DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/06/2026. Claims 1, 4-8, 10-13, and 15-16 has been amended. Claims 2-3, 9, and 17-20 were canceled. Claims 21-27 have been added. Claims 1, 4-8, 10-16, and 21-27 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10-16, and 21-27 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 10-11, 13-16, 21-25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shriner et al. (US 10,931,005 herein Shriner), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0064179 A1 herein Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Shriner teaches a wearable electronic device (read as hearing device 201a, 201b) (Shriner – Figure 2A, column 5 lines 29-55) comprising: a housing including a first housing and a second housing including at least one opening for outputting sound to an outside of the wearable electronic device, wherein the first housing and the second housing are coupled to each other (read as enclosure 205a, 205b includes an external side 202a, 202b that faces away from the wearer and an internal side 203a, 203b that is inserted in the ear canal; enclosure 205a, 25b comprises a shell 206a, 206b and a faceplate 207a, 207b to be inserted and removed from the enclosure 205a, 205b) (Shriner – Figure 2A, column 5 lines 29-55);
a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed in the housing (read as PCB environment; printed circuit board) (Shriner – column 7 lines 14-25);
a wireless communication circuit disposed on the PCB (read as chip antenna 350, 350a is a compact type of antenna located in a PCB environment) (Shriner – column 7 lines 14-25, column 8 lines 30-44);
a support member disposed between the first housing and the PCB other (read as hearing devices 201a, 201b includes faceplate 207a, 207b to be inserted and removed from the enclosure 205a, 205b) (Shriner – Figure 2A, column 5 lines 29-55);
a conductive patch disposed on the support member and including a hole spaced apart from an edge of the conductive patch (read as PIFA antenna 301 includes a conductive patch 310 and a ground plane 320 that overlaps and is spaced apart from the patch 310; conductive patch 310 of the PIFA antenna 301 serves as a counterpoise for the chip antenna 350 and feeds the chip antenna 350) (Shriner – column 8 lines 7-28).
However, Shriner fails to teach a connection member disposed between the PCB and the support member;
a conductive line disposed on the connection member to be electrically connected with the conductive patch via the hole; and
a first touch sensing circuit disposed on the PCB and electrically connected with the conductive patch for detecting touch input to the conductive patch,
wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to supply power to the conductive patch using the conductive line to receive a radio frequency (RF) signal of a first frequency band.
In the related art, Lee teaches a connection member disposed between the PCB and the support member (read as first conductor line L1 may electrically connect to a first insulator 710, attached to an internal side surface of a touch member TM1, and a first terminal PA1 of an inductor element LE1 to each other) (Lee – [0104]-[0107]);
a conductive line disposed on the connection member to be electrically connected with the conductive patch via the hole (read as conductor line L1 and the second conductor line L2 may be flexible conductor lines such that utilization of a disposition space is improved to increase the degree of freedom in a placement location and a placement distance) (Lee – [0109]); and
a first touch sensing circuit disposed on the PCB and electrically connected with the conductive patch for detecting touch input to the conductive patch (read as touch member TM1; touch operation sensing device) (Lee – [0105]-[0106], [0108]),
wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to supply power to the conductive patch using the conductive line to receive a radio frequency (RF) signal of a first frequency band (Lee – [0169]-[0170]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Shriner for the purpose of utilization of a disposition space is improved to increase the degree of freedom in a placement location and a placement distance and precisely detecting an impedance change, caused by a touch operation, irrespective of locations of a case and an internal coil or a distance between the case and the internal coil.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches wherein the hole is positioned at a first point of the conductive patch, and wherein the first touch sensing circuit and the conductive patch are electrically connected to each other at the first point (read as PIFA antenna 301 includes a conductive patch 310 and a ground plane 320 that overlaps and is spaced apart from the patch 310; conductive patch 310 of the PIFA antenna 301 serves as a counterpoise for the chip antenna 350 and feeds the chip antenna 350) (Shriner – column 8 lines 7-28).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: a second touch sensing circuit electrically connected with the conductive patch at a second point of the conductive patch, wherein the second point is spaced apart from the edge of the conductive patch, wherein the PCB comprises at least one conductive layer corresponding to a ground, and wherein the ground is electrically connected with the conductive patch at the second point (read as PIFA antenna 301 includes a conductive patch 310 and a ground plane 320 that overlaps and is spaced apart from the patch 310; conductive patch 310 of the PIFA antenna 301 serves as a counterpoise for the chip antenna 350 and feeds the chip antenna 350) (Shriner – column 8 lines 7-28).