DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed 10/30/2025. The 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. Claims 6-8 have been canceled. Claims 21-23 are new. Claims 1-5 and 9-23 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 15 of the claim appears to contain a typographical error, “a battery disposed comprising a refrigerant passage…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 22, the recitation of “…a third line extending from the heating-side expansion valve…”, renders the claim unclear. Specifically, it is unclear as to how a third line may be extending from the heating-side expansion valve, when the expansion valve (13) is depicted in the specification and the drawings as a being disposed within a single conduit (i.e. having first and second lines). For example, Figs.1-25 all depict valve 13 as a two-way valve in a single conduit. The recitation of a third line implies therefore that the expansion valve is of the sort of a multi-way or three-way expansion valve. Therefore, because the heating-side expansion valve (13) is not depicted as having three separate conduits, the claims may not be considered to meet the minimum threshold required for clarity and precision. Thus, the claim and all claims depending therefrom are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durrani et al. (WO 2020242096 A1, hereinafter “Durrani”), and in view of an alternative embodiment of Durrani.
Regarding Claim 1, Durrani teaches a vehicular thermal management system [Fig. 1], the system comprising:
a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) subsystem [Fig. 1] comprising:
a compressor [1; ¶ 119];
a heating-side expansion valve [3] disposed on a downstream side of the compressor [Fig. 1; ¶ 120];
an exterior heat exchanger [4] disposed on a downstream side of the heating-side expansion valve [Fig. 1; ¶ 122];
a cooling-side expansion valve [6] disposed on a downstream side of the exterior heat exchanger [Fig. 1; ¶ 122];
an evaporator [5] disposed on a downstream side of the cooling-side expansion valve [Fig. 1; ¶ 0122];
a distribution line [at least line with valve 8] configured to allow at least a portion of a refrigerant discharged from the exterior heat exchanger to be directed from an upstream side of the cooling-side expansion valve to the compressor [Fig. 1; ¶ 125]; and
a battery comprising a refrigerant passage [battery chiller 9] [Fig. 1; ¶ 126; apparent from inspection];
a warm-up line [11] configured to allow the refrigerant to be directed from the downstream side of the compressor to the battery [Fig. 1; ¶ 124, 133; bypass 11 provides refrigerant from a downstream side the compressor to an upstream side of the batter];
an interior condenser [2] disposed between the compressor [1] and the heating-side expansion valve [3] [¶ 119; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection]; and
a power electronics cooling subsystem [circuit 17] thermally connected to the HVAC subsystem [Fig. 1; ¶ 158; power electronics may be cooled by the drivetrain cooler 16 connected via circuit 17],
wherein the refrigerant passage is fluidly connected to the distribution line [Fig. 1; ¶ 125-126; battery chiller 9 is disposed at the meeting of battery cooling loop 22 and the refrigerant line containing valve 8].
The cited embodiment of Durrani does not explicitly teach wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a first control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be directed toward the interior condenser or the battery, and wherein the first control valve includes an inlet port communicating with an outlet of the compressor, a first outlet port communicating with the interior condenser, and a second outlet port communicating with an inlet of the warm-up line.
However, an alternative embodiment of Durrani [Fig. 10] further discloses a diagram of a refrigeration system and heat pump arrangement with a refrigeration circuit [Fig. 10], wherein the refrigeration system is capable of operating in a cooling and a heat pump mode [¶ 20]. In this embodiment, Durrani discloses at least a plurality of control valves [110, 111, 112] downstream from the compressor, wherein the valves may be controlled to provide or prevent refrigerant flow towards the interior condenser, thereby also modifying the refrigerant flow towards the battery [See at least Figs. 11 and 14; ¶ 177, 217; each displaying a configuration controlling flow through valve 111 to the internal condenser]. Specifically, the combination of valves communicates with the outlet of compressor 1, valve 111 communicates with interior condenser 2, and port 112 communicates with line containing battery chiller 9, thus configured to allow refrigerant to be directed from the downstream side of the compressor to the battery [Fig. 10; apparent from inspection]. Durrani further teaches that the internal condenser serves to provide heat to the vehicle interior [¶ 22]. Therefore, expansion elements are utilized to change the volume flow of refrigerant, thereby providing means to further control the system depending on the desired operation (i.e. heating or cooling) [¶ 22, 28-29]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the control valve as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the control valve would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to control the volume of refrigerant flow provides additional control for a system capable of heating and cooling mode, thereby providing further control and improving the system [¶ 22, 28-29; also see Pressure-Enthalpy diagrams pertaining to at least valve 111 in Figs. 10-29].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Durrani to have wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a first control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be directed toward the interior condenser or the battery, in view of the teachings of alternative embodiments of Durrani [Fig. 10] where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to control the volume of refrigerant flow provides additional control for a system capable of heating and cooling mode, thereby providing further control and improving the system.
