DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1a. Claims 4-5, 10-11, 15-16 and 19 are objected to as dependent upon rejected claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-14, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim (US 2024/0205850 AI) in view of Vaez-Ghaemi (US 2025/0365225).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Shim discloses a method for synchronization based on reference signals.
Vaez-Ghaemi discloses a method for radio unit synchronization.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Shim discloses:
A system (see Figs 9A-9C), comprising: a processor (Fig 3B, Processor 380); and a memory (Fig 3B, Memory 370) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations (see Figs 9A-9C), the operations comprising:
obtaining (Fig 9B, 931), received radio signal waveform data (Fig 9B, 933; [0179] … the RU 220 may generate the reference signal based on at least one parameter of the C-plane message) based on reference waveform data (Fig 9B, Reference Signal, 931) transmitted by a radio unit (Fig 9B, RU 220);
determining time error data (see: [0108] …. the channel requiring a time or frequency offset or different from the nominal SCS value(s)) based on the received waveform data (Fig 6, loop-back 625; see: [0129] …The RU 220 may loop back the transmitted reference signals through the feedback path 625) relative to the reference waveform data (Fig 9B, Reference Signal, 931); and
taking action to synchronize (see: [0125] …. performing the phase alignment) the radio unit (Fig 6, RU 220), based on the time error data (see: [0122] ….. When the phase difference with the mth RU 220-m based on the first RU 220-1 is indicated by θm,1; see also:
in [0123]), with a reference radio unit (Fig 6, DDC/ADC; Examiner’s Note: Shim’s evaluation system comprises a plurality of components From Fig 6, DUC/DAC, Tx/Rx Switch, Loop-back 625 to DDC/ADC, that process waveforms and signals along a loop) coupled to the radio unit (Fig 6, RU 220).
Shim does not elaborate about time error data.
However, Vaez-Ghaemi discloses:
determining time error data (see: [0056] …. may be able to measure/analyze the timing parameters as detailed in Sect. 11.2.5 (“Synchronization accuracy”) of the O-RAN FH C/U/S-Plane standard, including the various types of Time Error (TE)) based on the received waveform data relative to the reference waveform data (Fig 2B; see: [0047] …. Most timing parameters may be identified with reference to these reference points, ……. For example, the DL delay may be T12, the UL delay may be T34, with further qualifications such as, e.g., T12_min and T12_max indicating the minimum and maximum DL delays).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Shim’s method for synchronization based on reference signals with Vaez-Ghaemi’s method for radio unit synchronization with the motivation being to enable multiple cellular network/communication (Vaez-Ghaemi, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 2, Shim discloses:
wherein the taking of the action to synchronize (see: [0140] The reference signals for the phase alignment may be used to compensate phase distortion over time) the radio unit (Fig 7A, RU1 220-1) comprises communicating (Fig 7A, 710-1 and 720-1) the time error data (see: the phase alignment in [0140]) to a distributed unit (Fig 7A, DU 210) to be forwarded (Fig 7A, 710-1) to the radio unit (Fig 7A, RU1 220-1).
Regarding Claim 3, Shim discloses:
wherein the action is a first action (Fig 9, Generate Reference Signal 933), and wherein the operations further comprise determining frequency error data (see: [0108] …. the channel requiring a time or frequency offset or different from the nominal SCS value(s)) based on the received radio signal waveform data (Fig 9B, 933; [0179] … the RU 220 may generate the reference signal based on at least one parameter of the C-plane message) relative to the reference waveform data (Fig 9B, Reference Signal, 931), and
taking second action (see: [0043] …. The S-Plane periodically sends timing and synchronization messages using the Precision Timing Protocol (PTP) to synchronize the O-RU 140) to correct a frequency of the radio unit (Fig 6, RU 220) based on the frequency error data (see: [0122] ….. When the phase difference with the mth RU 220-m based on the first RU 220-1 is indicated by θm,1; see also:
in [0123]).
Regarding Claim 6, Shim discloses:
wherein the action is a first action (Fig 9, Generate Reference Signal 933), and wherein the operations further comprise obtaining quality information (see: [0065] …. higher-level processing in software of data…. qualities (such as, e.g., Quality of Service (QOS) and/or Quality of Experience (QoE)), etc., which are being continuously and actively updated) associated with the received radio signal waveform data (Fig 9B, 933; [0179] … the RU 220 may generate the reference signal based on at least one parameter of the C-plane message), and
taking second action (see: [0043] …. The S-Plane periodically sends timing and synchronization messages using the Precision Timing Protocol (PTP) to synchronize the O-RU 140) to return (Fig 7A, 720-1) quality indication data, corresponding to the quality information (see: [0065] …. higher-level processing in software of data…. qualities (such as, e.g., Quality of Service (QOS) and/or Quality of Experience (QoE)), etc., which are being continuously and actively updated), to a distributed unit (Fig 7A, DU 210).
Regarding Claim 7, Shim discloses:
wherein the system comprises a reference receiver component (Fig 3B, RF Transceiver), and wherein the operations further comprise obtaining the received radio signal waveform data (Fig 9B, 933; [0179] … the RU 220 may generate the reference signal based on at least one parameter of the C-plane message) via the reference receiver component (Fig 3B, RF Transceiver).
Regarding Claim 8, Shim discloses:
wherein the reference receiver component (Fig 3B, RF Transceiver) comprises the reference radio unit (Fig 6, DDC/ADC; Examiner’s Note: Shim’s evaluation system comprises a plurality of components From Fig 6, DUC/DAC, Tx/Rx Switch, Loop-back 625 to DDC/ADC, that process waveforms and signals along a loop) to which the radio unit is synchronized (see: [0125] …. performing the phase alignment) the radio unit (Fig 6, RU 220).
