DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 have been examined and are pending.
Status of the Claims
In the Non-Final Rejection mailed December 30, 2025, the status of the claims was as follow(s): Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 15, 16, and 17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20210273699 A1) in view of BAI (“US 20220132543 A1”). Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20210273699 A1) in view of BAI (“US 20220132543 A1”) in view of CHENG (US 20190379506 A1). Claim(s) 7 and 14 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20210273699 A1) in view of BAI (“US 20220132543 A1”) in view of CHENG (US 20190313429 A1). Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, and 19 were objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In response to the Non-Final Rejection, Applicants have: Cancelled claim(s) 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17. Amended Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20. Presented arguments to overcome the prior art rejections made in the Non-Final Rejection in light of the amended claims. Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 are now pending.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
In light of the arguments and amendments presented by the Applicants in response to the Non-Final Rejection a new ground of rejection has been made in view of CAO (US 20250055644 A1) and further in view of LI (US 20220377770 A1). Furthermore, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Refer to amended independent claim 1, which recites the following
“1. A user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver configured to:
receive, from a base station (BS), via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling information configuring a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states and first information indicating whether to apply at least one of two indicated TCI states for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception; and
receive, from the BS, first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for indicating the two indicated TCI states among the plurality of TCI states for PDCCH reception;
wherein, when the first information is set to a first indicated TCI state, a first TCI state of the two indicated TCI states is applied to the PDCCH reception,
wherein, when the first information is set to a second indicated TCI state, a second TCI state of the two indicated TCI states is applied to the PDCCH reception,
wherein, when the first information is set to both indicated TCI states, the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to the PDCCH reception, wherein,
when the first information is set to none of indicated TCI states, a TCI state indicated by a second MAC CE is applied to the PDCCH reception.”
The limitation, “when the first information is set to none of indicated TCI states, a TCI state indicated by a second MAC CE is applied to the PDCCH reception”, does not appear to be supported by the Instant Application as originally filed. In the Remarks received March 27, 2026, Applicants cite paragraph(s) [0081], [0141], [0146], and [0217] for support of the amendment.
These paragraphs recite the following:
[0081] In one example, a MAC CE could be used to indicate to the UE 116 a beam (i.e., a TCI state and/or a TCI state ID) for the transmission/reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH.
[0141] In yet another example, for N=2 or M=2, the UE 116 could apply/use the first (or second) indicated TCI state/pair of TCI states to monitor PDCCH candidate(s) received in CORESET(s) associated/configured with the indicator/parameter in the corresponding ControlResourceSet set to '00' ('01', '10', or '11'). Equivalently, the UE 116 could assume that the DM-RS antenna port(s) of the PDCCH received in CORESET(s) associated/configured with the indicator/parameter in the corresponding ControlResourceSet set to '00' ('01', 10', or '11') is quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the RS set(s) provided/indicated/configured in the first (or second) indicated TCI state/pair of TCI states. The UE 116 could apply/use the second (or first) indicated TCI state/pair of TCI states to monitor PDCCH candidate(s) received in CORESET(s) associated/configured with the indicator/parameter in the corresponding ControlResourceSet set to '01' ('00', '10', or '11'). Equivalently, the UE 116 could assume that the DM-RS antenna port(s) of the PDCCH received in CORESET(s) associated/configured with the indicator/parameter in the corresponding ControlResourceSet set to '01' ('00', '10', or '11') is quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the RS set(s) provided/indicated/configured in the second (or first) indicated TCI state/pair of TCI states). The UE 116 could apply/use the first indicated TCI state/pair of TCI states to monitor first PDCCH candidate(s) received in CORESET(s) associated/configured with the indicator/parameter in the corresponding ControlResourceSet set to '10' ('00', '01', or '11') and the second indicated TCI state/pair of TCI states to monitor second PDCCH candidate(s) received in CORESET(s) associated/configured with the indicator/parameter in the corresponding ControlResourceSet set to '10' ('00', '01', or '11').
