DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to amendment filed on 3/10/2026, in which claims 21 – 24, 27, 29, 39, 42 – 45, 48, 50, and 60 was amended, claim 65 was added, and claims 21 – 63 and 65 was presented for further examination.
3. Claims 21 – 63 and 65 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21 – 63 and 65 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claims 21 – 34, 39 – 55, and 60 – 63 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Morris (US 2008/0005752 A1), in view of Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1), and further in view of Levkovitz et al (US 2007/0088838 A1).
As per claim 21, Morris (US 2008/0005752 A1) discloses,
A method of using an Action URL to allow a first application to access or invoke functionality of a second application (para.[0035]; “loadable instance may be created that is operable to invoke the first application to generate a value for the output data and to invoke the second application with the generated value as the input data”).
instantiating, by the client-side component within the web browser of the computing device (NOTE: para.[0026]; “a browser application may receive a URL as a result of a user typing the URL into an input line ……. a particular browser instance receives the URL "http://www.domainA.com/a.html", the browser application will load a page identified by that URL from an appropriate server”).
and invoking, by the client-side component within the web browser of the computing device, functionality of the second application as specified in the action descriptor determine by the communicator from the Action URL without reloading the client-side component within the web browser (para.[0008]; “loadable instance to invoke the first application to generate a value for the output data and to invoke the second application with the generated value as the input” and para.[0057]; “invoke the first application to generate the value for the output data and to invoke, with the generated value as the input data, a second application that is linked to the first application via the corresponding link associated with the value for the output data”).
Morris does not specifically disclose instantiating, by a computing device, a client-side component within a web browser of the computing device,
wherein the client-side component is associated with a first URL identifying a first network location, instantiating a communication channel for managing message passing between the first and second applications, causing an Action URL to be passed from the first application to the communication channel, wherein the format of the Action URL includes a first portion for identifying the communication channel to handle the Action URL and a second portion that uses a document path described according to a URL standard to provide an action descriptor.
However, Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
the method comprising: instantiating, by a computing device, a client-side component within a web browser of the computing device (para.[0026]; “a
browser application may receive a URL as a result of a user typing the URL into an input line ……. a particular browser instance receives the URL "http://www.domainA.com/a.html", the browser application will load a page identified
by that URL from an appropriate server”).
wherein the client-side component is associated with a first URL identifying a first network location (para.[0026]; “a particular browser instance receives the URL "http://www.domainA.com/a.html", the browser application will load a page identified
by that URL from an appropriate server”).
instantiating, by the client-side component within the web browser of the computing device, a communication channel for managing message passing between the first and second applications (para.[0038]; “communicate message content between browser-based and non browser-based applications in the network environment” and para.[0039]; “the browser-based application attaches the message content in an anchor portion 62 of a URL string that is addressed to the third party application server 19 to be executed within the non browser-based application”).
and in response to receiving a selection of a reference link by a local computing device or an activation of the reference link by a user (para.[0050]; “browser-based application 72 prepares the command to invoke the embedded browser control of the first non browser-based application”).
wherein the reference link is associated with a second URL identifying a second network location different from the first network location (para.[0026]; “when a browser instance receives a URL that is different from the URL that it most recently received, the browser instance will typically issue a request to an appropriate server”).
causing, by the client-side component within the web browser of the computing device, an Action URL to be passed asynchronous from the first application to the communicator without reloading the client-side component within the web browser (para.[0031]; “when a user selects a hypertext link, such as the link 60, that identifies an anchor (e.g., has an anchor portion 62), the relevant browser
instance does not reload the document ( e.g., a markup language document 58) from the server identified if the "anchor" is part of the URL identifying a document currently
being displayed by the browser instance” and para.[0046]; “first non browser-based application 74 contains the necessary interface and protocol to communicate with the second non browser-based application”).
wherein the format of the Action URL includes a first portion for identifying the communicator to handle the Action URL and a second portion that is processed by logic specific to communicator to determine an action descriptor (para.[0027]; “The URL 40 includes a number of portions, namely a scheme portion 42 that identifies a scheme (e.g., http, gopher, ftp, news, etc.) for the URL 40, a machine portion 44 that identifies the type of machine to which the URL 40 is directed (e.g., a World Wide Web (www) machine), a second-level domain portion 46 that indicates a second-level domain to which the URL 40 is addressed, a top level domain portion 48 that indicates a top level domain (e.g., an organization or a country), a path portion 50 that typically indicates a path at the identified domain, and possibly a data portion 52 that may include data (e.g., a message, parameter, value, etc.) to be communicated to the identified domain”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into application linking process of the system of Morris to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
Neither Morris nor Mohan specifically disclose instantiating, by the client-side component within the web browser of the computing device, a communicator that provides a communication channel for managing message passing between the first and second applications, wherein the communication channel abstracts communications with a file system or a remote network service.
