DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The (2) information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/17/2025 and 03/21/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
In claim 11:
The limitation “means for maintaining” in line 4
“means” is the generic placeholder.
“maintaining” is the functional language.
A review of the specification shows that, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
The limitation “means for maintaining” in line 4 of claim 11 has been described in in claim 13 to comprise bristles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “sufficiently” in claim 7 (similarly applying to claim 17) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sufficiently” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-12, 14-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP’747 (JP 2000271747, published on 10/03/2000)
Regarding Claim 1, JP’747 discloses a component (roller 8 to which a ground wire is connected; para. 0010; fig. 3) for use in wire arc additive manufacturing (WAAM) (it is noted “for use in wire arc additive manufacturing (WAAM)” is a statement of intended use), comprising:
an electrically conductive object (roller body 13; fig. 3) configured to maintain a continuous electrical connection with a printed surface of a part (end face of the face material 1) during a WAAM process (arc welding) (para. 0010; figs. 1-2);
a first connector (shaft 14), electrically connected to the electrically conductive object (roller body 13), configured to receive a connection (ground wire 6) to a power source (para. 0007-0008 and 0012) (It is noted the ground wire 6 is implicitly connected to ground terminal of the power supply); and
a second connector (cylinder rod 12) configured to attach the electrically conductive object (roller body 13) to a printer head (welding torch) that, when in use during the WAAM process, is positioned above the part (face material 1) (para. 0010 and 0012; fig. 1. It is noted to establish the arc to form fillet welding, the cylinder rod 12 and roller body 13 are connected the ground wire 6 that is implicitly connected a ground terminal of the power supply. The welding torch is implicitly connected to the positive terminal of the power supply. Therefore, during welding, the cylinder rod 12 configured to electrically attach the roller body 13 to the welding torches 3a, 3b to form complete electrical circuit such that arc is established between the welding torch and the face material 1. Provided as evidence, Ammann (US 20220314356) discloses an arc welding, in which the torch 10 is electrically connected to positive terminal of the power supply 16 and the baseplate of the workpiece is electrically connected to the negative/ground terminal of the power supply 16, see para. 0016; fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, JP’747 discloses the component (roller 8 to which a ground wire is connected; fig. 3), wherein the first connector (shaft 14) is configured to receive a part (connection terminal 17) attached to a return path cable (ground wire 6) (para. 0012).
Regarding Claim 4, JP’747 discloses the component (roller 8 to which a ground wire is connected; fig. 3), wherein the electrically conductive object (roller body 13) is configured to roll over the printed surface (face material 1) during the WAAM process (arc welding) (para. 0012 and 0007; fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, JP’747 discloses the component (roller 8 to which a ground wire is connected; fig. 3), wherein the electrically conductive object (roller body 13) is configured to slide over the printed surface (face material 1) during the WAAM process (arc welding) (para. 0012 and 0007; fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, JP’747 discloses the component (roller 8 to which a ground wire is connected; fig. 3), further comprising the printer head (welding torch 3), wherein the second connector (cylinder rod 12) is configured to position the electrically conductive object (roller body 13 of roller 8) behind a cooling edge of a weld pool (annotated fig. 2) on the printed surface (face material 1) (para. 0010).
Regarding Claim 9, JP’747 discloses the component (roller 8 to which a ground wire is connected; fig. 3), further comprising the printer head (welding torch 3), wherein the second connector 9 (cylinder rod 12) is configured to position the electrically conductive object (roller body 13 of roller 8) ahead of a melting edge of a weld pool (annotated fig. 2) on the printed surface (face material 1) (para. 0010).
Regarding Claim 10, JP’747 discloses the component (roller 8 to which a ground wire is connected; fig. 3), further comprising a motorized element (cylinder 11) that moves the electrically conductive object (roller body 13 of roller 8) in relation to the printer head (welding torch 3) (para. 0012-0013, and 0009-0010) (it is noted the roller 8 is moved by the cylinder 11 that is motorized to position the roller 8 at constant short distance from the welding torch 3).