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: a conductive connection member disposed in the housing, wherein the conductive patch further comprises a hole corresponding to the second point, and wherein the conductive connection member is coupled to the hole corresponding to the second point and electrically coupled to the ground of the PCB (read as conductive sections 906a, 906b, 906c are connected to feed pads of chip antennas 914a, b, c, respectively and are spaced apart) (Shriner – column 11 lines 16-29).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 5, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: a first conductive line electrically connecting the conductive patch and the ground to each other; and a second conductive line extending from a point of the first conductive line, wherein the second touch sensing circuit is electrically connected to the conductive patch via the second conductive line (read as conductor line L1 and the second conductor line L2 may be flexible conductor lines such that utilization of a disposition space is improved to increase the degree of freedom in a placement location and a placement distance) (Lee – [0109]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 7, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: an inductor disposed on the second conductive line, wherein the inductor has a designated inductance value, and wherein the first frequency band comprises 2.3 to 2.7 GHz (Shriner – column 7 lines 14-25).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: a conductive pattern disposed on the support member, wherein the conductive pattern surrounds the conductive patch while being spaced apart from the conductive patch by a designated distance (read as coil pattern LE1-P is a PCB pattern) (Lee – Figure 6, Figure 7, [0120]-[0121], [0124]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 10, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: a second touch sensing circuit, wherein the second touch sensing circuit is electrically connected to the conductive pattern, and wherein the second touch sensing circuit is configured to detect a touch input to the conductive pattern (read as touch member TM1; touch operation sensing device) (Lee – Figure 2, Figure 3, Figure 4, [0105]-[0106], [0108]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 10, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: at least one processor electrically connected to the conductive pattern; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable electronic device to identify a change of a capacitance value of the conductive pattern, and determine, based on the identified change of the capacitance value, whether the wearable electronic device is worn (read as capacitor element CE1) (Lee – [0076], [0085], [0088], [0118]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 1, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: a lumped element electrically connected to the conductive patch, wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to receive a signal of a second frequency band based on an electrical path including the conductive patch and the lumped element (Shriner – column 3 lines 22-45, column 5 lines 15-28).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 1, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches wherein the support member includes an insulation member (read as first conductor line L1 may electrically connect a first insulator 710, attached to an internal side surface of a touch member TM1, and a first terminal PA1 of an inductor element LE1 to each other) (Lee – [0104]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 16, Shriner teaches an electronic device (read as hearing device 201a, 201b) (Shriner – Figure 2A, column 5 lines 29-55) comprising:
a housing including a first housing and a second housing including at least one opening for outputting sound to an outside of the electronic device, wherein the first housing and the second housing are coupled to each other (read as enclosure 205a, 205b includes an external side 202a, 202b that faces away from the wearer and an internal side 203a, 203b that is inserted in the ear canal; enclosure 205a, 25b comprises a shell 206a, 206b and a faceplate 207a, 207b to be inserted and removed from the enclosure 205a, 205b) (Shriner – Figure 2A, column 5 lines 29-55);
a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed in the housing (read as PCB environment; printed circuit board) (Shriner – column 7 lines 14-25);
a wireless communication circuit disposed on the PCB (read as chip antenna 350, 350a is a compact type of antenna located in a PCB environment) (Shriner – column 7 lines 14-25, column 8 lines 30-44);
a support member disposed between the first housing and the PCB (read as hearing devices 201a, 201b includes faceplate 207a, 207b to be inserted and removed from the enclosure 205a, 205b) (Shriner – Figure 2A, column 5 lines 29-55);
a conductive patch disposed on the support member and including a hole spaced apart from an edge of the conductive patch (read as PIFA antenna 301 includes a conductive patch 310 and a ground plane 320 that overlaps and is spaced apart from the patch 310; conductive patch 310 of the PIFA antenna 301 serves as a counterpoise for the chip antenna 350 and feeds the chip antenna 350) (Shriner – column 8 lines 7-28).
