Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 02/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-12 and 16-20 are currently pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed 02/03/2026, with respect to the claims 1-3, 5-12 and 16-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states "…Applicants would like to thank the Examiner for indicating that Claims 3, 5-6 and 14 are would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 4 has been added to claim 1 to place claim 1 and all claims that depend from it into allowable condition…". Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The action of adding Claim 4 to claim 1 won’t place claim 1 and all claims that depend from it into allowable condition since Examiner ONLY indicated that Claims 3, 5-6 and 14 are would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims in the non-final office action mailed 11/3/2025.
As stated in the rejection of claim 4 in in the non-final office action mailed 11/3/2025 and the rejection of amended claim 1 below, Akiba teaches the actuator (the actuator corresponding to the drive portion 32 in Picture 1, Fig. 4A-5B) is configured to rotate the sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) about a rotational axis (the axis of corresponding to the rotational axis of 31/13a in Fig. 4A-5B), wherein the rotational axis (the axis of corresponding to the rotational axis of 31/13a in Fig. 4A-5B) is parallel with (Picture 1) the central axis (C1 in Picture 1, Fig. 4A).
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 4, " with an edge of the first circular cross-section " should read - - with an edge of the first circular cross-section. - - (Examiner notes: period is missed)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiba (US 6334718, 1st interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, Akiba teaches a movable sunshade system (Fig. 1-10, Col. 1-8) comprising:
a baffle (18 in Picture 1, Fig. 4A-5B) extending along a central axis (C1 in Picture 1, Fig. 4A) of an entrance pupil (Fig. 4A) of a lens (the taking lens 12 in Fig. 4A), wherein the baffle (18 in Picture 1) includes a first end (the end corresponding to E1 in Picture 1) shaped to extend around the entrance pupil (Fig. 4A, Picture 1);
a sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) movably connected (Fig. 4A-5B) to the baffle (18 in Picture 1), wherein the sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) comprises a first portion (P1 in Picture 1) shaped to cover a portion (Fig. 5A-5B, Picture 1, Fig. 4A) of the baffle (18 in Picture 1) that is spaced from (Picture 1, Fig. 4A-5B) the first end of the baffle (the end corresponding to E1 in Picture 1), wherein the sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) includes a second portion (P2 in Picture 1 which is corresponding to the opening 4 in Fig. 4A and 5A-5B) that extends from the first portion (P1 in Picture 1); and
an actuator (the actuator corresponding to the drive portion 32 in Picture 1, Fig. 4A-5B) configured to move at least one of the baffle or the sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) to selectively cover portions of a field of view (FOV) of the entrance pupil (Fig. 4A, Fig. 8 and Fig. 10, Examiner notes);
wherein the actuator (the actuator corresponding to the drive portion 32 in Picture 1, Fig. 4A-5B) is configured to rotate the sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) about a rotational axis (the axis of corresponding to the rotational axis of 31/13a in Fig. 4A-5B), wherein the rotational axis (the axis of corresponding to the rotational axis of 31/13a in Fig. 4A-5B) is parallel with (Picture 1) the central axis (C1 in Picture 1, Fig. 4A).
Examiner notes: (a) since Akiba teaches that the drive portion 32 can selectively move the lens barrier 13 between (a1) the lens barrier 13 is open and uncovering the FOV of the entrance pupil for the lens 12 as shown in Fig. 8 and (a2) the lens barrier 13 is close and covering the FOV of the entrance pupil for the lens 12 as shown in Fig. 10, Akiba teaches that the actuator (the drive portion 32) is configured to move the sunshade (the lens barrier 13) to selectively cover all portions of a field of view (FOV) of the entrance pupil by the selectively operation of the lens barrier 13 between open and close. (b) As shown in the Fig. 6 and Fig. 10, since Akiba teaches the drive portion 32 is configured to close the lens barrier 13 under the drive pulse X3, which has multiple steps W3 in a pulse cycle T as shown in Fig. 6, Akiba teaches that the actuator (the drive portion 32) is configured to (and be able to) selectively rotate the baffle (the ring gear 18) and move the sunshade (the lens barrier 13) to selectively cover some portions of a field of view (FOV) of the entrance pupil by the selectively operation of one or more steps of W3 in a pulse cycle T as shown in Fig. 6.
