DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filling of the Amendment on 11/13/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0140739), hereinafter Liu, in view of Grant (US 2015/0191840).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) a rectifier circuit (figures 1 and 2, part 1) comprising: an alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) that generates one or more direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) from an alternating current signal of an input terminal (figures 1 and 2, part AC at input terminal 21 of 2) (paragraph [0042]; Each of the N rectifier units 2 includes an input terminal 21 and an output terminal 22. The input terminals 21 of the N rectifier units 2 are connected with each other in series and connected to an AC power source P. Each rectifier unit 2 converts the AC power from the AC power source P into a DC Power. The i-th rectifier unit 2 of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the i-th DC power PAi. For example, the first rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the first DC power PA1, and the N-th rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the N-th DC power PAN); and a plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) that convert the one or more direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) from the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) comprising separately reduced voltages (figures 1 and 2, part reduced voltages at 342 and 352) from the one or more direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) at a plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part output terminals from 32 and 33; Po1-PoN) physically mounted in parallel (figures 1, 2 and 22, part output parallel connected between 32 and 33) at a plurality of different positions (figure 22, parts plurality of different positions at b and L) (paragraphs [0042]-[0046]; each power converter 3 is electrically connected with a corresponding rectifier unit 2. Each power converter 3 includes an input terminal 31, a first output terminal 32 and a second output terminal 33. The input terminal 31 of each power converter 3 is electrically connected with the output terminal 22 of the corresponding rectifier unit 2 to receive the DC power PAi from the corresponding rectifier unit 2. The first output terminal 32 of the first power converter 3 and the second output terminal 33 of the N-th power converter 3 are connected in parallel to form the N-th total output terminal 4… each power converter 3 includes a first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and a second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. The first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 has an input terminal 341 and an output terminal 342. The second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 has an input terminal 351 and an output terminal 352. The input terminal 341 of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and the input terminal 351 of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 are connected in parallel with the input terminal 31 of the corresponding power converter 3… if the required power levels for different total output terminals 4 are different, the input power levels at the input terminals 31 of the power converters 3 may be regulated to be consistent according to the practical requirements. In other words, the power conversion system 1 can meet the power factor requirements. Consequently, the efficiency of the power conversion system 1 is increased, and the power loss is reduced).
Liu does not expressly disclose a plurality of different positions of an anode.
Grant teaches (see figures 1-42) a plurality of output terminals physically mounted in parallel (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of output terminals of the DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) at a plurality of different positions of an anode (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of different positions [upper or lower corners] of anode A) (paragraphs [0092]-[0096]; cathode plates 1 and anode plates 2 are marked A C A C A and are viewed end on (i.e. from above in a vertical plate system). The power converters 9 are represented by circles. The plates (and hence the interelectrode gaps 3) may be supplied from both edges (corners) using all the converters shown (9A to 9H inclusive)… Considerations such as reducing converter count, optimal converter power and obtaining even current distribution determine which converter distribution is employed.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the rectifier circuit of Liu to the electrodeposition device as taught by Grant and obtain a rectifier circuit comprising: an alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit that generates one or more direct current signals from an alternating current signal of an input terminal; and a plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits that convert the one or more direct current signals from the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals comprising separately reduced voltages from the one or more direct current signals at a plurality of output terminals physically mounted in parallel at a plurality of different positions of an anode, because the combination result in more efficient and robust power supply for the electrodeposition device (paragraphs [0087]-[0088] and [0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) a front-end stage including the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2); and a back-end stage including the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35), wherein the back-end stage (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) is connected to one or more portions of a device (figure 22, parts device generated by b and L) and provides current to the one or more portions of the device (figure 22, parts device generated by b and L) via the plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part output terminals from 32 and 33; Po1-PoN). However, Liu does no expressly disclose an electrodeposition device.
