DETAILED ACTION
This Final action is in response to an amendment filed 8/21/2026. Currently claims 86-108 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 91-93 and 103-105 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 91-93 and 103-105 use the term and/or which does not clearly convey whether the subsequent limitation is positively required or whether is an alternative, for the purpose of examination the term “and/or” was interpreted as the more generic “or”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 87, 90-91, 99, 102-103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 87 and 99 recite “wherein the transmission line includes a fourth direction portion extending in a different direction than the first direction and the second direction”. This limitation does not find clear support in the disclosure and the Remarks presented with the amendment filed 8/21/2026 fail to explain any inherent support. Fig. 8 only shows one third direction portion TL3, already described in parent claims 86 and 98.
Claims 90 and 102 recite “further comprising an anode and a cathode driving the display layer, and the second touch electrode is positioned in a same layer and formed of a same material as the anode or the cathode”. This limitation does not find clear support in the disclosure and the Remarks presented with the amendment filed 8/21/2026 fail to explain any inherent support. The specification Fig. 6 and par. 50 explain that the electrodes E1 and E2 serve as cathode or anode of an LED. The specification Fig. 2 and par. 31 also state that the second touch electrode 150 can be formed in the same layer of one element of the display layer 130. Even assuming that the display pixel of Fig. 6 is the display layer 130 of Fig. 2, the disclosure fails to provide support that the second touch electrode is in a same layer or of the same material than the cathode or the anode E1 or E2; for example, the display layer may include other electrodes, and therefore, fails to provide specific support to map the second touch electrode 150 to the anode or cathode of an LED.
Claims 91 and 103 recite “further comprising a gate and a source and/or drain driving the display layer, and the second touch electrode is positioned in a same layer and formed of a same material as the gate or the source and/or drain”. This limitation does not find clear support in the disclosure and the Remarks presented with the amendment filed 8/21/2026 fail to explain any inherent support. The specification Fig. 6 and par. 49 explain the gate G, and the conductors M1 or M2 serving as drain or source of an LED. The specification Fig. 2 and par. 31 also state that the second touch electrode 150 can be formed in the same layer of one element of the display layer 130. Even assuming that the display pixel of Fig. 6 is the display layer 130 of Fig. 2, the disclosure fails to provide support that the second touch electrode is positioned in a same layer or of the same material than the gate, drain or source M1/M2; for example, the display layer may include other electrodes, and therefore, fails to provide specific support to map the second touch electrode 150 to the gate, drain or source shown in Fig. 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 86-87 and 92-93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. in US 2016/0170523 (hereinafter Park523) in view of Han in US 2017/0147103 (hereinafter Han) and Kwak et al. in US 2014/0217397 (hereinafter Kwak).
Regarding claim 86, Park523 discloses an electronic device (Park523’s par. 71), comprising:
a substrate (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 40: see 401) comprising a first bending portion (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 70: TA2), a first main portion connected to the first bending portion (Park523’s Fig. 1: TA1), the combination of the first main portion and the first bending portion comprising a continuous display region (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 8, 79); a display layer (Park523’s par. 5, 8, 79: display); a first insulating layer (Park523’s Fig. 4 and par. 59: see 430); and a first touch electrode (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see 410) and a second touch electrode (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see 420); further wherein the first touch electrode comprises a plurality of first sensing pads extending along a first direction (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see 410 extending in the x direction with regions 410 electrically connected [by bridge 412]), further wherein the second touch electrode extends in a second direction, the first direction intersecting perpendicularly with the second direction on an X-Y plane (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see 420 extending in the y direction with regions 420 electrically connected by 422), further wherein the first and second touch electrodes perform a mutual capacitive touch sensing function (Park523’s par. 49),
further wherein the plurality of first sensing pads are connected by a conductive bridge (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see regions 410 electrically connected by bridge 412) that is separated by the first insulating layer (Park523’s Fig. 4: see 430) from the second touch electrode (Park523’s Figs. 2-4: see connecting portion 422 which is part of 420) so that the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode are electrically independent from each other (Park523’s Figs. 2-4 and par. 59), further wherein in the first bending portion (Park523’s Fig. 5: see TA2), the bridge has portions which extend in a third direction different from the first direction and the second direction (Park523’s Figs. 3, 5 and par. 76-77: see direction m with angle B from x),
further wherein a transmission line (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 64: wires 411/421) electrically connects a driving unit to either the first touch electrode or the second touch electrode (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 65: 410/420 to touch driver), the transmission line having a first direction portion extending in the first or second direction (Park523’s Fig. 1: e.g. portion of 411 in the horizontal [x]), a second direction portion extending in the other of the first or second direction (Park523’s Fig. 1: e.g. portion of 411 in the vertical [y]).