However, Levkovitz et al (US 2007/0088838 A1) in an analogous art disclose,
instantiating, by the client-side component within the web browser of the computing device (NOTE: para.[0116]; “initialize a connection, resolve the IP address of a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) of communicator” and para.[0117]; “initiate communications with communicator”)
a communicator that provides a communication channel for managing message passing between the first and second applications (para.[0125]; “the second
application 176 may report to communicator 150 about presentation performed by the second application and/or the first application”, para.[0131]; “re-formatting the content request by communicator 150, e.g., to accommodate a pre-define format”, and para.[0086]; “Communicator 150 may include one or more modules or components, for example, a request formatter 151, a transformer 152, a version updater 153, a protocol handler 154, a network handler 155, a client manager 156, and one or more ports”).
wherein the communication channel abstracts communications with a file system or a remote network service (para.[0086]; “Communicator 150 may receive a content request from device 170 through a wireless medium 165, may transfer a formatted content request to ad server 110, may receive from ad server 110 one or more content items, and may transmit or transfer the content item(s) to device”).
wherein the format of the Action URL includes a first portion for identifying the communicator to handle the Action URL and a second portion that is processed by logic specific to communicator to determine an action descriptor (para.[0117]; “initial URL may point to a dedicated online server or domain, e.g., http://www.ContentitemsAdServer. com", or to sub-domain or network component,
e.g., http://Contentitems.NetworkProvider.com”, para.[0130]; “receiving the content request by communicator” and para.[0131]; “re-formatting the content request by communicator 150, e.g., to accommodate a pre-define format”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz into communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan to allow application to communicate across heterogeneous network.
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein the action descriptor references an addressable Internet resource that includes at least one of a REST web API, a SOAP web API, an XML structured document, or a JSON structured document (para.[0027]; “URL 40 includes a number of portions, namely ….. a path portion 50 that typically indicates a path at the identified domain” and para.[0030]; “markup language document 58 (e.g., an HTML document) that is shown to include hypertext link”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Levkovitz et al (US 2007/0088838 A1) discloses,
wherein processing the second portion of the Action URL by logic specific to the communicator to determine the action descriptor (
includes: translating the second portion of the Action URL into a request expected by a network service associated with the communicator (para.[0131]; “re-formatting the content request by communicator 150, e.g., to accommodate a pre-define format”).
and wherein invoking functionality of the second application includes: transmitting the request to the network service (para.[0087]; “Network handler 155 may control network communications between communicator 150 and device 170. Network handler 155 may include, for example, a listener module able to detect and receive a wireless signal indicating a content request of device 170, and may thereby trigger the operation of other components of communicator 150 to process the content request and to respond to the content request”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 24, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Morris (US 2008/0005752 A1) discloses,
wherein the second portion of the Action URL is in a format that includes a function name that identifies functionality to invoke and one or more parameters that are passed to the second application (para.[0027]; “The URL 40 includes a number of portions, namely a scheme portion 42 that identifies a scheme (e.g., http, gopher, ftp, news, etc.) for the URL 40, a machine portion 44 that identifies the type of machine to which the URL 40 is directed (e.g., a World Wide Web (www) machine), a second-level domain portion 46 that indicates a second-level domain to which the URL 40 is addressed, a top level domain portion 48 that indicates a top level domain (e.g., an organization or a country), a path portion 50 that typically indicates a path at the identified domain, and possibly a data portion 52 that may include data (e.g., a message, parameter, value, etc.) to be communicated to the identified domain”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 25, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Morris (US 2008/0005752 A1) discloses,
wherein the first application is configured to access a structured document in a data model when implementing application functionality, and wherein the method further comprises: obtaining data generated by the second application from a network service; and translating the data into the structured format for access by the first application (para.[0007]; “determining output data for the first application from an application descriptor associated with the first application. The method may also include determining input data for the second application from an application descriptor associated with the second application” and para.[0030]; “input and output data of applications may be linked by using information in an application descriptor identifying the applications' input and output data and invocation information for identifying a language neutral invocation”).