Regarding Claim 11, JP’747 discloses a system for wire arc additive manufacturing (WAAM) (fig. 2 .it is noted “for wire arc additive manufacturing (WAAM)” is a statement of intended use), comprising:
a printer head (welding torches 3a ,3b) configured to deposit a molten material to form a part (welding fillet) (para. 0010); and
a component (fig. 3) comprising:
means (roller body 13; fig. 3) for maintaining a substantially continuous electrical connection with a printed surface of the part (face material 1) during a WAAM process (arc welding) (para. 0010; figs. 1-2);
a first connector (shaft 14), electrically connected to the maintaining means (roller body 13), configured to receive a connection (ground wire 6) to a power source (para. 0007-0008 and 0012. It is noted the ground wire 6 is implicitly connected to ground terminal of the power supply); and
a second connector (cylinder rod 12) configured to attach the maintaining means (roller body 13) to the printer head (welding torches 3a, 3b) that, when in use during the WAAM process, is positioned above the part (face material 1) (para. 0010 and 0012; fig. 1. It is noted to establish the arc to form fillet welding, the cylinder rod 12 and roller body 13 are connected the ground wire 6 that is implicitly connected a ground terminal of the power supply. The welding torch is implicitly connected to the positive terminal of the power supply. Therefore, during welding, the cylinder rod 12 configured to electrically attach the roller body 13 to the welding torches 3a, 3b to form complete electrical circuit such that arc is established between the welding torch and the face material 1. Provided as evidence, Ammann (US 20220314356) discloses an arc welding, in which the torch 10 is electrically connected to positive terminal of the power supply 16 and the baseplate of the workpiece is electrically connected to the negative/ground terminal of the power supply 16, see para. 0016; fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, JP’747 discloses the system (fig. 2), wherein the first connector (shaft 14) is configured to receive a part (connection terminal 17) attached to a return path cable (ground wire 6) (para. 0012).
Regarding Claim 14, JP’747 discloses the system (fig. 2), wherein the electrically conductive object (roller body 13) is configured to roll over the printed surface (face material 1) during the WAAM process (para. 0012 and 0007; fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15, JP’747 discloses the system (fig. 2), wherein the electrically conductive object (roller body 13) is configured to slide over the printed surface (face material 1) during the WAAM process (para. 0012 and 0007; fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, JP’747 discloses the system (fig. 2), wherein the second connector (cylinder rod 12) is configured to position the electrically conductive object (roller body 13 of roller 8) behind a cooling edge of a weld pool (annotated fig. 2) on the printed surface (face material 1) (para. 0010).
Regarding Claim 19, JP’747 discloses the system (fig. 2), wherein the second connector 9 (cylinder rod 12) is configured to position the electrically conductive object (roller body 13 of roller 8) ahead of a melting edge of a weld pool (annotated fig. 2) on the printed surface (face material 1) (para. 0010).
Regarding Claim 20, JP’747 discloses the system (fig. 2), wherein the component (fig. 3) further comprising a motorized element (cylinder 11) that moves the electrically conductive object (roller body 13 of roller 8) in relation to the printer head (welding torch 3) (para. 0012-0013, and 0009-0010) (it is noted the roller 8 is moved by the cylinder 11 that is motorized to position the roller 8 at constant short distance from the welding torch 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-7, 13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’747 (JP 2000271747, published on 10/03/2000) in view of Verhagen (US 20160322743)
Regarding Claim 3, JP’747 does not disclose wherein the electrically conductive object comprises bristles.
However, Verhagen discloses the electrically conductive object (contact layer 105) comprises bristles (bristles 106 made of an electrically conductive material) (para. 0048; figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrically conductive object of JP’747 (i.e. roller body 13) to comprise bristles as taught by Verhagen because the bristles provide at least a conformable contact layer 105 that conforms to the contour of the target surface, such that continuity of the electrical connection between the target surface and electrical ground is ensured (para. 0050 and 0002-0004 of Verhagen).
