DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 12, 13 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoo et al (US 2019/0330005 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoo discloses
a note bundle deposit system, i.e., banknote storage apparatus (10), as illustrated in figure 1, comprising:
a cassette, i.e., banknote storage mechanism (32) as illustrated in figure 1, including a hollow interior configured to receive note bundles, as illustrated in figure 7, the cassette (32) including an opening extending from a base of the cassette (32), as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and 7, for example;
a platform, i.e., stages (40, 40a, 40b), as illustrated in figures 1-3, for example, capable of being linearly driven in opposing directions along a path, i.e., vertically up and down, as illustrated in figure 1 and in figure 2, noting the bidirectional arrows near (40a, 40b), such that the platform (40, 40a, 40b) moves within the opening of the cassette (32), the platform (40, 40a, 40b) including a top surface configured to support the note bundles (B) as mentioned at paragraph 108 and as illustrated in figure 7;
at least one sensor, i.e., upper end detecting sensor (76), lower end detecting sensor (78) and stage position detecting sensor (79) which include first sensor (79a) and second sensor (79b), as mentioned at paragraphs 52, 53, 94, 95 and 109 and as illustrated in figures 2, 8 and 11, for example, configured to detect a drop distance of the note bundles, the drop distance defining
(i) a distance between the at least one sensor (76, 78, 79, 79a, 79b) and the top surface of the platform (40, 40a, 40b) for a first note bundle (B) introduced into the cassette (32), and
(ii) a distance between the at least one sensor (76, 78, 79, 79a, 79b) and a top surface of an uppermost note bundle supported by the platform (40, 40a, 40b) for all subsequent note bundles introduced into the cassette (32), as mentioned at paragraphs 106-109, for example; and
a controller, i.e., control section (80), as illustrated in figure 11, in communication with the at least one sensor (76, 78, 79, 79a, 79b) to receive the detected drop distance and adjust a position of the platform (40, 40a, 40b) along the path such that the drop distance is substantially equal for each note bundle introduced into the cassette (32), as mentioned at paragraphs 106-109. See paragraphs 52, 53, 94, 95 and 106-109, as follows.
[0052] The banknote storage mechanism 32 comprises a stage position detecting sensor 79 that detects a vertical position of the stage members 40a, 40b. The stage position detecting sensor 79 comprises a first sensor 79a and a second sensor 79b.
[0053] When the stage members 40a, 40b are located at a first position that is a lower end of a movable range of the stage members 40a, 40b, the first sensor 79a detects the detected sections mounted on the stage members 40a, 40b. When the stage members 40a, 40b are located at a second position that is above the first position by a predetermined distance, the second sensor 79b detects the respective detected sections mounted on the stage members 40a, 40b. When the stage members 40a, 40b are lowered to the first position, the control section 80 (refer to FIG. 11) determines that the banknotes stored in the banknote storage bag 34 are brought into a full state. When the stage members 40a, 40b are lowered to the second position, the control section 80 determines that the banknotes stored in the banknote storage bag 34 is brought into a nearly full state. The control section 80 may determine that the banknote storage bag 34 is brought into the full state at a time point when the stage members 40a, 40b are lowered to the second position.
[0094] The control section 80 is connected to the banknote feeding mechanism 20a provided in the inlet section 20, and a stacking wheel driving section 22b for driving the stacking wheel 22a provided in the ejection section 22, the transport unit 24, the diversion transport units 25, the recognition unit 26, and the storing/feeding unit 30. The control section 80 is connected to the banknote storage mechanisms 32. The banknote storage mechanisms 32 each have the slide mechanism 37, the first heating members 38, the one-side displacement lever driving section 39a, the stage driving section 41, the second heating members 42, the temporary storage amount detecting sensor 47, the stepper motor 54, the upper-end detecting sensor 76, the lower-end detecting sensor 78, the stage position detecting sensor 79, and the banknote sending-out section 48.
[0095] Information of a recognition result of each banknote by the recognition unit 26, and detection information by the temporary storage amount detecting sensor 47, the upper-end detecting sensor 76, the lower-end detecting sensor 78 and the stage position detecting sensor 79 are transmitted to the control section 80. The control section 80 controls the respective sections composing the banknote storage apparatus 10 on the basis of these pieces of information.
[0106] When the banknote bundle B composed of, a predetermined number of, for example, 100 sheets of the banknotes are accumulated on the pair of temporary storage sections 44, the stepper motor 54 rotates. Then, each temporary storage section 44 rotates around the shaft 44a downward (that is, in the arrow directions in FIG. 2). Accordingly, the banknote bundle B on the pair of temporary storage sections 44 falls by its own weight while keeping a vertically accumulated state, and is stored in the banknote storage bag 34. In a case in which a banknote bundle B already stored in the banknote storage bag 34 exists, the banknote bundle B accumulated on the pair of temporary storage sections 44 falls on the banknote bundle B.
[0107] When the stepper motor 54 rotates, the pantograph 50 extends downward, and the press-in plate 46 moves downward. Accordingly, when the banknote bundle B temporarily stored on the pair of temporary storage sections 44 falls and is stored in the banknote storage bag 34, the press-in plate 46 can press an upper surface of the banknote bundle B, and maintain a stacked state of the banknote bundle B. Even when a part of the banknotes remain on the temporary storage sections 44, the banknotes are pressed into the banknote storage bag 34 by the press-in plate 46.