Grant teaches (see figures 1-42) a front-end stage including the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figure 42, part 151); and a back-end stage including the direct current-to-direct current converter circuit (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) (paragraph [00152]; The cell load represented by resistor 146 is supplied by a buck (single phase or multiphase) converter 150. Converter 151 creates a dc supply 152 from an ac supply 153 (e.g. 230V, 50 Hz). This converter 151 may include a power-factor correction stage. An intermediate supply 152 may be any convenient dc voltage but may also be the dc voltage derived from a power factor correction stage and may contain substantial voltage ripple as well as being of a voltage greater than the peak voltage of the ac supply 153. For efficient functioning of the buck regulator 150, the intermediate voltage supplied to it at the intermediate voltage rails 155 should not be too far removed from the output voltage (i.e. the cell voltage). Typically the input voltage of this converter should not be much more than ten times the output voltage when the converter is a simple buck converter. Hence an intermediate converter 154 may be required to convert the output voltage of converter 151 to a voltage appropriate for input to the converter 150), wherein the back-end stage (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) is connected to one or more portions (figure 42, part anode and cathode of cell 146)(figures 5 and 6, parts anodes A and cathodes C provided by 9A-9j) of an electrodeposition device (figures 5 and 6) (paragraphs [0002]-[0004]; The present invention relates to an apparatus for the electro-production of metals. In electrorefining (ER) and electrowinning (EW) electrodes are immersed in an electrolyte and an electric current is passed between them. The anode is made positive and the cathode made negative so that an electric current passes through the electrolyte from anode to cathode. In electrorefining (ER), the metal anode is soluble. That is to say that the metal enters into the electrolyte under the influence of the potential between the anode and cathode. For example, in the electrorefining of copper, the anode is made of copper and the copper enters the electrolyte from the anode. The metal, now in the electrolyte, is transported through or by the electrolyte to the cathode where it is deposited) and provides current to the one or more portions (figures 5 and 6, parts anodes A and cathodes C provided by 9A-9j) of the electrodeposition device (figures 5 and 6) via the plurality of output terminals (figure 42, part anode and cathode of cell 146)(figures 5 and 6, parts outputs from 9A-9j) (paragraph [0033]; a first aspect of the invention there is provided an apparatus for use in the electro-production of metals, comprising a plurality of anodes and a plurality of cathodes in an interleaved configuration, wherein each anode and cathode pair forms a cell; a plurality of power supplies, each cell associated with one or more respective power supplies; and the power supplies are arranged to control a direct current in the one or more cells to a predetermined value).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the rectifier circuit of Liu to the electrodeposition device as taught by Grant and obtain a front-end stage including the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit; and a back-end stage including the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits, wherein the back-end stage is connected to one or more portions of an electrodeposition device and provides current to the one or more portions of the electrodeposition device via the plurality of output terminals, because the combination result in more efficient and robust power supply for the electrodeposition device (paragraphs [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) converts the alternating current signal (figures 1 and 2, part AC at input terminal 21 of 2) to a single direct current signal (figures 1 and 2, part single DC at 22 from output of 2) (paragraph [0042]; Each of the N rectifier units 2 includes an input terminal 21 and an output terminal 22. The input terminals 21 of the N rectifier units 2 are connected with each other in series and connected to an AC power source P. Each rectifier unit 2 converts the AC power from the AC power source P into a DC Power. The i-th rectifier unit 2 of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the i-th DC power PAi. For example, the first rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the first DC power PA1, and the N-th rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the N-th DC power PAN).
Regarding claim 4, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) convert the single direct current signal (figures 1 and 2, part single DC at 22 from output of 2) to the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) (paragraphs [0042]-[0046]; each power converter 3 is electrically connected with a corresponding rectifier unit 2. Each power converter 3 includes an input terminal 31, a first output terminal 32 and a second output terminal 33. The input terminal 31 of each power converter 3 is electrically connected with the output terminal 22 of the corresponding rectifier unit 2 to receive the DC power PAi from the corresponding rectifier unit 2. The first output terminal 32 of the first power converter 3 and the second output terminal 33 of the N-th power converter 3 are connected in parallel to form the N-th total output terminal 4… each power converter 3 includes a first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and a second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. The first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 has an input terminal 341 and an output terminal 342. The second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 has an input terminal 351 and an output terminal 352. The input terminal 341 of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and the input terminal 351 of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 are connected in parallel with the input terminal 31 of the corresponding power converter 3).
Regarding claim 5, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) converts the alternating current signal (figures 1 and 2, part AC at input terminal 21 of 2) to a plurality of direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality DC at 22 from output of 2; at PA1-PAN) (paragraph [0042]; Each of the N rectifier units 2 includes an input terminal 21 and an output terminal 22. The input terminals 21 of the N rectifier units 2 are connected with each other in series and connected to an AC power source P. Each rectifier unit 2 converts the AC power from the AC power source P into a DC Power. The i-th rectifier unit 2 of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the i-th DC power PAi. For example, the first rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the first DC power PA1, and the N-th rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the N-th DC power PAN).
