DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 12 October 2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 — line 1, “sends indication” should read as “sends an indication”; and
Claims 18-20 — line 1 of each claim, “the UE of claim 16” should read as “the UE of claim [[16]]17”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 4, 14, and 19, the term “a new radio network temporary identifier (RNTI),” in claims 4, 14, and 19, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “new RNTI” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “new RNTI” may suggest that an “old RNTI” exists, but such an old RNTI is neither claimed nor disclosed. The term may also suggest that the RNTI is new over the prior art, but how such an RNTI is “new” is neither claimed nor disclosed. Therefore, claims 4, 14, and 19 cannot be further considered until claims are amended to define the intended scope of those claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 12-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0083274, hereinafter Lee) in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0337517, hereinafter Li).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network comprising:
establishing, by the UE, a sidelink (SL) connection with an SL peer UE in the wireless network (Fig. 12 and ¶ 468-469 disclose a TX UE and RX UE (an SL peer UE in the wireless network) establishing a PC5-S unicast link (a type of SL connection) and an associated PC5-RRC connection (another type of SL connection) between each other);
receiving, by the UE, an allocation indication (Fig. 12 and 471-472 disclose the TX UE receiving one or more configured grants from a network) indicating one or more uplink (UL) resources (¶ 474 disclose that a configured grant can be a SL configured grant or a UL configured grant), wherein the allocation indication originates from a gNB of the wireless network (Fig. 12 illustrates the one or more configured grants as received from a base station; and ¶ 82 discloses that a base station (BS) may also be referred to as a gNB); and
performing SL data transceiving with the SL peer UE using the one or more UL resources indicated in the allocation indication (¶¶ 477-478 disclose the TX UE determining a priority of each configured grant as indicated by the network/BS/gNB; ¶ 483-484 disclose the TX UE receiving a PDCCH de/activating one of the configured grants and determining how to prioritize transmissions based on the de/activation in the event of a transmission colliding with a configured grant confirmation to be transmitted by the TX UE to the network/BS/gNB; ¶¶ 496-497, 501, and 518 disclose the TX UE transmitting SL communications to the RX UE according to the relative priority between the SL transmission(s) and UL configured grant configurations).
Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more UL resources are available as shared SL resources for SL transceiving.
However, in analogous art, Li discloses wherein one or more UL resource are indicated as available as shared SL resources for SL transceiving (Fig. 2 and ¶¶ 154-156 disclose a base station sending configuration information A to terminal 1 for configuring a SL bandwidth part (BWP) including transmission resource pool #A included in a frequency range of a currently active UL BWP and a frequency range of the SL BWP, wherein the UL BWP and the SL BWP are on a shared transit radio frequency).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Li to modify Lee in order to configure resources that may be used for SL and UL transceiving. One would have been motivated to do this, because providing a configuring where SL and UL share resources may help alleviate issues related to limited terminal capability wherein a transmit radio frequency may be separately set for UL and SL when the UL carrier and SL carrier are the same carrier (Li ¶ 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee-Li disclose the method of claim 1.
Lee discloses wherein the allocation indication is transmitted by the gNB through downlink control information (DCI), MAC control element (CE) or radio resource control (RRC) message (¶ 471 discloses the TX UE receiving the grant from the network in DCI included in PDCCH).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee-Li disclose the method of claim 1.
Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the UE receives the allocation indication through the Uu connection by unicast, multicast or broadcast.
However, in analogous art, Li discloses wherein the UE receives the allocation indication through the Uu connection (¶ 151 discloses that there are multiple ways in which the resource pool used for SL transmission may be configured in an SL BWP) by unicast (¶ 153 discloses the use of dedicated RRC signaling configuration), multicast or broadcast (¶ 152 disclose the use of broadcast configuration).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Li to modify Lee in order to configure resources that may be used for SL and UL transceiving by transmitting the configuration via broadcast or unicast, in the form of dedicated RRC signaling. One would have been motivated to do this, because providing a configuring where SL and UL share resources may help alleviate issues related to limited terminal capability wherein a transmit radio frequency may be separately set for UL and SL when the UL carrier and SL carrier are the same carrier (Li ¶ 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee-Li disclose the method of claim 1.
Lee discloses wherein the shared SL resources are indicated by resource block (RB) ID or by SL grants (¶¶ 472 and 474 discloses the UE receiving configured grants from the network including a SL configured grant).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee-Li disclose the method of claim 1.
Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein conditions for using the shared SL resources are included in the allocation indication or are indicated in a separate RRC configuration.
However, in analogous art, Li discloses wherein conditions for using the shared SL resources are included in the allocation indication or are indicated in a separate RRC configuration (¶¶ 151-153 disclose SL transmission as configured in an SL BWP via dedicated RRC signaling carrying a terminal-level parameter; and Fig. 2 and ¶¶ 184-186 disclose the BS indicating that a UE is to send UL data on a currently activated UL BWP in RRC information to implement simultaneous sending of SL data and UL data on the shared transmit radio frequency between the SL BWP and UL BWP in order to satisfy a simultaneous sending requirement of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Li to modify Lee in order to configure the conditions for using shared resources in a separate RRC configuration. One would have been motivated to do this, because providing a configuring where SL and UL share resources may help alleviate issues related to limited terminal capability wherein a transmit radio fr (Li ¶ 3), by reducing the amount of time required for switching between the UL BWP and SL BWP (Li ¶ 186).
Regarding Claims 12-13 and 15-16, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 12-13 and 15-16 are substantially similar or identical to those of claims 1-2 and 5-6, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transceiver that transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signal in a wide area wireless network (Fig. 12 and ¶¶ 25, 467-469 disclose a method implemented by a TX UE; Figs. 1-6 and ¶¶ 42, 52-53, 65, 69, 78-80, 85, 93, and 100-101 disclose a UE as including connected processor, memory and transceiver configured to communicate with a base station and another UE in a 3GPP LTE system and a NR system);
a sidelink (SL) controller that establishes an SL connection with an SL peer UE in the wireless network (Fig. 12 and ¶ 468-469 disclose a TX UE and RX UE (an SL peer UE in the wireless network) establishing a PC5-S unicast link (a type of SL connection) and an associated PC5-RRC connection (another type of SL connection) between each other);
a resource module that receives an allocation indication (Fig. 12 and 471-472 disclose the TX UE receiving one or more configured grants from a network) indicating one or more uplink (UL) resources (¶ 474 disclose that a configured grant can be a SL configured grant or a UL configured grant), wherein the allocation indication originates from a gNB of the wireless network (Fig. 12 illustrates the one or more configured grants as received from a base station; and ¶ 82 discloses that a base station (BS) may also be referred to as a gNB); and
a transceiving controller that performs SL data transceiving with the SL peer UE using the one or more UL resources indicated in the allocation indication (¶¶ 477-478 disclose the TX UE determining a priority of each configured grant as indicated by the network/BS/gNB; ¶ 483-484 disclose the TX UE receiving a PDCCH de/activating one of the configured grants and determining how to prioritize transmissions based on the de/activation in the event of a transmission colliding with a configured grant confirmation to be transmitted by the TX UE to the network/BS/gNB; ¶¶ 496-497, 501, and 518 disclose the TX UE transmitting SL communications to the RX UE according to the relative priority between the SL transmission(s) and UL configured grant configurations).
Lee may not explicitly disclose wherein the UL resources are indicated as available as shared SL resources for SL transceiving.
However, in analogous art, Li discloses wherein UL resources are indicated as available as shared SL resources for SL transceiving (Fig. 2 and ¶¶ 154-156 disclose a base station sending configuration information A to terminal 1 for configuring a SL bandwidth part (BWP) including transmission resource pool #A included in a frequency range of a currently active UL BWP and a frequency range of the SL BWP, wherein the UL BWP and the SL BWP are on a shared transit radio frequency).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Li to modify Lee in order to configure resources that may be used for SL and UL transceiving. One would have been motivated to do this, because providing a configuring where SL and UL share resources may help alleviate issues related to limited terminal capability wherein a transmit radio fr (Li ¶ 3).
Regarding Claims 18 and 20, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 18 and 20 are substantially similar or identical to those of claims 2 and 5, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claims 4, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-Li as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2013/0010722, hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee-Li disclose the method of claim 3.
Lee-Li may not explicitly disclose wherein the UE receives the allocation indication through multicast or broadcast, and wherein a new radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) is used for the shared SL resources.