Park523 fails to disclose a second main portion connected to the first bending portion, the combination of the first main portion and the second main portion and the first bending portion comprising a continuous display region… a second insulating layer… wherein the first main portion and the second main portion are substantially planar and, when bent, can be faced to each other… further wherein the second insulating layer separates the first touch electrode from the substrate and the first touch electrode is fabricated directly on the second insulating layer without using adhesive thereby forming a touch on display structure on the substrate… the transmission line having… a third direction portion which extends in a fourth direction which is different from the first direction and the second direction, the third direction portion being located in the first bending portion of the substrate, the fourth direction not being parallel to the bending direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor of bendable displays, Han discloses a second main portion connected to the first bending portion (Han’s Figs. 1, 4 and par. 41, 80: see the other of top and bottom portions NBF), the combination of the first main portion and the second main portion and the first bending portion comprising a continuous display region (Han’s Figs. 1, 4)… a second insulating layer (Han’s Figs. 2, 5C and par. 125-157: see SL)… wherein the first main portion and the second main portion are substantially planar and, when bent, can be faced to each other (Han’s Figs. 1, 4 and par. 41)… further wherein the second insulating layer separates the first touch electrode from the substrate and the first touch electrode is fabricated directly on the second insulating layer without using adhesive thereby forming a touch on display structure on the substrate (Han’s par. 126-127: the touch sensing unit TSU [see TX of Fig. 2C] makes contact with the sealing layer SL [no adhesive])… the transmission line having… a third direction portion which extends in a fourth direction which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Han’s Fig. 3A: see fanouts PO1/PO2 in a diagonal direction different than the vertical and horizontal for the electrodes TE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Park523 includes another main portion next to the bending portion such that the main portions face each other and are continuous with the bending portion (Han’s Figs. 1, 4 and par. 41), that Park523 also includes an insulating layer between the display and the touch sensor without adhesive (Han’s Figs. 2C, 5C and par. 125-127), and that the transmission lines includes fanouts (Han’s Fig. 3A), in order to obtain the benefit of multiple states, such as folded, wrapped or bent (Han’s par. 5), and the predictable result of a known technique of installing the touch sensor on the display (Han’s par. 126-127: SL without adhesive) and the conventional geometry of the wires from touch sensors to touch driver (Han’s Fig. 3A and par. 73: fanout).
Still Park523 in view of Han fail to disclose the third direction portion being located in the first bending portion of the substrate, the fourth direction not being parallel to the bending direction.
Nevertheless, in the same field of endeavor of touch panels with bendable areas, Kwak discloses a transmission line with an oblique portion being located in a bending portion of the substrate and in a direction not parallel to the bending direction (Kwak’s Figs. 1G-1H and par. 81).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Park523 in view of Han’s transmission lines fanouts (Han’s Fig. 3A) are located in the bending area (Kwak’s Figs. 1G-1H and par. 81), in order to obtain the benefit of reducing the tensile stress applied to the wires and minimizing breaking of the wires as well (Kwak’s par. 82).
