Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11807126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant application is so broad that the claims are read. Patent has provision of power from a fuel cell to the outside.
While being stopped is not necessarily explicitly described, it would have been obvious for the power to provided when the vehicle has stopped to improve safety [a moving vehicle with a physical connection is more likely to have safety issues as there are more moving parts, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands], simplicity [a moving vehicle with a physical connection for power transfer is more complicated than one which works when it is moving, e.g. consider a trolley or subway type system], and efficiency [a moving vehicle with a physical connection for power transfer is more likely to have more wiring and/or other components to facilitate movement, which would reduce the efficiency of the system and power transfer].
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11807126 in view of Martin et al (USPGPN 20200376972)
While the patent’s claims are silent to the limitations of Claim 2, Martin teaches determining to charge a battery of a second vehicle (740, 741) with the electric power generated in the first vehicle (730 of Figs. [3, 9, 10, esp. 9, 10]; determining in Figs. [11A, 11B]), the second vehicle being a battery electric vehicle (¶’s [39, 41, 70, 91, 92, esp. 70, 91, 92]). Martin teaches mobile chargers for vehicles provides improved convenience, costs, flexibility, and timing for users of the vehicles being charged (thus by using Martin’s teaching of a vehicle load, it provides these advantages to the teachings of Sakai; ¶’s [38-43, esp. 38, 39)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakai with Martin to provide improved convenience, costs, flexibility, and timing.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Limitations of Claim 1: “controlling electrical energy to be supplied to the outside according to an amount of hydrogen remaining in the first vehicle and a distance to a next hydrogen station.” And Limitations of Claims 4 and 5: “controlling the electrical energy so that the amount of hydrogen remaining in the first vehicle becomes zero. controlling the electrical energy so that the amount of hydrogen remaining becomes zero after the first vehicle has traveled a remaining delivery distance.”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai et al (JP 202105942 A)
Independent Claim 1, Sakai discloses an information processing method by an information processing apparatus (50, 146, 144, 34, esp. 50, see Figs. [1, 2]), the information processing method (Figs. [3-15, esp. 6, 11, 14], ¶’s [38-46, 73-79]) comprising:
identifying a first vehicle capable of supplying electric power generated by a fuel cell to outside (flowchart of Fig. 6 represents a vehicle having been identified [the vehicle being controlled] to provide power to outside, where the power on the battery is at least partially power generated by the fuel cell ¶[06]); and
controlling electrical energy to be supplied to the outside (see at least Fig. 6) according to an amount of hydrogen remaining in the first vehicle and a distance to a next hydrogen station (mileage/distance/[fuel required for travel], ¶’s [09, 35, 36, 41-45, 86-88, esp. 09, 45]).
Dependent Claims 4 and 5, controlling the electrical energy so that the amount of hydrogen remaining in the first vehicle becomes zero (with respect to [wrt] Claim 4), controlling the electrical energy so that the amount of hydrogen remaining becomes zero after the first vehicle has traveled a remaining delivery distance [wrt Claim 5] (¶’s [09, 45, esp. 45]
“a place where the remaining amount of hydrogen (remaining amount of fuel) of the FC system 100 is larger than the amount of hydrogen required for the electric vehicle 1 to travel from the power feeding position to the nearest hydrogen station (refueling facility). It holds when it becomes a fixed amount. The predetermined amount may be the same, may be larger, or may be smaller than the amount of hydrogen required for traveling of the electric vehicle 1. In this case, the stop condition is satisfied, for example, when the remaining amount of hydrogen in the FC system 100 drops to the amount of hydrogen required to travel from the power supply position of the electric vehicle 1 to the nearest hydrogen station. The stop condition is, for example, when the mileage of the electric vehicle 1 based on the remaining amount of hydrogen in the FC system 100 and the SOC of the battery 42 decreases from the power supply position of the electric vehicle 1 to the mileage to the nearest hydrogen station.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sakai et al (JP 202105942 A)
Dependent Claim 3, Sakai discloses determining that supply of the electric power is performed when the first vehicle is stopped (¶[36] describes the device receiving power is a campsite, which is stationary, meaning the vehicle would have stopped, while ¶[35] describes the device receiving power can be a commercial power supply via v2g, which would imply the device receiving power is also a stationary connection, while ¶[41] describes a connection between the vehicle system and 410, which means it is not a wireless power transfer).
Or in the alternative, it would have been obvious for the power to provided when the vehicle has stopped to improve safety [a moving vehicle with a physical connection is more likely to have safety issues as there are more moving parts, as one of ordinary skill in the art understands], simplicity [a moving vehicle with a physical connection for power transfer is more complicated than one which works when it is moving, e.g. consider a trolley or subway type system], and efficiency [a moving vehicle with a physical connection for power transfer is more likely to have more wiring and/or other components to facilitate movement, which would reduce the efficiency of the system and power transfer].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al (JP 202105942 A) in view of Martin et al (USPGPN 20200376972)
Dependent Claim 2, Sakai teaches charging an outside (as described above for Claim 1).
Sakai is silent to determining to charge a battery of a second vehicle with the electric power generated in the first vehicle, the second vehicle being a battery electric vehicle.
Martin teaches determining to charge a battery of a second vehicle (740, 741) with the electric power generated in the first vehicle (730 of Figs. [3, 9, 10, esp. 9, 10]; determining in Figs. [11A, 11B]), the second vehicle being a battery electric vehicle (¶’s [39, 41, 70, 91, 92, esp. 70, 91, 92]). Martin teaches mobile chargers for vehicles provides improved convenience, costs, flexibility, and timing for users of the vehicles being charged (thus by using Martin’s teaching of a vehicle load, it provides these advantages to the teachings of Sakai; ¶’s [38-43, esp. 38, 39)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sakai with Martin to provide improved convenience, costs, flexibility, and timing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art found so far:
US-20130231811-A1 OR US-20200070680-A1 OR US-20210098806-A1 OR US-20210387540-A1 OR US-20220200021-A1 OR US-20220200020-A1 OR US-20220194252-A1 OR US-20240144157-A1 OR US-20240294080-A1 OR US-20240303762-A1 OR US-20240343153-A1 OR US-20240375527-A1
US-9132738-B2 OR US-11077766-B2 OR US-11424464-B2 OR US-11870116-B2 OR US-11807126-B2 OR US-12515548-B2 OR US-12282978-B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859