Regarding Claim 2, Durrani teaches the system according to claim 1 above and Durrani teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a battery-side expansion valve [8] located on an upstream side of the battery in the distribution line [Fig. 1; ¶ 125; valve 8 is arrange parallel to evaporator 5 and in-line with battery chiller 9].
Regarding Claim 3, Durrani teaches the system according to claim 2 above and Durrani teaches wherein the battery-side expansion valve comprises an inlet port [port 3; See valve 8 in Fig. 1] communicating with the exterior heat exchanger and an outlet port [2] communicating with the battery [port 2; See valve 8 in Fig. 1] [¶ 125].
Regarding Claim 4, Durrani teaches the system according to claim 3 above and Durrani teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises an upstream bypass line [13] configured to allow the refrigerant to be directed from the upstream side of the battery to a downstream side of the battery [Fig. 1; ¶ 126; valve 8 may bypass the battery chiller 9 via port 1 and bypass line 13].
Regarding Claim 5, Durrani teaches the system according to claim 4 above and Durrani teaches wherein the battery-side expansion valve [8] further comprises a bypass port [Fig. 1; See port 1 of valve 8] communicating with the upstream bypass line [13] [Fig. 1; ¶ 126; valve 8 communicates with bypass 13 via port 1].
Claim 6 canceled
Claim 7 canceled
Claim 8 canceled
Regarding Claim 11, Durrani teaches the system according to claim 1 above and Durrani teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a bypass line [11] configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the heating-side expansion valve to bypass the exterior heat exchanger [Fig. 1¶ 124; bypass 11 runs parallel to external heat exchanger 4].
Regarding Claim 12, Durrani teaches a vehicular thermal management system [Fig. 1], the system comprising:
a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) subsystem [Fig. 1] comprising:
a compressor [1; ¶ 119];
a heating-side expansion valve [3] disposed on a downstream side of the compressor [Fig. 1; ¶ 120];
an exterior heat exchanger [4] disposed on a downstream side of the heating-side expansion valve [Fig. 1; ¶ 122];
a cooling-side expansion valve [6] disposed on a downstream side of the exterior heat exchanger [Fig. 1; ¶ 122];
an evaporator [5] disposed on a downstream side of the cooling-side expansion valve [Fig. 1; ¶ 0122];
a distribution line [at least line with valve 8] configured to allow at least a portion of a refrigerant discharged from the exterior heat exchanger to be directed from an upstream side of the cooling-side expansion valve to the compressor [Fig. 1; ¶ 125]; and
a battery disposed comprising a refrigerant passage [battery chiller 9] [Fig. 1; ¶ 126; apparent from inspection];
a warm-up line [11] configured to allow the refrigerant to be directed from the downstream side of the compressor to the battery [Fig. 1; ¶ 124, 133; bypass 11 provides refrigerant from a downstream side the compressor to an upstream side of the batter];
an interior condenser [2] disposed between the compressor [1] and the heating-side expansion valve [3] [¶ 119; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection];
a refrigerant circulation path through which the refrigerant is circulatable [at least refrigerant piping connecting the outlet to the inlet of the compressor 1; Fig. 1; ¶ 126];
a power electronics cooling subsystem [circuit 17] thermally connected to the HVAC subsystem [Fig. 1; ¶ 158; power electronics may be cooled by the drivetrain cooler 16 connected via circuit 17], the power electronics cooling subsystem comprising a power electronics coolant circulation path [at least 17, 23; Fig. 1] through which a power electronics coolant circulates [¶ 128; coolant flows via coolant pump 21]; and
a heat exchanger [15] thermally connecting the HVAC subsystem and the power electronics cooling subsystem [Fig. 1; ¶ 126, 128; apparent from inspection], the heat exchanger comprising a first passage fluidly connected to the refrigerant circulation path and a second passage fluidly connected to the power electronics coolant circulation path [Fig. 1; ¶ 128; apparent from inspection]; and
wherein the refrigerant passage is fluidly connected to the distribution line [Fig. 1; ¶ 125-126; battery chiller 9 is disposed at the meeting of battery cooling loop 22 and the refrigerant line containing valve 8].
