DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks/Comments
Status of Claims as of the Final Rejection mailed June 22, 2026:
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20250055644 A1) in view of LI (US 20220377770 A1). Claim 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 14, 18, 19, 20, were indicated as being allowable pending resolution of the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, set forth in this Office action and if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to the Final Rejection
Responsive to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, Applicants cited Par. 386 of the Instant Application to provide support for the claim amendments made March 27, 2026. The cited portion of the Instant Application was found to be adequate for supporting said claim amendments. The rejections of claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement, are withdrawn.
Responsive to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20250055644 A1) in view of LI (US 20220377770 A1), Applicants have amended each of the independent claims by incorporating allowable subject matter found in claim(s) 5, 12, and 19, into each of the independent claims, respectively. The rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8, and 15, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20250055644 A1) in view of LI (US 20220377770 A1), are withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of LIU (US 20250219793 A1) and BAI (US 20240089977 A1). Accordingly, the Finality of the previous Action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 13, and 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIU (US 20250219793 A1).
In regards to claim(s) 1 and 15, LIU (US 20250219793 A1) teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transceiver configured to (See at least [Abstract, Par. 10] and elsewhere throughout the disclosure where it recites a UE comprising a transceiver, also see where, “[0127] Referring to FIG. 4, the UE (i.e. the remote unit) includes a processor, a memory, and a transceiver. The processor implements a function, a process, and/or a method which are proposed in FIG. 2.”.):
receive, from a base station (BS), via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, information configuring a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states and first information indicating whether to apply at least one of two indicated TCI states for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception (LIU teaches receiving from a base station, via RRC signaling, higher layer parameter, information configuring a plurality of TCI states and first information indicating whether to apply at least one of the two indicated TCI states for PDCCH reception, “[0069] Case 11: For CORESET #0, the UE is required to report a capability on whether the activated or indicated TCI states can be applied to CORESET #0. The gNB can indicate to the UE whether the UE uses the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 or not, at least based on the reported capability. For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0….”); and
receive, from the BS, first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for indicating the two indicated TCI states among the plurality of TCI states for the PDCCH reception(“[0069] ..the gNB can indicate to the UE whether the UE uses the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 or not, at least based on the reported capability….If the gNB indicates that the UE does not use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 (e.g. none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI is configured), the gNB can indicate one or two DL TCI states or joint TCI states for CORESET #0 by a MAC CE (which is different from the DL or joint TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE). If no DL or joint TCI state(s) are indicated for CORESET #0 by the MAC CE, the UE applies the SSB obtained in the latest RACH procedure to the DMRS port of PDCCH from CORESET #0…[0113] The method 200 is a method of a UE, comprising: 202 receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) activating at least one Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) codepoint with two downlink (DL) or joint TCI states; and 204 receiving a downlink control information (DCI) indicating one TCI codepoint being activated with two DL or joint TCI states if multiple TCI codepoints are activated with DL or joint TCI states..””),
wherein, when the first information is set to a first indicated TCI state, a first TCI state of the two indicated TCI states is applied to the PDCCH reception (“[0069]…For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. In addition, the configured higher layer parameter indicates whether the first TCI state (e.g. by “useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or the second TCI state (e.g. by “useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g. by “useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI”) can be applied to PDCCH from CORESET #0. If none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, use SecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured... [0115] If SFN scheme is configured in a BWP of a cell, for CORESET with index 0, a configured higher layer parameter in the CORESET with index 0 indicates the first TCI state or the second TCI state or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to DMRS port of PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, and if no higher layer parameter is configured to indicate the TCI state for PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, a second MAC CE indicates one or two DL TCI state for the CORESET with index 0,”),
wherein when the first information is set to a second indicated TCI state, a second TCI state of the two indicated TCI states is applied to the PDCCH reception (“[0069]…For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. In addition, the configured higher layer parameter indicates whether the first TCI state (e.g. by “useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or the second TCI state (e.g. by “useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g. by “useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI”)… [0115] If SFN scheme is configured in a BWP of a cell, for CORESET with index 0, a configured higher layer parameter in the CORESET with index 0 indicates the first TCI state or the second TCI state or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to DMRS port of PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, and if no higher layer parameter is configured to indicate the TCI state for PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, a second MAC CE indicates one or two DL TCI state for the CORESET with index 0”),
