CTFR 18/486,415 CTFR 71512 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The request for updated Power of Attorney and filing receipt filed 5/20/2026 are acknowledged and have been entered for the record. An updated bibliographic sheet reflecting the change is attached herewith. Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 14-16 and 18-22 are pending in this application, Claims 2, 3, 7, 12-13 and 17 are canceled, and Claims 21-22 are added. The amendment filed 3/5/2026 overcomes the following rejection(s)/objection(s): Objection of claims 1 and 11; Rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 101 SME Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 14-16 and 18-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1, 4, 6, 8-11, 14, 16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by US20150327780A1, hereinafter “Kano et al” . Kano et al discloses the following as claimed: Claim 1 (Currently Amended), A medical image processing apparatus comprising processing circuitry ( Fig. 14, see below) configured to: acquire geometric data indicating a position of a region of interest set on a first blood vessel image, specify a corresponding region in a second blood vessel image that corresponds to the region of interest on a basis of the geometric data (Fig. 16, “S202-204”, Fig. 14, 153a “shape extraction”, par. 0148 “geometric structure parameters”, all read on this) , “[0148] The variance distribution parameter related to the uncertainty of the blood vessel morphology indices or the blood vessel cross-sectional shape change indices in the time series expresses, as a probability distribution, uncertainty of boundary coordinates of a blood vessel tissue or blood and a feature point (e.g., a blood vessel branching part or a contrast agent dispersion positional arrangement) in a spatial coordinate system, or uncertainty of a geometric structure parameter (e.g., the radius of the lumen on a cross-sectional plane perpendicular to the central line ), or uncertainty of the medical image data itself (e.g., CT values and boundary threshold values), in consideration of the fact that medical image data has a variance distribution due to noise in the CT values and a probability distribution due to ambiguity of boundary threshold values for a biological tissue.” PNG media_image1.png 690 634 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 788 680 media_image2.png Greyscale acquire, as information on the corresponding region (this is read by “time series” CT images of blood vessel having stenosis) , (a) an index related to blood flow in the corresponding region (S205-S206) or (b) a slice including the corresponding region in the second blood vessel image (Fig. 16, i.e., “blood vessel cross-sectional plane” reads on slice) , and display the information on the corresponding region on a display (Fig. 14, 31 “display unit”) , wherein the index related to blood flow is one of fractional flow reserve (FFR), coronary flow reserve (CFR), instant wave-free ratio (iFR), index of microcirculatory resistance (IMR), wall shear stress (WSS), or oscillatory shear index (OSI) (par. 0311 e.g., “FFR value”; Note : only FFR value is mapped since “index related to blood flow” is recited in the alternative “or” condition). Claim 4 (Original), The medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the geometric data is data that ties position information of the region of interest to the first blood vessel image (This is read by steps “S202-S04” in Fig. 16 since setting cross-sectional plane of blood vessel having stenosis depicts region of interest, and calculating blood vessel morphology of said planes along with geometric structure values teach geometric data). Claim 6 (Original), The medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the geometric data is text data indicating position coordinates of the region of interest (See pars. 0148, 0333-0334 i.e., the spatial coordinate system and geometric structure parameter suggest text data indication of position). “[0148] The variance distribution parameter related to the uncertainty of the blood vessel morphology indices or the blood vessel cross-sectional shape change indices in the time series expresses, as a probability distribution, uncertainty of boundary coordinates of a blood vessel tissue or blood and a feature point (e.g., a blood vessel branching part or a contrast agent dispersion positional arrangement) in a spatial coordinate system, or uncertainty of a geometric structure parameter (e.g., the radius of the lumen on a cross-sectional plane perpendicular to the central line ), or uncertainty of the medical image data itself (e.g., CT values and boundary threshold values), in consideration of the fact that medical image data has a variance distribution due to noise in the CT values and a probability distribution due to ambiguity of boundary threshold values for a biological tissue.” Claim 8 (Original), The medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry stores the information on the corresponding region in a memory (Fig. 14, 33 “storage unit”). Claim 9 (Original), The medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first blood vessel image is a blood vessel image acquired by an X-ray angiography apparatus and the second blood vessel image is a blood