However, in analogous art, Suzuki discloses wherein a UE receives an allocation indication through multicast or broadcast, and wherein a new radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) is used for shared SL resources (¶ 58 discloses a base station including an Contention Based (CB)-RNTI in DCI broadcasted by the base station and received by mobile stations; Fig. 4 and ¶ 76-77 disclose a base station determining and including a CB-RNTI in PDCCH transmitted to mobile stations).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Suzuki to modify Lee-Li in order to provide an RNTI in broadcasted DCI. One would have been motivated to do this, because providing the RNTI in broadcasted DCI allows a UE to determine that the DCI is for contention-based UL transmission, which eliminates the needs for blind decoding in different manners, which reduces the load of blind decoding on UEs (Suzuki ¶ 61).
Regarding Claims 14 and 19, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 14 and 19 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 4, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0144781).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee-Li disclose the method of claim 1.
Lee discloses wherein the UE receives the allocation indication from the gNB through a Uu link with the gNB (¶¶ 154 and 157 disclose the UE as inside a Next Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN, a 5G network) is provided various SL configuration information via a Uu carrier).
Lee-Li may not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is a relay UE.
However, in analogous art, Xu discloses wherein the UE is a relay UE (Figs. 7B, 15 and 16 and ¶¶ 131 and 133 disclose configuring a relay link and a signal flow for configuring and using further relay links, wherein the relay UE relays between the network and a remote UE or a helping remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Xu to modify Lee-Li in order to embody the TX UE of Lee-Li as a relay UE. One would have been motivated to do this, because such an embodiment may help to improve system performance in latency or throughput for emerging and important applications (Xu ¶ 41).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-Li-Xu as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0338319, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee-Li disclose the method of claim 7.
Lee-Li may not explicitly disclose wherein the UE forwards the allocation indication to the SL peer UE through the SL connection.
However, in analogous art, Kim discloses wherein a UE forwards an allocation indication to an SL peer UE through an SL connection (Fig. 25 and ¶¶ 553-558 disclose a transmission (TX) UE receiving RRC signaling indicating a scheduling assignment (SA) subframe (SF) location from a base station (eNB), receiving a scheduling grant (SG) an instruction to activate the SA SF from the eNB, and the TX UE transmitting the SA to a reception (RX) UE through the activated SA SF).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify Lee-Li in order to forward configured grants received from the gNB to the peer RX UE. One would have been motivated to do this, because forwarding such information may help make direct communication between UEs possible where newly defined D2D control information is required for demodulating D2D data (Kim ¶ 26), and help enhance efficiency of the resource use and reduce transmission delay by transmitting and receiving D2D control information and D2D data respectively or together (Kim ¶ 27).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee-Li disclose the method of claim 7.
Lee-Li may not explicitly disclose wherein the UE sends indication for the shared resource to the SL peer UE based on the allocation indication.
Kim discloses wherein the UE sends indication for a shared resource to a SL peer UE based on an allocation indication (Fig. 25 and ¶¶ 553-558 disclose a transmission (TX) UE receiving RRC signaling indicating a scheduling assignment (SA) subframe (SF) location from a base station (eNB), receiving a scheduling grant (SG) an instruction to activate the SA SF from the eNB, and the TX UE transmitting the SA to a reception (RX) UE through the activated SA SF).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim to modify Lee-Li in order to forward configured grants received from the gNB to the peer RX UE. One would have been motivated to do this, because forwarding such information may help make direct communication between
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: .
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the ordered combination of all of the features of at least dependent claims 10 and 11. Specifically, the prior art of record fails to disclose the UE and SL peer UL exchanging a corresponding allocation indication or corresponding conditions for corresponding shared SL resources in ordered combination with all the other features of at least any one of the independent claims.
The prior art cited above was found to be the closest prior art to the claimed invention. However, neither Lee, Li, Suzuki, Kim, nor other prior art listed below as pertinent appear to disclose the claimed UE receiving either an corresponding allocation indication or corresponding conditions for corresponding shared SL resources from the claimed SL peer UE, as required by claim 10’s “wherein the UE and the SL peer UE exchanges” that information. The prior art cited above does not appear to explicitly disclose a SL peer UE connected to a second BS, let alone receive a second set of UL resources from such a BS, and let alone have the second set be available as SL shared resources to use for providing either a corresponding allocation indication or corresponding conditions for corresponding shared SL resources. Prior art listed below as pertinent might disclose
Thus, dependent claims 10-11 are objected as including allowable subject matter over the prior art of record, and would be allowed if rewritten in independent form.
Conclusion
/Thomas R Cairns/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468