DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 10/12/2023 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 forms).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: measuring module, generation unit, output module, in claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a mobile ticketing device for a transport vehicle of a passenger transport system, comprising: at least one electrical connector equipment configured to connect the mobile ticketing device to an electrical on-board supply system of the transport vehicle; at least one electrical measuring module configured to measure an electrical parameter applied at the electrical connector equipment; at least one generation unit configured to generate at least one measurement data set containing at least one electrical parameter datum about the measured electrical parameter; and at least one output module configured to output the generated measurement data set,
Claim 17 recites a method for monitoring a mobile ticketing device, comprising: measuring, by at least one electrical measuring module, an electrical parameter applied at an electrical connector equipment of the mobile ticketing device, generating, by at least one generation unit, at least one measurement data set containing at least one electrical parameter datum about the measured electrical parameter, and outputting, by at least one output module, the generated measurement data set…
and thus grouped as Mental Processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) (see MPEP 2106.04(a) - a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements, the data gathering step, (claim 1) “at least one electrical connector equipment configured to connect the mobile ticketing device to an electrical on-board supply system of the transport vehicle; at least one electrical measuring module configured to measure an electrical parameter applied at the electrical connector equipment” (claim 17) “measuring, by at least one electrical measuring module, an electrical parameter applied at an electrical connector equipment of the mobile ticketing device” are mere data gathering that do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. Furthermore, the additional elements (claims 1 and 17) the “modules and units” are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions amount to no more than using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Furthermore, the additional element, “output the generated measurement data set” are merely outputting the results that do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are post-solution activity. All of which are considered not indicative of integration into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d)).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of the data gathering steps are mere data collect steps which fall under insignificant extra solution activity and deemed insufficient to qualify as “significantly more” - see MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional elements of the units and modules are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and deemed insufficient to qualify as “significantly more” see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Dependent claims 2-16 and 18-20 when analyzed as a whole are patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the dependent claims fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea as they are directed mathematical concepts and/or mental processes and do not add significantly more to the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ikeda [US 2023/0415684 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda teaches a mobile ticketing device for a transport vehicle of a passenger transport system, comprising:
at least one electrical connector equipment (service module identification unit) configured to connect the mobile ticketing device (ticket issuing machine, vending machine – 0057) to an electrical on-board supply system of the transport vehicle (power supply management device – 0056) (vehicle 100 – figure 1, 0015);
at least one electrical measuring module configured to measure an electrical parameter (electrical power amount) applied at the electrical connector equipment (various sensors and detectors installed in the individual parts – 0062);
at least one generation unit configured to generate at least one measurement data set containing at least one electrical parameter datum (power consumption amount – 0061) (return electric power amount - 0063) about the measured electrical parameter; and
at least one output module configured to output the generated measurement data set (outputs to the next step in figure 6 to continue the power-supply management processing – 0064-0070).
Regarding claim 12, Ikeda teaches a passenger transport system, comprising:
at least one mobile ticketing device (ticket issuing machine, vending machine – 0057) installed in a transport vehicle according to claim 1 (vehicle 100 – figure 1, 0015); and
at least one background system (ECU – 0022) comprising at least one communication module (communication system - 0026, 0027),
wherein the output module of the mobile ticketing device is configured to transmit the at least one measurement data set to the communication module (communication system - 0026, 0027).
Regarding claim 13, Ikeda teaches the background system comprises at least one evaluation module configured to evaluate the at least one transmitted measurement data set (communication system - 0026, 0027).
Regarding claim 14, Ikeda teaches the evaluation module is configured to determine individuals of the mobile ticketing devices at which a frequency of transmitted measurement data sets is detected (transmitting and receiving - 0018).
Regarding claim 17, Ikeda teaches a method for monitoring a mobile ticketing device (ticket issuing machine, vending machine – 0057), comprising:
measuring, by at least one electrical measuring module, an electrical parameter (electrical power amount) applied at an electrical connector equipment of the mobile ticketing device (various sensors and detectors installed in the individual parts – 0062),
generating, by at least one generation unit, at least one measurement data set containing at least one electrical parameter datum (power consumption amount – 0061) (return electric power amount - 0063) about the measured electrical parameter, and
outputting, by at least one output module, the generated measurement data set (outputs to the next step in figure 6 to continue the power-supply management processing – 0064-0070).
Regarding claim 18, Ikeda teaches outputting comprises outputting, by the at least one output module, the generated measurement data set to a background system (outputs to the next step in figure 6 to continue the power-supply management processing – 0064-0070).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11, 15, 16, 19 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Prior Art / Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Meade et al. (US Patent Number 5,021,984) discloses a ticket issuing machines;
Tanaka (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0106784 A1) discloses a mobile device for use with a ticketing transport facility.
/RICKY GO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857