Regarding claim 6, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) convert the plurality of direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality DC at 22 from output of 2; at PA1-PAN) to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) having lower voltages (figures 1 and 2, part lower voltages at 342 and 352) than the plurality of direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality DC at 22 from output of 2; at PA1-PAN) (paragraphs [0042]-[0046]; each power converter 3 is electrically connected with a corresponding rectifier unit 2. Each power converter 3 includes an input terminal 31, a first output terminal 32 and a second output terminal 33. The input terminal 31 of each power converter 3 is electrically connected with the output terminal 22 of the corresponding rectifier unit 2 to receive the DC power PAi from the corresponding rectifier unit 2. The first output terminal 32 of the first power converter 3 and the second output terminal 33 of the N-th power converter 3 are connected in parallel to form the N-th total output terminal 4… each power converter 3 includes a first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and a second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. The first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 has an input terminal 341 and an output terminal 342. The second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 has an input terminal 351 and an output terminal 352. The input terminal 341 of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and the input terminal 351 of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 are connected in parallel with the input terminal 31 of the corresponding power converter 3).
Regarding claim 7, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) a controller (figures 1 and 2, part 5) that communicates with the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) to control currents generated by the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) at the plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part outputs 32 and 33) (paragraph [0059]; The power conversion system 1 further includes a computing control unit 5. The computing control unit 5 is electrically connected with the total output terminals 4 of the N power converters 3 to receive the N total output powers Po1, . . . , P.oN from the N power converters 3… the computing control unit 5 acquires the input power reference values of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 of each power converter 3 according to the first power error value x.sub.1 to the N-th power error value xN… the output power from the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 of each power converter 3 is controlled according to the input power reference value of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34, and the output power from the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 of each power converter 3 is controlled according to the input power reference value of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. In such way, the input powers of the input terminals 31 of the plurality of power converters 3 can be regulated to be identical. Consequently, the circulation power or the power loss of the power conversion system 1 can be minimized).
Regarding claim 8, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the controller (figures 1 and 2, part 5) communicates with the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) to generate the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) having current values within a threshold current value of each other (figure 17A) (paragraphs [0054] and [0059]; the circulation current power will not exceed the power limit value of the power converter 3… the computing control unit 5 acquires the input power reference values of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 of each power converter 3 according to the first power error value x.sub.1 to the N-th power error value xN. The input power reference value P.sub.n1ref of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 of each power converter 3 may be expressed as: P.sub.n1ref=0.5 Po(n-1)−xn, wherein 1≤n≤N. In case that n=1, Po(n-1)=Po0, and Po0 is PoN. The input power reference value Pn2ref of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 of each power converter 3 may be expressed as: Pn2ref=0.5Pon+xn… the output power from the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 of each power converter 3 is controlled according to the input power reference value of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34, and the output power from the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 of each power converter 3 is controlled according to the input power reference value of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. In such way, the input powers of the input terminals 31 of the plurality of power converters 3 can be regulated to be identical. Consequently, the circulation power or the power loss of the power conversion system 1 can be minimized).
Regarding claim 9, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the controller (figures 1 and 2, part 5) independently controls a first current generated by a first direct current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part first current generated by 34) of the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) from a second current generated by a second direct current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part second current generated by 35) of the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) (paragraphs [0059]; The power conversion system 1 further includes a computing control unit 5. The computing control unit 5 is electrically connected with the total output terminals 4 of the N power converters 3 to receive the N total output powers Po1, . . . , PoN from the N power converters 3… the input power reference value P11ref of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 of the first power converter 3 may be expressed as: P11ref=0.5PoN−x1, and the input power reference value P12ref of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 of the first power converter 3 may be expressed as: P12ref=0.5Po1+x1. Moreover, the output power from the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 of each power converter 3 is controlled according to the input power reference value of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34, and the output power from the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 of each power converter 3 is controlled according to the input power reference value of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. In such way, the input powers of the input terminals 31 of the plurality of power converters 3 can be regulated to be identical. Consequently, the circulation power or the power loss of the power conversion system 1 can be minimized).
Regarding claim 10, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part output terminals from 32 and 33; Po1-PoN) of the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) are in physical contact and electrical contact with the plurality of different positions (figure 22, parts plurality of different positions at b and L); and the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) provide the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) to the plurality of different positions (figure 22, parts plurality of positions at b and L). However, Liu does not expressly disclose a surface of the anode at the plurality of positions.
