CTNF 18/486,277 CTNF 74916 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-36-01 Figures 1C and 1D should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). The drawings are objected to because some of the drawings filed are “other than black and white line drawings.” Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 0036, line 3, after “lid” insert reference number --422--. Paragraph 0041, line 3, line replace “5G” with --5F --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (US Pat. 7,741,946) in view of Kasuga et al. (EP2194541; in English) . Regarding claim 1, Ho teaches a metal oxide varistor (MOV and method of fabricating MOV; see at least paragraphs 0024 and figs. 1-7) comprising: a metal oxide varistor body (MOV body 10, 10’ or 10”) a first electrode (12) disposed adjacent a first side of the metal oxide varistor body, wherein the first electrode (12) is coupled to a first radial lead (30); a second electrode (121’) disposed adjacent a second side of the metal oxide varistor body, wherein the second electrode (121’) is coupled to a second radial lead (40), wherein the second radial lead (see fig. 2) comprises a curved portion; and a thermal cut-off insulation shell (20 or 20’) disposed adjacent the second electrode (see figs. 1 and 7), the thermal cut-off insulation shell comprising a first protrusion (see multiple protrusions in fig. 5), wherein the curved portion is adjacent the first protrusion (see fig. 2). Ho teaches the claimed invention except for comprising a crystalline microstructure featuring zinc oxide mixed with one or more other metal oxides. Kasuga teaches that the metal-oxide ceramic material may be varied depending on its use to suppress line voltage surges, that the material differs with electrical resistivity that varies with the applied voltage. At least Mn, Co and Ni are added to the zinc oxide (see “Summary of the Invention). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kasuga with Ho, since mixing one or more metal oxide to the main zinc oxide taught by Kasuga allows for controlling the non-linear resistance characteristics, energy absorption capability and thermal stability to the MOV device of Ho. Regarding claim 2, Ho teaches the metal oxide varistor, the second radial lead (40) further comprising a vertical portion extending radially outward from the metal oxide varistor body (downwards; see fig. 2), wherein the vertical portion is connected to the curved portion. Regarding claim 3, Ho teaches the metal oxide varistor, the second radial lead further comprising an end portion (60), wherein the end portion is affixed to the second electrode (121’) using a soldering paste (end portion 60 is connected to the second electrode 121’ by solder joint 61; see paragraph 0035). Regarding claim 4, Ho teaches the first protrusion extending circumferentially around an edge of the thermal cut-off insulation shell (curvature around the edge of the shell; see fig. 5). Regarding claim 5, Ho teaches the thermal cut-off insulation shell further comprising a second protrusion, wherein the curved portion is disposed between the first protrusion and the second protrusion (there are three protrusions and the curve portion of the second lead is disposed between two protrusions; see figs. 1 and 5). Regarding claim 6, Ho teaches the metal oxide varistor, wherein the end portion moves away from the second electrode once the soldering paste melts (the solder 61 having a lower melting point than that of the end portion 60, causes the end portion 60 to move away from the second electrode 121’; see paragraph 0035). Regarding claims 10 and 11, Ho teaches the insulation shell (20) being formed of either alumina or plastic (see paragraph 0028) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Kasuga as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirano et al. (CN110120619; translation attached) . Regarding claims 7 and 8, Ho and Kasuga teach the claimed invention except for the second lead being composed of bronze C5191 or phosphor copper. Hirano teaches the use of copper alloy, e.g. phosphor bronze, and phosphor bronze C5191 (middle of 7 th page) for its volume resistivity and tensile strength. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hirano with Ho and Kasuga, since the conductive materials taught by Hirano allows for controlling the total volume resistivity of the MOV device of Ho and Kasuga . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Kasuga as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN212294168) . Regarding claim 9, Ho and Kasuga teach the claimed invention except for the second lead being composed of steel. Wang teaches the use of conductive steel due to its high bearing capacity and good conductive performance (see paragraph prior to the heading “Description of Pictures”). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with Ho and Kasuga, since the steel lead taught by Wang increases the lead structural strength and provide good conductivity for the MOV device of Ho and Kasuga . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 12-20 are allowed. Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest metal oxide varistor, wherein the second electrode being coupled to a second radial lead, wherein the second radial lead comprises a circular portion; and a thermal cut-off insulation shell disposed adjacent the second electrode, the thermal cut- off insulation shell comprising a cylindrical protrusion, wherein the circular portion fits around the cylindrical protrusion. Claims 13-20 depend on claim 12. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KYUNG S LEE whose telephone number is (571)272-1994. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-3PM M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Renee Luebke can be reached at 571-272-2009. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KYUNG S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833 Application/Control Number: 18/486,277 Page 2 Art Unit: 2833 Application/Control Number: 18/486,277 Page 3 Art Unit: 2833 Application/Control Number: 18/486,277 Page 4 Art Unit: 2833 Application/Control Number: 18/486,277 Page 5 Art Unit: 2833