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 26, the rejection of claim 25 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein the structured format includes at least one of an XML structured format or a JSON structured format (para.[0030]; “markup language document 58 (e.g., an HTML document) that is shown to include hypertext link”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 27, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein invoking functionality of the second application includes: identifying a data type of a document or a data model specified in a parameter of the action descriptor and performing actions that depend on the identified data type (para.[0027]; “The URL 40 includes a number of portions, namely a scheme portion 42 that identifies a scheme (e.g., http, gopher, ftp, news, etc.) for the URL 40, a machine portion 44 that identifies the type of machine to which the URL 40 is directed (e.g., a World Wide Web (www) machine), a second-level domain portion 46 that indicates a second-level domain to which the URL 40 is addressed, a top level domain portion 48 that indicates a top level domain (e.g., an organization or a country), a path portion 50 that typically indicates a path at the identified domain, and possibly a data portion 52 that may include data (e.g., a message, parameter, value, etc.) to be communicated to the identified domain”)..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 28, the rejection of claim 27 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein the document provides or references the process logic of the application; and wherein the actions performed that depend on the identified data type include launching the second application on a same device as the first application or on a different device from the first application (para.[0051]; “first non browser-based application 74 at block 108, which invokes the embedded browser control and launches a display window with the specified URL”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 29, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein invoking functionality of the second application includes invoking application functionality for processing data in a data model on a local computing device that is within a web browser executing on the local computing device, within a virtual machine executing on the local computing device, or in native code on the local computing device (claim 1; “the first application client, invoking execution of an embedded browser component of the second application client by communicating the URL string to the second application client”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 30, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein the reference link is inserted in a structured document that describes logic of the first application (para.[0030]; “a markup language document 58 (e.g., an HTML document) that is shown to include hypertext link 60, which in turn includes an anchor portion 62. As illustrated, the anchor portion 62 is denoted by the inclusion of a hash symbol (#) within the URL string that comprises the link” and para.[0031]; “a user selects a hypertext link, such as the link 60, that identifies an anchor”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 31, the rejection of claim 30 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein the reference link is an XLink, and wherein the structured document is an XML document or a JSON document (para.[0030]; “a markup language document 58 (e.g., an HTML document) that is shown to include hypertext link 60, which in turn includes an anchor portion 62. As illustrated, the anchor portion 62 is denoted by the inclusion of a hash symbol (#) within the URL string that comprises the link”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 32, the rejection of claim 30 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein the reference link points to a REST web API or a SOAP web API using URL notation (para.[0027]; “a machine portion 44 that identifies the type of machine to which the URL 40 is directed (e.g., a World Wide Web (www) machine)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 33, the rejection of claim 30 is incorporated and further Morris (US 2008/0005752 A1) discloses,
wherein logic referenced in the reference link is not currently stored on a local computing device and wherein invoking functionality of the second application includes loading a document from a network service using the communication channel (para.[0057]; “invoke the first application to generate the value for the output data and to invoke, with the generated value as the input data, a second application that is linked to the first application via the corresponding link associated with the value for the output data”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 34, the rejection of claim 30 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein functionality of the second application is invoked on demand when the local computing or a user activates a reference link embedded in an HTML document (para.[0032]; “when the browser instance does attempt to locate the anchor, the URL that is registered by the browser instance is changed to the URL for the most recently selected "anchor-referencing" link”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 39, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein passing of the Action URL from the first application to the communicator occurs asynchronously from functionality of the second application being invoked (para.[0004]; “controls enable the browser-based application to send message content to a non browser-based application and a non browser-based application to receive the message content”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 40, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1) discloses,
wherein the message passing between the first and second applications is used for one or more of transmitting instant messaging communication, transmitting multimedia content, transmitting files, transmitting URLs, or transmitting push notifications (para.[0008]; “following the identification of message content at block 22, the browser-based application 12 at block 24 activates a sending control prior to communicating the message content to the non browser-based application” and para.[0040]; “data that is included in the anchor portion 62 is the text "message". It will be appreciated that the data that is included in the URL string could be any data type, including alphanumeric, graphic, audio or video data”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 41, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Morris (US 2008/0005752 A1) discloses,
wherein the second application includes a single instance of the second application or multiple instances of the second application (para.[0034]; “input set may be an output set from the perspective of one or more applications that produce values for the set”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz to allow user to access application through related applications, thereby enabling easy access to related information.