Grant teaches (see figures 1-42) the plurality of output terminals of the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) are in physical contact and electrical contact with a surface of the anode (figures 5 and 6, part surface of anode A) at the plurality of different positions (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of different positions [upper or lower corners] of anode A); and the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) provide the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals to the surface of the anode (figures 5 and 6, part surface of anode A) at the plurality of different positions (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of different positions [upper or lower corners] of anode A) (paragraphs [0092]-[0096]; cathode plates 1 and anode plates 2 are marked A C A C A and are viewed end on (i.e. from above in a vertical plate system). The power converters 9 are represented by circles. The plates (and hence the interelectrode gaps 3) may be supplied from both edges (corners) using all the converters shown (9A to 9H inclusive)… Considerations such as reducing converter count, optimal converter power and obtaining even current distribution determine which converter distribution is employed.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the rectifier circuit of Liu to the electrodeposition device as taught by Grant and obtain the plurality of output terminals of the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits are in physical contact and electrical contact with a surface of the anode at the plurality of different positions; and the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits provide the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals to the surface of the anode at the plurality of different positions, because the combination result in more efficient and robust power supply for the electrodeposition device (paragraphs [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) a rectifier circuit (figures 1 and 2, part 1) comprising: an alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) that generates a direct current signal (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) from an alternating current signal of an input terminal (figures 1 and 2, part AC at input terminal 21 of 2) (paragraph [0042]; Each of the N rectifier units 2 includes an input terminal 21 and an output terminal 22. The input terminals 21 of the N rectifier units 2 are connected with each other in series and connected to an AC power source P. Each rectifier unit 2 converts the AC power from the AC power source P into a DC Power. The i-th rectifier unit 2 of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the i-th DC power PAi. For example, the first rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the first DC power PA1, and the N-th rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the N-th DC power PAN); and a plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) arranged in series that convert the direct current signal (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) from the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) comprising separately reduced voltages (figures 1 and 2, part reduced voltages at 342 and 352) from the direct current signal (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) at a plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part output terminals from 32 and 33; Po1-PoN) physically mounted in parallel (figures 1, 2 and 22, part output parallel connected between 32 and 33) at a plurality of different positions (figure 22, parts plurality of different positions at b and L) (paragraphs [0042]-[0046]; each power converter 3 is electrically connected with a corresponding rectifier unit 2. Each power converter 3 includes an input terminal 31, a first output terminal 32 and a second output terminal 33. The input terminal 31 of each power converter 3 is electrically connected with the output terminal 22 of the corresponding rectifier unit 2 to receive the DC power PAi from the corresponding rectifier unit 2. The first output terminal 32 of the first power converter 3 and the second output terminal 33 of the N-th power converter 3 are connected in parallel to form the N-th total output terminal 4… each power converter 3 includes a first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and a second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. The first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 has an input terminal 341 and an output terminal 342. The second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 has an input terminal 351 and an output terminal 352. The input terminal 341 of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and the input terminal 351 of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 are connected in parallel with the input terminal 31 of the corresponding power converter 3… if the required power levels for different total output terminals 4 are different, the input power levels at the input terminals 31 of the power converters 3 may be regulated to be consistent according to the practical requirements. In other words, the power conversion system 1 can meet the power factor requirements. Consequently, the efficiency of the power conversion system 1 is increased, and the power loss is reduced).
Liu does not expressly disclose a plurality of different positions of an anode.
Grant teaches (see figures 1-42) a plurality of output terminals physically mounted in parallel (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of output terminals of the DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) at a plurality of different positions of an anode (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of different positions [upper or lower corners] of anode A) (paragraphs [0092]-[0096]; cathode plates 1 and anode plates 2 are marked A C A C A and are viewed end on (i.e. from above in a vertical plate system). The power converters 9 are represented by circles. The plates (and hence the interelectrode gaps 3) may be supplied from both edges (corners) using all the converters shown (9A to 9H inclusive)… Considerations such as reducing converter count, optimal converter power and obtaining even current distribution determine which converter distribution is employed.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the rectifier circuit of Liu to the electrodeposition device as taught by Grant and obtain a rectifier circuit comprising: an alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit that generates a direct current signal from an alternating current signal of an input terminal; and a plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits arranged in series that convert the direct current signal from the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals comprising separately reduced voltages from the direct current signal at a plurality of output terminals physically mounted in parallel at a plurality of different positions of an anode, because the combination result in more efficient and robust power supply for the electrodeposition device (paragraphs [0087]-[0088] and [0096]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) a front-end stage including the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) that generates the direct current signal (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) from the alternating current signal (figures 1 and 2, part AC at input terminal 21 of 2) (paragraph [0042]; Each of the N rectifier units 2 includes an input terminal 21 and an output terminal 22. The input terminals 21 of the N rectifier units 2 are connected with each other in series and connected to an AC power source P. Each rectifier unit 2 converts the AC power from the AC power source P into a DC Power. The i-th rectifier unit 2 of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the i-th DC power PAi. For example, the first rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the first DC power PA1, and the N-th rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the N-th DC power PAN); and a back-end stage including the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) arranged in series (paragraph [0110]; n some other embodiments, the i-th total output terminal 4 of the three power conversion systems 1 are connected with each other in series to output the i-th total output power Poi) to provide the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) generated from the direct current signal (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) to a plurality of positions (figure 22, parts plurality of positions at b and L). However, Liu does not expressly disclose a plurality of positions of an electrically conductive surface.
