DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks, Applicant mainly argues that the prior art of record does not explicitly disclose the amended limitations of “wherein the third request to access the software domain resource is rejected when, based on determining that the third request to access the software domain resource includes the service provider user identity and based on a resource aggregation level associated with the provider persona type that permits access only to software domain resources specifically shared with the service provider user identity, the third request to access the software domain resource is determined to include an attempt to access a set of the plurality of software domain resources that spans multiple service provider user identities.” However, the examiner disagrees for the following reasons.
As indicated in Final Office Action mailed on 5/18/26, the prior art of record discloses granular level of access control to user data by different service providers. The combination of references teaches or at least suggests preventing access when the scope of access request exceeds what is authorized based on UserName/provider identity (Juarez: Fig. 27 and [0107]- [0108]: allowing or denying access according to entitlements and permissions tuned to the finest level of granularity). Based on broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Specification, the disputed limitation merely recites steps to reject resources access request when the request exceeds scope of authorization (i.e. request associated with service provider user identity requests resources beyond those specifically shared according to aggregation level). Although the claim recites aggregation level and resources spanning multiple service provider user identities, they are nevertheless condition/criteria used to determine whether request has exceeded scope of authorization generally known in the art.
Lastly, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, new prior art of record, Beno et al. U.S. 2020/0320207, is relied upon for disclosure of the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juarez et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0131830 (hereinafter Juarez) in view of Beno et al. U.S. 2020/0320207 (hereinafter Beno).
As per claim 1, 9 and 17, Juarez discloses a system/method/non-transitory computer readable medium for multi-persona resource access and collaboration, the system comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive, from a first client device, a first request to create a plurality of software domain resources associated with a plurality of consumer type and a plurality of service consumer user identities (Juarez: [0015]: the system allows consumer to attach multiple custom provider information request sections to their profile data, i.e. create software domain resources associated with different providers at UserName level; [0086]: UserName types can be consumer, provider, and guests such as third party partners, vendors, conference attendees, etc.);
receive, from the first client device, a second request to share a subset of the plurality of software domain resources with one or more service provider user identities associated with a provider type (Juarez: Fig. 12: providers and consumers can self-regulate the level of profile information shared among authorized UserNames; [0088]: consumer can establish their own UserName and select disclosure levels for third party UserNames; [0086]: UserName types/groups including consumers, providers and guests),
store access control information associated with the software domain resource of the plurality of software domain resources, wherein the access control information indicates that the one or more service provider user identities associated with the second request have permission to access the software domain resource (Juarez: [0093]: access control information associated with resources and authorized entities are defined and stored; [0100]: a consumer or provider granting an access entitlement to a third party UserName by assigning different disclosure levels);
receive, from a second client device associated with a service provider user identity of the one or more service provider user identities, a third request to access the software domain resource (Juarez: [0095]-[0100]: only entities authorized can access resources based on authorization levels); and
provide, to the second client device, information that indicates whether the third request to access the software domain resource is granted or rejected based on the access control information associated with the software domain resource and the service provider user identity associated with the second client device based on determining that the third request to access the software domain resource includes the service provider user identity (Juarez: Fig. 27 and [0107]- [0108]: allowing or denying access according to entitlements and permissions tuned to the finest level of granularity).
Juarez discloses data collection and distribution platform based on different UserName types, e.g. consumer, provider, guests, etc., and the platform enforces data sharing rules or permissions set by consumers and providers (Juarez:[0005]: resource consumer and resource providers, e.g. bank, venture capitalist, a bank, an accounting firm, a law firm, a business partner, etc.; [0015]: only specific UserNames are allowed to access specific pieces of data; [0100] and [0107]-[0108]: establish permissions by consumer and providers). Juarez does not explicitly recite “persona.” However, establishing access control policies based on roles or personas is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to specifically different personas for different entities types to provide granular data sharing controls.
