DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species a (claims 1-3, 6-7, and 11-18) in the reply filed on June 17th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-5 and 8-10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 17th, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 Lines 2-7 read “the first semicircular portion contacts a first one of a first linear member among the adjacent two first linear members, and the second semicircular portion contacts a second one first linear member; and the first semicircular portion and the second semicircular portion are alternately positioned one by one along the first direction, and contact each other at an inflection point” and should read --the first semicircular portion contacts a first one of a plurality of first linear members among the adjacent two first linear members, and the second semicircular portion contacts a second one of a plurality of first linear members; and the first semicircular portion and the second semicircular portion are alternately positioned one by one along the first direction, and contact each other at an inflection point--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2014/0220394 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a secondary battery, comprising: an electrode assembly comprising a lead tab (i.e., at least jelly-roll in which cathode/separator/anode structure is mounted in a cylindrical battery case, wherein a plate-shaped insulator mounted on the top of the jelly-roll includes a perforated penetration of electrode terminals and a plurality of fine pores that allow permeation of an electrolyte solution, etc., having a size of 100 µm or higher, etc., as disclosed in [0001], lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Example 1, [0067], claim 1, [0014], etc.);
a case configured to accommodate the electrode assembly and an electrolyte solution (i.e., at least jelly-roll, etc., is mounted in a cylindrical battery case, etc., where jelly-roll includes a perforated penetration of electrode terminals and a plurality of fine pores that allow permeation of an electrolyte solution, etc., having a size of 100 µm or higher, etc., as disclosed in [0001], lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0005], [0010], [0014], [0027], [0063]-[0066]),
a cap assembly electrically connected to the lead tab (i.e., at least cathode tab ref. 142 of the electrode assembly ref. 120 is connected to the cap plate ref. 145 of the cap assembly ref. 140 as shown in at least Fig. 1 and disclosed in [0007], and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0005], [0007], [0010], [0078]), and
coupled to the case to seal the case (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0078], whereby cap assembly is welded to the open top of the manufactured secondary battery, etc., such that a skilled artisan would appreciate that welding said cap assembly to the open top of the case ref. 130 as disclosed in [0005] at least seals the case, lacking any further distinction thereof); and
an insulation plate between the electrode assembly and the cap assembly within the case (i.e., at least insulator ref. 180 mounted on top of the jelly-roll ref. 120, so as to be between the electrode assembly (jelly-roll as discussed above) and the cap assembly as shown in Fig. 1, also see [0001], [0007]-[0008], [0010], [0013]-[0014], [0017]-[0031]), and
having a tab opening for drawing out the lead tab (i.e., at least plate-shaped insulator mounted on the top of the jelly-roll includes a perforated penetration of electrode terminals and a plurality of fine pores that allow permeation of an electrolyte solution, etc., having a size of 100 µm or higher, etc., as disclosed in [0001], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said insulation plate at least has an opening(s) to enable the lead tab to be drawn out as shown in Fig. 1, and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Example 1, [0067], claim 1, [0010], [0014], [0021], [0025], etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof),
wherein the insulation plate comprises an edge portion at an edge (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 2-4, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that an edge portion at an edge is broad in scope and is at least that shown in Annotated Fig. 4, for example, and lacking any further distinction thereof),
an opening edge portion forming a boundary of the tab opening (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 2-4, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that an opening edge portion forming a boundary is broad in scope and is at least that shown in Annotated Fig. 4, for example, and lacking any further distinction thereof), and
a plurality of linear members spaced apart from each other in a region between the edge portion and the opening edge portion (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0026], whereby the insulator may comprise a porous woven that enables electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheets, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a woven insulator sheet at least provides linear members spaced apart from each other so as to be woven, lacking any further distinction thereof, whereby said linear members are at least in a region between the edge portion and the opening edge portion as shown in Figs. 2-4, also see Annotated Fig. 4, and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0028], [0064]-[0068]).