As per claim 63, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Levkovitz et al (US 2007/0088838 A1) discloses,
wherein the first application and the second application are executed by different computing systems (para.[0008]; “server to receive an application-initiated content
request from a wireless communication device, and to selectively serve to the wireless communication device a content item based on data included in the application initiated
content request”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate platform for application to communicate using different technology of the system of Gupta into communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan to allow application to communicate across heterogeneous network.
Claims 42 – 55 and 60 – 62 are non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to method claims 21 – 34 and 39 – 41 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 21 – 34 and 39 – 41 respectively above.
As per claim 65, the rejection of claim 21 is incorporated and further Levkovitz et al (US 2007/0088838 A1) discloses,
wherein the communication channel provided by the communicator is a bi-directional communication channel, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the first application via the communication channel, a result of the invoked functionality from the second application (para.[0080]; “Ad selector 113 may process or parse the content request received from communicator 150 to obtain information about device 170 and/or the user of device 170 from which the content request originates” and para.[0086]; “Communicator 150 may receive a content request
from device 170 through a wireless medium 165, may transfer a formatted content request to ad server 110, may receive from ad server 110 one or more content items”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz into communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan to allow application to communicate across heterogeneous network.
6. Claims 35 – 38 and 56 – 59 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Morris (US 2008/0005752 A1), in view of Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1), in view of Levkovitz et al (US 2007/0088838 A1), and further in view of Sutherland et al (US 2002/0120757 A1)
As per claim 35, rejection of claim 34 is incorporated, Morris (US 2008/0005752 A1), Mohan et al (US 2006/0075069 A1), and Levkovitz et al (US 2007/0088838 A1) does not specifically disclose wherein the reference link is associated with an invitation to become a group member and wherein activation of the reference link includes: transmitting the Action URL to a network file system; and authorizing a user specified in the Action URL to accept at least one of group membership or access.
However, Sutherland et al (US 2002/0120757 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein the reference link is associated with an invitation to become a group member and wherein activation of the reference link includes: transmitting the Action URL to a network file system; and authorizing a user specified in the Action URL to accept at least one of group membership or access (para.[0010]; “system to generate an appropriate sign-up URL (as defined below) to be sent to the email addresses of the prospective member and non-member users. Each user receives the sign-up URL in email. The user then clicks on the sign-up URL which links to one of two corresponding web pages”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate community access control of the system of Sutherland into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz and communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan to maintain integrity of application by only providing access to authorized entity.
As per claim 36, the rejection of claim 35 is incorporated and further Sutherland et al (US 2002/0120757 A1) discloses,
wherein authorizing the user specified in the Action URL to accept at least one of group membership or access includes allowing the user to access a group folder or database in the network file system (para.[0019]; “sign-up URL may include a code to grant the prospective member of a group special access to the resource beyond that given to most members of the group or to provide more restrictive access than that given to most members”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate community access control of the system of Sutherland into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz and communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan to maintain integrity of application by only providing access to authorized entity.
As per claim 37, the rejection of claim 36 is incorporated and further Sutherland et al (US 2002/0120757 A1) discloses,
wherein authorizing the user specified in the Action URL to accept group membership or access further includes mounting the group folder or database as a virtual drive on a client computing device associated with the user (para.[0019]; “sign-up URL may include a code to grant the prospective member of a group special access to the resource beyond that given to most members of the group or to provide more restrictive access than that given to most members”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate community access control of the system of Sutherland into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz and communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan to maintain integrity of application by only providing access to authorized entity.
As per claim 38, the rejection of claim 37 is incorporated and further Sutherland et al (US 2002/0120757 A1) discloses,
wherein the virtual drive is an implementation of a communication channel with a specific purpose of accessing the group (para.[0019]; “sign-up URL may include a code to grant the prospective member of a group special access to the resource beyond that given to most members of the group or to provide more restrictive access than that given to most members”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate community access control of the system of Sutherland into different communicator module of the system of Levkovitz and communication of data between network-based application of the system of Mohan to maintain integrity of application by only providing access to authorized entity.
Claims 56 - 59 are non-transitory computer-readable medium claim corresponding to method claims 35 - 38 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 35 - 38 respectively above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUGUSTINE K. OBISESAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2156
3/31/2026