Grant teaches (see figures 1-42) a front-end stage including the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit that generates the direct current signal from the alternating current signal (figure 42, part 151); and a back-end stage including the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) (paragraph [00152]; The cell load represented by resistor 146 is supplied by a buck (single phase or multiphase) converter 150. Converter 151 creates a dc supply 152 from an ac supply 153 (e.g. 230V, 50 Hz). This converter 151 may include a power-factor correction stage. An intermediate supply 152 may be any convenient dc voltage but may also be the dc voltage derived from a power factor correction stage and may contain substantial voltage ripple as well as being of a voltage greater than the peak voltage of the ac supply 153. For efficient functioning of the buck regulator 150, the intermediate voltage supplied to it at the intermediate voltage rails 155 should not be too far removed from the output voltage (i.e. the cell voltage). Typically the input voltage of this converter should not be much more than ten times the output voltage when the converter is a simple buck converter. Hence an intermediate converter 154 may be required to convert the output voltage of converter 151 to a voltage appropriate for input to the converter 150) to provide the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals generated from the direct current signal (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) to a plurality of positions of an electrically conductive surface (figures 5 and 6, part surface of anode A) (paragraphs [0092]-[0096]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the rectifier circuit of Liu to the electrodeposition device as taught by Grant and obtain a front-end stage including the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit that generates the direct current signal from the alternating current signal; and a back-end stage including the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits arranged in series to provide the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals generated from the direct current signal to a plurality of positions of an electrically conductive surface, because the combination result in more efficient and robust power supply for the electrodeposition device (paragraphs [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 13, claim 7 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the controller (figures 1 and 2, part 5): detects currents (figures 1 and 2, part 5; through detection of Po1-Pon) generated by the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) at the plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part outputs 32 and 33); determines (figures 1 and 2, part 5) that a current difference (figures 1 and 2, part 5; power error values x) between a first current generated by a first direct current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part first current generated by 34) and a second current generated by a second direct current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part second current generated by 35) is greater than a threshold current value (figures 1 and 2, part 5; target power value); and communicates (figures 1 and 2, part 5), in response to the current difference (figures 1 and 2, part 5; power error values x) being greater than the threshold current value (figures 1 and 2, part 5; target power value), with the first direct current-to-direct current converter circuit to modify the first current(figures 1 and 2, part first current generated by 34) generated by the first direct current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part 34) (paragraph [0046]-[0059]; the output power from the first output terminal 32 of the i-th power converter 3 is equal to a half of the (i−1)-th total output power Po(i−1) outputted from the (i−1)-th total output terminal 4 minus an (i−1)-th power error value, and the output power from the second output terminal 33 of the i-th power converter 3 is equal to a half of the i-th total output power Poi outputted from the i-th total output terminal 4 plus an i-th power error value… target function, x1, x2, . . . , xN are the to-be-solved circulation power values (i.e., the power error values from the first power error value to the N-th power error value). For achieving the balance between the input power and the output power of each power converter 3, the input power of the input terminal 31 of each power converter 3 is equal to the output power from the first output terminal 32 plus the output power from the second output terminal 33).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) a rectifier circuit (figures 1 and 2, part 1) comprising: an alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) that generates a plurality of direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) from an alternating current signal of an input terminal (figures 1 and 2, part AC at input terminal 21 of 2) (paragraph [0042]; Each of the N rectifier units 2 includes an input terminal 21 and an output terminal 22. The input terminals 21 of the N rectifier units 2 are connected with each other in series and connected to an AC power source P. Each rectifier unit 2 converts the AC power from the AC power source P into a DC Power. The i-th rectifier unit 2 of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the i-th DC power PAi. For example, the first rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the first DC power PA1, and the N-th rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the N-th DC power PAN); and a plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits arranged in parallel (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) that convert the plurality of direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) from the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) comprising separately reduced voltages (figures 1 and 2, part reduced voltages at 342 and 352) from the plurality of direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) at a plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part output terminals from 32 and 33; Po1-PoN) physically mounted in parallel (figures 1, 2 and 22, part output parallel connected between 32 and 33) at a plurality of different positions (figure 22, parts plurality of different positions at b and L) (paragraphs [0042]-[0046]; each power converter 3 is electrically connected with a corresponding rectifier unit 2. Each power converter 3 includes an input terminal 31, a first output terminal 32 and a second output terminal 33. The input terminal 31 of each power converter 3 is electrically connected with the output terminal 22 of the corresponding rectifier unit 2 to receive the DC power PAi from the corresponding rectifier unit 2. The first output terminal 32 of the first power converter 3 and the second output terminal 33 of the N-th power converter 3 are connected in parallel to form the N-th total output terminal 4… each power converter 3 includes a first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and a second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. The first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 has an input terminal 341 and an output terminal 342. The second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 has an input terminal 351 and an output terminal 352. The input terminal 341 of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and the input terminal 351 of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 are connected in parallel with the input terminal 31 of the corresponding power converter 3… if the required power levels for different total output terminals 4 are different, the input power levels at the input terminals 31 of the power converters 3 may be regulated to be consistent according to the practical requirements. In other words, the power conversion system 1 can meet the power factor requirements. Consequently, the efficiency of the power conversion system 1 is increased, and the power loss is reduced).