[0146] For the examples described herein, the UE 116 may use/apply none of the indicated TCI states/pairs of TCI states to receive PDCCH(s) in a CORESET when/ifthe indicator/parameter provided in the higher layer parameter ControlResourceSet that configures the CORESET, as specified herein e.g., following one or more examples described herein is set to (i) 'none' or 'disabled' or 'off' or 'not present'/'absent' or 'not configured' and/or (ii) a predetermined value '0', '1', '00', '01', '10' or '11' that is designated for indicating that none of the indicated TCI states/pairs of TCI states could be used/applied for PDCCH reception(s) in the CORESET. The UE 116 could first follow one or more examples described herein to determine the association between the indicated TCI state(s) and the PDCCH reception(s). The UE 116 could then follow one or more examples described herein to determine the association between the indicated TCI state(s) and the PDCCH reception(s) according to/based on one or more events or one or more conditions discussed/specified herein.
“[0213] In the present disclosure, when/if the indicator/parameter provided in the higher layer parameter ControlResourceSet that configures the CORESET, as specified herein, is (i) absent/not present or not configured, set to (ii) 'none' or 'disabled' or 'off' or 'not present'/'absent' or 'not configured, and/or (iii) a predetermined value '0', '1', '00', '01', '10' or '11' that is designated for indicating that none of the indicated TCI states/pairs of TCI states could be used/applied for PDCCH reception(s) in the CORESET, examples are discussed herein…
[0217] Yet for another example, the UE 116 could use/apply one or more of the indicated TCI states/pairs of TCI states, e.g., in the beam indication/activation MAC CE (e.g., the Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE or Enhanced Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) or by one or more TCI codepoints of one or more (existing) TCI fields in the beam indication DCI (e.g., DCI format 11/12 with or without DL assignment), for PDCCH reception(s), as specified herein.”
As could best be gleaned from the cited portions of Instant Application, there appears to be at most support for where when the first information (i.e. first information – indicator/parameter in higher layer parameter ControlResourceSet) is set to none of indicated TCI states, a TCI state indicated by a MAC CE is applied to the PDCCH reception. The Instant Application does not appear to specify or make the distinction about whether the MAC-CE is a first or second MAC-CE. If the Applicants believes there to be support for the second MAC CE as presented in amended claim 1, it is requested that Applicants provide additional evidence for support of this amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20250055644 A1) in view of LI (US 20220377770 A1)
In regards to claim(s) 1 and 15, CAO (US 20250055644 A1) teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver configured to (CAO teaches a UE, terminal, comprising a transceiver, see CAO where, ”[0444] FIG. 12 is a schematic diagram of a structure of a communication device 1200 provided by an embodiment of the disclosure. The communication device may be a terminal device or a network device. The communication device 1200 shown in FIG. 12 includes a processor 1210. The processor 1210 may call and run a computer program in a memory to implement the methods in the embodiments of the disclosure… [0447] Optionally, as shown in FIG. 12, the communication device 1200 may further include a transceiver 1230. The processor 1210 may control the transceiver 1230 to communicate with other devices, specifically, to send information or data to other devices, or to receive information or data sent from other devices.”):
receive, from a base station (BS), via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling information configuring a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states and first information indicating whether to apply at least one of two indicated TCI states for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception (CAO teaches the user equipment, terminal, receiving from a base station, network device, via RRC signaling, information configuring a plurality TCI states, see CAO where “[0073] In the following, the wireless communication method shown in FIG. 6, FIG. 7 or FIG. 8 is illustrated. [0074] In the embodiments of the disclosure, the network device may configure multiple unified TCI states for the terminal device. The network device may activate a unified TCI state selected from the configured multiple unified TCI states for the terminal device, and the