DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on 10/13/2023 and 12/02/2025 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 forms).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE [US 2017/0043217 A1].
Regarding claim 1, LEE teaches a wearable electronic device (wearable device - 0032), comprising:
an acceleration sensor (acceleration sensor - 0034); and at least one processor configured to:
obtain acceleration data via the acceleration sensor (sense a movement state – 0034);
identify that a user of the wearable electronic device is doing a jump rope exercise based on at least a portion of the acceleration data (senses a motion of a user – 0073) (a user jumps rope - 0076);
identify at least one of a time of staying in the air or a time of contacting a ground (rest state – 0074) (time in the middle of the jump rope - 0080) based on the acceleration data; and
output guide information (guide signal – 0080) about the jump rope exercise based on at least one of the time of staying in the air or the time of contacting the ground (outputting the guide signal - 0074) (figures 8 and 9 – 0075-0076).
Regarding claim 2, LEE teaches a gyro sensor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
obtain gyro data via the gyro sensor (gyro sensor - 0034); and
identify that the user of the wearable electronic device is doing the jump rope exercise based on the gyro data and the acceleration data (senses motion of user - 0073) (senses a motion of a user – 0073) (a user jumps rope - 0076).
Regarding claim 10, LEE teaches the at least one processor is configured to: based on the acceleration data, identify at least one of a required time of the jump rope exercise, a number of jump ropes of the jump rope exercise, a number of jump ropes per minute (cadence) of the jump rope exercise, a maximum impact amount of the jump rope exercise, a left/right balance of the jump rope exercise, or isokineticity of the jump rope exercise (jump rope is set as 600 times for 5 minutes, speed per minute of the jump rope – 0077); and
output at least one of the required time of the jump rope exercise, the number of jump ropes of the jump rope exercise, the number of jump ropes per minute (cadence) of the jump rope exercise, the maximum impact amount of the jump rope exercise, the left/right balance of the jump rope exercise, or the isokineticity of the jump rope exercise (displays an exercise target – 0077) (output period of guide signal; display the updating result – 0079).
Regarding claim 11, LEE teaches the at least one processor is configured to perform, in response to the time of staying in the air exceeding a first threshold (critical time – 0074), at least one of outputting first guide information or outputting second guide information indicating the time of contacting the ground (outputting guide signal – 0074).
Regarding claim 12, LEE teaches the at least one processor is configured to: identify a maximum impact amount of the jump rope exercise based on the acceleration data; and output third guide information in response to the maximum impact amount of the jump rope exercise exceeding a second threshold (predetermined time, exercise target, target motion umber – 0079).
Regarding claim 13, LEE teaches the guide information includes a score (exercise target – 0060, 0062, 0077, 0078)) corresponding to the jump rope exercise.
Regarding claim 14, LEE teaches a method performed (a method of outputting an exercise guide - figure 7 - 0072) by a wearable electronic device (wearable device - 0032), the method comprising:
obtaining acceleration data (acceleration sensor; sense a movement state – 0034);
identifying that a user of the wearable electronic device is doing a jump rope exercise based on at least a portion of the acceleration data senses a motion of a user – 0073) (a user jumps rope - 0076);
identifying at least one of a time of staying in the air or a time of contacting a ground based on the acceleration data (rest state – 0074) (time in the middle of the jump rope - 0080); and
outputting guide information (guide signal – 0080) about the jump rope exercise based on at least one of the time of staying in the air or the time of contacting the ground (outputting the guide signal - 0074) (figures 8 and 9 – 0075-0076).
Regarding claim 15, LEE teaches obtaining gyro data (gyro sensor - 0034); and identifying that the user of the wearable electronic device is doing the jump rope exercise based on the gyro data and the acceleration data (senses motion of user - 0073) (senses a motion of a user – 0073) (a user jumps rope - 0076).
Regarding claim 19, LEE teaches based on the acceleration data, identifying at least one of a required time of the jump rope exercise, a number of jump ropes of the jump rope exercise, a number of jump ropes per minute (cadence) of the jump rope exercise, a maximum impact amount of the jump rope exercise, a left/right balance of the jump rope exercise, or isokineticity of the jump rope exercise (jump rope is set as 600 times for 5 minutes, speed per minute of the jump rope – 0077); and
outputting at least one of the required time of the jump rope exercise, the number of jump ropes of the jump rope exercise, the number of jump ropes per minute (cadence) of the jump rope exercise, the maximum impact amount of the jump rope exercise, the left/right balance of the jump rope exercise, or the isokineticity of the jump rope exercise (displays an exercise target – 0077) (output period of guide signal; display the updating result – 0079).
Regarding claim 20, LEE teaches wherein the outputting guide information includes, performing, in response to the time of staying in the air exceeding a first threshold (critical time – 0074), at least one of outputting first guide information or outputting second guide information indicating the time of contacting the ground (outputting guide signal – 0074).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 3 is objected to because the closest prior art, LEE [US 2017/0043217 A1], fails to anticipate or render obvious identify a type of the jump rope exercise based on a classification model identified based on machine learning, the gyro data, and the acceleration data, in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by applicant.
Claim 16 is objected to because the closest prior art, LEE [US 2017/0043217 A1], fails to anticipate or render obvious identifying a type of the jump rope exercise based on a classification model identified based on machine learning, the gyro data, and the acceleration data, in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by applicant.
Relevant Prior Art / Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reddy (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0169474 A1) discloses a smart performance footwear and system for counting jump rope swings;
KIM et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0081625) discloses a method and apparatus for processing sensor data for monitoring exercise information.
/RICKY GO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857