DETAILED ACTION
Claims StatusClaims 1-7 & 13 are pending and have been rejected.
Restriction: Elected group, claims 1-7 & 13. Non-elected group, claims 8-12 & 14-16.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7 and 13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 1, 3, 4, 7 of Application 18/486476 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: current service of a chain of n services.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Instant Application 18/486439
Application 18/486476
Claims 1 & 13 A method for implementing a current service of a chain of n services, the method comprising: receiving, from the service preceding the current service in the chain, a first routing token comprising message routing data between the services of the chain; verifying that the current service is a legitimate recipient of the first routing token; implementing a function of the current service; generating a current chaining token from a data of evidence of a passage through the current service; and transmitting, to the service following the current service in the chain, the current chaining token and a second routing token determined from the first routing token.
Claim 1 A method for implementing a current service, of a chain of n services, the method comprising: receiving, from the service preceding the current service in the chain, a first routing token comprising message routing data between the services of the chain and a first chaining token comprising data of evidence of a passage through the previous service; verifying that the current service is a legitimate recipient of the first routing token; implementing a function of the current service; generating a second chaining token based on the first chaining token and based on a second routing token determined from the first routing token; and transmitting, to the service following the current service in the chain, the second chaining token and the second routing token.
Claim 3
wherein the current service comprises an identifier of the current service, the method further comprising obtaining an recipient service identifier by applying a decryption function to the first routing token, the decryption function using a decryption key decryption associated with the current service, wherein verifying that the current service is a legitimate recipient comprises comparing the recipient service identifier with the identifier of the current service.
Claim 3
wherein the current service comprises an identifier of the current service, the method further comprising obtaining a recipient service identifier by applying a decryption function to the first routing token, the decryption function using a decryption key associated with the current service, wherein verifying that the current service is a legitimate recipient comprises comparing the recipient service identifier with the identifier of the current service.
Claim 4 wherein the second routing token is generated by applying a decryption function to the first routing token, the decryption function using a decryption key associated with the current service.
Claim 4
wherein the second routing token is generated by applying a decryption function to the first routing token, the decryption function using a decryption key associated with the current service.
Claim 7 wherein encryption, decryption, signature and identification functions at the level of the current service are based on public key cryptographic technologies, and refer to an associated electronic certificate.
Claim 7 wherein encryption, decryption, signature and identification functions at the level of the service are based on public key cryptographic technologies, and refer to an associated electronic certificate.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a module for…” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar et al. (U.S. Publication 2015/0326473), hereinafter ‘Dunbar’ in view of Lim et al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0198791), hereinafter ‘Lim’.
As to claim 1, Dunbar discloses a method for implementing a current service of a chain of n services, the method comprising: receiving, from the service preceding the current service in the chain, a first routing token comprising message routing data between the services of the chain (Dunbar, see [0029], path message is received and forwarded, wherein the service function path information comprises instructions for network nodes to map a data packet attributes to a service chain ID for routing data packets. See [0033] and fig. 2, service chain ID comprises a list that contains the SFF network nodes along the service function path and one or more service functions); implementing a function of the current service (Dunbar, see [0023], routing and implementing service functions along service function chains and service function paths. Routing loops can be implemented in a network for routing data packets along service function chains or service function paths); generating a current chaining token from a data of evidence of a passage through the current service (Dunbar, see [0030-0031], sending confirmation message when data packets are communicated from the service function ingress node along the service function paths to the service function egress nodes); and transmitting, to the service following the current service in the chain, the current chaining token and a second routing token determined from the first routing token (Dunbar, see [0029], the service function path information comprises instructions for network nodes to associate one or more data packet attributes to a service chain ID for routing data packets. See [0033] and fig. 2, Service function chain comprises a service chain ID and one or more SFF network node entries for a service function path. See [0041], data packets are transmitted from and received at the same port to be processed by a service function). Dunbar is silent to verifying that the current service is a legitimate recipient of the first routing token; However, Lim discloses verifying that the current service is a legitimate recipient of the first routing token (Lim, see [0008], [0014] & fig. 1-3, authenticating transmission path of the packet in a corresponding node in a domain, wherein the transmission processing unit is configured to verify whether or not to authentication such that a reception packet passes through the corresponding node has been performed and whether or not an immediately previous node that should be passed through along the transmission path has been passed through and transmit the packet); Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dunbar in view of Lim in order to further modify the method for service chain path route reservations from the teachings of Dunbar with the method for processing packet for routing from the teachings of Lim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to transmit a packet among nodes in the network (Lim – 0003).