Picture 1, from Fig. 4A-4B of Akiba (US 6334718)
Regarding claims 7-8, Akiba also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 7) a cross-sectional area of the second portion (P2 in Picture 1 which is corresponding to the opening 4 in Fig. 4A and 5A-5B) is based on a predetermined threshold exclusion zone of the entrance pupil (Fig. 4A-5B, a predetermined threshold exclusion zone of the entrance pupil can be all of the area of the entrance pupil which is excluded from the 13 when the 13 is fully opened).
(Claim 8) the first portion (P1 in Picture 1) is shaped to cover (P1 cover a portion of E3 in Picture 1) a second end (the end corresponding to E2 in Picture 1) of the baffle that is opposite the first end (the end corresponding to E1 in Picture 1).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiba (US 6334718, 2nd interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, Akiba teaches a movable sunshade system (Fig. 1-10, Col. 1-8) comprising:
a baffle (18 in Picture 2, Fig. 4A-5B) extending along a central axis (C1 in Picture 2, Fig. 4A) of an entrance pupil (Fig. 4A) of a lens (the taking lens 12 in Fig. 4A), wherein the baffle (18 in Picture 2) includes a first end (the end corresponding to E1 in Picture 2) shaped to extend around the entrance pupil (Fig. 4A, Picture 2);
a sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) movably connected (Fig. 4A-5B) to the baffle (18 in Picture 2), wherein the sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) comprises a first portion (F1 in Picture 2) shaped to cover a portion (Fig. 5A-5B, Picture 2, Fig. 4A) of the baffle (18 in Picture 2) that is spaced from (Picture 2, Fig. 4A-5B) the first end of the baffle (the end corresponding to E1 in Picture 2), wherein the sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) includes a second portion (F2 in Picture 2) that extends from the first portion (F1 in Picture 2); and
an actuator (the actuator corresponding to the drive portion 32 in Picture 2, Fig. 4A-5B) configured to move at least one of the baffle or the sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) to selectively cover portions of a field of view (FOV) of the entrance pupil (Fig. 4A, Fig. 8 and Fig. 10, Examiner notes),
wherein the actuator (the actuator corresponding to the drive portion 32 in Picture 1, Fig. 4A-5B) is configured to rotate the sunshade (the lens barrier 13 in Fig. 4A-5B) about a rotational axis (the axis of corresponding to the rotational axis of 31/13a in Fig. 4A-5B), wherein the rotational axis (the axis of corresponding to the rotational axis of 31/13a in Fig. 4A-5B) is parallel with (Picture 1) the central axis (C1 in Picture 1, Fig. 4A).
Examiner notes: (a) since Akiba teaches that the drive portion 32 can selectively move the lens barrier 13 between (a1) the lens barrier 13 is open and uncovering the FOV of the entrance pupil for the lens 12 as shown in Fig. 8 and (a2) the lens barrier 13 is close and covering the FOV of the entrance pupil for the lens 12 as shown in Fig. 10, Akiba teaches that the actuator (the drive portion 32) is configured to move the sunshade (the lens barrier 13) to selectively cover all portions of a field of view (FOV) of the entrance pupil by the selectively operation of the lens barrier 13 between open and close. (b) As shown in the Fig. 6 and Fig. 10, since Akiba teaches the drive portion 32 is configured to close the lens barrier 13 under the drive pulse X3, which has multiple steps W3 in a pulse cycle T as shown in Fig. 6, Akiba teaches that the actuator (the drive portion 32) is configured to (and be able to) selectively rotate the baffle (the ring gear 18) and move the sunshade (the lens barrier 13) to selectively cover some portions of a field of view (FOV) of the entrance pupil by the selectively operation of one or more steps of W3 in a pulse cycle T as shown in Fig. 6.
Picture 2, from Fig. 4A-4B of Akiba (US 6334718)
Regarding claim 2, Akiba also teaches the following elements:
(Claims 2 and 17) the first portion (F1 in Picture 2) has a larger cross-sectional area (Picture 2) than a cross-sectional area of the second portion (F2 in Picture 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba (1st interpretation) as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Boku (JPH10126660A) and Park (US 2008/0212958).