Shriner fails to teach a connection member disposed between the PCB and the support member;
a conductive line disposed on the connection member to be electrically connected with the conductive patch via the hole; and a
touch sensing circuit disposed on the PCB and electrically connected with the conductive patch for detecting touch input to the conductive patch,
wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to supply power to the conductive patch using the conductive line to receive a radio frequency (RF) signal of a first frequency band, and
wherein the touch sensing circuit is connected to the conductive patch at a second point of the conductive patch spaced apart from a first point and configured to detect a touch input to the conductive patch.
In the related art, Lee teaches a connection member disposed between the PCB and the support member (read as first conductor line L1 may electrically connect to a first insulator 710, attached to an internal side surface of a touch member TM1, and a first terminal PA1 of an inductor element LE1 to each other) (Lee – [0104]-[0107]);
a conductive line disposed on the connection member to be electrically connected with the conductive patch via the hole (read as conductor line L1 and the second conductor line L1 may be flexible conductor lines such that utilization of a disposition space is improved to increase the degree of freedom in a placement location and a placement distance) (Lee – [0109]); and a
touch sensing circuit disposed on the PCB and electrically connected with the conductive patch for detecting touch input to the conductive patch (read as touch member TM1; touch operation sensing device) (Lee – [0105]-[0106], [0108]),
wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to supply power to the conductive patch using the conductive line to receive a radio frequency (RF) signal of a first frequency band (Lee – [0169]-[0170]), and
wherein the touch sensing circuit is connected to the conductive patch at a second point of the conductive patch spaced apart from a first point and configured to detect a touch input to the conductive patch (read as touch member TM1; touch operation sensing device) (Lee – Figure 2, Figure 3, Figure 4, [0105]-[0106], [0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Shriner for the purpose of utilization of a disposition space is improved to increase the degree of freedom in a placement location and a placement distance and precisely detecting an impedance change, caused by a touch operation, irrespective of locations of a case and an internal coil or a distance between the case and the internal coil.
Regarding claim 21 as applied to claim 1, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches wherein the connection member is formed by a laser direct structuring (LDS) (Lee – [0055]).
Regarding claim 22 as applied to claim 1, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: a second touch sensing circuit electrically connected with the conductive patch at a second point of the conductive patch, wherein the second point is spaced apart from the edge of the conductive patch (read as PIFA antenna 301 includes a conductive patch 310 and a ground plane 320 that overlaps and is spaced apart from the patch 310; conductive patch 310 of the PIFA antenna 301 serves as a counterpoise for the chip antenna 350 and feeds the chip antenna 350) (Shriner – column 8 lines 7-28).
Regarding claim 23 as applied to claim 1, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches wherein the conductive line includes a first conductive line electrically connecting the conductive patch and the wireless communication circuit, and a second conductive line extending from a point of the first conductive line, and wherein the first touch sensing circuit is electrically connected with the conductive patch via the second conductive line (read as conductor line L1 and the second conductor line L2 may be flexible conductor lines such that utilization of a disposition space is improved to increase the degree of freedom in a placement location and a placement distance) (Lee – [0109]).
Regarding claim 24 as applied to claim 16, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: a conductive pattern disposed on the support member, wherein the conductive pattern surrounds the conductive patch while being spaced apart from the conductive patch by a designated distance (read as coil pattern LE1-P is a PCB pattern) (Lee – Figure 6, Figure 7, [0120]-[0121], [0124]).
Regarding claim 25 as applied to claim 24, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: an additional touch sensing circuit, wherein the additional touch sensing circuit is electrically connected to the conductive pattern, and wherein the additional touch sensing circuit is configured to detect a touch input to the conductive pattern (read as touch member TM1; touch operation sensing device) (Lee – Figure 2, Figure 3, Figure 4, [0105]-[0106], [0108]).
Regarding claim 27 as applied to claim 24, Shriner as modified by Lee further teaches further comprising: at least one processor electrically connected to the conductive pattern; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify a change of a capacitance value of the conductive pattern, and determine, based on the identified change of the capacitance value, whether the electronic device is worn (read as capacitor element CE1) (Lee – [0076], [0085], [0088], [0118]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648