The cited embodiment of Durrani does not explicitly teach wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a first control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be directed toward the interior condenser or the battery, and wherein the first control valve includes an inlet port communicating with an outlet of the compressor, a first outlet port communicating with the interior condenser, and a second outlet port communicating with an inlet of the warm-up line.
However, an alternative embodiment of Durrani [Fig. 10] further discloses a diagram of a refrigeration system and heat pump arrangement with a refrigeration circuit [Fig. 10], wherein the refrigeration system is capable of operating in a cooling and a heat pump mode [¶ 20]. In this embodiment, Durrani discloses at least a plurality of control valves [110, 111, 112] downstream from the compressor, wherein the valves may be controlled to provide or prevent refrigerant flow towards the interior condenser, thereby also modifying the refrigerant flow towards the battery [See at least Figs. 11 and 14; ¶ 177, 217; each displaying a configuration controlling flow through valve 111 to the internal condenser]. Specifically, the combination of valves communicates with the outlet of compressor 1, valve 111 communicates with interior condenser 2, and port 112 communicates with line containing battery chiller 9, thus configured to allow refrigerant to be directed from the downstream side of the compressor to the battery [Fig. 10; apparent from inspection]. Durrani further teaches that the internal condenser serves to provide heat to the vehicle interior [¶ 22]. Therefore, expansion elements are utilized to change the volume flow of refrigerant, thereby providing means to further control the system depending on the desired operation (i.e. heating or cooling) [¶ 22, 28-29]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the control valve as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the control valve would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to control the volume of refrigerant flow provides additional control for a system capable of heating and cooling mode, thereby providing further control and improving the system [¶ 22, 28-29; also see Pressure-Enthalpy diagrams pertaining to at least valve 111 in Figs. 10-29].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Durrani to have wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a first control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be directed toward the interior condenser or the battery, and wherein the first control valve includes an inlet port communicating with an outlet of the compressor, a first outlet port communicating with the interior condenser, and a second outlet port communicating with an inlet of the warm-up line, in view of the teachings of alternative embodiments of Durrani [Fig. 10] where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to control the volume of refrigerant flow provides additional control for a system capable of heating and cooling mode, thereby providing further control and improving the system.
Also see alternative rejection below, in view of further prior art.
Claims 9-10 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of embodiments of Durrani, and further in view of Gashi (US 20230052550 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 1 above, but Durrani does not explicitly teach wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a downstream bypass line configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the battery to be directed to the heating-side expansion valve.
However, Gashi teaches a system for regulating thermal energy of an electric vehicle with an HVAC system [Fig. 1] comprising at least a compressor [4], a first expansion valve [8], a first heat exchanger [2], a second expansion valve [12], an evaporator [14], and a line [30] configured to deliver refrigerant to cool a battery [1] [¶ Fig. 1; 0005-0006, 0009]. Gashi further discloses a valve [38] disposed downstream of the battery, wherein the valve may provide refrigerant to a line [26], thereby providing refrigerant towards the first expansion device via valves [21 and 28] [¶ 0009]. Gashi teaches that this configuration provides a means to heat the battery by providing refrigerant to regain the external heat exchanger [2] wherein heating the battery improves the efficacy of the charging [¶ 0018]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the bypass line as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the bypass line would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to heat the battery by providing refrigerant to regain from the external heat exchanger wherein heating the battery improves the efficacy of the charging, thereby improving the system [¶ 0018 0025].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Durrani to have a downstream bypass line configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the battery to be directed to the heating-side expansion valve, in view of the teachings of Gashi, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to heat the battery by providing refrigerant to regain from the external heat exchanger wherein heating the battery improves the efficacy of the charging, thereby improving the system.