Regarding claim 9, Akiba does not teach the following elements.
Boku teaches the following elements (Fig. 2-9, Pages 3-5 of English translation of JPH10126660A):
(Claim 9) an actuator (the actuator corresponding to 16, 15, 37, 36 in Fig. 4-8) is configured to move (Fig. 6 and 8) the sunshade (the lens cover 32 in Fig. 6 and 8) along a linear axis (the axis corresponding to the guide grove 39 in Fig. 6 and 8), wherein the linear axis (the axis corresponding to the guide grove 39 in Fig. 6 and 8) is perpendicular to (Fig. 6 and 8) the central axis (the center axis correspond to 31 in Fig. 6 and 8).
Park teaches the following elements (Fig. 29-38, [0153-0202]):
(Claim 9) the sunshade (the blade 630 in Fig. 32) is linearly move (Fig. 32) along a linear axis (the axis corresponding to 626 in Fig. 32).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Boku and Park for the system of Akiba such that in the system of Akiba,
(Claim 9) the actuator is configured to linearly move the sunshade along a linear axis, wherein the linear axis is perpendicular to the central axis.
The motivation is to provide a guide groove for guiding the movement of the sunshade (Boku, [0008], Page 2), and provide a protection apparatus for small cameras and foreign matters are prevented from sticking to the camera lens (Park, [0001, 0203]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba (1st interpretation) as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Nishizawa (US 2008/0252975).
Regarding claim 10, Akiba does not teach the following elements.
Nishizawa teaches the following elements:
(Claim 10) a baffle (53 in Fig. 3 and 11-12, [0051-0054]) has a conical shape (the inner tapered through hole of 53 in a conical shape, Fig. 3 and Fig. 11-12) where the first end (the right end of 53 adjacent to the lens L1 in Fig. 3) has a first cross-sectional area (Fig. 3 and Fig. 11-12), wherein the baffle (53 in Fig. 3 and 11-12, [0051-0054]) has a second end (the left end of 53 adjacent to the lens barrier 40 in Fig. 3) opposite the first end (the end of 53 adjacent to the lens L1 in Fig. 3) having a second cross-sectional area that is larger than the first cross-sectional area (Fig. 3, the inner through hole of 53 is tapered).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Nishizawa for the system of Akiba such that in the system of Akiba,
(Claim 10) the baffle has a conical shape where the first end has a first cross-sectional area, wherein the baffle has a second end opposite the first end having a second cross-sectional area that is larger than the first cross-sectional area.
The motivation is to make the baffle small and compact with the lens while not interfering with the lens (Nishizawa, Fig. 3).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba (1st interpretation) as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of and Park (US 2008/0212958).
Regarding claims 11, Akiba does not teach the following elements.
Park teaches the following elements (Fig. 34-38, [0183-0202]):
(Claim 11) a first portion (the bottom portion of 730 corresponding to 712/722 in Fig. 34) has a first rectangular cross-section (Fig. 34), wherein the second portion (the top portion of 730 corresponding to 736 in Fig. 34) has a second rectangular cross-section (Fig. 34).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Park for the system of Akiba such that in the system of Akiba,
(Claim 11) the first portion has a first rectangular cross-section, wherein the second portion has a second rectangular cross-section.
The motivation is to provide a protection apparatus for small cameras and foreign matters are prevented from sticking to the camera lens (Park, [0001, 0203]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests all the combination of a movable sunshade system as set forth in claims 3 and 5-6.