By doing such combination, Park523 in view of Han and Kwak disclose:
An electronic device (Park523’s par. 71), comprising:
a substrate (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 40: see 401) comprising a first bending portion (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 70: TA2 equivalent to BF portions of Han’s Fig. 4A per par. 80), a first main portion connected to the first bending portion (Park523’s Fig. 1: TA1 equivalent to top NBF portions of Han’s Fig. 4A), and a second main portion connected to the first bending portion (upon combination, Park523’s Fig. 1 includes another fixed portion TA1 equivalent to bottom NBF portions of Han’s Fig. 4A), the combination of the first main portion and the second main portion and the first bending portion comprising a continuous display region (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 8, 79 and Han’s Figs. 4 per par. 80);
a display layer (Park523’s par. 5, 8, 79: display);
a first insulating layer (Park523’s Fig. 4 and par. 59: see 430);
a second insulating layer (Park523’s par. 8 display and touch sensor include, upon combination, an insulating layer SL between the display substrate FB and the touch electrodes TX per Han’s Figs. 2, 5C and par. 125-157); and
a first touch electrode (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see 410) and a second touch electrode (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see 420);
wherein the first main portion and the second main portion are substantially planar (Han’s Figs. 4 and par. 80: top and bottom portions NBF) and, when bent, can be faced to each other (Han’s Figs. 4 and par. 41),
further wherein the first touch electrode comprises a plurality of first sensing pads extending along a first direction (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see 410 extending in the x direction with regions 410 electrically connected [by bridge 412]),
further wherein the second touch electrode extends in a second direction, the first direction intersecting perpendicularly with the second direction on an X-Y plane (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see 420 extending in the y direction with regions 420 electrically connected by 422),
further wherein the first and second touch electrodes perform a mutual capacitive touch sensing function (Park523’s par. 49),
further wherein the plurality of first sensing pads are connected by a conductive bridge (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see regions 410 electrically connected by bridge 412) that is separated by the first insulating layer (Park523’s Fig. 4: see 430) from the second touch electrode (Park523’s Figs. 2-4: see connecting portion 422 which is part of 420) so that the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode are electrically independent from each other (Park523’s Figs. 2-4 and par. 59),
further wherein in the first bending portion (Park523’s Fig. 5: see TA2), the bridge has portions which extend in a third direction different from the first direction and the second direction (Park523’s Figs. 3, 5 and par. 76-77: see direction m with angle B from x),
further wherein the second insulating layer (Park523’s par. 8 display and touch sensor include, upon combination, an insulating layer SL between the display substrate FB and the touch electrodes TX per Han’s Figs. 2, 5C and par. 125-157) separates the first touch electrode (Park523’s Figs. 1-2 and par. 56: see 410 equivalent to TX of Han’s Figs. 2-3A) from the substrate (Han’s Fig. 5C: see FB) and the first touch electrode is fabricated directly on the second insulating layer without using adhesive thereby forming a touch on display structure on the substrate (Han’s par. 126-127: the touch sensing unit TSU [see TX of Fig. 2C] makes contact with the sealing layer SL [no adhesive]),
further wherein a transmission line (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 64: wires 411/421) electrically connects a driving unit to either the first touch electrode or the second touch electrode (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 65: 410/420 to touch driver), the transmission line having a first direction portion extending in the first or second direction (Park523’s Fig. 1: e.g. portion of 411 in the horizontal [x] and Han’s Fig. 3A: see e.g. portion of TL1/TL2 in the horizontal DR2), a second direction portion extending in the other of the first or second direction (Park523’s Fig. 1: e.g. portion of 411 in the vertical [y] and Han’s Fig. 3A: see e.g. portion of TL1/TL2 in the vertical DR3), and a third direction portion which extends in a fourth direction which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Park523’s Fig. 1: wires 411/412 are equivalent to TL1/TL2 in Han’s Fig. 3A and include one of fanouts PO1/PO2 in a diagonal direction different than the vertical and horizontal for the electrodes TE),
the third direction portion (Park523’s Fig. 1: wires 411/412 include one of the fanouts PO1/PO2 of Han’s Fig. 3A, and upon combination, are all located in the non-display area which is a bending area per Kwak’s Figs. 1G-1H and par. 81) being located in the first bending portion of the substrate (Park523’s Fig. 1: TA2 equivalent to BF portions of Han’s Fig. 4A, and to area NA of Kwak’s Figs. 1G-1H and par. 81), the fourth direction not being parallel to the bending direction (Kwak’s par. 81-82).
Regarding claim 87, Park523 in view of Han and Kwak disclose wherein the transmission line (Park523’s Fig. 1 and par. 64: wires 411/421) includes a fourth direction portion (Park523’s Fig. 1: wires 411/412 include the other of the fanouts PO1/PO2 of Han’s Fig. 3A, and upon combination, are all located in the non-display area which is a bending area per Kwak’s Figs. 1G-1H and par. 81) extending in a different direction than the first direction and the second direction (Park523’s Fig. 1: wires 411/412 are equivalent to TL1/TL2 in Han’s Fig. 3A and include the other of the fanouts PO1/PO2 in a diagonal direction different than the vertical and horizontal for the electrodes TE)(see also 112a above).