Regarding Claim 6, JP’747 does not disclose the component further comprising a hinge configured to connect the electrically conductive object and the second connector.
However, Verhagen discloses a conformable contact member 101 comprises a base 102 and a contact layer 105, both of which are conformable to enable the contact member 101 to conform to the contour of the target surface 110 (figs. 1-2) (para. 0048, 0050, and 0053). Verhangen discloses the conformable base 102 includes members that are flexible due to the inclusion of flexure regions such as i.e. hinges (para. 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roller 8 of JP’747 to include the hinge as taught by Verhangen that would result in the hinge configured to electrically connect the electrically conductive object 13 and the second connector 12. Doing so would enable the roller 8 to be conformable by the inclusion of the hinge to the targe surface. Doing so would ensure the continuity of the electrical connection between the target surface and electrical ground by means of the conformable roller 8 (para. 0050 and 0002-0004 of Verhagen).
Regarding Claim 7, JP’747 discloses the second connector (cylinder rod 12) allows the electrically conductive object (roller body 13) to move over irregularities in the printed surface (fillet welding in the face material 1) without substantially affecting movement of the printer head (welding torch 3) (para. 0007) (it is noted the cylinder rod 12 allows the roller 8 to move over the face material 1. The movement of roller 8 does not affect the movement of the welding torch 3).
JP’747 does not disclose the second connector is sufficiently flexible.
However, Verhagen discloses a conformable contact member 101 comprises a base 102 and a contact layer 105, both of which are conformable to enable the contact member 101 to conform to the contour of the target surface 110 (figs. 1-2) (para. 0048, 0050, and 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roller 8 of JP’747 (i.e. comprising at least 13, 15, 16, 12, 11) to be made of material of that is pliable or bendable rubber, pliable or bendable plastic, to conform to the non-planar target surface to ensure the continuity of the electrical connection between the target surface and electrical ground (para. 0050 and 0002-0004 of Verhagen).
Regarding Claim 13, JP’747 does not disclose wherein the electrically conductive object comprises bristles.
However, Verhagen discloses the electrically conductive object (contact layer 105) comprises bristles (bristles 106 made of an electrically conductive material) (para. 0048; figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrically conductive object of JP’747 (i.e. roller body 13) to comprise bristles as taught by Verhagen because the bristles provide at least a conformable contact layer 105 that conforms to the contour of the target surface, such that continuity of the electrical connection between the target surface and electrical ground is ensured (para. 0050 and 0002-0004 of Verhagen).
Regarding Claim 16, JP’747 does not disclose the component further comprising a hinge configured to connect the electrically conductive object and the second connector.
However, Verhagen discloses a conformable contact member 101 comprises a base 102 and a contact layer 105, both of which are conformable to enable the contact member 101 to conform to the contour of the target surface 110 (figs. 1-2) (para. 0048, 0050, and 0053). Verhangen discloses the conformable base includes members that are flexible due to the inclusion of flexure regions such as i.e. hinges (para. 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roller 8 of JP’747 to include the hinge as taught by Verhagen that would result in the hinge of Verhagen configured to electrically connect the electrically conductive object 13 of JP’747 and the second connector 12 of JP’747. Doing so would enable the roller 8 of JP’747 to be conformable by the inclusion of the hinge of Verhagen to the targe surface. Doing so would ensure the continuity of the electrical connection between the target surface and electrical ground by means of the conformable roller 8 (para. 0050 and 0002-0004 of Verhagen).
Regarding Claim 17, JP’747 discloses the second connector (cylinder rod 12) allows the electrically conductive object (roller body 13) to move over irregularities in the printed surface (fillet welding in the face material 1) without substantially affecting movement of the printer head (welding torch 3) (para. 0007) (it is noted the cylinder rod 12 allows the roller 8 to move over the face material 1. The movement of roller 8 does not affect the movement of the welding torch 3).