wherein, when the first information is set to both indicated TCI states, the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to the PDCCH reception (“[0069]…For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. In addition, the configured higher layer parameter indicates whether the first TCI state (e.g. by “useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or the second TCI state (e.g. by “useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g. by “useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI”)… [0115] If SFN scheme is configured in a BWP of a cell, for CORESET with index 0, a configured higher layer parameter in the CORESET with index 0 indicates the first TCI state or the second TCI state or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to DMRS port of PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, and if no higher layer parameter is configured to indicate the TCI state for PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, a second MAC CE indicates one or two DL TCI state for the CORESET with index 0” )
wherein, when the first information is set to none of indicated TCI states, a TCI state indicated by a second MAC CE is applied to the PDCCH reception, wherein the first information is provided for a control resource set (CORESET), and wherein the CORESET is associated with common search space (CSS) sets other than Type3-PDCCH CSS sets (Note that the first information, higher layer parameter, is provided for a CORESET #0, CORESET #0 is associated with a common search space (CSS) sets (i.e. Type-0 PDCCH CSS) other than Type3-PDCCH CSS Sets, “[0069] …The gNB can indicate to the UE whether the UE uses the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 or not, at least based on the reported capability. For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. In addition, the configured higher layer parameter indicates whether the first TCI state (e.g. by “useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or the second TCI state (e.g. by “useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g. by “useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI”) can be applied to PDCCH from CORESET #0. If none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, use SecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates (implies) that the UE does not use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. If the gNB indicates that the UE does not use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 (e.g. none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI is configured), the gNB can indicate one or two DL TCI states or joint TCI states for CORESET #0 by a MAC CE (which is different from the DL or joint TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE). If no DL or joint TCI state(s) are indicated for CORESET #0 by the MAC CE, the UE applies the SSB obtained in the latest RACH procedure to the DMRS port of PDCCH from CORESET #0… [0115] If SFN scheme is configured in a BWP of a cell, for CORESET with index 0, a configured higher layer parameter in the CORESET with index 0 indicates the first TCI state or the second TCI state or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to DMRS port of PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, and if no higher layer parameter is configured to indicate the TCI state for PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, a second MAC CE indicates one or two DL TCI state for the CORESET with index 0”).
In regards to claim 8, LIU (US 20250219793 A1) teaches a base station (BS), comprising: a transceiver configured to (“[0017] In still another embodiment, a base unit comprises a transceiver… [0134] The gNB (i.e. the base unit) includes a processor, a memory, and a transceiver. The processor implements a function, a process, and/or a method which are proposed in FIG. 3.”):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, information configuring a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states and first information indicating whether to apply at least one of two indicated TCI states for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception (LIU teaches transmitting to a UE, via RRC signaling, higher layer parameter, information configuring a plurality of TCI states and first information indicating whether to apply at least one of the two indicated TCI states for PDCCH reception, “[0069] Case 11: For CORESET #0, the UE is required to report a capability on whether the activated or indicated TCI states can be applied to CORESET #0. The gNB can indicate to the UE whether the UE uses the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 or not, at least based on the reported capability. For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0….”); and
transmit, to the UE, first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for indicating the two indicated TCI states among the plurality of TCI states for the PDCCH reception (“[0069] ..the gNB can indicate to the UE whether the UE uses the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 or not, at least based on the reported capability….If the gNB indicates that the UE does not use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 (e.g. none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI is configured), the gNB can indicate one or two DL TCI states or joint TCI states for CORESET #0 by a MAC CE (which is different from the DL or joint TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE). If no DL or joint TCI state(s) are indicated for CORESET #0 by the MAC CE, the UE applies the SSB obtained in the latest RACH procedure to the DMRS port of PDCCH from CORESET #0…[0113] The method 200 is a method of a UE, comprising: 202 receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) activating at least one Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) codepoint with two downlink (DL) or joint TCI states; and 204 receiving a downlink control information (DCI) indicating one TCI codepoint being activated with two DL or joint TCI states if multiple TCI codepoints are activated with DL or joint TCI states..”),
