DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-22 in the reply filed on 3/2/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 23-24 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/13/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2019/0270675 A1) to Harrison et al. (hereinafter Harrison)
Harrison is directed toward gypsum panels. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0012] that produced is a gypsum panel having two paper material facers. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0076] that the increased presence of activated alumina resulted in a corresponding reduction in the concentration of chloride ions detectable. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0031] that the halide (chloride) sequestration agent such as amorphous volcanic glass containing silicon oxide or perlite that includes activated alumina present from 0.01 to about 10% weight of the gypsum stucco, which is sufficient to reduce chloride content by 10%. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0033] that the particle size is 8 to 100 mesh, which reads on 50 to 600 microns. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0033] that the perlite can be regular or expanded. Harrison discloses each and every element of claims 1, 3-6 and 8-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0270675 A1) to Harrison et al. (hereinafter Harrison)
Harrison is directed toward gypsum panels. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0012] that produced is a gypsum panel having two paper material facers. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0076] that the increased presence of activated alumina resulted in a corresponding reduction in the concentration of chloride ions detectable. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0031] that the halide (chloride) sequestration agent such as amorphous volcanic glass containing silicon oxide or perlite that includes activated alumina present from 0.01 to about 10% weight of the gypsum stucco, which is sufficient to reduce chloride content by 10%. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0033] that the particle size is 8 to 100 mesh, which reads on 50 to 600 microns. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0033] that the perlite can be regular or expanded.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Harrison to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1, 3-6 and 8-17.
10. Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2019/0270675 A1) to Harrison et al. (hereinafter Harrison) in view of the teachings of (US 2002/0090871 A1) to Ritchie et al. (hereinafter Ritchie).
Harrison is directed toward gypsum panels. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0012] that produced is a gypsum panel having two paper material facers. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0076] that the increased presence of activated alumina resulted in a corresponding reduction in the concentration of chloride ions detectable. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0031] that the halide (chloride) sequestration agent such as amorphous volcanic glass containing silicon oxide or perlite that includes activated alumina present from 0.01 to about 10% weight of the gypsum stucco, which is sufficient to reduce chloride content by 10%. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0033] that the particle size is 8 to 100 mesh, which reads on 50 to 600 microns. Harrison discloses at paragraph [0033] that the perlite can be regular or expanded. Harrison is directed toward gypsum panels, but is silent regarding use of pumice.
Ritchie is directed toward gypsum panels. Harrison and Ritchie are both directed toward gypsum panels and therefore are analogous art. Ritchie teaches at paragraph [0131] that the core may contain up to 50% by weight of either pumice or perlite, which either would be sufficient to reduce chloride ions by 10%. Ritchie teaches at paragraph [0115] that different types of clay may be used.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Harrison in view of the teachings of Ritchie to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-7 and 9-17.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 8 and 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
12. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach a dual core gypsum panel having different densities with an ion mitigating material present in the second core or a pyrolyzed biomass as an ion mitigating additive.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766