DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed 10/13/2023. This application does not claim benefit to any provisional or foreign priority; hence, the effective filing date is 10/13/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 2/13/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
The specification lists 16 references on pp. 1-2 which are not listed on the IDS nor provided to the Office. These references have not been considered. The references should be listed on an IDS and provided to the Office for consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reason:
37 CFR 1.84(i) states "Words must appear in a horizontal, left-to-right fashion when the page is either upright or turned so that the top becomes the right side, except for graphs utilizing standard scientific convention to denote the axis of abscissas (of X) and the axis of ordinates (of Y)." In the instant application, words appear in Figs. 2A, 8, 9, 10A, 10D, 11A, 11D, 12A, 13, 14A, 14B, 15, 16A, 16C, 17A, 17D, 18A, 18B, 18C, 19A and 20A which are not in a left-to-right hand fashion.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 11 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “wherein the culture model is a three-dimensional multicellular structures” in lines 1-2 which should be “wherein the culture model is a three-dimensional multicellular structure” to be grammatically correct.
Additionally, claim 7 recites “comprising microbial biofilms and mammalian cell spheroids” in line 2 which should be “comprising microbial biofilms and/or mammalian cell spheroids” because the methods of claims 18 and 19 only recite microbial biofilms and not mammalian spheroids.
Claim 11 recites “providing a second layer dispoed on the first layer” in line 6, which should be “providing a second layer disposed on the first layer”.
Claim 11 also recites “the graident generator” in line 12 which should be “the gradient generator”.
Claim 18 recites “observing any cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical and behavioral changes of the biological agent” in lines 11-12 which should be “observing any cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical and/or behavioral changes of the biological agent” because the term “any” indicates that the observation is of cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical or behavioral changes of the biological agent not only observation when a cellular change, a molecular change, a genetic change, a chemical change AND a behavioral change occurs together.
Claim 19 recites “quantifying any cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical and behavioral changes in the biological agent” in lines 11-12 which should be “quantifying any cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical and/or behavioral changes in the biological agent” because the term “any” indicates that the observation is of cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical or behavioral changes of the biological agent not only observation when a cellular change, a molecular change, a genetic change, a chemical change AND a behavioral change occurs together.
Claim 20 recites “observing any cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical and behavioral changes of the first biological agent” in lines 10-11 which should be “observing any cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical and/or behavioral changes of the first biological agent” because the term “any” indicates that the observation is of cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical or behavioral changes of the biological agent not only observation when a cellular change, a molecular change, a genetic change, a chemical change AND a behavioral change occurs together.
Claim 20 also recites “any cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical and behavioral changes of the second biological agent” in lines 13-14 which should be “any cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical and/or behavioral changes of the second biological agent” because the term “any” indicates that the observation is of cellular, molecular, genetic, morphological, chemical or behavioral changes of the biological agent not only observation when a cellular change, a molecular change, a genetic change, a chemical change AND a behavioral change occurs together.
Appropriate correction is required for all the objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the flow of the biological agent" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not recite a flow of the biological agent; hence, antecedent basis is lacking and claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim 1 also recites the limitation "the analyte" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not recite an analyte; hence, antecedent basis is lacking and claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite. Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 and do not resolve the indefiniteness; hence, claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first chamber" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 18 refers to claim 1, but neither claim 18 nor claim 1 disclose a first chamber; hence, the limitation lacks antecedent basis and claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the first chamber" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 19 refers to claim 1, but neither claim 19 nor claim 1 disclose a first chamber; hence, the limitation lacks antecedent basis and claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
The term “about 6 mm” in claim 15, line 2, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention; hence, claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
The term “a well-defined culture condition” in claim 18, lines 15-16, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “well-defined” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention; hence, claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al., 2023 (NPL cite 1, IDS, 2/13/2025; herein “Ma”).