Grant teaches (see figures 1-42) a plurality of output terminals physically mounted in parallel (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of output terminals of the DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) at a plurality of different positions of an anode (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of different positions [upper or lower corners] of anode A) (paragraphs [0092]-[0096]; cathode plates 1 and anode plates 2 are marked A C A C A and are viewed end on (i.e. from above in a vertical plate system). The power converters 9 are represented by circles. The plates (and hence the interelectrode gaps 3) may be supplied from both edges (corners) using all the converters shown (9A to 9H inclusive)… Considerations such as reducing converter count, optimal converter power and obtaining even current distribution determine which converter distribution is employed.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the rectifier circuit of Liu to the electrodeposition device as taught by Grant and obtain a rectifier circuit comprising: an alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit that generates a plurality of direct current signals from an alternating current signal of an input terminal; and a plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits arranged in parallel that convert the plurality of direct current signals from the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals comprising separately reduced voltages from the plurality of direct current signals at a plurality of output terminals physically mounted in parallel at a plurality of different positions of an anode, because the combination result in more efficient and robust power supply for the electrodeposition device (paragraphs [0087]-[0088] and [0096]).
Regarding claim 17, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) a front-end stage including the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) that generates the direct current signal (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) from the alternating current signal (figures 1 and 2, part AC at input terminal 21 of 2) (paragraph [0042]; Each of the N rectifier units 2 includes an input terminal 21 and an output terminal 22. The input terminals 21 of the N rectifier units 2 are connected with each other in series and connected to an AC power source P. Each rectifier unit 2 converts the AC power from the AC power source P into a DC Power. The i-th rectifier unit 2 of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the i-th DC power PAi. For example, the first rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the first DC power PA1, and the N-th rectifier unit of the N rectifier units 2 outputs the N-th DC power PAN); and a back-end stage including the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) arranged in parallel to conduct the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) generated from the plurality of direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) to a plurality of positions (figure 22, parts plurality of positions at b and L). However, Liu does not expressly disclose a plurality of positions of an electrically conductive surface.
Grant teaches (see figures 1-42) a front-end stage including the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit that generates the direct current signal from the alternating current signal (figure 42, part 151); and a back-end stage including the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) (paragraph [00152]; The cell load represented by resistor 146 is supplied by a buck (single phase or multiphase) converter 150. Converter 151 creates a dc supply 152 from an ac supply 153 (e.g. 230V, 50 Hz). This converter 151 may include a power-factor correction stage. An intermediate supply 152 may be any convenient dc voltage but may also be the dc voltage derived from a power factor correction stage and may contain substantial voltage ripple as well as being of a voltage greater than the peak voltage of the ac supply 153. For efficient functioning of the buck regulator 150, the intermediate voltage supplied to it at the intermediate voltage rails 155 should not be too far removed from the output voltage (i.e. the cell voltage). Typically the input voltage of this converter should not be much more than ten times the output voltage when the converter is a simple buck converter. Hence an intermediate converter 154 may be required to convert the output voltage of converter 151 to a voltage appropriate for input to the converter 150) to conduct the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals generated from the direct current signals (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) to a plurality of positions of an electrically conductive surface (figures 5 and 6, part surface of anode A) (paragraphs [0092]-[0096]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the rectifier circuit of Liu to the electrodeposition device as taught by Grant and obtain a front-end stage including the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit that generates the plurality of direct current signals from the alternating current signal; and a back-end stage including the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits arranged in parallel to conduct the plurality of corresponding child direct current signals generated from the plurality of direct current signals to a plurality of positions of an electrically conductive surface, because the combination result in more efficient and robust power supply for the electrodeposition device (paragraphs [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 18, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) arranged in parallel (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) subdivides each direct current signal of the plurality of direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part each DC signal from 32 and 33) into two or more corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC signals from 32 and 33).