Kim further discloses in [0016]-[0019] preferably, the fine pores provide electric insulation as an inherent function of insulator, etc., and have a size of 1 µm to 100 µm in order to prevent permeation of foreign materials, etc., whereby the position of the fine pores and distance therebetween are not limited so long as they do not impair prevention of incorporation of foreign materials, injectability of electrolyte solution and gas discharge, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the insulator may comprises a porous woven fabric (see above with regards to plurality of linear members), etc., that enables an electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheet(s), and such that fine pores may form through holes that have a uniform diameter in a longitudinal direction, etc., as disclosed in at least [0026], this at least provides a plurality of openings are regularly positioned between the plurality of linear members, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Annotated Figure 4 (Kim)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2014/0220394 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a secondary battery, comprising: an electrode assembly comprising a lead tab (i.e., at least jelly-roll in which cathode/separator/anode structure is mounted in a cylindrical battery case, wherein a plate-shaped insulator mounted on the top of the jelly-roll includes a perforated penetration of electrode terminals and a plurality of fine pores that allow permeation of an electrolyte solution, etc., having a size of 100 µm or higher, etc., as disclosed in [0001], lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Example 1, [0067], claim 1, [0014], etc.);
a case configured to accommodate the electrode assembly and an electrolyte solution (i.e., at least jelly-roll, etc., is mounted in a cylindrical battery case, etc., where jelly-roll includes a perforated penetration of electrode terminals and a plurality of fine pores that allow permeation of an electrolyte solution, etc., having a size of 100 µm or higher, etc., as disclosed in [0001], lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0005], [0010], [0014], [0027], [0063]-[0066]),
a cap assembly electrically connected to the lead tab (i.e., at least cathode tab ref. 142 of the electrode assembly ref. 120 is connected to the cap plate ref. 145 of the cap assembly ref. 140 as shown in at least Fig. 1 and disclosed in [0007], and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0005], [0007], [0010], [0078]), and
coupled to the case to seal the case (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0078], whereby cap assembly is welded to the open top of the manufactured secondary battery, etc., such that a skilled artisan would appreciate that welding said cap assembly to the open top of the case ref. 130 as disclosed in [0005] at least seals the case, lacking any further distinction thereof); and
an insulation plate between the electrode assembly and the cap assembly within the case (i.e., at least insulator ref. 180 mounted on top of the jelly-roll ref. 120, so as to be between the electrode assembly (jelly-roll as discussed above) and the cap assembly as shown in Fig. 1, also see [0001], [0007]-[0008], [0010], [0013]-[0014], [0017]-[0031]), and
having a tab opening configured to enable the lead tab to be drawn out (i.e., at least plate-shaped insulator mounted on the top of the jelly-roll includes a perforated penetration of electrode terminals and a plurality of fine pores that allow permeation of an electrolyte solution, etc., having a size of 100 µm or higher, etc., as disclosed in [0001], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said insulation plate at least has an opening(s) to enable the lead tab to be drawn out as shown in Fig. 1, and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Example 1, [0067], claim 1, [0010], [0014], [0021], [0025], etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof),
wherein the insulation plate comprises plurality of linear members spaced apart from each other (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0026], whereby the insulator may comprise a porous woven that enables electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheets, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a woven insulator sheet at least provides linear members spaced apart from each other so as to be woven, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0028], [0064]-[0068], Fig. 4).
Kim further discloses in [0016]-[0019] preferably, the fine pores provide electric insulation as an inherent function of insulator, etc., and have a size of 1 µm to 100 µm in order to prevent permeation of foreign materials, etc., whereby the position of the fine pores and distance therebetween are not limited so long as they do not impair prevention of incorporation of foreign materials, injectability of electrolyte solution and gas discharge, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the insulator may comprises a porous woven fabric (see above with regards to plurality of linear members), etc., that enables an electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheet(s), and such that fine pores may form through holes that have a uniform diameter in a longitudinal direction, etc., as disclosed in at least [0026], that this at least provides a range of a plurality of openings that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of a plurality of openings having a size in a range of 0.1 mm to 3 mm are regularly positioned between the plurality of linear members, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. Kim further discloses the insulation plate further comprises an edge portion at an edge (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 2-4, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that an edge portion at an edge is broad in scope and is at least that shown in Annotated Fig. 4 in claim 17, for example, and lacking any further distinction thereof), and
an opening edge portion forming a boundary of the tab opening (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 2-4, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that an opening edge portion forming a boundary is broad in scope and is at least that shown in Annotated Fig. 4, for example in claim 17, and lacking any further distinction thereof).
Kim further discloses the plurality of linear members contact the edge portion and the opening edge portion to be integrally connected to the edge portion and the opening edge portion (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0026], whereby the insulator may comprise a porous woven that enables electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheets, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a woven insulator sheet at least provides a plurality of linear members contact the edge portion and the opening edge portion to be integrally connected to the edge portion and the opening edge portion so as to be woven and as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 17, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0028], [0064]-[0068], Fig. 4).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Kim discloses the insulator may comprise a porous woven that enables electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheets, etc., that integrally connecting the edge portion and the opening edge portion is a matter of obvious engineering design choice so as to enables electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheets, and lacking any further distinction thereof (MPEP 2144.04, V., B. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. Kim further discloses the insulation plate further comprises an adsorption portion formed in a ring shape along an edge (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 2-4, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that an adsorption portion formed in a ring shape is broad in scope and is at least that shown in Annotated Fig. 4, for example in claim 17, and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said portion(s)).