activated unified TCI state is a part of the configured unified TCI states. When the number of activated unified TCI states is greater than the number of TRPs, the network device indicates to the terminal device one or more unified TCI states selected from the activated TCI states. The indicated TCI state is used for the TRP for transmission, and different TRPs correspond to different indicated unified TCI states. [0075] Optionally, the network device configures the unified TCI state through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signalling….”, CAO also teaches receiving from the network device first information, coresetGroupID and followIndicatedTCIState , indicating whether to apply at least one of two indicated TCI states for PDCCH reception, see CAO where, “[0246] The indicated first DL/Joint TCI state and/or second DL/Joint TCI state is allocated based on a grouping manner of the RRC signalling on the CORESET group/Search Space Set Group…[0248] The following two solutions are included. Solution 1: RRC Configuration Solution Based on CORESET… [0260] In an example, information included in the resource configuration information of the CORESET is as follows…
[0261] Here, coresetGroupID indicates the CORESET group to which the CORESET belongs, and followIndicatedTCIstate indicates the unified TCI state associated with or followed by the CORESET.”); and
receive, from the BS, first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for indicating the two indicated TCI states among the plurality of TCI states for PDCCH reception (“[0177] The network device may indicate the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state through a second signalling. The second signalling includes at least one of: [0178] an MAC CE; or [0179] DCI.”);
wherein, when the first information is set to a first indicated TCI state, a first TCI state of the two indicated TCI states is applied to the PDCCH reception,
wherein, when the first information is set to a second indicated TCI state, a second TCI state of the two indicated TCI states is applied to the PDCCH reception,
wherein, when the first information is set to both indicated TCI states, the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to the PDCCH reception, wherein,
when the first information is set to none of indicated TCI states,(“Embodiment 1: Indication/Update for the Unified TCI State of the PDCCH [0245] For different PDCCH transmission manners, basic sTRP PDCCH transmission, as well as enhanced PDCCH Repetition and SFN PDCCH in Rel. 17 are supported in previous NR releases. The embodiments of the disclosure try to process different PDCCH transmission solutions according to a unified manner, but also take into account differences in beams used for each transmission manner. Embodiment 1.1: DL/Joint TCI State Allocation Based on RRC Configuration…. [0253] As another processing manner for the CORESET, instead of directly grouping the CORESETs, each CORESET is identified by the RRC signalling, as it should follow the one or more indicated DL/Joint TCI states. For example, a CORESET may be configured to follow one of the following. [0254] The first DL/Joint TCI state; [0255] the second DL/Joint TCI state; [0256] the first and second DL/Joint TCI state; or. [0257] the NW may configure the CORESET not to follow any indicated unified TCI state.” ).
The feature for configuring TCI states taught by CAO differs from that of claim 1, in that CAO is silent on a feature where when the first information is set to none of indicated TCI states, a TCI state indicated by a second MAC CE is applied to the PDCCH reception. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the configuration of TCI states. LI (US 20220377770 A1) teaches a feature where a first MAC CE is used to activate a TCI state, and where a second MAC CE is used to update the activated TCI state (“[0077] In the disclosure, when the terminal needs to update the TCI state, the network device retransmits a new MAC CE signaling (the second MAC CE signaling) to activate the new TCI state, so that the terminal may update the TCI state.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Li, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TCI configuration feature of CAO, by adopting use of a second MAC-CE as seen in the TCI configuration feature of LI, to thus arrive at, when the first information is set to none of indicated TCI states, a TCI state indicated by a second MAC CE is applied to the PDCCH reception, to thus arrive at claim 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to take advantage of the additional flexibility provided by use of a second MAC-CE for the updating of a TCI configuration state.