Regarding claim 92, Park523 in view of Han and Kwak disclose further comprising a gate and a source and/or (claim objection) drain electrode (Kwak’s Fig. 2A and par. 110, 112), and the transmission line (Park523’s Fig. 1: wires 411/421 equivalent to wire 102A in Kwak’s Fig. 1 and par. 66) comprises a first trace portion (Kwak’s Fig. 1B and par. 66: see 121A) positioned in a same layer (Kwak’s Fig. 2A and par. 98: see trace 223A positioned on same layer than 243A and 244A) and formed of a same material as the source and/or drain electrode (Kwak’s par. 67: wire 120A formed of A or Al, equivalent to 411/421 in Park523’s Fig. 1).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Park523 includes the driving layers as described by Kwak in order to obtain the predictable result of a known display.
Regarding claim 93, Park523 in view of Han and Kwak disclose further comprising further comprising a gate (Kwak’s Fig. 2A and par. 135: see 242A) and a source and/or (claim objection) drain electrode (Kwak’s Fig. 2A and par. 112), and the transmission line (Park523’s Fig. 1: wires 411/421 equivalent to wire 102A in Kwak’s Fig. 1 and par. 66) comprises a first trace portion (Kwak’s Fig. 1B and par. 66: see 121A including pad 266A of Fig. 2A and par. 135) positioned in a same layer and formed of a same material as the gate (Kwak’s Fig. 2A and par. 134-135).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Park523 includes the driving layers as described by Kwak in order to obtain the predictable result of a known display.
Claims 88-89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park523 in view of Han and Kwak as explained above, in further view of Park et al. in US 2014/0104762 (hereinafter Park762).
Regarding claim 88, Park523 in view of Han and Kwak fail to disclose wherein the first touch electrode extends outwardly in the first direction outside of the continuous display region such that a touch region of the electronic device is larger than the continuous display region.
However, in the same field of endeavor of flexible displays, Park762 discloses wherein a touch panel extends outwardly in the first direction outside of the continuous display region such that a touch region of the electronic device is larger than the continuous display region (Park762’s Figs. 5-6 and par. 52-55: see touch panel 223 extending outwardly in the xy plane [top of touch panel 223] of the display 10 and larger than display 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, for Park523 in view of Han and Kwak’s first touch electrode (Park523’s Figs. 1-2: see 410 which upon combination is located in touch panel 223 of Park762’s Figs. 5-6) extends outwardly in the first direction outside of the continuous display region such that a touch region of the electronic device is larger than the continuous display region (Park762’s Figs. 5-6 and par. 52-55: see touch panel 223 extending outwardly in the xy plane [top of touch panel 223] of the display 10 and larger than display 10),
in order to obtain the benefit of attaching the end points of the touch panel to the end points of the display in a curved configuration (Park762’s Figs. 5-6 and par. 54).
Regarding claim 89, Park523 in view of Han and Kwak fail to disclose wherein the second touch electrode extends outwardly in the second direction outside of the continuous display region such that a touch region of the electronic device is larger than the continuous display region.
However, in the same field of endeavor of flexible displays, Park762 discloses wherein a touch panel extends outwardly in the second direction outside of the continuous display region such that a touch region of the electronic device is larger than the continuous display region (Park762’s Figs. 5-6 and par. 52-55: see touch panel 223 extending outwardly in the xy plane [top of touch panel 223] of the display 10 and larger than display 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, for Park523 in view of Han and Kwak’s second touch electrode (Park523’s Figs. 1-2: see 420 which upon combination is located in touch panel 223 of Park762’s Figs. 5-6) extends outwardly in the second direction outside of the continuous display region such that a touch region of the electronic device is larger than the continuous display region (Park762’s Figs. 5-6 and par. 52-55: see touch panel 223 extending outwardly in the xy plane [top of touch panel 223] of the display 10 and larger than display 10),
in order to obtain the benefit of attaching the end points of the touch panel to the end points of the display in a curved configuration (Park762’s Figs. 5-6 and par. 54).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 98, 100-101, 104-108 are allowed. Claims 94-97 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 99 and 102-103 would be allowable due to dependency on claim 98, but they were not indicated as allowable due to the outstanding 112a rejection.
