DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 21-40 are pending in the application as presented in the preliminary amendment to the claims filed 10/13/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/10/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 34, 36, 39, and 40 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 21 and 39 include “banaba leaf extra” which appears to be a typographical error for “banaba leaf extract”. Also, “Rhodiola root extract” is recited in claims 21, 39, and 40, however it is unclear why “Rhodiola” is capitalized. In claims 34 and 36, “Salacia” is capitalized which does not appear to be correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because a “plan” for the intended use of weight management does not constitute a stepwise process, a machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. To interpret the claims, the category of patent eligible subject matter must be determined. A “plan” as claimed cannot be interpreted as a method since there are no active steps recited in a process of making or using an object; thus, a “plan” as claimed is interpreted as a product comprising a food index, a base food allowance, an activity index, and a daily food allowance. Determinations necessary to ascertain an allowance, activity index, and daily food allowance according to claim 21 do not appear to be patent eligible subject matter either since these are directed to information which may be considered mere information in the form of data for instance. While a claim does not necessarily have to fall only into a single category, it must be clear that it falls into at least one category per MPEP 2106.03. In the instant case, the structural components claimed (…the composition comprising banaba leaf extract and additional components) constitute a composition which may be administered in a daily dose, however as written it is not specified into which at least one category the claimed subject matter is actually classified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites an element of the claim which is “a food index based on a weight loss composition” wherein the metes and bounds of this term are unclear. What is included and/or required by this language? Is the “food index” a material object and what would be considered to meet the claim? Similarly, what is necessary to meet the “base food allowance based on the gender, age, height, BMI, weight, or life activity of the individual”? What is required to meet “an activity index based on an activity and a time interval for that activity performed by the individual”, and is the activity index a standard used to apply a stepwise method or is it an objective metric? The included “daily food allowance for the individual based on the food index, the activity index, and the base food allowance” has an unclear meaning because what does it mean to be “based on”? What steps are necessary to meet the claim, and what components are included and excluded? Similarly, in claim 22, what does it mean for “the food index” to be “also based on the four categories of food: vegetables; proteins; carbohydrates; and fat”? “The four categories” is interpreted to mean that four categories of vegetables, proteins, carbohydrates, and fat are referenced, but which of these is required to be present and/or absent to meet the claim? In claim 23, how does one “define” and “assign” the stated items within the scope of the claims?
Further, in claim 24, what is claimed is a “plan” and further described in “the activity index”. Is the activity index an indicia or a label in the form of a list for instance? Is it an intended use of a claimed product? If exercises “could be performed”, what structural requirement is claimed? Further, what are the metes and bounds of remaining described items “defined”, “performed”, and “assigns” as in claim 24?
Claim 25 recites a daily food allowance being a sum, however what units are referenced? Further, what is the antecedent of “the values obtained from the activity index” and what units correspond to these values or activity index items? Similarly, claim 27 recites “the sum of the food values” and similarly unclear portions and/or a concurrent “predetermined relationship” which is not defined; said portions refer to foods to be chosen, however no clear antecedent is established.
Claim 26 recites “the food value is based on…” additional items, however what is the required component? And what does it mean to be “based on” or what structural or stepwise components are required by this language?
What meat constitutes a “lean-meat” in a protein source as in claims 30 and 39? What constitutes “lean” may be subjective; for instance, one person may consider 90% lean meat to be lean while another may consider 98% lean meat to be lean with 90% being subjectively considered fatty and not lean.
Claim 31 refers to “the amount of chromium” in line 1. Does this refer to the chromium metal or chromium metal ion or the entire chromium chelate coordination compound? Claims 32 and 33 refer to magnesium and zinc in kind; appropriate clarification is requested.
All claims depending from a rejected base claim are also rejected here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 25 depends from canceled claim 4. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 25 is examined as if it depends from claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-28 and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0028991 (“Smith”) in view of US 2013/0028988 (“Smith [b]”) and US 2016/0339058A1 (Michlig Gonzalez et al.; “Michlig Gonzalez”).
The instant claims are drawn to a weight management plan comprising a food index based on a weight loss composition, a daily dosage of the composition comprising banaba leaf extrac[t] in an amount of about 20 mg to about 100 mg; apple fruit extract in an amount of about 30 mg to about 100 mg; rhodiola root extract in an amount of about 140 mg to about 400 mg; chromium chelate; magnesium chelate; and zinc chelate, as further specified in the claims. The recited terms of plan, activities, and indices are considered addressed above in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The claimed structural elements are addressed in detail below.
Smith teaches a dietary supplement which may be considered a weight loss composition. The composition comprises banaba leaf extract in an amount of 30-490 mg (see [0023]), chromium chelate (see [0021]) in an amount of 75 mg as well as magnesium chelate which is magnesium stearate.
