight in limiting the structure of the valve stem. Secondly, Hernandez does indeed expressly disclose both a single-material construction AND a monolithic construction. For instance, Hernandez, in paragraph [0090], specifically states that the MAIN STEM and SEALS, as two of the multiple components of the adapter, can be made from the SAME MATERIAL (as an alternative to a different material). Paragraph [0093] of specifies that the components of the adapter, which are defined as including the main stem and seals in paragraph [0090], can be MONOLITHICALLY FORMED. There is nothing in the Hernandez reference that indicates that the word “monolithic” is being defined any differently than Applicant’s definition of this word.
Claim 11 has been amended to include the allowable subject matter of claim 18 (including intervening claims) and thus is now allowable over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 19, although Hernandez does not recognize durometer as a result-effective variable, the Moss reference was previously presented to evidence durometer values known in the art as suitable for a valve stem seal. Absence a teaching of any particular durometer in either Amley or Hernandez, one of ordinary skill in the art would turn to the prior art (e.g. Moss) to determine a suitable durometer valve for the material used as the seal material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See references cited on PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN P LEUBECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795