Juarez does not explicitly disclose wherein the request to access the software domain resource is rejected based on determining that the third request to access the software domain resource includes the service provider user identity and based on a resource aggregation level associated with the provider persona type that permits access only to software domain resources specifically shared with the service provider user identity, the third request to access the software domain resource is determined to include an attempt to access a set of the plurality of software domain resources that spans multiple service provider user identities.” However, Beno discloses controlling access to user data by various service providers based on scope of authorization granted by user, and the request is rejected when the requesting service provider does not have authorization to access user data that are accessed by multiple service providers (i.e. data spanning multiple service providers) associated with the user (Beno: Fig. 2; [0020]; [0050]-[0054]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to define different levels of access to user data shared by various service providers because Juarez and Beno are analogous art involving access control to user provided data. The motivation to combine would be to restrict sharing of data collected by other service providers related to particular user without user consent. Furthermore, it is well known in the art to control access to resources according to scope of authorization associated with the request.
As per claim 2, 10 and 18, Juarez as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17 respectively. Juarez further discloses wherein the information provided to the second client device indicates that the third request to access the software domain resource is granted based on the access control information indicating that the service provider user identity associated with the second client device is included among the one or more service provider user identities that have permission to access the software domain resource (Juarez: Fig. 27 and [0107]- [0108]: allowing or denying access according to entitlements and permissions tuned to the finest level of granularity).
As per claim 3, 11 and 19, Juarez as modified discloses the limitations of claims 2, 10 and 18 respectively. Juarez further discloses wherein the information provided to the second client device indicates that the third request to access the software domain resource is granted further based on the third request including an attempt to access a set of software domain resources that is associated only with the service provider user identity associated with the second client device (Juarez: Fig. 27 and [0107]- [0108]: allowing or denying access according to entitlements and permissions tuned to the finest level of granularity, e.g. enterprise software only).
As per claim 4, 12 and 20, Juarez as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17 respectively. Juarez further discloses or at least suggests wherein the information provided to the second client device indicates that the third request to access the software domain resource is rejected based on the access control information indicating that the service provider user identity associated with the second client device is not included among the one or more service provider user identities that have permission to access the software domain resource (Juarez: Fig. 27 and [0107]- [0108]: allowing or denying access according to entitlements and permissions tuned to the finest level of granularity).
As per claim 5 and 13, Juarez as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9 respectively. Juarez further discloses wherein the information provided to the second client device indicates that the third request to access the software domain resource is rejected based on the third request including an attempt to access a set of software domain resources associated with multiple service provider user identities (Juarez: Fig. 27 and [0107]- [0108]: allowing or denying access according to entitlements and permissions tuned to the finest level of granularity). It would have been obvious matter of design choice to specify different conditions/criteria to address different usage contexts since Juarez’s system of providing fine-grained access control to resource consumer and provider with respect to data collection would work equally well regardless of usage criteria.
As per claim 6 and 14, Juarez as modified discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9 respectively. Juarez further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, from one or more client devices associated with a provider persona type, information to create one or more software domain resources associated with the provider persona type, wherein the one or more software domain resources are each associated with access control information that indicates one or more service consumer user identities that have permission to access the software domain resource (Juarez: [0013]-[0015]: providers can establish profiles and permissions to collect and distribute resources);
receive, from the first client device, a fourth request to access software domain resources that are associated with the service consumer user identity of the first client device (Juarez: Fig. 27 and [0107]- [0108]: receive request to access data); and
provide, to the first client device, information that indicates whether the fourth request is granted or rejected based on the access control information associated with the one or more software domain resources associated with the provider persona type (Juarez: Fig. 27 and [0107]- [0108]: allowing or denying access according to entitlements and permissions tuned to the finest level of granularity).
As per claim 7 and 15, Juarez as modified discloses the limitations of claims 6 and 14 respectively. Juarez further discloses wherein the information provided to the first client device indicates that the fourth request is granted based on the access control information associated with the one or more software domain resources associated with the provider persona type indicating that the service consumer user identity associated with the first client device is included among the one or more service consumer user identities that have permission to access the software domain resource (Juarez: Fig. 27 and [0107]- [0108]: allowing or denying access according to entitlements and permissions tuned to the finest level of granularity; [0131]-[0132]: entitlement defined by either or both the provider and consumer).
As per claim 21, Juarez as modified discloses the system of claim 1. Juarez further discloses wherein the subset of the plurality of software domain resources shared via the first client device are associated with information related to a transaction modeled in relation to the first client device, and wherein the modeled transaction is for one or more transactions between a consumer associated with the first client device and a service provider associated with the second client device (Juarez: [0015]-[0016]: customizable collaboration interface related to specific transaction offered by service provider).
Conclusion
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431