Regarding Claim 10, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 1 above, but Durrani does not explicitly teach wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a second control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the battery to be directed toward the compressor or the heating-side expansion valve.
However, Gashi teaches a system for regulating thermal energy of an electric vehicle with an HVAC system [Fig. 1] comprising at least a compressor [4], a first expansion valve [8], a first heat exchanger [2], a second expansion valve [12], an evaporator [14], and a line [30] configured to deliver refrigerant to cool a battery [1] [¶ Fig. 1; 0005-0006, 0009]. Gashi further discloses a valve [38] disposed downstream of the battery, wherein the valve may provide refrigerant to a line [26], thereby providing refrigerant towards the first expansion device via valves [21 and 28] [¶ 0009] or providing refrigerant towards the compressor via a line [34] [Fig. 2; ¶ 0009]. Gashi teaches that this configuration provides a means to heat the battery by providing refrigerant to regain the external heat exchanger [2] wherein heating the battery improves the efficacy of the charging [¶ 0018]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the bypass line as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the bypass line would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to heat the battery by providing refrigerant to regain from the external heat exchanger wherein heating the battery improves the efficacy of the charging, thereby improving the system [¶ 0018 0025].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Durrani to have wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a second control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the battery to be directed toward the compressor or the heating-side expansion valve, in view of the teachings of Gashi, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to heat the battery by providing refrigerant to regain from the external heat exchanger wherein heating the battery improves the efficacy of the charging, thereby improving the system.
Regarding Claim 19, Durrani teaches a vehicular thermal management system [Fig. 1], the system comprising:
a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) subsystem [Fig. 1] comprising:
a compressor [1; ¶ 119];
a heating-side expansion valve [3] disposed on a downstream side of the compressor [Fig. 1; ¶ 120];
an exterior heat exchanger [4] disposed on a downstream side of the heating-side expansion valve [Fig. 1; ¶ 122];
a cooling-side expansion valve [6] disposed on a downstream side of the exterior heat exchanger [Fig. 1; ¶ 122];
an evaporator [5] disposed on a downstream side of the cooling-side expansion valve [Fig. 1; ¶ 0122];
a first distribution line [at least line with valve 8] configured to allow at least a portion of a refrigerant discharged from the exterior heat exchanger to be directed from an upstream side of the cooling-side expansion valve to the compressor [Fig. 1; ¶ 125];
a battery disposed comprising a refrigerant passage [battery chiller 9] [Fig. 1; ¶ 126; apparent from inspection];
a warm-up line [11] configured to allow the refrigerant to be directed from the downstream side of the compressor to the battery [Fig. 1; ¶ 124, 133; bypass 11 provides refrigerant from a downstream side the compressor to an upstream side of the batter];
an interior condenser [2] disposed between the compressor [1] and the heating-side expansion valve [3] [¶ 119; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection];
a power electronics cooling subsystem [circuit 17] thermally connected to the HVAC subsystem [Fig. 1; ¶ 158; power electronics may be cooled by the drivetrain cooler 16 connected via circuit 17]; and
wherein the refrigerant passage is fluidly connected to the distribution line [Fig. 1; ¶ 125-126; battery chiller 9 is disposed at the meeting of battery cooling loop 22 and the refrigerant line containing valve 8].
The cited embodiment of Durrani does not explicitly teach wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be directed toward the interior condenser or the battery, and wherein the control valve includes an inlet port communicating with an outlet of the compressor, a first outlet port communicating with the interior condenser, and a second outlet port communicating with an inlet of the warm-up line.