Furthermore, since Kim discloses a ring shape along an edge which is and identical and/or substantially identical product to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as adsorption portion are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Claims 2-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2022/0216572 A1), hereinafter Kim ‘572.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. Kim further discloses the plurality of linear members comprises: a plurality of first linear members parallel to a first direction (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0026], whereby the insulator may comprise a porous woven that enables electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheets, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a woven insulator sheet at least provides the plurality of linear members comprises: a plurality of first linear members parallel to a first direction so as to be woven, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0028], [0064]-[0068], Figs. 2-4).
However, Kim is silent as to a plurality of curved members between respective adjacent two first linear members among the plurality of first linear members, and configured to form a zigzag pattern by using a combination of a first semicircular portion and a second semicircular portion.
Kim ‘572 teaches insulator for secondary battery and secondary battery including the same (Title). Kim ‘572 further teaches a plurality of curved members between respective adjacent two first linear members among the plurality of first linear members, and configured to form a zigzag pattern by using a combination of a first semicircular portion and a second semicircular portion (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 8).
Kim ‘572 further teaches in [0019] according to the present invention, the impact applied to the electrode assembly due to the external impact or vibration may be minimized to improve the durability of the secondary battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kim with the teachings of Kim ‘572, whereby the secondary battery including the insulator as taught by Kim further includes a plurality of curved members between respective adjacent two first linear members among the plurality of first linear members, and configured to form a zigzag pattern by using a combination of a first semicircular portion and a second semicircular portion as taught by Kim ‘572 so that the impact applied to the electrode assembly due to the external impact or vibration may be minimized to improve the durability of the secondary battery.
Annotated Figure 8 (Kim ‘572)
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 2. However, Kim is silent as to the first semicircular portion contacts a first one of a plurality of first linear members among the adjacent two first linear members, and the second semicircular portion contacts a second one of a plurality of first linear members; and the first semicircular portion and the second semicircular portion are alternately positioned one by one along the first direction, and contact each other at an inflection point.
The combined teachings of Kim and Kim ‘572 disclose the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 2. Kim ‘572 further discloses the first semicircular portion contacts a first one of a plurality of first linear members among the adjacent two first linear members, and the second semicircular portion contacts a second one of a plurality of first linear members; and the first semicircular portion and the second semicircular portion are alternately positioned one by one along the first direction, and contact each other at an inflection point (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 2).
Kim ‘572 further teaches in [0019] according to the present invention, the impact applied to the electrode assembly due to the external impact or vibration may be minimized to improve the durability of the secondary battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kim with the teachings of Kim ‘572, whereby the secondary battery including the insulator as taught by Kim further includes the first semicircular portion contacts a first one of a plurality of first linear members among the adjacent two first linear members, and the second semicircular portion contacts a second one of a plurality of first linear members; and the first semicircular portion and the second semicircular portion are alternately positioned one by one along the first direction, and contact each other at an inflection point as taught by Kim ‘572 so that the impact applied to the electrode assembly due to the external impact or vibration may be minimized to improve the durability of the secondary battery.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 2. Kim further discloses the plurality of linear members further comprises a second linear member; and the second linear member crosses a center of the insulation plate along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0026], whereby the insulator may comprise a porous woven that enables electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheets, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a woven insulator sheet at least provides discloses the plurality of linear members further comprises a second linear member; and the second linear member crosses a center of the insulation plate along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction so as to be woven and as shown in at least Figs. 2-4, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0028], [0064]-[0068], Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 3. Kim further discloses in [0026] the insulator may comprise a porous woven that enables electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheets, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a woven insulator sheet at least provides the plurality of linear members further comprises a second linear member; and the second linear members crosses a center of the insulation plate along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction so as to be woven and as shown in at least Figs. 2-4, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0028], [0064]-[0068], Figs. 2-4).
Claims 13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1, 12 and 17 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0106060 A1), hereinafter Shin.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 12. However, Kim is silent as to the adsorption portion has a width in a range of 0.5 mm to 1.8 mm.