JP’747 does not disclose the second connector is sufficiently flexible.
However, Verhagen discloses a conformable contact member 101 comprises a base 102 and a contact layer 105, both of which are conformable to enable the contact member 101 to conform to the contour of the target surface 110 (figs. 1-2) (para. 0048, 0050, and 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roller 8 of JP’747 (i.e. comprising at least 13, 15, 16, 12, 11) to be made of material of that is pliable or bendable rubber, pliable or bendable plastic, to conform to the non-planar target surface to ensure the continuity of the electrical connection between the target surface and electrical ground (para. 0050 and 0002-0004 of Verhagen).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ammann (US 20220314356) in view of JP’747 (JP 2000271747, published on 10/03/2000)
Regarding Claim 21, Ammann discloses a method for wire arc additive manufacturing (WAAM) (an additive welding build-up method i.e. WAAM) comprising:
printing a part (electrically conductive component 18) with a printer head (welding torch 10), wherein the part comprises a printed surface (electrically conductive component 18), the printer head deposits a material (weld beads) to form the printed surface (para. 0016);
establishing a return path (ground wire) between the base plate 20 and a power source (power source 16) via a component (ground wire) (para. 0016; fig. 1).
Ammann does not disclose the method comprising:
establishing a return path between the printed surface and a power source via the component
wherein the component comprises:
an electrically conductive object configured to maintain a continuous electrical connection with the printed surface;
a first connector, electrically connected to the electrically conductive object, configured to receive a connection to the power source; and
a second connector configured to attach the electrically conductive object to the printer head that, when in use during a WAAM process, is positioned above the part; and moving the component along the printed surface.
However, JP’747 discloses the method comprising:
establishing a return path (ground connection) between the printed surface (face material 1) and a power source (power supply) via the component (roller 8) (para. 0003 and 0007-0008. It is noted the ground wire 6 is implicitly connected to the power supply)
wherein the component (roller 8; fig. 3) comprises:
an electrically conductive object (roller body 13; fig. 3) configured to maintain a continuous electrical connection with the printed surface (face material 1) (para. 0010; figs. 1-2);
a first connector (shaft 14), electrically connected to the electrically conductive object (roller body 13), configured to receive a connection (ground wire 6) to the power source (power supply) (para. 0007-0008 and 0012) (It is noted the ground wire 6 is implicitly connected to ground terminal of the power supply; and
a second connector (cylinder rod 12) configured to attach the electrically conductive object (roller body 13) to the printer head (welding torch 3) that, when in use during a WAAM process, is positioned above the part (face material 1) (para. 0010 and 0012. It is noted to establish the arc to form fillet welding, the cylinder rod 12 and roller body 13 are connected the ground wire 6 that is implicitly connected a ground terminal of the power supply. The welding torch is implicitly connected to the positive terminal of the power supply. Therefore, during welding, the cylinder rod 12 configured to electrically attach the roller body 13 to the welding torches 3a, 3b to form complete electrical circuit such that arc is established between the welding torch and the face material 1. Provided as evidence, Ammann (US 20220314356) discloses an arc welding, in which the torch 10 is electrically connected to positive terminal of the power supply 16 and the baseplate of the workpiece is electrically connected to the negative/ground terminal of the power supply 16, see para. 0016; fig. 1); and
moving the component (roller 8) along the printed surface (face material 1) (para. 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the component of Ammann (i.e. ground wire) to comprise the structures as set forth above such that the component configured to provide ground path is movable along the printed surface (i.e. component 18 of Ammann), in order to keep the distance between the welding point and the ground supply point at constant short distance in relation to the welding torch, thereby stabilize the arc during welding (para. 0009 and 0005 of JP’747).
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761