Also, while Durrani teaches a second distribution line [line containing drivetrain chiller 15], Durrani does not explicitly disclose a second distribution line configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the exterior heat exchanger to be directed from the upstream side of the cooling side expansion valve to the compressor.
An alternative embodiment of Durrani [Fig. 10] further discloses a diagram of a refrigeration system and heat pump arrangement with a refrigeration circuit [Fig. 10], wherein the refrigeration system is capable of operating in a cooling and a heat pump mode [¶ 20]. In this embodiment, Durrani discloses at least a plurality of control valves [110, 111, 112] downstream from the compressor, wherein the valves may be controlled to provide or prevent refrigerant flow towards the interior condenser, thereby also modifying the refrigerant flow towards the battery [See at least Figs. 11 and 14; ¶ 177, 217; each displaying a configuration controlling flow through valve 111 to the internal condenser]. Specifically, the combination of valves communicates with the outlet of compressor 1, valve 111 communicates with interior condenser 2, and port 112 communicates with line containing battery chiller 9, thus configured to allow refrigerant to be directed from the downstream side of the compressor to the battery [Fig. 10; apparent from inspection]. Durrani further teaches that the internal condenser serves to provide heat to the vehicle interior [¶ 22]. Therefore, expansion elements are utilized to change the volume flow of refrigerant, thereby providing means to further control the system depending on the desired operation (i.e. heating or cooling) [¶ 22, 28-29]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the control valve as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the control valve would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to control the volume of refrigerant flow provides additional control for a system capable of heating and cooling mode, thereby providing further control and improving the system [¶ 22, 28-29; also see Pressure-Enthalpy diagrams pertaining to at least valve 111 in Figs. 10-29].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Durrani to have wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a first control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be directed toward the interior condenser or the battery, and wherein the first control valve includes an inlet port communicating with an outlet of the compressor, a first outlet port communicating with the interior condenser, and a second outlet port communicating with an inlet of the warm-up line, in view of the teachings of alternative embodiments of Durrani [Fig. 10] where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to control the volume of refrigerant flow provides additional control for a system capable of heating and cooling mode, thereby providing further control and improving the system.
Furthermore, Gashi teaches a system for regulating thermal energy of an electric vehicle with an HVAC system [Fig. 1] comprising at least a compressor [4], a first expansion valve [8], a first heat exchanger [2], a second expansion valve [12], an evaporator [14], and a line [30] configured to deliver refrigerant to cool a battery [1] [¶ Fig. 1; 0005-0006, 0009]. Gashi further discloses a valve [18] disposed downstream of the first heat exchanger, wherein the valve may direct refrigerant towards the second expansion valve 12] or to the compressor [4] via valve [20]. Gashi teaches that this configuration provides a means of control to heat the cabin and the electrochemical generator when the vehicle is traveling [Fig. 3; ¶ 0025]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the second distribution line as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the second distribution line would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means of control to heat the cabin and the electrochemical generator when the vehicle is traveling [¶ 0025].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Durrani to have a second distribution line configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the exterior heat exchanger to be directed from the upstream side of the cooling side expansion valve to the compressor, in view of the teachings of Gashi, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means of control to heat the cabin and the electrochemical generator when the vehicle is traveling.
Regarding Claim 20, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 19 above and Durrani teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises an autonomous driving controller disposed on the second distribution line [¶ 51; Durrani discloses that the drivetrain cooler 16 may comprise of at least electrical and electronic components of the drive train, including control electronics. Therefore, the line comprising drivetrain chiller 15 is configured to cool the driving controller. Accordingly, when considering the combination of Durrani and Gashi, disposing a controller (electronic) requiring cooling may be considered an obvious deisgn choice regarding a mere rearrangement of parts, as shifting the position of the electronic does not appear to significantly modify the operation of the device. Furthermore, no criticality could be found in the specification supporting new or unexpected results. For example, referring to Gashi Fig. 6, at least rearranging the electronics 7 to be disposed between valves 18 and 20 would not appear to significantly modify the operation of the device. Therefore, it is within the technical grasp of one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate know configurations with the expectation of the same result (i.e. methods disclosed by Durrani to dispose the electronics for cooling on the second distribution line)].