Shin teaches a secondary battery and insulator for secondary battery (Title). Shin further teaches in [0068] as illustrated in Fig. 3 the insulator ref. 16 device according to an embodiment of the present invention has a disk shape and includes a central portion ref. 161 and a peripheral portion ref. 162, whereby as taught in [0081] the diameter of the central portion ref. 161 may be preferably 50% to 95% of an outer diameter of the peripheral portion ref. 162, thus even though the internal pressure of the battery can ref. 12 increases, the beading part ref. 14 may be prevented from being damaged while the additional injection of the electrolyte is easy, etc., and the correspondence to the inner diameter of the peripheral portion ref. 162 may mean that a difference is within a range of offset even if the same or a certain difference exists, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate and as an example provided by the examiner that when the diameter of the peripheral portion is 10 mm, that the diameter of the central portion ranges from (10-0.95×10 mm to 10-0.5×10 mm = 0.5 mm to 5 mm), which is a range that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of the adsorption portion has a width in a range of 0.5 mm to 1.8 mm, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.) (also see [0068]-[0088]).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Shin teaches the diameter of the central portion ref. 161 may be preferably 50% to 95% of an outer diameter of the peripheral portion ref. 162, thus even though the internal pressure of the battery can ref. 12 increases, the beading part ref. 14 may be prevented from being damaged while the additional injection of the electrolyte is easy, etc., as discussed above, that this is at least a result-effective variable so as to achieve a recognized result such as preventing being damaged while additional injection of the electrolyte is easy (MPEP 2144.05, II., A., In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), B., In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kim with the teachings of Shin, whereby the secondary battery including the insulator as taught by Kim further includes the adsorption portion has a range that overlaps the claimed range of the width in a range of 0.5 mm to 1.8 mm as taught by Shin so that the beading part may be prevented from being damaged while the additional injection of the electrolyte is easy, etc.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 1. However, Kim is silent as to the insulation plate is manufactured by injection molding.
Shin teaches a secondary battery and insulator for secondary battery (Title). Shin further teaches in [0089] the peripheral portion ref. 162a and the central portion ref. 161a of the insulating plate ref. 16a may be formed in various methods such as insert injection molding, etc., which at least provides the insulation plate is manufactured by injection molding, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Shin further teaches in [0080] thus, like the insulator ref. 16 according to an embodiment of the present invention, the peripheral portion ref. 162 and the central portion ref. 161 may be integrated with each other to maintain the insulation and prevent the short-circuit from occurring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kim with the teachings of Shin, whereby the secondary battery including the insulator as taught by Kim further includes the insulation plate is manufactured by injection molding as taught by Shin so as to maintain the insulation and prevent the short-circuit from occurring.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 14. Kim further discloses in [0023] any material may be used for the insulator without particular limitation so long as it has insulating properties, the insulator may be composed of an electrical-insulating polymer resin or an electrical-insulating polymer composite and, specifically the polymer resin may be one or more selected from the group consisting of polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), etc., which at least provides the insulation plate comprises at least one of polypropylene (PP), etc. from the group.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 14. Kim further discloses in [0031] the insulator preferably has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm, etc., which is a thickness range that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of the insulation plate has a thickness in a range of 0.3 mm to 0.5 mm, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the secondary battery as discussed above in claim 17. Kim further discloses in [0016]-[0019] preferably, the fine pores provide electric insulation as an inherent function of insulator, etc., and have a size of 1 µm to 100 µm in order to prevent permeation of foreign materials, etc., whereby the position of the fine pores and distance therebetween are not limited so long as they do not impair prevention of incorporation of foreign materials, injectability of electrolyte solution and gas discharge, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the insulator may comprises a porous woven fabric (see above with regards to plurality of linear members), etc., that enables an electrolyte solution to be readily permeated due to inherent properties of the material or shape properties of the sheet(s), and such that fine pores may form through holes that have a uniform diameter in a longitudinal direction, etc., as disclosed in at least [0026], that this at least provides a range of a plurality of openings that overlaps and/or encompasses the claimed range of the plurality of openings each have a size in a range of 0.1 mm to 3 mm, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
However, Kim is silent as to the insulation plate is manufactured by injection molding.
Shin teaches a secondary battery and insulator for secondary battery (Title). Shin further teaches in [0089] the peripheral portion ref. 162a and the central portion ref. 161a of the insulating plate ref. 16a may be formed in various methods such as insert injection molding, etc., which at least provides the insulation plate is manufactured by injection molding, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Shin further teaches in [0080] thus, like the insulator ref. 16 according to an embodiment of the present invention, the peripheral portion ref. 162 and the central portion ref. 161 may be integrated with each other to maintain the insulation and prevent the short-circuit from occurring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kim with the teachings of Shin, whereby the secondary battery including the insulator as taught by Kim further includes the insulation plate is manufactured by injection molding as taught by Shin so as to maintain the insulation and prevent the short-circuit from occurring.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kwag et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0212380 A1) discloses a battery module (Title), whereby as disclosed in claim 1 an insulative plate arranged on the first conductive plate and comprising second through-holes which at least partially overlap the first through-holes; a second conductive plate arranged on the insulative plate, the second conductive plate comprising third through-holes which at least partially overlap the second through-holes and second stepped portions which are adjacent to the third through-holes and are recessed toward the insulative plate, etc.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727