DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
In response to the communication received on 10/13/2023, the following is a Non-Final Office Action for Application No. 18486228.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted on 10/13/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims fall within statutory class of process or machine or manufacture; hence, the claims fall under statutory category of Step 1.
Step 2 is the two-part analysis from Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test). The 2019 PEG makes two changes in Step 2A: It sets forth new procedure for Step 2A (called “revised Step 2A”) under which a claim is not “directed to” a judicial exception unless the claim satisfies a two-prong inquiry. The two-prong inquiry is as follows: Prong One: evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). If claim recites an exception, then Prong Two: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. The claim(s) recite(s) the following abstract idea indicated by non-boldface font and additional limitations indicated by boldface font:
A computer-implemented method for generating a mesh service, comprising:receiving, by at least one processor, an input indicating a plurality of service containers; retrieving a container image from a container repository responsive to the receiving of the input; creating a new container image based on the container image and the plurality of service containers indicated in the input; creating a component by calling an application programming interface (API) of an orchestration platform; and creating the mesh service based on the new container image and the component.
[or]
A system for generating a mesh service, comprising:a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive an input indicating a plurality of service containers; retrieve a container image from a container repository responsive to the receiving of the input; create a new container image based on the container image and the plurality of service containers indicated in the input; create a component by calling an application programming interface (API) of an orchestration platform; and creating the mesh service based on the new container image and the component.
[or]
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations comprising:receiving an input indicating a plurality of service containers; retrieving a container image from a container repository responsive to the receiving of the input; creating a new container image based on the container image and the plurality of service containers indicated in the input; creating a component by calling an application programming interface (API) of an orchestration platform; and creating a mesh service based on the new container image and the component.
The claim(s) recite(s) the following summarization of the abstract idea which includes generating a mesh service based on the new container image and the component executed by the additional element(s) of non-transitory computer readable storage medium, computer device, memory and/or processor. This falls into at least the Abstract Idea Grouping of Mental Processes since the information can be analyzed by an abstract evaluation judgment process. Thus, the identified recitation of an abstract idea falls within at least one of the Abstract Idea Groupings consisting of: Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes, or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity since the identified recitation falls within the Mental Processes including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation judgment, opinion). Per Prong One of Step 2A, the identified recitation of an abstract idea falls within at least one of the Abstract Idea Groupings consisting of: Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes, or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Particularly, the identified recitation falls within the Mental Processes including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation judgment, opinion).
Per Prong Two of Step 2A, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole does not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application. The non-transitory computer-readable medium, computing device, processor and/or memory is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing/transmitting data. This generic non-transitory computer-readable medium, computing device, processor and/or memory limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, creating a mesh service based on the new container image and the component by a non-transitory computer-readable medium, computing device, processor and/or memory is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, this/these additional element(s) does/do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception in view of the two prongs of Step 2A, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2B.
Per Step 2B, the additional elements and combinations therewith are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. It is noted here that the additional elements are to be considered both individually and as an ordered combination. In this case, the claims each at most comprise additional elements of: non-transitory computer-readable medium, computing device, processor and memory. Taken individually, the additional limitations each are generically recited and thus does not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Further, creating a mesh service based on the new container image and the component by a non-transitory computer-readable medium, computing device, processor and/or memory is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept in Step 2B (or, looking back to Step 2A, cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application). For further support, the Applicant’s specification supports the claims being directed to use of a generic computer/memory type structure at ¶0037 wherein “Computer system 300 may include one or more processors (also called central processing units, or CPUs), such as a processor 304.” Taken as an ordered combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea include, as a non-limiting or non-exclusive examples: i. Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
ii. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d));
iii. Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea such as a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions so that the information can be analyzed by an abstract mental process, as discussed in CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); or
v. Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, e.g., a claim describing how the abstract idea of hedging could be used in the commodities and energy markets, as discussed in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 595, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) or a claim limiting the use of a mathematical formula to the petrochemical and oil-refining fields, as discussed in Parker v. Flook. The courts have recognized the following computer functions inter alia to be well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations; receiving, processing, and storing data (e.g., the present claims); electronically scanning or extracting data; electronic recordkeeping; automating mental tasks (e.g., process/machine/manufacture for performing the present claims); and receiving or transmitting data (e.g., the present claims).
