DETAILED ACTION
Pro se Application
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
To assist with understanding the office action, the examiner has added notes in sections including explanations of parts and rationales. Additionally, please see the references cited in the rejection and in the conclusion for examples of claim construction.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of a lack of figure numbers. Each of the shown drawings of the glove should be labeled Figure #, i.e. “Figure 1” and “Figure 2”.
Specification
Please note following section regarding content of specification. (k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Drawings contain reference elements 1 (referring to “hook tape” in the drawing) and 2 (referring to “polyester glove) in the drawing and there is no reference to these figures in the specification. When these reference elements are referred to in the drawings, they must be described in the specification. See MPEP 608.02, particularly MPEP 608.02(V).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 2 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “the use of hook tape…” without reciting additional steps that detail the process of removing the lint, raising an issue of indefiniteness. The 35 USC 112 rejection on claim 1 can be overcome by implementing the following claim construction suggestions in the section below.
Please note the following suggestions in addressing claims 1 & 2
Regarding claim 1: “The use of hook tape to remove lint from dreadlocks.”
It is the interpretation of the examiner that, in reciting “The use of”, the applicant intents to recite the method of using the lint remover device. However, the recited language creates an issue of indefinite language under 112(b), as previously recited.
Consider instead, for claim 1:
1. A method for removing lint from dreadlocks comprising:
providing a lint removing glove having three fingers having hook tape on each fingertip;
a user placing the glove on the user’s hand; and
the user pressing and pulling the glove fingertips on the dreadlocks to remove said lint from the dreadlocks.
Regarding claim 2: “An object or device that uses a three fingered glove with hook tape on the fingertips of the glove, designed to remove lint from dreadlocks.”
It is the interpretation of the examiner that, in reciting, “An object or device” the applicant intents to recite the lint remover device. However, there is no distinction given regarding the differences between “an object” and a device”
It is the interpretation of the examiner that, in reciting, “designed to remove lint” the applicant intents to claim the function of the device. While this is understood, the functional purpose of a structure is given no patentable weight except when given further context in the specification.
Consider instead, for claim 2
2. A device for removing lint from dreadlocks comprising:
a three fingered glove having fingertips; and
hook tape disposed on said fingertips.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the limitation attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process.
The 35 USC 101 rejection on claim 1 can be overcome by implementing suggestions from 35 USC 112 claim rejections section above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salter (US 20130055963 A1). Claim 2 is also rejected in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103, see the 103 Claim Rejections section below.
Regarding claim 2, Salter discloses a device (element 100, fig. 1) for removing lint (para. [0023]; note, hooks are described as favorable for capturing loose hair, dirt, and debris, which would include lint) from dreadlocks (para. [0003]; note, device is for brushing hair and fur, which would include dreadlocks) comprising:
a three fingered glove (element 100, fig. 1; note, in both the original and proposed claim limitations, there are no requirement that the glove have only three fingers. Therefore, a glove having five fingers has at least three fingers, meaning that the reference anticipates the claimed invention) having fingertips (see annotated fig. 1; element 106, fig. 1; para. [0025]); and
hook tape (element 106 & 108, fig. 4; para. [0018 & 25]; note, reference discloses using a substrate secured to the upper section of the glove (fingers/fingertips, as shown) with adhesive or adhesive tape) disposed on said fingertips (element 106, fig. 1; para. [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Assuming arguendo, that the lint remover glove should only include three fingers, and therefore that five-finger glove of Salter does not explicitly teach the claim limitations, claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter in view of Dixon (US 20160324289 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Salter discloses a device for removing debris from pet hair comprising:
a fingered glove having fingertips; and
hook tape disposed on said fingertips.as previously described.
Salter fails to teach the grooming glove only including three fingers.
Dixon teaches a colorant applicator and hair grooming glove. Further, Dixon teaches “the body of the gloves comprises a finger sheath for at least a pair of the users fingers” (claim 1, line 5-6). Dixon teaches that providing certain fingers with either partial or no covering (having a glove with fewer than five covered fingers) aids in operator maneuverability and dexterity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Haynes into the grooming brush of Salter to provide a three fingered lint remover glove. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the improvement in functionality of a lint remover glove with at least one exposed finger to improve operator dexterity.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter in view of Haynes (US 20140060563 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Salter discloses a method for grooming pet hair comprising petting pet’s fur with a glove having hooks attached thereto. Salter teaches the benefit of hooked bristles “for capturing loose hair, dirt, and debris”. Salter also teaches the optional inclusion of sticks (element 112) for better retention of captured hair, dirt and debris.
Salter, however, fails to disclose a method for removing lint from dreadlocks comprising:
providing a lint removing glove having three fingers having hook tape on each fingertip;
a user placing the glove on the user’s hand; and
the user pressing and pulling the glove fingertips on the dreadlocks to remove said lint from the dreadlocks.
Haynes teaches a method for brushing hair comprising:
providing a hair brushing glove having fingers (claim 21, line 3; a hand cover having at least a thumb pocket) having bristles on each fingertip (claim 21, line 6-7; “a plurality of bristles fixedly attached to at least part of the palmer surface of the hand cover”);
a user placing the glove on the user’s hand (claim 21, line 10; “placing a hand brush on a hand”); and
the user pressing and pulling the glove fingertips on the hair to brush said hair (claim 21, line 11-12; “moving the hand brush from the crown of the head to the hair line, while maintaining contact with the hair”).
Haynes teaches a hair brushing glove and a method of use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Haynes into the grooming brush of Salter to provide the claimed method of use. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that, while Salter’s grooming glove is directed to use on pet hair, it could also be used to groom human hair, including dreadlocks. As previously described, Salter teaches the benefit of the hooks for capturing hair, dirt, and debris. One of ordinary skill would understand that the hooks would be useful for capturing lint as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Algabbani et al. (US 20240292917 A1) teaches a multi-purpose glove and various attachments, the glove having loop-type fastener material attached to the palm and fingers to facilitate fixing of the attachments.
Damm (US 5009195 A) teaches an animal grooming device and method comprising a sheet with a plurality of hook-shaped bristles disposed thereon, which is worn around the users hand like a mitt.
/KEEGAN T MARTIN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723