vessel image acquired by an X-ray CT apparatus (See par. 0351). “[0351] The medical images in the time series in this situation do not necessarily have to be CT images and may be any images from which it is possible to observe a change in the shape of an organ and a blood vessel during at least one heartbeat. For example, the medical images may be MRI images, ultrasound images, three-dimensional (3D) angiography images , Intravascular Ultrasound (IVUS) images, or the like. Further, the CT images may be taken by performing a conventional imaging process while using an Area Detector CT (ADBT) apparatus or may be taken by performing a helical scan while using an ADBT apparatus or a helical CT apparatus.” Claim 10 (Currently Amended), The medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the index related to blood flow is based on output acquired by inserting a pressure wire into a blood vessel of subject (See par. 0004; this is well known in the field). “[0004] For example, stenosis, which is an example of hemodynamic failure in coronary arteries, is a serious pathological issue that may lead to an ischemic heart disease. Ischemic heart diseases require to determine whether a drug treatment should be performed or a stent treatment should be performed, or the like. As a diagnosis method for evaluating hematogenous ischemia of coronary arteries, a recommended method in recent years has been a method by which a Fractional Flow Reserve (FFR) value is measured while using a wire guide , by performing a coronary angiography (CAG) examination that employs a catheter.” Claim 11 (Currently Amended), A non-transitory computer readable medium for storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a method comprising: acquiring geometric data indicating a position of a region of interest set on a first blood vessel image, specifying a corresponding region in a second blood vessel image that corresponds to the region of interest on a basis of the geometric data, acquiring, as information on the corresponding region, (a) an index related to blood flow in the corresponding region or (b) a slice including the corresponding region in the second blood vessel image, and displaying the information on the corresponding region on a display, wherein the index related to blood flow is one of fractional flow reserve (FFR), coronary flow reserve (CFR), instant wave-free ratio (iFR), index of microcirculatory resistance (IMR), wall shear stress (WSS), or oscillatory shear index (OSI) (see rejection of claim 1 above; also par. 0291). “[0291] … Further, a blood vessel analyzing program executed by the blood vessel analyzing apparatus 150 may be provided as a computer program product as being written on a computer-readable storage medium such as a CD-ROM, a DVD, or the like, in a file that is in an installable format or an executable format.” Claim 14 (Original), The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 11, wherein the geometric data is data that ties position information of the region of interest to the first blood vessel image (see rejection of claim 4 above). Claim 16 (Original), The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 11, wherein the geometric data is text data indicating position coordinates of the region of interest (see rejection of claim 6 above). Claim 18 (Original), The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 11 further storing a computer program that, when executed, causes the computer to perform a method comprising storing the information on the corresponding region in a memory (see rejection of claim 8 above). Claim 19 (Original), The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 11, wherein the first blood vessel image is a blood vessel image acquired by an X-ray angiography apparatus and the second blood vessel image is a blood vessel image acquired by an X-ray CT apparatus (see rejection of claim 9 above). Claim 20 (Currently Amended), The non-transitory computer readable medium according to claim 1, wherein the index related to blood flow is based on output acquired by inserting a pressure wire into a blood vessel of subject (see rejection of claim 10 above). Claim 21 (New), The medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein processing circuitry is further configured to: acquire, as the information on the corresponding region, a slice at each of a plurality of positions in the corresponding region in the second blood vessel image, and display the slices (See pars. 0176-77 i.e., cross-sectional shape change indices read on recited positional slices; see also par. 0352 for display of these cross-sectional shape change indices). “[0176] To explain in detail, the third calculating unit 53 performs an image analyzing process and a tracking process. The third calculating unit 53 calculates the blood vessel morphology indices in the time series by performing the image analyzing process on the CT images in the time series. Further, the third calculating unit 53 calculates the blood vessel cross-sectional shape change indices in the time series, by performing the tracking process on the CT images in the time series. [0177] To explain further in detail, when performing the image analyzing process, the third calculating unit 53 extracts a blood vessel region from each of the CT