The dependent claims do not cure the above stated deficiencies, and in particular, the dependent claims further narrow the abstract idea without reciting additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or providing significantly more than the abstract idea. Since there are no elements or ordered combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claims are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC §101.
Thus, viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bahmeit et al. (WO 2023060025 A1) hereinafter referred to as Bahmeit.
Bahmeit teaches:
Claim 1. A computer-implemented method for generating a mesh service, comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor, an input indicating a plurality of service containers (¶0012 The user interface may receive user inputs (which may be referred to as an input entered via the GUI) such as graphical user inputs to drag and drop or otherwise define a VNR. The user interface may pass these inputs to a network controller as a request by which to configure the VNR. The user may enter the inputs through interactions with the GUI to graphically define the VNR, selecting virtual networks and other network elements to which the VNR is targeted to establish interconnectivity (e.g., mesh connectivity and/or hub-and-spoke connectivity). The network controller may process these inputs and update the GUI to present prompts and other GUIs by which to prompt the user for additional inputs that may be required to define the VNR. The network controller may reduce these inputs defining the VNR into the various policies ¶0171 Computing device 500 includes in this example, a bus 542 coupling hardware components of a computing device 500 hardware environment. Bus 542 couples network interface card (NIC) 530, storage disk 546, and one or more microprocessors 210 (hereinafter, "microprocessor 510"). NIC 530 may be SR-IOV-capable. A front-side bus may in some cases couple microprocessor 510 and memory device 524.);
retrieving a container image from a container repository responsive to the receiving of the input (¶0198 Based on the container specification data, orchestration agent 592 directs container engine 590 to obtain and instantiate the container images for containers 529, for execution of containers 529 by computing device 500.);
creating a new container image based on the container image and the plurality of service containers indicated in the input (¶0192 Containers 529A may also source inner packets as source virtual network endpoints. Container 529A, for instance, may generate a layer 3 inner packet destined for a destination virtual network endpoint that is executed by another computing device (i.e., not computing device 500) or for another one of containers. Container 529A may sends the layer 3 inner packet to virtual router 506 via the virtual network interface attached to VRF 222A. [0193 Virtual router 506 receives the inner packet and layer 2 header and determines a virtual network for the inner packet. Virtual router 506 may determine the virtual network using any of the above-described virtual network interface implementation techniques (e.g., macvlan, veth, etc.). Virtual router 506 uses the VRF 222A corresponding to the virtual network for the inner packet to generate an outer header for the inner packet, the outer header including an outer IP header for the overlay tunnel and a tunnel encapsulation header identifying the virtual network. Virtual router 506 encapsulates the inner packet with the outer header. Virtual router 506 may encapsulate the tunnel packet with a new layer 2 header having a destination layer 2 address associated with a device external to the computing device 500, e.g., a TOR switch 16 or one of servers 12. If external to computing device 500, virtual router 506 outputs the tunnel packet with the new layer 2 header to NIC 530 using physical function 221. NIC 530 outputs the packet on an outbound interface.);
creating a component by calling an application programming interface (API) of an orchestration platform (¶0036 As a result, the SDN architecture components are microservices and, in contrast to existing network controllers, the SDN architecture assumes a base container orchestration platform to manage the lifecycle of SDN architecture components. A container orchestration platform is used to bring up SDN architecture components; the SDN architecture uses cloud native monitoring tools that can integrate with customer provided cloud native options; the SDN architecture provides declarative way of resources using aggregation APIs for SDN architecture objects (i.e., custom resources). The SDN architecture upgrade may follow cloud native patterns, and the SDN architecture may leverage Kubernetes constructs such as Multus, Authentication & Authorization, Cluster API, KubeFederation, KubeVirt, and Kata containers. The SDN architecture may support data plane development kit (DPDK) pods, and the SDN architecture can extend to support Kubernetes with virtual network policies and global security policies.);