Regarding Claim 21, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 10 above and Durrani teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem [Fig. 1] further comprises:
an expansion valve [8] located on an upstream side of the battery in the distribution line [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection, valve 8 is upstream member 9; ¶125-126], the expansion valve comprising:
an inlet port [port 3] communicating with the exterior heat exchanger [4] [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection];
an outlet port [port 2] communicating with the battery [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection], and
a bypass port [port 1] [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection line 13 is a bypass]; and
an upstream bypass line [13] configured to allow the refrigerant to be directed from the upstream side of the battery to a downstream side of the battery [Fig. 1; ¶ 126; apparent from inspection],
wherein the bypass port communicates with the upstream bypass line [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection].
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of embodiments of Durrani and further in view of Kim (US 20200180391 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Durrani teaches a vehicular thermal management system [Fig. 1], the system comprising:
a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) subsystem [Fig. 1] comprising:
a compressor [1; ¶ 119];
a heating-side expansion valve [3] disposed on a downstream side of the compressor [Fig. 1; ¶ 120];
an exterior heat exchanger [4] disposed on a downstream side of the heating-side expansion valve [Fig. 1; ¶ 122];
a cooling-side expansion valve [6] disposed on a downstream side of the exterior heat exchanger [Fig. 1; ¶ 122];
an evaporator [5] disposed on a downstream side of the cooling-side expansion valve [Fig. 1; ¶ 0122];
a distribution line [at least line with valve 8] configured to allow at least a portion of a refrigerant discharged from the exterior heat exchanger to be directed from an upstream side of the cooling-side expansion valve to the compressor [Fig. 1; ¶ 125]; and
a battery disposed comprising a refrigerant passage [battery chiller 9] [Fig. 1; ¶ 126; apparent from inspection];
a warm-up line [11] configured to allow the refrigerant to be directed from the downstream side of the compressor to the battery [Fig. 1; ¶ 124, 133; bypass 11 provides refrigerant from a downstream side the compressor to an upstream side of the batter];
an interior condenser [2] disposed between the compressor [1] and the heating-side expansion valve [3] [¶ 119; Fig. 1; apparent from inspection];
a refrigerant circulation path through which the refrigerant is circulatable [at least refrigerant piping connecting the outlet to the inlet of the compressor 1; Fig. 1; ¶ 126];
wherein the refrigerant passage is fluidly connected to the distribution line [Fig. 1; ¶ 125-126; battery chiller 9 is disposed at the meeting of battery cooling loop 22 and the refrigerant line containing valve 8].
The cited embodiment of Durrani does not explicitly teach wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a first control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be directed toward the interior condenser or the battery, and wherein the first control valve includes an inlet port communicating with an outlet of the compressor, a first outlet port communicating with the interior condenser, and a second outlet port communicating with an inlet of the warm-up line.
Also, while Durrani generally teaches the rest of the system as claimed (i.e. a power electronics cooling subsystem and a heat exchanger; see alternative rejection above), an alternative rejection may also further teach a power electronics cooling subsystem thermally connected to the HVAC, the power electronics cooling subsystem comprising a power electronics coolant circulation path through which a power electronics coolant circulates; and a heat exchanger thermally connecting the HVAC subsystem and the power electronics cooling, the heat exchanger comprising a first passage fluidly connected to the refrigerant circulation path and a second passage fluidly connected to the power electronics coolant circulation path.