Regarding claim 3, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a movable sunshade system recited in claim 1, wherein “the first portion has a first circular cross-section, and the second portion has a second circular cross-section, the first portion and the second portion being arranged such that a center of the second circular cross-section aligns with an edge of the first circular cross-section” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Regarding claims 5-6, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a movable sunshade system recited in claim 4, wherein “the first portion has a circular cross-section, wherein a pivot point of the sunshade about the rotational axis is on an edge of the circular cross-section” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Claims 12 and 16-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 12, none of the prior art discloses or suggests that a movable sunshade system comprising: a baffle extending along a central axis of an entrance pupil of a lens, wherein the baffle includes a first end shaped to extend around the entrance pupil; a sunshade movably mounted at a second end of the baffle, wherein the sunshade includes a first portion shaped to cover an aperture formed at the second end forms, wherein the sunshade further includes a second portion shaped to cover a portion of a field of view (FOV) of the entrance pupil; a first actuator configured to move the sunshade relative to the baffle to selectively cover the FOV of the entrance pupil; and a second actuator configured to rotate the baffle about the central axis, wherein rotation of the baffle causes a corresponding rotation of the sunshade around the central axis; and wherein “the first actuator is configured to rotate the sunshade about a rotational axis, wherein the rotational axis is parallel to the central axis; and a pivot point of the sunshade about the rotational axis is formed on an edge of the first portion” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Claims 16-17 are allowable due to their dependency.
The most relevant reference, Akiba (US 6334718), Boku (JPH10126660A), Park (US 2008/0212958), and Nishizawa (US 2008/0252975), taken along or in combination, only discloses a movable sunshade system comprising: a baffle extending along a central axis of an entrance pupil of a lens, wherein the baffle includes a first end shaped to extend around the entrance pupil; a sunshade movably mounted at a second end of the baffle, wherein the sunshade includes a first portion shaped to cover an aperture formed at the second end forms, wherein the sunshade further includes a second portion shaped to cover a portion of a field of view (FOV) of the entrance pupil; a first actuator configured to move the sunshade relative to the baffle to selectively cover the FOV of the entrance pupil; and a second actuator configured to rotate the baffle about the central axis, wherein rotation of the baffle causes a corresponding rotation of the sunshade around the central axis; wherein the first actuator is configured to rotate the sunshade about a rotational axis, wherein the rotational axis is parallel to the central axis. However they do not teach or suggest the combined limitations of “the first actuator is configured to rotate the sunshade about a rotational axis, wherein the rotational axis is parallel to the central axis; and a pivot point of the sunshade about the rotational axis is formed on an edge of the first portion” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Regarding independent claim 18, none of the prior art discloses or suggests that a method of operating a movable sunshade system comprising: rotating a sunshade about a rotational axis to selectively cover portions of an entrance pupil of a lens, wherein the sunshade is rotationally attached to a baffle that extends along a central axis of the entrance pupil, wherein the sunshade is attached to a second end of the baffle that is opposite a first end shaped to surround the entrance pupil, wherein the sunshade includes a portion with a cross-section shaped to cover a predetermined threshold occlusion zone of the entrance pupil, and wherein the sunshade comprises a first portion shaped to cover a portion of the baffle that is spaced from the first end of the baffle, wherein the sunshade includes a second portion that extends from the first portion; and wherein “selectively rotating the baffle to rotate the sunshade about the central axis; wherein the rotational axis is parallel to the central axis; wherein a pivot point of the sunshade about the rotational axis is formed on an edge of the first portion” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Claims 19-20 are allowable due to their dependency.
The most relevant reference, Akiba (US 6334718), Boku (JPH10126660A), Park (US 2008/0212958), and Nishizawa (US 2008/0252975), taken along or in combination, only discloses a method of operating a movable sunshade system comprising: rotating a sunshade about a rotational axis to selectively cover portions of an entrance pupil of a lens, wherein the sunshade is rotationally attached to a baffle that extends along a central axis of the entrance pupil, wherein the sunshade is attached to a second end of the baffle that is opposite a first end shaped to surround the entrance pupil, wherein the sunshade includes a portion with a cross-section shaped to cover a predetermined threshold occlusion zone of the entrance pupil, and wherein the sunshade comprises a first portion shaped to cover a portion of the baffle that is spaced from the first end of the baffle, wherein the sunshade includes a second portion that extends from the first portion; and selectively rotating the baffle to rotate the sunshade about the central axis; wherein the rotational axis is parallel to the central axis. However they do not teach or suggest the combined limitations of “selectively rotating the baffle to rotate the sunshade about the central axis; wherein the rotational axis is parallel to the central axis; wherein a pivot point of the sunshade about the rotational axis is formed on an edge of the first portion” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871