and creating the mesh service based on the new container image and the component (¶0293 Each of graphical nodes 2008A-2008C includes a graphical icon denoting a VNR configured to provide mesh connectivity along with text identifying each of graphical nodes 2008A-2008C as a VNR along with text denoting the type of connectivity (e.g., “Mesh”). ¶0319 The user may next select mesh VNR52008C (as shown at dynamic flow step four), whereupon GUI 2000J may, responsive to the input specifying that mesh VNR5 2008C was selected, update graphical representation 2002A (at dynamic flow step five) to reflect a pending connection between VN82004G and mesh VNR52008C. In the example of FIG.10K, GUI 2000K shows the result of completing the dynamic flow via GUI 2000J described above with respect to the example of FIG.10J. Responsive to receiving an input indicating that the dynamic flow has been completed, GUI 2000K may present prompt 2400 that guides the user to review VN label additions to VN8 2004G. ¶0322 FIG.11 is a diagram illustrating a first instance in which a virtual network router may be configured to enable mesh interconnectivity between virtual networks in accordance with various aspects of the techniques described in this disclosure. In the example of FIG.11, a virtual network (“VN”) 1500A (also shown as “VN1”) and a VN 1500B (also shown as “VN2”) are defined and implemented within Kubernetes (or some other orchestration platform) as custom resources, which are then implemented as VNs within an SDN architecture, such as SDN architecture 700 ¶0326 This import/export policy is often referred to as symmetrical because all routes for each VN is exchanged between every other VN, creating a mesh.).
Bahmeit teaches:
Claim 2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the input indicates a plurality of representational state transfer (REST) APIs of the plurality of service containers, and the computer-implemented method further comprises:running the mesh service; parsing the input with the mesh service; generating the REST APIs indicated in the input with the mesh service; and outputting, to a user, data retrieved by the REST APIs (¶0214 Each of API server 300A, controller 406A, custom API server 301A, and custom resource controller 302A includes code executable by microprocessor 1310. Custom API server 301A validates and configures data for custom resources for SDN architecture configuration (such as VNs 50 and VNRs 52). A service may be an abstraction that defines a logical set of pods and the policy used to access the pods. The set of pods implementing a service are selected based on the service definition. A service may be implemented in part as, or otherwise include, a load balancer. API server 300A and custom API server 301A may implement a Representational State Transfer (REST) interface to process REST operations and provide the frontend, as part of the configuration plane for an SDN architecture, to a corresponding cluster’s shared state stored to configuration store 1328. API server 300A may represent a Kubernetes API server.).
Bahmeit teaches:
Claim 3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the input is a domain specific language (DSL), and the computer-implemented method further comprises:validating the DSL in response to receiving the DSL, wherein the retrieving the container image is performed in response to a validation result indicating that the DSL is valid (¶0110 GUI 60 (via network controller 24) may iterate in this manner until VNR 52A has been successfully defined in a manner that achieves connectivity between VNs 50A and 50N. Network controller 24 may execute configuration node 30 to validate VNR 52A before invoking control node 32 to configure VNs 50A and 50N. Once successfully validated, control node 32 configures VNs 50A and 50N according to the one or more policies to enable one or more of the import and the export of routing information between VN 50A and VN 50N via VNR 52A ¶0214 Each of API server 300A, controller 406A, custom API server 301A, and custom resource controller 302A includes code executable by microprocessor 1310. Custom API server 301A validates and configures data for custom resources for SDN architecture configuration (such as VNs 50 and VNRs 52). A service may be an abstraction that defines a logical set of pods and the policy used to access the pods. The set of pods implementing a service are selected based on the service definition. A service may be implemented in part as, or otherwise include, a load balancer. API server 300A and custom API server 301A may implement a Representational State Transfer (REST) interface to process REST operations and provide the frontend, as part of the configuration plane for an SDN architecture, to a corresponding cluster’s shared state stored to configuration store 1328. API server 300A may represent a Kubernetes API server.).