As to claim 2, Dunbar in view of Lim discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Lim further discloses wherein the current chaining token is generated based on the second routing token (Lim, see [0033], with respect to the RO node (2-0), information with regard to the immediately previous transmission node through which the reception packet passed and the next reception node is contained in an attribute managed together with the routing ID value (A) of the RO node (2-0). That is, the RO node (2-0) is an ingress node, and therefore the immediately previous transmission node is NULL and the next reception node is the R1 node (2-1). Similarly, the transmission node and the reception node of the R1 node (2-1) are the RO node (2-0) and the R2 node (2-2), respectively. According to one embodiment, the transmission processing unit (22-0) of the RO node (2-0) inserts the routing ID value (A) and the path verification value to the header of the packet which is actually transmitted using the value managed at the routing table. The path verification value may be a value which is obtained by encrypting the routing ID value (A) into a private key value of the corresponding node. The public key can be used to confirm the encrypted path verification value).
As to claim 3, Dunbar in view of Lim discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Lim further discloses wherein the current service comprises an identifier of the current service, the method further comprising obtaining an recipient service identifier by applying a decryption function to the first routing token, the decryption function using a decryption key decryption associated with the current service, wherein verifying that the current service is a legitimate recipient comprises comparing the recipient service identifier with the identifier of the current service (Lim, see [0014], determining packet authentication to determine whether or not authentication such that a reception packet passes through a corresponding node has been performed; verifying and determining a packet path such that, according to the result of the packet authentication determination, if the reception packet is not authenticated, the packet is dropped, and if the reception packet is authenticated, it is determined whether or not the packet has passed through the immediately previous node that should be passed through along a transmission path; and verifying and correcting the header path such that, according to the result of the packet path verification determination).
As to claim 4, Dunbar in view of Lim discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Lim further discloses wherein the second routing token is generated by applying a decryption function to the first routing token, the decryption function using a decryption key associated with the current service (Lim, see [0009], the transmission processing unit may insert the routing ID value to which the transmission path is set and a path verification value thereto into a header of a transmission packet, and thereafter transmit the transmission packet to the next node. The path verification value may be a value which is obtained by encrypting the routing ID value into a private key value of the corresponding node).
As to claim 7, Dunbar in view of Lim discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein encryption, decryption, signature and identification functions at the level of the current service are based on public key cryptographic technologies, and refer to an associated electronic certificate (Lim, see [0016], the determining of the packet path verification may include acquiring a public key of the immediately previous node that should be passed through along the transmission path from an encryption key table and thereafter using the acquired public key, and confirming the encrypted path verification value of the reception packet).