An alternative embodiment of Durrani [Fig. 10] further discloses a diagram of a refrigeration system and heat pump arrangement with a refrigeration circuit [Fig. 10], wherein the refrigeration system is capable of operating in a cooling and a heat pump mode [¶ 20]. In this embodiment, Durrani discloses at least a plurality of control valves [110, 111, 112] downstream from the compressor, wherein the valves may be controlled to provide or prevent refrigerant flow towards the interior condenser, thereby also modifying the refrigerant flow towards the battery [See at least Figs. 11 and 14; ¶ 177, 217; each displaying a configuration controlling flow through valve 111 to the internal condenser]. Specifically, the combination of valves communicates with the outlet of compressor 1, valve 111 communicates with interior condenser 2, and port 112 communicates with line containing battery chiller 9, thus configured to allow refrigerant to be directed from the downstream side of the compressor to the battery [Fig. 10; apparent from inspection]. Durrani further teaches that the internal condenser serves to provide heat to the vehicle interior [¶ 22]. Therefore, expansion elements are utilized to change the volume flow of refrigerant, thereby providing means to further control the system depending on the desired operation (i.e. heating or cooling) [¶ 22, 28-29]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the control valve as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the control valve would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to control the volume of refrigerant flow provides additional control for a system capable of heating and cooling mode, thereby providing further control and improving the system [¶ 22, 28-29; also see Pressure-Enthalpy diagrams pertaining to at least valve 111 in Figs. 10-29].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Durrani to have wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a first control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the compressor to be directed toward the interior condenser or the battery, and wherein the first control valve includes an inlet port communicating with an outlet of the compressor, a first outlet port communicating with the interior condenser, and a second outlet port communicating with an inlet of the warm-up line, in view of the teachings of alternative embodiments of Durrani [Fig. 10] where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to control the volume of refrigerant flow provides additional control for a system capable of heating and cooling mode, thereby providing further control and improving the system.
Furthermore, Kim teaches a heat pump system for vehicles [Fig. 1] comprising a compressor [59] a first expansion valve [66] a first heat exchanger [56] a second expansion valve [57], an evaporator [58], as well as a line configured to direct refrigerant towards a battery chiller [70] via a valve [74] [Fig. 1; ¶ 0108, 0115-0124]. Kim further teaches a power electronics cooling system [10] comprising a coolant path [11] thermally connected to the refrigerant path via a heat exchanger [54], the heat exchanger comprising at least a first path with the refrigerant line [51] and a second path from the coolant path [11] [Fig. 1; ¶ 0105-0113]. Kim teaches that this configuration provides a known means of exchanging heat with the coolant configured to cool a device, and the refrigeration system, thereby lowering the temperature of the refrigerant and increasing the condensation or evaporation amount [¶ 0110-0113]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the electronics cooling system and heat exchanger as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the electronics cooling system and heat exchanger would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a known means of exchanging heat with the coolant configured to cool a device, and the refrigeration system, thereby lowering the temperature of the refrigerant and increasing the condensation or evaporation amount, thus improving the system [¶ 0110-0113].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Durrani to have a power electronics cooling subsystem thermally connected to the HVAC, the power electronics cooling subsystem comprising a power electronics coolant circulation path through which a power electronics coolant circulates; and a heat exchanger thermally connecting the HVAC subsystem and the power electronics cooling, the heat exchanger comprising a first passage fluidly connected to the refrigerant circulation path and a second passage fluidly connected to the power electronics coolant circulation path, in view of the teachings of Kim, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a known means of exchanging heat with the coolant configured to cool a device, and the refrigeration system, thereby lowering the temperature of the refrigerant and increasing the condensation or evaporation amount, thus improving the system.
Regarding Claim 13, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 12 above and Kim teaches wherein the first passage of the heat exchanger [Fig. 1; path 51 flowing through 54] is fluidly connected to the refrigerant circulation path between the heating-side expansion valve [66] and the exterior heat exchanger [56] [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection].
Regarding Claim 14, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 12 above and Kim teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a heat exchanger bypass [64] line configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the heating-side expansion valve [66] to be directed from an upstream side of the first passage of the heat exchanger to a downstream side of the first passage of the heat exchanger [Fig. 1; ¶ 0129-0131; apparent from inspection; path 64 directs refrigerant to a position downstream of downstream side of heat exchanger 54].
Regarding Claim 15, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 12 above and Kim teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a dehumidification bypass line [64] configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the heating-side expansion valve to be directed from an upstream side of the first passage of the heat exchanger to the evaporator [Fig. 1; ¶ 0129-0131; apparent from inspection; path 64 directs refrigerant to a towards an upstream side of heat exchanger 58].