Smith [b] teaches a weight-loss program composition including magnesium and zinc in combination with rhodiola rosea and inositol (see [0039])(further limitation of claim 34) wherein the compositions further may include apple fruit extracts (see [0064]); Table 3 demonstrates apple polyphenols in a dosage range of 20-550 mg, a range including the instantly claimed range (see [0070]). Smith [b] teaches a chromium component may be included in a dosage range of 5-200 mcg (Table 2 at [0070])(limitation of claim 31). Smith[b] further teaches magnesium in a range of 5-100 mg per daily dosage (see Table 1 at [0070])(limitation of claim 32). Smith[b] teaches inositol in a dosage range of 35-600 mg ([0070])(limitation of claim 37). Smith[b] also teaches Gardenia fructus in a dosage of 25-500 mg (see [0070])(limitation of claim 35) alongside a comparable component known to treat diabetes as a food supplement for suppressing high blood sugar levels, Salacia reticulata (see [0066])(limitation of claim 36), which it would have been obvious to substitute or include in place of or in addition to similar functional agents disclosed in paragraphs [0064]-[0068] and as embodied in paragraph [0070]) in an amount within the range of the disclosed functionally similar components. Smith[b] also teaches berberine in a dosage of 5-500 mg (see [0070])(limitation of claim 38).
Both Smith references pertain to weight loss and/or weight management compositions. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine formulation components including banaba leaf extract, apple fruit extract polyphenols, rhodiola root extract, and chromium chelate, magnesium chelate, and a source of zinc from two weight loss compositions into a single weight loss composition, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results particularly in a weight loss formulation.
Smith [b] includes zinc but not in a chelate form; Smith [b] teaches zinc in a dosage range of 2-30 mg (limitation of claim 33). Michlig Gonzalez cures this deficiency. Michlig Gonzalez teaches weight management compositions for oral administration wherein zinc chelate is included in the form of zinc citrate (see [0016], [0021], and [0053]).
Both Smith references as well as Michlig Gonzalez are directed to weight loss formulations. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add Michlig Gonzalez’s zinc citrate to the formulations of Smith and Smith[b], with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so to facilitate weight loss as taught by Michlig Gonzalez and as a species of Smith[b]’s generically disclosed zinc component.
Further regarding the allowances and indices further described in claim 21, the Smith, Smith[b], and Michlig Gonzalez references are considered to teach the structural components claimed with allowances and indices unclear terms interpreted as written instructions for instance which are nonfunctional descriptive material per MPEP 2111.05. There is no claimed feature or evidence in the record demonstrating new or nonobvious relationship between a base food allowance, a food index, an activity index, or a daily food allowance as claimed components. Limitations are not imported from the specification into the claims. Similarly, the food index in claims 22 and 23, the activity index in claim 24, food allowance in claim 25, food value in claim 26, and plan elements as in claims 26 and 27 are likewise interpreted as elements lacking a functional relationship. Claim 28 pertains to an intended use and not a structural or functional feature.
Specifically regarding the amounts of formulation components, the prior art reasonably suggest the claimed amounts and/or ranges as detailed above, however “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 29, 30, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0028991 (“Smith”) in view of US 2013/0028988 (“Smith [b]”) and US 2016/0339058A1 (Michlig Gonzalez et al.; “Michlig Gonzalez”) as applied to claims 21-28 and 31-38 above, and further in view of JP2015-528705 (“JP’705”).
The teachings of Smith, Smith[b], and Michlig Gonzalez have been delineated above. None of these specifies a bulk food or portion or kit features as detailed in instant claims 29, 30, 39, and 40. It is noted that the weight loss composition items including banaba, apple, rhodiola, chromium, magnesium, and zinc and dosages thereof have been addressed above by Smith, Smith[b], and Michlig Gonzalez.
JP’705 cures this deficiency. JP’705 teaches a feed composition comprising various functional benefit components in a feed product. JP’705 specifies that animal feed may include cereals for instance, proteins including those from beans, fats, minerals and vitamins, and additional functional agent additives (see page 29/62 of translation which begins a definition of feed product). JP’705 further teaches that a suitable premix is a composition which may be blended into commercial feed (top of page 31/62 of translation (“A suitable premix…”) and continues that cereals, proteins such as soybeans, peanuts, lupines, peas, broad beans, etc., and fats may be included further in combination with vitamins and minerals (see page 31/62 of translation paragraph starting “Animal feed within the meaning..includes…”).