Regarding claim 19, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) a controller (figures 1 and 2, part 5) that communicates with the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) to control currents generated by the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) at the plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part outputs 32 and 33) based on the plurality of direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2; through Po1-PoN) (paragraph [0050]) generated by the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) (paragraph [0059]; The power conversion system 1 further includes a computing control unit 5. The computing control unit 5 is electrically connected with the total output terminals 4 of the N power converters 3 to receive the N total output powers Po1, . . . , P.oN from the N power converters 3… the computing control unit 5 acquires the input power reference values of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 of each power converter 3 according to the first power error value x.sub.1 to the N-th power error value xN… the output power from the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 of each power converter 3 is controlled according to the input power reference value of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34, and the output power from the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 of each power converter 3 is controlled according to the input power reference value of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. In such way, the input powers of the input terminals 31 of the plurality of power converters 3 can be regulated to be identical. Consequently, the circulation power or the power loss of the power conversion system 1 can be minimized).
Regarding claim 20, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the controller (figures 1 and 2, part 5): determines that one or more current differences (figures 1 and 2, part 5; power error values x) between currents (figures 1 and 2, part 5; Po1-Pon) generated by the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) at the plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part outputs 32 and 33) exceed a threshold current value (figures 1 and 2, part 5; target power value); and modifies (figures 1 and 2, part 5) one or more voltage inputs to one or more direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part voltage inputs to the plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) of the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) to reduce the one or more current differences (figures 1 and 2, part 5; power error values x) below the threshold current value (figures 1 and 2, part 5; target power value) (paragraph [0046]-[0059]; the output power from the first output terminal 32 of the i-th power converter 3 is equal to a half of the (i−1)-th total output power Po(i−1) outputted from the (i−1)-th total output terminal 4 minus an (i−1)-th power error value, and the output power from the second output terminal 33 of the i-th power converter 3 is equal to a half of the i-th total output power Poi outputted from the i-th total output terminal 4 plus an i-th power error value… target function, x1, x2, . . . , xN are the to-be-solved circulation power values (i.e., the power error values from the first power error value to the N-th power error value). For achieving the balance between the input power and the output power of each power converter 3, the input power of the input terminal 31 of each power converter 3 is equal to the output power from the first output terminal 32 plus the output power from the second output terminal 33).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0140739), hereinafter Liu, in view of Grant (US 2015/0191840), and further in view of Koehl et al. (US 2012/0160703), hereinafter Koehl.
Regarding claim 15, Liu and Grant teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10). Further, Liu discloses (see figures 1-22) the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1, 2 and 22, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) and of plurality of positions (figure 22, parts plurality of positions at b and L). However, Liu does not expressly disclose mounting structures for mounting the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits to a plurality of positions of a surface, a mounting structure of the mounting structures comprising: an electrically conductive bung element physically and electrically connected to a direct current-to-direct current converter circuit of the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits and the surface; and a thermally conductive base element coupled to the surface and at least partially enclosing the electrically conductive bung element.
