DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 11/5/25. As directed by the amendment: no claims have been amended, 1-15 and 25-35 have been cancelled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 16-24 are presently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 16-24) in the reply filed on 11/5/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 21, it is unclear how the sharp distal end can be both covered via the access cannula, as recited in parent claim 16, and protrude distally from the access cannula, as recited in dependent claim 21; claim 21 is therefore indefinite.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 21, as worded, fails to include all the limitations of claim 16 on which it depends, and specifically fails to include the sharp distal end being covered via the access cannula as recited in claim 1, instead broadening the limitation so that the sharp distal end is not covered and protrudes distally. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 19, 20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams (US 2847995).
Regarding claim 16, Adams discloses a system for accessing a biliary duct (system illustrated in fig. 5-8, fully capable of accessing a biliary duct via puncture with the tip as illustrated), comprising: an access cannula 41 extending along a longitudinal axis from a proximal end to a distal end (distal end toward sharp tip and proximal end toward hub) and including a channel 42 extending longitudinally therethrough, a distal portion of the access cannula including a laser cut pattern (pattern formed by elements 33, which are a product fully capable of formation via a laser cut pattern process of making that product) including a plurality of slots 43 extending through a wall thereof (see fig. 8; 43 are slots that extend through at least a portion of the wall diameter) so that the access cannula is movable between a biased non-compressed configuration (fig. 5, 6, or 8) and a compressed configuration (fig. 7), in which the access cannula is compressed along the longitudinal axis (see fig. 7); and a needle 47 extending longitudinally from a proximal end to a sharp distal end (see fig. 5-8), the needle housed within the channel of the access cannula (see fig. 5, 6, and 8) so that, when the access cannula is in the non-compressed configuration, the sharp distal end is covered via the access cannula (see fig. 5, 6, and 8) and, when the access cannula is in the compressed configuration, the sharp distal end is exposed to puncture a wall of one of an organ and a target duct (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Adams discloses the laser cut pattern is selected to achieve a desired level of compressibility for the access cannula (desired compressibility achieved as illustrated in fig. 7), the desired level of compressibility including a compressive force required to move the access cannula from the non-compressed configuration toward the compressed configuration and length by which the access cannula is shortened when moved from the non-compressed configuration toward the compressed configuration (See fig. 5-8).
Regarding claim 20, Adams discloses the desired level of compressibility achieved via the laser cut pattern is based on one of a number of slots per row, dimensions of each of the slots, a rotation angle between corresponding slots in adjacent rows, and a distance between rows (compressibility of 41 is achieved at least via the dimensions of slots and distance between rows as illustrated in fig. 5-8).
Regarding claim 22, Adams discloses when the access cannula is moved from the non-compressed configuration to the compressed configuration, the access cannula is shortened via a distance corresponding to the sharp distal end of the needle (distance corresponding to the sharp tip of the needle is uncovered during transition from configuration to configuration as claimed, comparing fig. 5/6 to fig. 7).
Regarding claim 23, Adams discloses a length of the sharp distal end of the needle that is exposed when the access cannula is in the compressed configuration is smaller than the target duct such to prevent a through and through puncture (structure of fig. 5-8 is fully capable of performing this claimed function, at least by compressing only to expose a desired length).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Aramo (US 3134380).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Adams discloses the laser cut pattern includes a plurality of rows (each of 43 is one row), each row extending about a periphery of the access cannula (see fig. 8), each of the rows including at least one slot extending along a portion of the row (see fig. 8), wherein each row extends perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the cannula (see fig. 5-8), except for specifically disclosing the rows extending through the wall such that the channel of the access cannula is open to and in communication with an exterior of the access cannula via the slots. However, Aramo teaches extending a portion of a slot in a compressible sleeve through the wall such that the access cannula is open to the exterior, via 31 (see fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend at least a portion of each row of Adams through the wall such that the channel is open to the exterior, as taught by Aramo, for the purpose of providing sufficient structure to allow air to escape from the interior to accommodate the collapsing of the cannula (col. 1, ln. 67- col. 2, ln. 27).
Claim(s) 21, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Schwartz (US 3867937).
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, Adams disloses the device as claimed, except for, in the non-compressed configuration, a distal-most tip of the needle protrudes distally of the distal end of the access cannula. However, Schwartz teaches extending a distal tip of a needle past the distal end of the access cannula in the non-compressed configuration (see fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adams to extend the distal tip pas the distal end of the access cannula, as taught by Schwartz, for the purpose of providing sufficient structure to allow initial puncture/placement while protecting the majority of the needle with the collapsible sleeve.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Prestidge et al. (US 20040193109).
Regarding claim 24, Adams discloses the device as claimed, except for the access cannula formed of a nitinol hypotube. However, Prestidge et al. teaches forming a collapsible/expandable access cannula 17 from NiTi (see fig. 1-2; par. 0035-0037). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cannula of Adams to utilize a nitinol hypotube, as taught by Prestidge et al., for the purpose of providing sufficient structure for controlled extension/contraction of the cannula.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yoon (US 5707362) – example of slots extending through the wall, but longitudinally
Schondorff et al. (US 20210268179) – interchangeability of longitudinal/transverse slots
Cabiri (US 20130304035) – transverse slots
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783