DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1-5, 18-22 is/are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US20150063726) in view of Zhang ( US 20090141149) .
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto teaches an image processing apparatus comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories ([0116], a computer) are configured to:
generate an enlarged image by performing enlargement( 104 in FIG. 1) ,
wherein an intensity in a case where the enlargement is to be performed is different from the intensity in a case where the enlargement is not be performed( FIG. 2; [0029]-[0032], generates a blur signal by combining a pixel value of the pixel in the reduced image and pixel values of multiple pixels surrounding the pixel. The blur signal includes information indicating luminosity of a target pixel and its surroundings) .
Matsumoto does not expressly teach
generate a corrected image by preforming correction on an original image; and
wherein the correction glamorizes skin or reduces noise.
However, Zhang teaches
generate a corrected image by preforming correction on an original image( [0009], image data D5 output from the wide-dynamic-range correction unit 6 and outputs it); and
wherein the correction glamorizes skin or reduces noise([0009], SK process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Matsumoto and Zhang, by performing enlarging operations as taught by Matsumoto on the corrected images that have been corrected following the teaching of Zhang, with motivation “ to suppress noise of the gradation corrected image data”( Zhang, Abstract) .
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto in view of Zhang teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the intensity of the correction in the case where the enlargement will be performed is weaker than the intensity of the correction in the case where the enlargement will not be performed(Matsumoto, [0037], a human recognizes that lightness he or she perceives is low when the object is in a bright setting and high when the object is in a dark setting, no matter how the level of the lightness is the same… the correction value determining unit 202 generates a correction value which corresponds to such a visual characteristic).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumoto in view of Zhang teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction is performed on a partial area of the original image( Zhang, [0016], the higher frequency components of the image data D5 are suppressed in only the portion of the skin tone).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumoto in view of Zhang teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the partial area is a face area(Zhang, [0016], that the amount of suppression of higher frequency components is gradually changed in the contour portion of a face or the like).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumoto in view of Zhang teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the partial area is a skin area( Zhang, [0016], the higher frequency components of the image data D5 are suppressed in only the portion of the skin tone)..
Regarding claim 18, Matsumoto in view of Zhang teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an imaging unit configured to capture an image, wherein t the correction is performed on the image captured by the imaging unit( Matsumoto,101 in FIG. 1).
Claims 19 and 20 recite the method and medium in the apparatus of claim 1, and thus also rejected.
Regarding claim 21, Matsumoto in view of Zhang teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the correction uses the original image as an input and outputs the corrected image, and wherein the enlargement uses the corrected image as an input and outputs the enlarged image ( see rational in the rejection to claim 1) .
Regarding claim 22, Matsumoto in view of Zhang teaches the image processing apparatus according claim 1,
wherein a resolution of the original image is equal to a resolution of the corrected image(Zhang, Abstract, to multiply input image data by a gradation correction value appropriate for the input image data), and
wherein a resolution of the enlarged image is greater than the resolution of the original image and is greater than the resolution of the corrected image(Matsumoto, [0073], the image processing apparatus 100 first refers to pixels of 4×4 and second refers to pixels of 2×2. Hence the image processing apparatus 100 can curb an increase in processing amount and execute intense smoothing).
Claim(s) 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of Zhang, further in view of Sytnik ( US 20210150677).
Regarding 8, Matsumoto in view of Zhang teaches The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein , to perform the enlargement, the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further configured to:
to perform a first enlargement on the corrected image to generate a first enlarged image (Matsumoto, 104 in FIG. 1); and
perform a second enlargement different from the first enlargement on the corrected image, to generate a second enlarged image(Matsumoto, 105 in FIG. 1).
Matsumoto in view of Zhang does not expressly teach perform first enlargement using a neural network on the image on which the correction is performed.
However, Sytnik teaches teach perform first enlargement using a neural network on the image on which the correction is performed (120 in FIG. 1).
Therefore It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik, by identifying skin areas as taught by Sytnik, and then applying Matsumoto in view of Zhang’s processing on the identified skin area, with motivation “ for selective enhancement of skin features in an image”( Sytnik, Abstract).
Regarding 9, Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further configured to generate the enlarged image by combining the first enlarged image and the second enlarged image( Matsumoto, 104 and 105 in FIG. 1).
Regarding 10, Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein a composition rate of the first enlarged image in a case where the intensity of the correction is a first intensity is larger than the composition rate of the first enlarged image in a case where the intensity of the correction is a second intensity greater than the first intensity( Matsumoto,[0037], a human recognizes that lightness he or she perceives is low when the object is in a bright setting and high when the object is in a dark setting, no matter how the level of the lightness is the same… the correction value determining unit 202 generates a correction value which corresponds to such a visual characteristic).
Regarding 11, Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein a composition rate of the first enlarged image in a case where the intensity of the correction is a first intensity is smaller than the composition rate of the first enlarged image in a case where the intensity of the correction is a second intensity greater than the first intensity( Matsumoto, [0037], a human recognizes that lightness he or she perceives is low when the object is in a bright setting and high when the object is in a dark setting, no matter how the level of the lightness is the same… the correction value determining unit 202 generates a correction value which corresponds to such a visual characteristic).
Regarding 12, Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further configured to: perform the correction on a partial area of the original image, and combine the first and second enlarged images based on an area of the partial area on which the correction is performed( Zhang, [0016], the higher frequency components of the image data D5 are suppressed in only the portion of the skin tone).
Regarding 13, Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further configured to: perform different corrections on a plurality of areas of the image, and combine the first and second enlarged images based on the correction performed on each of the plurality of areas of the original image( Zhang, [0016], that the amount of suppression of higher frequency components is gradually changed in the contour portion of a face or the like).
Regarding 14, Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the second enlargement does not use the neural network ( Matsumoto, [0078], a second intermediate image generating unit 601 generates, based on an original image, a second intermediate image having as many pixels as correction values to be outputted by a second intermediate enlarging unit 604 for the original image).
Regarding 15, Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the second enlargement uses at least one of a nearest neighbor method, a bicubic method, and a bilinear method( Matsumoto, [0041], the second enlarging unit 105 increases the correction value, using bilinear interpolation (linear interpolation)).
Regarding 16, Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik teaches image processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the first enlarged image is more enhanced in a high-frequency signal ( Matsumoto, [0023] the reduced image generating unit 102 generates a reduced image having no aliasing, by low-pass filtering and sub-sampling the original image) than the second enlarged image.
Regarding 17, Matsumoto in view of Zhang and Sytnik teaches image processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the first enlarged image is higher in resolution feeling ( Matsumoto, [0073], the image processing apparatus 100 first refers to pixels of 4×4 and second refers to pixels of 2×2. Hence the image processing apparatus 100 can curb an increase in processing amount and execute intense smoothing) than the second enlarged image.
Conclusion
JIANGENG SUN
Examiner
Art Unit 2661
/Jiangeng Sun/Examiner, Art Unit 2671