Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites “step of detecting detect a human connection” which seems to be grammatically incorrect; a suggested edit is “step of detecting .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11-14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 20180296143 A1; 10/18/2018).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson teaches a wearable device ([0041]), comprising:
a case ([0041]; inherent in wearable device);
at least one sensor at least partially disposed in the case and configured to detect health data of a user ([0012]; [0041]; [0036]); and
at least one processor in communication with the at least one sensor (Fig. 2), the at least one processor configured to receive the health data and transmit a communication to initiate a response from at least one predetermined contact based upon the health data (Fig. 2-3B; [0029] “intervention steps”; [00890] “predetermined contacts…provide a prompt for them to respond”).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to utilize at least one algorithm parameter to determine an occurrence of an abnormal health event (Fig. 3A; Fig. 3C; Fig. 4; [0013]-[0015]; [0029] “Trend analysis”).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson teaches wherein the at least one algorithm parameter is based upon a predisposition of a user (Fig. 3A; Fig. 3C; Fig. 4; [0071]-[0072]; [0075]-[0076]; [0084]).
Regarding claim 4, Anderson teaches wherein the at least one processor is in communication with at least one storage device configured to store at least one of the health data, the at least one algorithm parameter, and personal information of the at least one predetermined contact (Fig. 2; Fig. 4; Fig. 5E; [0043]; [0111]).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson teaches wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect the health data at one or more of a predetermined frequency ([0077]), a customizable frequency ([0077]), and on demand ([0084]; [0061]; inherent for wearable device such as activity tracker, blood pressure monitor, or hear rate monitor).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to generate at least one alert communication via an input and output system of the wearable device during an occurrence of an abnormal health (Fig. 2; Fig. 6A-6B; [0037] “display”; [0040]; [0041]; [0079]).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson teaches a graphical user interface in communication with the at least one processor and an input and output system of the wearable device (Fig. 2; Fig. 6A-6B; [0037] “display”; [0040]; [0041]; [0079]).
Regarding claim 11, Anderson teaches a method of initiating a response, comprising steps of:
providing a wearable device including at least one sensor and at least one processor (Fig. 2-3B; [0041]);
detecting health data of a user via the at least one sensor (Fig. 2-3B; [0041]); and
transmitting a communication to initiate a response from at least one predetermined contact based upon the health data (Fig. 2-3B; [0029] “intervention steps”; [00890] “predetermined contacts…provide a prompt for them to respond”).
Regarding claim 12, Anderson teaches the step of determining, via the at least one processor, an occurrence of an abnormal health event using at least one algorithm parameter (Fig. 3A; Fig. 3C; Fig. 4; [0013]-[0015]; [0029] “Trend analysis”).
Regarding claim 13, Anderson teaches wherein the at least one algorithm parameter is based upon a predisposition of a user (Fig. 3A; Fig. 3C; Fig. 4; [0071]-[0072]; [0075]-[0076]; [0084]).
Regarding claim 14, Anderson teaches the step of storing at least one of the health data, at least one algorithm parameter, and personal information of the at least one predetermined contact (Fig. 2; Fig. 4; Fig. 5E; [0043]; [0111]).
Regarding claim 16, Anderson teaches wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect the health data at one or more of a predetermined frequency ([0077]), a customizable frequency ([0077]), and on demand ([0084]; [0061]; inherent for wearable device such as activity tracker, blood pressure monitor, or hear rate monitor).
Regarding claim 17, Anderson teaches the step of outputting at least one alert communication via an input and output system of the wearable device during an occurrence of an abnormal health event (Fig. 2; Fig. 6A-6B; [0037] “display”; [0040]; [0041]; [0079]).
Regarding claim 18, Anderson teaches wherein the wearable device further includes a graphical user interface in communication with the at least one processor and an input and output system of the wearable device (Fig. 2; Fig. 6A-6B; [0037] “display”; [0040]; [0041]; [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson as applied to claim(s) 2, 11 above, in view of Fernando (US 20200390402 A1; 12/17/2020).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson does not teach wherein the wearable device is configured to use machine learning to at least one of generate and adjust the at least one algorithm parameter. However, Fernando teaches in the same field of endeavor ([0018]) wherein the wearable device is configured to use machine learning to at least one of generate and adjust the at least one algorithm parameter ([0030]; [0047]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Anderson to include this feature as taught by Fernando because this enables identifying and detecting patterns based on previous history ([0047]).
Regarding claim 15, Anderson does not teach the step of using machine learning to at least one of generate and adjust at least one algorithm parameter. However, Fernando teaches in the same field of endeavor ([0018]) the step of using machine learning to at least one of generate and adjust at least one algorithm parameter ([0030]; [0047]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Anderson to include this feature as taught by Fernando because this enables identifying and detecting patterns based on previous history ([0047]).
Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson as applied to claim(s) 1, 11 above, in view of Kamath (US 20190132801 A1; 5/2/2019).
Regarding claim 9, Anderson does not teach wherein the communication transmitted by the at least one processor is configured to bypass at least one setting of an electronic device of the at least one predetermined contact. However, Kamath teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1-2A; [0506]-[0508]) wherein the communication transmitted by the at least one processor is configured to bypass at least one setting of an electronic device of the at least one predetermined contact ([0508]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Anderson to include this feature as taught by Kamath because this enables emergency alert as needed ([0508]).
Regarding claim 19, Anderson does not teach wherein the communication transmitted by the at least one processor is configured to bypass at least one setting of an electronic device of the at least one predetermined contact. However, Kamath teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1-2A; [0506]-[0508]) wherein the communication transmitted by the at least one processor is configured to bypass at least one setting of an electronic device of the at least one predetermined contact ([0508]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Anderson to include this feature as taught by Kamath because this enables emergency alert as needed ([0508]).
Claim(s) 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson as applied to claim(s) 1, 11 above, in view of Rajasekhar (US 20200135334 A1; 4/30/2020).
Regarding claim 10, Anderson does not teach wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect a human connection. Note that Anderson teaches using touch for control ([0056]). However, Rajasekhar teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1A; Fig. 10) wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect a human connection ([0106]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Anderson to include this feature as taught by Rajasekhar because this enables patient control of the sensing (Fig. 3A-3B; [0106]).
Regarding claim 20, Anderson does not teach the step of detecting detect a human connection using the at least one sensor. However, Rajasekhar teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; Fig. 1A; Fig. 10) the step of detecting detect a human connection using the at least one sensor ([0106]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Anderson to include this feature as taught by Rajasekhar because this enables patient control of the sensing (Fig. 3A-3B; [0106]).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN T KUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792