No prior art was found to anticipate claims 90-91, however, due to the outstanding 112a rejection, the claims were not indicated as allowable.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 98, the prior art fails to disclose “An electronic device, comprising: a substrate comprising a first bending portion, a first main portion connected to the first bending portion, and a second main portion connected to the first bending portion, the combination of the first main portion and the second main portion and the first bending portion comprising a continuous display region; a display layer; a first insulating layer; a second insulating layer; a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer disposed on the substrate; wherein the first main portion and the second main portion are substantially planar and, when bent, can be faced to each other, further wherein the first conductive layer comprises a first touch electrode comprising a plurality of first sensing pads extending along a first direction, further wherein the second conductive layer is electrically isolated from the first conductive layer and forms a second touch electrode extending in a second direction, and the first direction intersects with the second direction on an X-Y plane, further wherein the first and second touch electrodes perform a mutual capacitive touch sensing function, further wherein the plurality of first sensing pads are connected by a conductive bridge that is separated by the first insulating layer from the second touch electrode so that the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode are electrically independent from each other, further wherein in the first bending portion, the bridge has portions which extend in a third direction different from the first direction and the second direction, further wherein the second insulating layer separates the first conductive layer from the substrate and the first conductive layer is fabricated directly on the second insulating layer without using adhesive thereby forming a touch on display structure on the substrate, further wherein a transmission line electrically connects a driving unit to either the first touch electrode or the second touch electrode, the transmission line having a first direction portion extending in the first or second direction, a second direction portion extending in the other of the first or second direction, and a third direction portion which extends in a fourth direction which is different from the first direction and the second direction, the third direction portion being located in the first bending portion of the substrate, the fourth direction not being parallel to the bending direction”.
The combination of Park523 in view of Han and Kwak disclose the limitations of claim 86, similar in scope to claim 98 except for the limitations highlighted in italic. Park523 discloses the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode on the same layer (Park523’s Fig. 4 and par. 57) and therefore fails to disclose claim 98’s limitations in italic. Han discloses an embodiment where the touch electrodes are in different layers (Han’s Figs. 2), but this embodiment does not include the first touch electrode comprising a plurality of first sensing pads extending along a first direction…and connected by a conductive bridge that is separated by the first insulating layer from the second touch electrode, as necessary for claim 98.
Nor does any other prior art disclose ALL limitations of claim 98.
The dependent 100-101 and 104-108 are allowable for at least the same reasons.
Regarding dependent claims 94-95, the prior art fails to disclose ALL limitations of claim 86, in addition to the described limitations.
Kwak’s Fig. 2A is the closest prior art and the anode 251A and cathode 255A are not positioned in a same layer than a first trace of the transmission line 220A.
Regarding dependent claim 96, the prior art fails to disclose ALL limitations of claim 86, in addition to the described limitations.
Miyake et al. in US 10,372,163 discloses three main portions and two bending areas (Figs. 1A), but fails to disclose “further wherein the second and third main portions bend in the same direction, each capable of bending so that the second main portion and the third main portion each are substantially faced to the first main portion and wherein each of the first and second bending portions has a different radius of curvature when the second and the third main portions are bent” as necessary for claim 96.
Regarding dependent claim 97, the prior art fails to disclose ALL limitations of claim 86, in addition to “wherein the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode are positioned in separate conductive layers”.
Park523 discloses the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode on the same layer (Park523’s Fig. 4 and par. 57). Han discloses an embodiment where the touch electrodes are in different layers (Han’s Figs. 2), but this embodiment does not include the first touch electrode comprising a plurality of first sensing pads extending along a first direction…and connected by a conductive bridge that is separated by the first insulating layer from the second touch electrode, as necessary for claim 86.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On the Remarks, Applicant argues with respect to new claims 86, 88, 89 and 92-93 by referencing now canceled claims. Please note that all current claims are new claims and because all previously presented claims were canceled, the arguments with respect to previously presented claims are moot. See above rejection addressing the new claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LILIANA CERULLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621