Regarding Claim 16, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 12 above and Kim teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a second control valve [V4] configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the heating-side expansion valve to be directed toward the evaporator, the first passage of the heat exchanger, or a downstream side of the first passage of the heat exchanger [Fig. 1; ¶ 0129-0134; valve V4 controls flow of refrigerant along line 64, therefore providing a means of controlling refrigerant towards heat exchanger 54, or towards a downstream position of the first passage and heat exchanger 58].
Regarding Claim 17, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 12 above and Kim teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a heating-side bypass line [62] configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the first passage of the heat exchanger to be directed to the compressor [Fig. 1; ¶ 0126-0131; refrigerant may through line 62 via valve V3].
Regarding Claim 18, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 12 above and Kim teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises a third control valve [V3] configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the first passage of the heat exchanger to be directed toward the exterior heat exchanger [56] or the compressor [59] [Fig. 1; ¶ 0126-0131; refrigerant may through line 62 via valve V3, wherein flow volume through V3 necessarily affects flow volume through heat exchanger 56].
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of embodiments of Durrani, and Gashi as in claim 21 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20220349627 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 22, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 21 above and Gashi teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises:
a downstream bypass line [26] connected to the second control valve [38] and configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the battery to be directed to the heating-side expansion valve [¶ 0025; Fig. 1; conduit 26 is directed towards expansion orifice 8];
Gashi does not explicitly teach a third line extending from the heating-side expansion valve to a heat exchanger; a branch line branching off from the third line between the heating-side expansion valve and the heat exchanger and connecting to a third control valve; and a heat exchanger bypass line branching off from the third control valve and configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the heating-side expansion valve to bypass the heat exchanger.
However, Lee teaches a heat management system [Fig. 1], comprising a compressor [210], a condenser [220], a first expansion valve [225], an air cooled condenser [230], and an evaporator [242] [Fig. 1; ¶ 0009]. Lee teaches a branch line connecting the first expansion valve [252] to the air cooled heat exchanger [230], as well as a bypass line [232], wherein refrigerant may bypass the heat exchanger from the first expansion valve [¶ 0050]. A check valve [231], is also disposed at the end of the bypass line to control the flow from flowing backwards towards the heat exchanger, and serves in combination with the first expansion valve to control the flow of refrigerant [¶ 0049-0050]. Lee teaches that in winter heating mode, the heat exchanger absorbing heat may cause icing on the heat exchanger, therefore bypassing the heat exchanger may help to reduce icing, as well as reducing the heating performance loss due to heat dissipation [¶ 0101]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have conduit configuration as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the conduit configuration would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to reduce icing in the winter and to reduce heating performance loss due to heat dissipation [¶ 0101].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Durrani to have a third line extending from the heating-side expansion valve to a heat exchanger; a branch line branching off from the third line between the heating-side expansion valve and the heat exchanger and connecting to a third control valve; and a heat exchanger bypass line branching off from the third control valve and configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the heating-side expansion valve to bypass the heat exchanger, in view of the teachings of Lee, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to reduce icing in the winter and to reduce heating performance loss due to heat dissipation.
Regarding Claim 23, Durrani, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 22 above and Lee teaches wherein the HVAC subsystem further comprises:
a fourth control valve [241] disposed at a point where a heating-side bypass line [232] and the third line are connected [Fig. 1; ¶ 0051; 241 is downstream the junction of conduit 232 and the conduit with 231], the fourth control valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the heat exchanger to be directed toward the exterior heat exchanger or the compressor [¶ 0051; from branch portion 241, refrigerant may flow towards either evaporator 242 or chiller 252, then towards the compressor 210]; and
a switching valve [combination of valves 240 and 251] at a point where a bypass line and the third line are connected [directly downstream thereof], the switching valve configured to allow the refrigerant discharged from the heating-side expansion valve to selectively bypass the exterior heat exchanger through the bypass line or pass through the exterior heat exchanger [¶ 0052-0054; the combination of valves 240 and 251 serve to throttle, pass, or block refrigerant from flowing through the evaporator and/or the chiller towards the compressor]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 12 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Therefore, the claims and all claims depending therefrom currently remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763