Koehl teaches (see figures 1-6) mounting structures (figure 1) for mounting the plurality of converter circuits (figures 1 and 3, parts plurality of converter circuits connected to power cables 410, 420a and 420b) (paragraphs [0023] and [0024]; EORS 1000 may include several supporting and structural members to contain, frame, and otherwise support and structure other components) to a plurality of positions of a surface (figures 1, 3 and 5, parts plurality of positions of a surface generated by anodes 1200/480) (paragraph [0040]; Power cables 410, 420a, and 420b may connect to any shared or independent power source for operating reducing systems), a mounting structure (figure 1) of the mounting structures (figure 1) comprising: an electrically conductive bung element (figure 3, part 450) physically and electrically connected to a converter circuit (figures 1 and 3, parts plurality of converter circuits connected to power cables 410, 420a and 420b) of the plurality of converter circuits (figures 1 and 3, parts plurality of converter circuits connected to power cables 410, 420a and 420b) and the surface (figures 1, 3 and 5, parts plurality of positions of a surface generated by anodes 1200/480); and a thermally conductive base element (figures 1, 3 and 5, part 1108) coupled to the surface (figures 1, 3 and 5, parts plurality of positions of a surface generated by anodes 1200/480) and at least partially enclosing the electrically conductive bung element (figure 3, part 450) (paragraphs [0039]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the rectifier circuit of Liu to the electrodeposition device and structure as taught by Koehl and obtain mounting structures for mounting the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits to a plurality of positions of a surface, a mounting structure of the mounting structures comprising: an electrically conductive bung element physically and electrically connected to a direct current-to-direct current converter circuit of the plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits and the surface; and a thermally conductive base element coupled to the surface and at least partially enclosing the electrically conductive bung element, because the combination result in more efficient and reduced power supply system (based on the mounting structure) for the electrodeposition device (paragraphs [0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argues on pages 10-12 of the Applicant's Response (“Liu, whether considered singly or in combination with the other cited references, fails to describe, teach, or suggest each limitation recited by independent claims 1, 11, and 16. For example, Liu, whether considered singly or in combination with the other cited references, fails to describe, teach, or suggest "a plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits that convert the one or more direct current signals from the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals comprising separately reduced voltages from the one or more direct current signals at a plurality of output terminals physically mounted in parallel at a plurality of different positions of an anode," as recited by currently amended independent claim 1. As discussed above, Liu does not disclose the limitations of the currently amended independent claims. The additional cited prior art references also do not teach the above-cited limitations of the claims”).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because the 103 combination of Liu and Grant teach the claimed limitation. The primary reference Liu discloses a plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of DC-DC converter circuit 34 and 35) that convert the one or more direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) from the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit (figures 1 and 2, part AC/DC 2) to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of child DC at 342 and 352) comprising separately reduced voltages (figures 1 and 2, part reduced voltages at 342 and 352) from the one or more direct current signals (figures 1 and 2, part DC at 22 from output of 2) at a plurality of output terminals (figures 1 and 2, part output terminals from 32 and 33; Po1-PoN) physically mounted in parallel (figures 1, 2 and 22, part output parallel connected between 32 and 33) at a plurality of different positions (figure 22, parts plurality of different positions at b and L) (paragraphs [0042]-[0046]; each power converter 3 is electrically connected with a corresponding rectifier unit 2. Each power converter 3 includes an input terminal 31, a first output terminal 32 and a second output terminal 33. The input terminal 31 of each power converter 3 is electrically connected with the output terminal 22 of the corresponding rectifier unit 2 to receive the DC power PAi from the corresponding rectifier unit 2. The first output terminal 32 of the first power converter 3 and the second output terminal 33 of the N-th power converter 3 are connected in parallel to form the N-th total output terminal 4… each power converter 3 includes a first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and a second DC/DC conversion circuit 35. The first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 has an input terminal 341 and an output terminal 342. The second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 has an input terminal 351 and an output terminal 352. The input terminal 341 of the first DC/DC conversion circuit 34 and the input terminal 351 of the second DC/DC conversion circuit 35 are connected in parallel with the input terminal 31 of the corresponding power converter 3… if the required power levels for different total output terminals 4 are different, the input power levels at the input terminals 31 of the power converters 3 may be regulated to be consistent according to the practical requirements. In other words, the power conversion system 1 can meet the power factor requirements. Consequently, the efficiency of the power conversion system 1 is increased, and the power loss is reduced). Grant teaches a plurality of output terminals physically mounted in parallel (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of output terminals of the DC-DC converter circuit inside of 9A-9J) (figure 42, part DC-DC converter circuit generated by 154 and 150) at a plurality of different positions of an anode (figures 5 and 6, part plurality of different positions [upper or lower corners] of anode A) (paragraphs [0092]-[0096]; cathode plates 1 and anode plates 2 are marked A C A C A and are viewed end on (i.e. from above in a vertical plate system). The power converters 9 are represented by circles. The plates (and hence the interelectrode gaps 3) may be supplied from both edges (corners) using all the converters shown (9A to 9H inclusive)… Considerations such as reducing converter count, optimal converter power and obtaining even current distribution determine which converter distribution is employed.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the rectifier circuit of Liu to the electrodeposition device as taught by Grant and obtain a rectifier circuit comprising: an alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit that generates one or more direct current signals from an alternating current signal of an input terminal; and a plurality of direct current-to-direct current converter circuits that convert the one or more direct current signals from the alternating current-to-direct current converter circuit to a plurality of corresponding child direct current signals comprising separately reduced voltages from the one or more direct current signals at a plurality of output terminals physically mounted in parallel at a plurality of different positions of an anode, because the combination result in more efficient and robust power supply for the electrodeposition device (paragraphs [0087]-[0088] and [0096]). Therefore, the combination of Liu and Grant meet the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838