[0108] When the banknote bundle B moves from the temporary storage sections 44 into the banknote storage bag 34, the stage members 40a, 40b are moved downward by the stage driving section 41 by a stacked height amount of the banknote bundle B that moves. Then, the press-in plate 46 moves to an upper end in the movable range, that is, a standby position. Accordingly, a space for storing a banknote bundle B that moves from the temporary storage sections 44 into the banknote storage bag 34 next is formed in the banknote storage bag 34, specifically, above the banknote bundle B stacked in the banknote storage bag 34.
[0109] Until the banknote storage bag 34 is brought into the full state or the nearly full state, accumulation of banknotes onto the temporary storage sections 44, and storage of banknotes into the banknote storage bag 34 by the banknote storage mechanisms 32 can be repeated. The stage position detecting sensor 79 detects that the stage members 40a, 40b reaches the first position or the second position, so that it is detected that the banknote storage bag 34 is brought into the full state or the nearly full state.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 2, Yokoo discloses wherein the cassette (32) includes a top section and two support sections extending from the top section, as illustrated in annotated figure 2, as follows.
Regarding Claim 3, Yokoo discloses wherein the two support sections are spaced from each other by the opening extending from the base of the cassette, noting that the two support sections open up from the base of the cassette, as illustrated in figure 2, above.
Regarding Claim 4, Yokoo discloses, wherein cassette includes a top section with an inclined ramp configured to engage with the note bundles falling into the cassette, as illustrated in annotated figure 2, as follows.
Regarding Claim 9, Yokoo discloses wherein the platform, i.e., stages (40, 40a, 40b), as illustrated in figures 1-3, for example, is capable of being linearly driven to a lowermost position of the path such that the platform is disposed below a plane defined by the base of the cassette, as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and 7, for example.
Regarding Claim 12, Yokoo discloses wherein the at least one sensor (76, 78, 79, 79a, 79b) includes a first sensor (76, 79a) and a second sensor (78, 79b) spaced from each other, both the first (76, 79a) and second (78, 79b) sensors each configured to detect the drop distance, as illustrated in figures 2 and 8, for example.
Regarding Claim 13, Yokoo discloses wherein the controller (80) is configured to detect a discrepancy between the drop distance detected by the first sensor (76, 79a) and the drop distance detected by the second sensor (78, 79b), as mentioned at paragraphs 106-109, for example and as illustrated in figures 2 and 8.
Regarding Claim 15, see the rejection of Claim 1, noting that Yokoo discloses
a safe, comprising: an upper compartment, i.e., upper unit (14), as illustrated in figure 1, configured to receive a validator, i.e., recogntiont unit (26), as illustrated in figure 1, therein; a lower compartment, i.e., lower unit (16), as illustrated in figure 1, disposed beneath the upper compartment (14) and separated from the upper compartment by a shelf, the shelf including an opening, i.e., banknote sending out section (48), formed therein and configured to be aligned with the validator (26), i.e., interpreted to mean aligned via the transport unit (24); a note bundle deposit system disposed within the lower compartment, as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, for example.
Regarding Claim 16, see the rejection of Claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 17, see the rejection of Claim 9, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoo et al (US 2019/0330005 A1).
Regarding Claims 5, 7 and 8, Yokoo teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 5, Yokoo does not expressly teach wherein the inclined ramp extends at an angle of about 45° relative to horizontal.
Regarding Claim 5, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious as a matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen the angle of the inclined ramps to be 45 degrees relative to the horizontal as Applicant provides no criticality to this angle over other degrees of angle, and Yokoo teaches the inclined ramp of figure 2 is angled.
Regarding Claim 7, Yokoo does not expressly teach wherein the drop distance is between about 2.5 inches to about 3.5 inches, inclusive.
Regarding Claim 7, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious as a matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen the drop distance is between about 2.5 inches to about 3.5 inches, inclusive as Applicant provides no criticality to this range of distance over other distances, and Yokoo teaches a drop distance as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and 7, for example.
Regarding Claim 8, see the rejection of Claim 7, above.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoo et al (US 2019/0330005 A1) in view of Mattheeussen et al (US 10,765,272 B2).
Regarding Claim 6, Yokoo teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 6, Yokoo does not expressly teach wherein the inclined ramp includes a textured surface for frictional engagement with the note bundles falling into the cassette.
Regarding Claim 6, Yokoo does not expressly teach, but Mattheeussen teaches wherein the inclined ramp, i.e., engagement surface (420), as illustrated in figure 4f, for example, includes a textured surface for frictional engagement with the note bundles falling into the cassette, as mentioned at col. 20, lines 27-41.
Regarding Claim 6, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the inclined ramp includes a textured surface for frictional engagement with the note bundles falling into the cassette, as taught by Mattheeussen, in Yokoo’s banknote handling system’s inclined ramp for the purpose of better directed banknotes into the cassette for forming bundles.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoo et al (US 2019/0330005 A1) in view of Ashiwal et al (US 11,555,792 B2).
Regarding Claim 14, Yokoo teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 14, Yokoo does not expressly teach wherein the at least one sensor includes a Lidar sensor.
Regarding Claim 14, Yokoo does not expressly teach, but Ashiwal teaches wherein the at least one sensor includes a Lidar sensor, as mentioned at col. 20, lines 45-52.
Regarding Claim 14, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted a lidar sensor for the at least one sensor, i.e., wherein the at least one sensor includes a Lidar sensor, as taught by Ashiwal, in Yokoo’s banknote handling system for the purpose of detecting the depth of banknote bundles using an alternative sensor equally capable of detecting depth.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akamatsu ‘788 is cited as teaching a banknote storing device (1) which forms banknote bundles (P) for release by gate (10) so that they are dispensed to storing box (70), as illustrated in figures 1-3, for example.
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
July 24, 2026