wherein, when the first information is configured to a first TCI state of the two indicated TCI states, the first TCI state is applied to the PDCCH reception (“[0069]…For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. In addition, the configured higher layer parameter indicates whether the first TCI state (e.g. by “useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or the second TCI state (e.g. by “useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g. by “useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI”) can be applied to PDCCH from CORESET #0. If none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, use SecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured... [0115] If SFN scheme is configured in a BWP of a cell, for CORESET with index 0, a configured higher layer parameter in the CORESET with index 0 indicates the first TCI state or the second TCI state or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to DMRS port of PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, and if no higher layer parameter is configured to indicate the TCI state for PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, a second MAC CE indicates one or two DL TCI state for the CORESET with index 0,”),
wherein, when the first information is configured to a second TCI state of the two indicated TCI states, the second TCI state is applied to the PDCCH reception (“[0069]…For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. In addition, the configured higher layer parameter indicates whether the first TCI state (e.g. by “useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or the second TCI state (e.g. by “useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g. by “useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI”)… [0115] If SFN scheme is configured in a BWP of a cell, for CORESET with index 0, a configured higher layer parameter in the CORESET with index 0 indicates the first TCI state or the second TCI state or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to DMRS port of PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, and if no higher layer parameter is configured to indicate the TCI state for PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, a second MAC CE indicates one or two DL TCI state for the CORESET with index 0”),
wherein, when the first information is configured to the first TCI state and the second TCI state, the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to the PDCCH reception (“[0069]…For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. In addition, the configured higher layer parameter indicates whether the first TCI state (e.g. by “useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or the second TCI state (e.g. by “useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g. by “useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI”)… [0115] If SFN scheme is configured in a BWP of a cell, for CORESET with index 0, a configured higher layer parameter in the CORESET with index 0 indicates the first TCI state or the second TCI state or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to DMRS port of PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, and if no higher layer parameter is configured to indicate the TCI state for PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, a second MAC CE indicates one or two DL TCI state for the CORESET with index 0” )
wherein, when the first information is configured to none, a single TCI state is applied to the PDCCH reception, wherein the first information is provided for a control resource set (CORESET), and wherein the CORESET is associated with common search space (CSS) sets other than Type3-PDCCH CSS sets (Note that the first information, higher layer parameter, is provided for a CORESET #0, CORESET #0 is associated with a common search space (CSS) sets (i.e. Type-0 PDCCH CSS) other than Type3-PDCCH CSS Sets, “[0069] …The gNB can indicate to the UE whether the UE uses the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 or not, at least based on the reported capability. For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates to the UE to use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. In addition, the configured higher layer parameter indicates whether the first TCI state (e.g. by “useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or the second TCI state (e.g. by “useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI”) or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (e.g. by “useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI”) can be applied to PDCCH from CORESET #0. If none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, use SecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates (implies) that the UE does not use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. If the gNB indicates that the UE does not use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 (e.g. none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI is configured), the gNB can indicate one or two DL TCI states or joint TCI states for CORESET #0 by a MAC CE (which is different from the DL or joint TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE). If no DL or joint TCI state(s) are indicated for CORESET #0 by the MAC CE, the UE applies the SSB obtained in the latest RACH procedure to the DMRS port of PDCCH from CORESET #0… [0115] If SFN scheme is configured in a BWP of a cell, for CORESET with index 0, a configured higher layer parameter in the CORESET with index 0 indicates the first TCI state or the second TCI state or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to DMRS port of PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, and if no higher layer parameter is configured to indicate the TCI state for PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, a second MAC CE indicates one or two DL TCI state for the CORESET with index 0”).