Bahmeit teaches:
Claim 4. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, further comprising:translating the DSL to a service definition, wherein the retrieving the container image is performed based on the service definition (¶0098 In this respect, administrators may easily interconnect VNs 50 using the logical abstraction shown in the example of FIG.1 as VNRs 50, whereupon network controller 24 may translate VNRs 50 into underlying route targets to automatically (meaning with little or possibly without any human intervention) cause routing information for VNs 50A and 50N to be exchanged and enable communication (meaning, exchange of packets or other data) between VNs 50A and 50N.).
Bahmeit teaches:
Claim 5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the retrieving the container image comprises retrieving the container image indicated in the input as a template (¶0196 Container engine 590 includes code executable by microprocessor 510. Container runtime 590 may be one or more computer processes. Container engine 590 runs containerized applications in the form of containers 529A–529B. Container engine 590 may represent a Dockert, rkt, or other container engine for managing containers. In general, container engine 590 receives requests and manages objects such as images, containers, networks, and volumes. An image is a template with instructions for creating a container. A container is an executable instance of an image. Based on directives from controller agent 592, container engine 590 may obtain images and instantiate them as executable containers in pods 502A–502B.).
Bahmeit teaches:
Claim 6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:receiving a resilience configuration file, wherein the retrieving the container image comprises retrieving the container image integrated with a resilience library; and applying a resilience strategy in based on the resilience configuration file and the resilience library (¶0123 For use cases involving an enterprise Kubernetes platform, high-performance cloud-native applications power financial services platforms, online gaming services, and hosted application service providers. The cloud platforms that deliver these applications must provide high performance, resilience against failures, with high security and visibility. The applications hosted on these platforms tend to be developed in-house. The application developers and platform owners work with the infrastructure teams to deploy and operate instances of the organization's applications. These applications tend to require high throughput (>20Gbps per server), and low latency. Some applications may also use multicast for signaling or payload traffic. Additional hardware, and network infrastructure may be leveraged to ensure availability. Applications and microservices will leverage namespaces within the cluster for partitioning).
Bahmeit teaches:
Claim 7. The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the resilience configuration file indicates at least one of a circuit breaker instance, a rate limiter instance, a retry instance, anda bulkhead instance (¶0288 The virtual router 506 traps the ARP request and looks up the MAC address for IP-VM2 in its own forwarding tables and finds the association in the L2/L3 routes that the controller sent it for VM2. • The virtual router 506 sends an ARP reply to VM1 with the MAC address of VM2 • A TCP timeout occurs in the network stack of VM1 • The network stack of VM1 retries sending the packet, and this time finds the MAC address of VM2 in the ARP cache and can form an Ethernet frame and send it out. • The virtual router 506 looks up the MAC address for VM2 and finds an encapsulation route).
As per claims 8-14 and 15-20, the system and manufacture tracks the method of claims 1-7 and 1-6, respectively, resulting in substantially similar limitations. The same cited prior art and rationale of claims 1-7 and 1-6 are applied to claims 8-14 and 15-20, respectively. Bahmeit discloses that the embodiment may be found as a system and manufacture (Fig. 1 and ¶0018).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230231912 A1
Vohra; Taher et al.
MESH-AWARE STORAGE SYSTEMS
US 20220116445 A1
Filippou; Miltiadis et al.
DISINTERMEDIATED ATTESTATION IN A MEC SERVICE MESH FRAMEWORK
DE 112020002323 T5
SMITH NED M et al.
CONTAINER-FIRST ARCHITECTURE
US 20210200814 A1
Tal; Hail et al.
DISCOVERY OF CONTAINERIZED PLATFORM AND ORCHESTRATION SERVICES
US 10764244 B1
Mestery; Kyle Andrew Donald et al.
Systems and methods providing a multi-cloud microservices gateway using a sidecar proxy
/KURTIS GILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624