In regards to claim(s) 8, CAO (US 20250055644 A1) teaches a teaches a base station (BS), comprising:
a transceiver configured to (CAO teaches a base station, network device, comprising a transceiver, see CAO where, ”[0444] FIG. 12 is a schematic diagram of a structure of a communication device 1200 provided by an embodiment of the disclosure. The communication device may be a terminal device or a network device. The communication device 1200 shown in FIG. 12 includes a processor 1210. The processor 1210 may call and run a computer program in a memory to implement the methods in the embodiments of the disclosure… [0447] Optionally, as shown in FIG. 12, the communication device 1200 may further include a transceiver 1230. The processor 1210 may control the transceiver 1230 to communicate with other devices, specifically, to send information or data to other devices, or to receive information or data sent from other devices.”):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, information configuring a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states and first information indicating whether to apply at least one of two indicated TCI states for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception(CAO teaches the network device, transmitting to a UE, terminal, via RRC signaling, information configuring a plurality TCI states, see CAO where “[0073] In the following, the wireless communication method shown in FIG. 6, FIG. 7 or FIG. 8 is illustrated. [0074] In the embodiments of the disclosure, the network device may configure multiple unified TCI states for the terminal device. The network device may activate a unified TCI state selected from the configured multiple unified TCI states for the terminal device, and the activated unified TCI state is a part of the configured unified TCI states. When the number of activated unified TCI states is greater than the number of TRPs, the network device indicates to the terminal device one or more unified TCI states selected from the activated TCI states. The indicated TCI state is used for the TRP for transmission, and different TRPs correspond to different indicated unified TCI states. [0075] Optionally, the network device configures the unified TCI state through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signalling….”, CAO also teaches receiving from the network device first information, coresetGroupID and followIndicatedTCIState , indicating whether to apply at least one of two indicated TCI states for PDCCH reception, see CAO where, “[0246] The indicated first DL/Joint TCI state and/or second DL/Joint TCI state is allocated based on a grouping manner of the RRC signalling on the CORESET group/Search Space Set Group…[0248] The following two solutions are included. Solution 1: RRC Configuration Solution Based on CORESET… [0260] In an example, information included in the resource configuration information of the CORESET is as follows…
[0261] Here, coresetGroupID indicates the CORESET group to which the CORESET belongs, and followIndicatedTCIstate indicates the unified TCI state associated with or followed by the CORESET.”); and
transmit, to the UE, first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for indicating the two indicated TCI states among the plurality of TCI states for PDCCH reception (“[0177] The network device may indicate the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state through a second signalling. The second signalling includes at least one of: [0178] an MAC CE; or [0179] DCI.”);
wherein, when the first information is set to a first indicated TCI state, a first TCI state of the two indicated TCI states is applied to the PDCCH reception,
wherein, when the first information is set to a second indicated TCI state, a second TCI state of the two indicated TCI states is applied to the PDCCH reception,
wherein, when the first information is set to both indicated TCI states, the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to the PDCCH reception, wherein,
when the first information is set to none of indicated TCI states,
(“Embodiment 1: Indication/Update for the Unified TCI State of the PDCCH [0245] For different PDCCH transmission manners, basic sTRP PDCCH transmission, as well as enhanced PDCCH Repetition and SFN PDCCH in Rel. 17 are supported in previous NR releases. The embodiments of the disclosure try to process different PDCCH transmission solutions according to a unified manner, but also take into account differences in beams used for each transmission manner. Embodiment 1.1: DL/Joint TCI State Allocation Based on RRC Configuration…. [0253] As another processing manner for the CORESET, instead of directly grouping the CORESETs, each CORESET is identified by the RRC signalling, as it should follow the one or more indicated DL/Joint TCI states. For example, a CORESET may be configured to follow one of the following. [0254] The first DL/Joint TCI state; [0255] the second DL/Joint TCI state; [0256] the first and second DL/Joint TCI state; or. [0257] the NW may configure the CORESET not to follow any indicated unified TCI state.” ).
The feature for configuring TCI states taught by CAO differs from that of claim 8, in that CAO is silent on a feature where when the first information is set to none of indicated TCI states, a TCI state indicated by a second MAC CE is applied to the PDCCH reception. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the configuration of TCI states.
LI (US 20220377770 A1) teaches a feature where a first MAC CE is used to activate a TCI state, and where a second MAC CE is used to update the activated TCI state (“[0077] In the disclosure, when the terminal needs to update the TCI state, the network device retransmits a new MAC CE signaling (the second MAC CE signaling) to activate the new TCI state, so that the terminal may update the TCI state.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Li, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TCI configuration feature of CAO, by adopting use of a second MAC-CE as seen in the TCI configuration feature of LI, to thus arrive at, when the first information is set to none of indicated TCI states, a TCI state indicated by a second MAC CE is applied to the PDCCH reception, to thus arrive at claim 8. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to take advantage of the additional flexibility provided by use of a second MAC-CE for the updating of a TCI configuration state.