As to claim 13, Dunbar discloses an electronic device for implementing a service of a service chain, the electronic device comprising: a module for receiving a first routing token comprising message routing data between the services of the service chain (Dunbar, see [0029], path message is received and forwarded, wherein the service function path information comprises instructions for network nodes to map a data packet attributes to a service chain ID for routing data packets. See [0033] and fig. 2, service chain ID comprises a list that contains the SFF network nodes along the service function path and one or more service functions); a module for implementing a function of said service (Dunbar, see [0023], routing and implementing service functions along service function chains and service function paths. Routing loops can be implemented in a network for routing data packets along service function chains or service function paths); a module for generating a chaining token from a data of evidence of a passage through said service (Dunbar, see [0030-0031], sending confirmation message when data packets are communicated from the service function ingress node along the service function paths to the service function egress nodes); and, a module for transmitting, to the service following said service in the service chain, the generated chaining token and a second token routing token determined from the first routing token (Dunbar, see [0029], the service function path information comprises instructions for network nodes to associate one or more data packet attributes to a service chain ID for routing data packets. See [0033] and fig. 2, Service function chain comprises a service chain ID and one or more SFF network node entries for a service function path. See [0041], data packets are transmitted from and received at the same port to be processed by a service function). Dunbar is silent to a module for verifying that said service is a legitimate recipient of the first routing token; However, Lim discloses a module for verifying that said service is a legitimate recipient of the first routing token (Lim, see [0008], [0014] & fig. 1-3, authenticating transmission path of the packet in a corresponding node in a domain, wherein the transmission processing unit is configured to verify whether or not to authentication such that a reception packet passes through the corresponding node has been performed and whether or not an immediately previous node that should be passed through along the transmission path has been passed through and transmit the packet); Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dunbar in view of Lim in order to further modify the method for service chain path route reservations from the teachings of Dunbar with the method for processing packet for routing from the teachings of Lim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to transmit a packet among nodes in the network (Lim – 0003).
Claims 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar et al. (U.S. Publication 2015/0326473), hereinafter ‘Dunbar’ in view of Lim et al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0198791), hereinafter ‘Lim’ and Beliveau et al. (U.S. Publication 2015/0124815), hereinafter ‘Beliveau’.
As to claim 5, Dunbar in view of Lim discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, but is silent to further comprising: generating, by the current service, the data of evidence of a passage through the current service, the data being generated by applying a hash function to the second routing token; and transmitting, by the current service, the data to at least one of the next service or a monitoring service. However, Beliveau discloses generating, by the current service, the data of evidence of a passage through the current service, the data being generated by applying a hash function to the second routing token (Beliveau, see [0054], first assigned to a service instance and this information can be stored in the data path for subsequent packets, wherein the traffic is partitioned over the services by using a hash function based on the subscriber identity (source IP address in the upstream, destination IP address in the downstream)); and transmitting, by the current service, the data to at least one of the next service or a monitoring service (Beliveau, see [0069], the packet is sent to the controller for further processing. Once the controller receive the packet, analyze it, to then send an OFPT_FLOW_MOD to the forwarding element in order to program the learned flow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dunbar in view of Lim and Beliveau in order to further modify the method for service chain path route reservations from the teachings of Dunbar with the method for processing packet for routing from the teachings of Lim and the method for steering traffic through a set of services from the teachings of Beliveau. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to transmit to destination in accordance with instance of the next service (Beliveau – Abstract).
As to claim 6, Dunbar in view of Lim discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, is silent to further comprising: receiving, by the current service, a data of evidence of that the previous service has actually been applied; and transmitting, by the current service, the received data to the next service. However, Beliveau discloses receiving, by the current service, a data of evidence of that the previous service has actually been applied (Beliveau, see [0069], controller receives the data packet and analyzes it. See [0071], a packet that is received from a VM or a service will most likely result in a successful lookup); and transmitting, by the current service, the received data to the next service (Beliveau, see [0069], the packet is sent to the controller for further processing. Once the controller receive the packet, analyze it, to then send an OFPT_FLOW_MOD to the forwarding element in order to program the learned flow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dunbar in view of Lim and Beliveau in order to further modify the method for service chain path route reservations from the teachings of Dunbar with the method for processing packet for routing from the teachings of Lim and the method for steering traffic through a set of services from the teachings of Beliveau. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to transmit to destination in accordance with instance of the next service (Beliveau – Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. This includes:
U.S. Publication 2016/0315819, which describes carrying in-band metadata for network path proof of transit.
U.S. Publication 2008/0289039, which describes protecting a message from an XML attack when being exchanged in a distributed and decentralized network system Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TANIA M PENA-SANTANA whose telephone number is (571)270-0627. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8am to 4pm EST.
/TANIA M PENA-SANTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443