Smith, Smith[b], Michlig Gonzalez, and JP ‘705 all pertain to nutritional compositions. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the obvious composition for weight loss based on combinations of Smith, Smith[b], and Michlig Gonzalez above into a bulk feed product of JP ‘705, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so to provide good nutrition functioning as a carrier formulation alongside dietary benefits from the weight management compositions of Smith, Smith[b], and Michlig Gonzalez.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-28, and 31-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11883456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a composition for weight loss comprising banaba leaf extract, apple fruit extract, rhodiola root extract, chromium chelate, magnesium chelate, and zinc chelate, in the same ranges and amounts as well as the same additional elements gardenia fruit extract, Salacia extract, inositol, berberine, or a combination thereof.
The instant claims differ from the 11883456 allowed claims in that the instant claims further encompass potential structure for a “plan” and elements associated with an intended use or process steps (food index, base food allowance, activity index, and daily food allowance elements) which are otherwise addressed above. Interpreting the instant claims as noted above, the issued claims appear directed to the same composition encompassed in the instant “plan”. It is noted that the issued claims further pertain to a kit with instructions for a plan for instance wherein said kit may be defined as a kit comprising a bulk food product comprising a plurality of meal portions each comprising protein, fat, carbohydrates etc. as instantly claimed also. Accordingly, both sets of claims appear directed to the same invention.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11458182. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a composition for weight loss comprising banaba leaf extract, apple fruit extract, rhodiola root extract, chromium chelate, magnesium chelate, and zinc chelate, in the same ranges and amounts as well as the same additional elements gardenia fruit extract, Salacia extract, inositol, berberine, or a combination thereof.
The instant claims differ from the 11458182 allowed claim in that the instant claims particularly claim 21 and those depending from claim 21 further encompass potential structure for a “plan” and elements associated with an intended use or process steps (food index, base food allowance, activity index, and daily food allowance elements) which are otherwise addressed above. Interpreting the instant claims as noted above, the issued claims appear directed to the same composition encompassed in the instant “plan” and the corresponding disclosure for the issued claims discloses a bulk food embodiment and a diet plan wherein food components may be included as part of a food index element wherein all four food groups may be included in meal form with the aforementioned extracts, chelates, and additional components encompassed in the claims. As to claims 39 and 40, the instant claims differ from the allowed claim since the instant claims further require a bulk food product in combination with a weight loss composition in a meal kit as recited in claim 39. It is noted that claim 40 encompasses the same amounts as in the issued claim. The specification for the issued claims defines the kit may be an embodiment which comprises a bulk food product comprising protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, etc. as instantly recited. Accordingly, both sets of claims are directed to the same invention.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11141448. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a composition for weight loss comprising banaba leaf extract, apple fruit extract, rhodiola root extract, chromium chelate, magnesium chelate, and zinc chelate, in the same ranges and amounts as well as the same additional elements gardenia fruit extract, Salacia extract, inositol, berberine, or a combination thereof.
The instant claims differ from the 11141448 allowed claim in that the instant claims particularly claim 21 and those depending from claim 21 further encompass potential structure for a “plan” and elements associated with an intended use or process steps (food index, base food allowance, activity index, and daily food allowance elements) which are otherwise addressed above. Interpreting the instant claims as noted above, the issued claims appear directed to the same composition encompassed in the instant “plan” and the corresponding disclosure for the issued claims discloses a bulk food embodiment and a diet plan wherein food components may be included as part of a food index element wherein all four food groups may be included in meal form with the aforementioned extracts, chelates, and additional components encompassed in the claims. As to claims 39 and 40, the instant claims differ from the allowed claim since the instant claims further require a bulk food product in combination with a weight loss composition in a meal kit as recited in claim 39. It is noted that claim 40 encompasses the same amounts as in the issued claim. The specification for the issued claims defines the kit may be an embodiment which comprises a bulk food product comprising protein, fat, carbohydrates, fiber, etc. as instantly recited. Accordingly, both sets of claims are directed to the same invention.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10765718. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a composition for weight loss comprising banaba leaf extract, apple fruit extract, rhodiola root extract, chromium chelate, magnesium chelate, and zinc chelate, in the same ranges and amounts, the issued claims further require berberine inositol, and Salacia extract in claim 1 whereas in the instant invention these elements are included in dependent claims in the same amounts.
The instant claims differ from the 10765718 allowed claims in that the instant claims further encompass potential structure for a “plan” and elements associated with an intended use or process steps (food index, base food allowance, activity index, and daily food allowance elements) which are otherwise addressed above. Interpreting the instant claims as noted above, the issued claims appear directed to the same composition encompassed in the instant “plan”, and the instant claims further require bulk food product components and/or kit components which is noted to be defined in the specification for the issued claims as an embodiment of the invention. Accordingly, both sets of claims are directed to the same invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
/AUDREA B CONIGLIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617