In regards to claim(s) 6 and 13, LIU (US 20250219793 A1) teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: receive, from the BS, second MAC CE, for activating TCI states among a list of TCI states configured by the RRC signaling, and receive, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) including a TCI related field (LIU teaches receiving from the BS, a second MAC CE, for activating TCI states among a list of TCI states configured by the RRC signaling, “[0069] …The gNB can indicate to the UE whether the UE uses the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 or not, at least based on the reported capability. For example, if a higher layer parameter (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI or useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured.. If none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters (e.g., useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, use SecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI) is configured, the gNB indicates (implies) that the UE does not use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0. If the gNB indicates that the UE does not use the activated or indicated TCI states for CORESET #0 (e.g. none of the above-mentioned higher layer parameters useFirstIndicatedUnifiedTCI, useSecondIndicatedUnifiedTCI and useBothIndicaedUnifiedTCI is configured), the gNB can indicate one or two DL TCI states or joint TCI states for CORESET #0 by a MAC CE (which is different from the DL or joint TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE).… [0115] If SFN scheme is configured in a BWP of a cell, for CORESET with index 0, a configured higher layer parameter in the CORESET with index 0 indicates the first TCI state or the second TCI state or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied to DMRS port of PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, and if no higher layer parameter is configured to indicate the TCI state for PDCCH from the CORESET with index 0, a second MAC CE indicates one or two DL TCI state for the CORESET with index 0” . LIU further teaches receiving form the BS, DCI including a TCI related field, “[0113] The method 200 is a method of a UE, comprising: 202 receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) activating at least one Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) codepoint with two downlink (DL) or joint TCI states; and 204 receiving a downlink control information (DCI) indicating one TCI codepoint being activated with two DL or joint TCI states if multiple TCI codepoints are activated with DL or joint TCI states.” ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 20250219793 A1) in view of BAI (US 20240089977 A1)
In regards to claim 4, 11, and 18, LIU (US 20250219793 A1) is silent on the UE of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the BS, a UE capability message including second information on a support of a downlink control information (DCI) format 1_1 and a DCI format 1_2 configured with a TCI selection field, wherein the RRC signaling further includes third information indicating that the TCI selection field is present in the DCI format 1_1 and the DCI format 1_2. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving transmission configuration indication (TCI).
BAI (US 20240089977 A1) teaches suggests a feature to transmit to a network/receive by a network, UE capability information including information on a support for DCI format 1_1 and a DCI format 1_2 configured with a TCI selection field (“[0046] When the BS transmits DCI scheduling a downlink data transmission to indicate a TCI, the DCI may be a DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 to indicate, for example, a Type 1 beam indication (the joint downlink and uplink TCI). Some aspects described herein may define one or more interpretation rules, such that a BS may transmit DCI without downlink data to indicate a TCI. For example, a UE may receive DCI with one or more configured fields and without downlink data and may interpret the DCI, based on the one or more configured fields, to identify a TCI. In such examples, the TCI may be a Type 1 beam indication or another type of beam indication. Additionally, in such examples, the DCI may be a DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 or another DCI format, such as DCI format 1_0 or a DCI scheduling an uplink configuration, among other examples, and may indicate another configuration with the TCI, such as an SPS release, an SPS activation, a HARQ configuration, or a secondary cell dormancy configuration, among other examples. Some aspects described herein may enable a UE to provide a capability report regarding whether a UE supports receiving a DCI without downlink data to indicate a TCI. For example, a UE may indicate support for DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 by transmitting a capability indicator.”).
BAI (US 20240089977 A1) further teaches wherein RRC signaling further includes third information indicating that the TCI selection field is present in the DCI format 1_1 and the DCI format 1_2 (“[0145] Some aspects described herein may describe methods to use DCI to indicate TCI state without scheduling data and for capability reporting. A BS may indicate to a UE that the DCI does not schedule a data transmission. A UE may distinguish from the DCI intended for other purposes (which also does not schedule data). The DCI may enable SPS release/activation, request Type 3 HARQ, or provide secondary cell dormancy indication, among other examples. The BS and the UE may use DCI format 1_1 and 1_2. The DCI may only indicate one purpose at a time. The BS and the UE may use other DCI formats (DCI Format 1_0 and UL format). The DCI can indicate more than one purpose (TCI indication and secondary cell dormancy indication, among other examples)…[0148] For DCI format 1_1, 1_2 which may contain TCI field in DCI: If tci-PresentInDCI is set as ‘enabled’ (or tci-PresentForDCI-Format1-2-r16 is configured for the CORESET…,”).
Thus based upon the teachings of BAI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the TCI feature of LIU, to arrive at the UE of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit, to the BS, a UE capability message including second information on a support of a downlink control information (DCI) format 1_1 and a DCI format 1_2 configured with a TCI selection field, wherein the RRC signaling further includes third information indicating that the TCI selection field is present in the DCI format 1_1 and the DCI format 1_2, in order to provide further flexibility for configuring a TCI state.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7, 14, and 20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476