images in the time series and specifies a pixel region related to the vascular lumen (hereinafter, “vascular lumen region”) and a pixel region related to the blood vessel wall (hereinafter, “blood vessel wall region”). After that, the third calculating unit 53 specifies, as the blood vessel morphology index, three-dimensional coordinates of a plurality of pixels in a region where either a cross-sectional plane perpendicular to the central line of the blood vessel or a plane perpendicular to the plane of the vascular lumen intersects the vascular lumen, the blood vessel wall, and a plaque region. [0352] In the fifth embodiment, the image processing apparatus further includes a display controlling unit. The display controlling unit is configured to cause the display unit to display the information indicating the function index of the blood vessel of the subject. Further, a calculating unit is configured to calculate, as the blood vessel morphology index, either a cross-sectional area or a unit volume of the blood vessel of the subject. After that, the display controlling unit causes the display unit to further display a change curve indicating a chronological change in either the cross-sectional area or the unit volume. In the fifth embodiment, the image processing apparatus includes a first calculating unit and a third calculating unit as calculating units.” Claim 22 (New), The medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein processing circuitry is further configured to: evaluate features in the plurality of slices, and select one of the plurality of slices based upon the evaluation, and stores the selected slice in a medical record (See par. 0253). “[0253] Incidentally, it is desirable to configure the image processing apparatus 27A so as to store, into the storage unit 6A, at least one selected from between the second function index identified by the first identifying unit 66A and the dynamic model constructed by assigning the second function index to the shape model . Further, it is also desirable to store the second function index and the dynamic model so as to be kept in association with subject information, medical examination information, or the like, for the purpose of facilitating searches or the like. In that situation, the dynamic model may be stored in the storage unit 65A in a data format showing numerical values obtained from the dynamic model in the form of a database or a table.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20150327780A1, hereinafter “Kano et al” in view of US7778686B2, hereinafter “Vass et al” . Claims 5 and 15, the rejections of claims 1 and 15 are incorporated herein. Kano et al teach geometric data generated on the basis of blood vessel images, but does not teach that said geometric data is a binarized image to distinguish pixels of region of interest (ROI) versus non-ROI pixels. However, Vass et al teaches generation of binary image data via binary segmentation mask to distinguish pixels between region of interest (ROI) versus non-ROI pixels (col. 8, lines 26-43; note: voxels are 3D pixels) . “At step 340, a 3D model of the right atrium and/or coronary sinus is exported using a format of choice to an image database. Possible formats include: a wire mesh geometric model; a solid geometric model; a series of contours associated with each image slice; a segmented volume of binary images ; a run-length encoded binary segmentation mask ; and a medical digital imaging object such as the radiation therapy medical digital imaging object being used under radiation therapy medical digital imaging industry standards. In an exemplary embodiment, all non-relevant data in the binary images are set to zero and the segmented volume of binary images includes only the non-zero information . The value of the voxels correspond to CT attenuation, and the density of a tissue expressed in Hounsfield units makes up the segmented volume of binary images. In another embodiment, a binary segmentation mask specifies the location of all relevant voxels within the original volume itself.” At the time of filing of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching of Vass et al into Kano et al to derive at claim 5 for the benefit of real-time 3D modeling capability. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VU LE whose telephone number is (571)272-7332. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 - 17:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Vu Le can be reached at 2-7332. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 2 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 3 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 4 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 5 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 6 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 7 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 8 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 9 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 10 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 11 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 12 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 13 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 14 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/486,415 Page 15 Art Unit: 2668