Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans et al. (US PG Publication 2014/0065460).
With respect to claim 1, Evans et al. discloses a redox flow battery 100/201, comprising:
a negative electrode spacer (fin 400) interposed between a negative side of a membrane 220 and a negative flow field plate 230 and [0044-0066; Figure 2-4B]
a positive electrode 210 interposed between a positive side of the membrane 220 and a positive flow field plate 205 wherein,
the negative electrode spacer (fin structure 400) includes a plurality of main ribs 405/415, [Figure 4A]
the positive electrode 210 includes a plurality of positive flow field ribs opposingly aligned across the membrane 220 from the plurality of main ribs [0080-0081], and
the negative flow field plate 230 includes a continuously smooth plating surface facing the membrane 220, the plating surface and the membrane 220 sandwiching a non-interdigitated negative electrolyte flow field therebetween. [0040-0068]
With respect to claim 2, Evans et al. discloses wherein the negative electrode spacer (fin structure 400) includes a plurality of support ribs, and an array of evenly-sized openings formed from transversely and non-wovenly joining the plurality of main ribs to the plurality of support ribs. [0044-0066; Figure 2-4B]
With respect to claim 3, Evans et al. discloses wherein the main ribs comprise solid monolithic structures having constant cross-sections in a longitudinal direction of the main ribs. [0044-0066; Figure 2-4B]
With respect to claim 4, Evans et al. discloses wherein the main ribs comprise solid monolithic structures having constant cross-sections along an axis perpendicular to a plane of the negative flow field plate 230. [0044-0066; Figure 2-4B]
With respect to claim 5, Evans et al. discloses wherein a pitch of the support ribs is less than a pitch of the main ribs. [Figure 2]
With respect to claim 6, Evans et al. discloses wherein the plurality of main ribs is oriented more parallel to a width of the negative electrode spacer, and the plurality of support ribs is oriented more parallel to a length of the negative electrode spacer. [Figure 2]
Conclusion
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751