In regards to claim(s) 6 and 19, CAO in view of LI suggest the UE of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive, from the BS, second MAC CE, for activating TCI states among a list of TCI states configured by the RRC signaling, and receive, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) including a TCI related field. CAO teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) including a TCI related field (“[0155] In some embodiments, the DCI includes a first domain of the target transmission resource or the target transmission resource group. The first domain includes fifth indicative information, and the fifth indicative information is configured to indicate the target unified TCI state associated with the target transmission resource or the target transmission resource group. [0156] The DCI schedules one or more transmission resources. When scheduling one transmission resource, the DCI may include a newly defined first domain. When scheduling multiple transmission resources, the DCI may include multiple newly defined first domains, and different first domains are for different transmission resources. [0157] In some embodiments, the target unified TCI state includes one of: [0158] the first unified TCI state; [0159] the second unified TCI state; [0160] the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state; or [0161] a reserved state.”). CAO is silent on wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive, from the BS, second MAC CE, for activating TCI states among a list of TCI states configured by the RRC signaling, despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the configuration of TCI states.
LI (US 20220377770 A1) teaches a feature where a first MAC CE is used to activate a TCI state, and where a second MAC CE is used to update the activated TCI state (“[0077] In the disclosure, when the terminal needs to update the TCI state, the network device retransmits a new MAC CE signaling (the second MAC CE signaling) to activate the new TCI state, so that the terminal may update the TCI state.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Li, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TCI configuration feature of CAO, by adopting use of a second MAC-CE as seen in the TCI configuration feature of LI, to thus arrive at wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive, from the BS, second MAC CE, for activating TCI states among a list of TCI states configured by the RRC signaling, to thus arrive at claim 6. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to take advantage of the additional flexibility provided by use of a second MAC-CE for the updating of a TCI configuration state.
In regards to claim 13, CAO in view of LI suggest the BS of claim 8, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, second MAC CE, for activating TCI states among a list of TCI states configured by the RRC signaling, and transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) including a TCI related field. CAO teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) including a TCI related field. (“[0155] In some embodiments, the DCI includes a first domain of the target transmission resource or the target transmission resource group. The first domain includes fifth indicative information, and the fifth indicative information is configured to indicate the target unified TCI state associated with the target transmission resource or the target transmission resource group. [0156] The DCI schedules one or more transmission resources. When scheduling one transmission resource, the DCI may include a newly defined first domain. When scheduling multiple transmission resources, the DCI may include multiple newly defined first domains, and different first domains are for different transmission resources. [0157] In some embodiments, the target unified TCI state includes one of: [0158] the first unified TCI state; [0159] the second unified TCI state; [0160] the first unified TCI state and the second unified TCI state; or [0161] a reserved state.”). CAO is silent on wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the UE, second MAC CE, for activating TCI states among a list of TCI states configured by the RRC signaling. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the configuration of TCI states.
LI (US 20220377770 A1) teaches a feature where a first MAC CE is used to activate a TCI state, and where a second MAC CE is used to update the activated TCI state (“[0077] In the disclosure, when the terminal needs to update the TCI state, the network device retransmits a new MAC CE signaling (the second MAC CE signaling) to activate the new TCI state, so that the terminal may update the TCI state.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Li, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TCI configuration feature of CAO, by adopting use of a second MAC-CE as seen in the TCI configuration feature of LI, to thus arrive at w wherein the transceiver is further configured to: : transmit, to the UE, second MAC CE, for activating TCI states among a list of TCI states configured by the RRC signaling, to thus arrive at claim 13. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to take advantage of the additional flexibility provided by use of a second MAC-CE for the updating of a TCI configuration state.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 14, 18, 19, 20, would be allowable pending resolution of the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, set forth in this Office action and if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476