Note: Claims 1-10 are drawn to an integrated system, a composition. Intended use limitations in composition claims are met if the composition COULD be used for the intended use regardless of whether the prior art discloses the intended use or not.
Ma teaches 3D-bacterial “biofilm-dispersal-then-recolonization” (BDR) microfluidic model which comprises two separate chambers, each comprising 300 tapered microwells of 150 µm length, 250 µm width and 150 µm depth wherein the inner surface of the microwells is coated with exopolysaccharide, wherein the first chamber is upstream of the second chamber; a fluid flow control mechanism between the two chambers which is a valve; and, a gradient generator comprising two fluid inlets and eight fluid outlets; which is made by aligning and bonding together (bottom to top) a first polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer with the first and second chambers wherein the first chamber is upstream of the second chamber, a second PDMS layer comprising multiple fluid channels and the valves and a third PDMS layer comprising the gradient generator upstream of the first chamber (pp. 1291-1292, “Establishment of the 3D-bacterial “biofilm dispersion-and-recolonization” (BDR) microfluidic model”; Fig. 1; p. 1298-1299, “Fabrication of device”; p. 1300, “Exogenous addition and coating of exopolysaccharides on microwells”) anticipating claims 1-2 and 4-17.
Ma teaches the method of instant claims 18 and 19 (pp. 1291-1294, “Establishment of the 3D-bacterial “biofilm dispersion-and-recolonization” (BDR) microfluidic model”, “CID induces rapid release of bacterial cells”,” EDA leads to the explosive release of bacterial aggregates”, “Bacteria undergo distinct spatiotemporal dynamics between CID and EDA”, “Bacteria generated from CID cannot recolonize fresh surfaces”, “Bacterial aggregates from biofilm disassembly slowly recolonized new areas”, “Similar dispersal and recolonization behavior adopted by P. aeruginosa clinical isolates”; Figs. 1-6 and 8) using the composition of claim 1 anticipating claims 18-19.
Ma teaches the method of instant claim 20 (pp. 1294-1296, “Unique characteristics of biofilm-released bacteria determine the fate of recolonization and dissemination of diseases in vivo”; Fig. 7) using the composition of claim 1 anticipating claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Khoo et al., US 2022/0113300 (cite A, attached PTO-892; herein “Khoo”).
The discussion of Ma regarding claims 1-2 and 4-20 set forth in the rejection above is incorporated herein.
Ma discloses the integrated system set forth in claims 1-2 and 4-11, as discussed in the rejection above. Ma discloses methods of culturing human lung 3D-spheroids with pathogens to investigate cell-cell interactions (pp. 1294-1296, “Unique characteristics of biofilm-released bacteria determine the fate of recolonization and dissemination of diseases in vivo”), but does not specifically disclose that the microwells comprise a cell culture surface with a plurality of micropores. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the microwells to comprise a cell culture surface with a plurality of micropores in view of the disclosure of Khoo.
Khoo teaches microfluidic devices for preparing a cell model (Abst.) wherein the microfluidic device comprises three layers comprising wells, i.e., microwells; fluid channels; and a tree-like gradient generator comprising at least two fluid inlets [0006-10]. Khoo teaches methods of using the microfluidic device to predict a response to an agent comprising culturing cells and/or a pathogen to establish a cell model, detecting the presence of a bacterial biofilm wherein the agent can be a biofilm dispersal agent [0027-31]. Khoo teaches that the wells of the microfluidic device can comprise a cell culture surface with a plurality of micropores dimensioned to confine cancer or tumor-associated cells with pathogens to investigate cell-cell interactions [0059].
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious for the integrated system disclosed by Ma to further comprise a cell culture surface with a plurality of micropores, especially when practicing a method of culturing human lung 3D-spheroids with pathogens to investigate cell-cell interactions, because Khoo discloses that the micropores confine a three-dimensional inflammatory model of cancer cells with pathogens; therefore, instant claim 3 is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TRENT R CLARKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651