Regarding Claim 9, Shim does not disclose this claim.
However, Vaez-Ghaemi discloses:
wherein the determining of the time error data (see: [0056] …. may be able to measure/analyze the timing parameters as detailed in Sect. 11.2.5 (“Synchronization accuracy”) of the O-RAN FH C/U/S-Plane standard, including the various types of Time Error (TE)) comprises compensating for radio unit propagation time data (see: [0095] The packets, which are to re-enter the O-RAN FH link 130, may be sent to Fixed Delays 350, which may compensate for the delay introduced by the individual packets going through the various data paths and circuitry of the O-RAN FHA HW 300) based on predefined distance data representative of a distance (see: [0095] …. which may compensate for the delay introduced by the individual packets going through the various data paths and circuitry of the O-RAN FHA HW 300) between the radio unit (Fig 3, o-RU 140) and the reference receiver component (Fig 3, Input 305).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Shim’s method for synchronization based on reference signals with Vaez-Ghaemi’s method for radio unit synchronization with the motivation being to enable multiple cellular network/communication (Vaez-Ghaemi, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 12, Shim discloses:
A method (see Figs 9A-9C), comprising:
Obtaining (Fig 9B, 931), by a radio unit (Fig 9B, RU 220) comprising a processor (Fig 3B, Processor 380), reference waveform data (Fig 9B, Reference Signal, 931) from a distributed unit (Fig 9B, DU 210) coupled to the radio unit (Fig 9B, RU 220);
Transmitting (Fig 6, Tx/Rx Switch #0 to #nTx-1; see: [0128] … The RU 220 may transmit the reference signals received from the DU 210 through transmitter #i), by the radio unit (Fig 9B, RU 220), radio signal data (Fig 9B, 933; [0179] … the RU 220 may generate the reference signal based on at least one parameter of the C-plane message) based on the reference waveform data (Fig 9B, Reference Signal, 931) to a receiving evaluation system (Fig 6, From DUC/DAC, Tx/Rx Switch, Loop-back 625 to DDC/ADC; Examiner’s Note: Shim’s evaluation system comprises a plurality of components that process waveforms and signals along a loop), comprising a reference radio unit (Fig 6, DDC/ADC), that obtains sample waveform data corresponding to the radio signal data (Fig 9B, 933; [0179] … the RU 220 may generate the reference signal based on at least one parameter of the C-plane message) as received by the receiving evaluation system (Fig 6, From DUC/DAC, Tx/Rx Switch, Loop-back 625 to DDC/ADC), and
evaluates the received waveform data (Fig 6, loop-back 625; see: [0129] …The RU 220 may loop back the transmitted reference signals through the feedback path 625) relative to the reference waveform data (Fig 9B, Reference Signal, 931) to determine error correction data (see: [0122] ….. When the phase difference with the mth RU 220-m based on the first RU 220-1 is indicated by θm,1; see also:
in [0123]); and
synchronizing (see: [0125] …. performing the phase alignment) the radio unit (Fig 6, RU 220) with the reference radio unit (Fig 6, DDC/ADC) based on the error correction data (see: [0122] ….. When the phase difference with the mth RU 220-m based on the first RU 220-1 is indicated by θm,1; see also:
in [0123]).
Shim discloses “alignment” but does not elaborate about synchronization.
However, Vaez-Ghaemi discloses:
synchronizing (Fig 2B; see: [0043] …. The S-Plane periodically sends timing and synchronization messages using the Precision Timing Protocol (PTP) to synchronize the O-RU 140 to the rest of the network) the radio unit with the reference radio unit based on the error correction data (see: [0056] …. may be able to measure/analyze the timing parameters as detailed in Sect. 11.2.5 (“Synchronization accuracy”) of the O-RAN FH C/U/S-Plane standard, including the various types of Time Error (TE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Shim’s method for synchronization based on reference signals with Vaez-Ghaemi’s method for radio unit synchronization with the motivation being to enable multiple cellular network/communication (Vaez-Ghaemi, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 13, Shim discloses:
wherein the synchronizing (see: [0125] …. performing the phase alignment) of the radio unit (Fig 10A, RU 220) with the reference radio unit (Fig 6, DDC/ADC) comprises obtaining (Fig 10A, Steps 1001 and 1003) the error correction data (Fig 10A, Steps 1001 and 1003, Phase Alignment Information) by the radio unit (Fig 10A, RU 220) from the distributed unit (Fig 10A, DU 210).
Regarding Claim 14, Shim discloses:
wherein the obtaining (Fig 10A, Steps 1001 and 1003) of the error correction data (Fig 10A, Steps 1001 and 1003, Phase Alignment Information) comprises receiving a message from the distributed unit (Fig 10A, DU 210).
Regarding Claim 17, Shim discloses:
further comprising obtaining (Fig 9B, Step 939), by the distributed unit (Fig 9B, DU 210), signal quality information (see: [0065] …. higher-level processing in software of data…. qualities (such as, e.g., Quality of Service (QOS) and/or Quality of Experience (QoE)), etc., which are being continuously and actively updated) based on the transmitting of the radio signal data (Fig 9B, 933; [0179] … the RU 220 may generate the reference signal based on at least one parameter of the C-plane message), and
adjusting (Fig 6, Phase Alignment Unit), by the distributed unit (Fig 6, DU 210), subsequent transmissions, subsequent to the transmitting of the radio signal data (Fig 6, Signal from DDC/ADC to Phase Alignment Unit 635), based on the radio unit signal quality information (see: [0065] …. higher-level processing in software of data…. qualities (such as, e.g., Quality of Service (QOS) and/or Quality of Experience (QoE)), etc., which are being continuously and actively updated).
Regarding Claim 18, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 12, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 6, and is rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/JUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473