DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 12/18/2025.
Claims 1, 3-9 & 17 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Argument
Applicant:
Applicant argues that the provided arts, alone or in combination, do not teach generating, by a wireless communication device, a type 1 Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request-Acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) codebook based on indication information in an uplink grant and a received service
Examiner:
Examiner cites the Gao discloses a system and methods for constructing a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) codebook. And Gao discloses the generation of the request as claimed by Applicant,
generating, by a wireless communication device, a type 1 Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request-Acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) codebook (Gao: [0135]: “ In case of separate feedback, one HARQ-ACK codebook is generated for each TRP”), based on indication information in an uplink grant and a received service (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) includes constructing a dynamic HARQ codebook with a first set of HARQ ACK bits & the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”).
In the above citation HARQ-ACK generation is discloses along with the uplink grant channel as it is claimed and discloses by Gao that In case of separate feedback, one HARQ-ACK codebook is generated for each TRP the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”).
The arguments made by Applicant are not persuasive based on the above explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Gao (WO 2021033116 A1) in view of Pan (CN 113573256).
As per claim 1, Gao discloses a wireless communication method (Gao: [0061]: “ method, performed in a wireless device for receiving from a network node a plurality of downlink SPS PDSCHs and sending back HARQ A/N feedback associated with the SPS PDSCHs to the network node”), comprising:
generating, by a wireless communication device, a type 1 Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request-Acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) codebook (Gao: [0135]: “ In case of separate feedback, one HARQ-ACK codebook is generated for each TRP”), based on indication information in an uplink grant and a received service (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) includes constructing a dynamic HARQ codebook with a first set of HARQ ACK bits & the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”),
wherein the type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook is generated based on the indication information (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) includes constructing a dynamic HARQ codebook with a first set of HARQ ACK bits & the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”), and
sending, by the wireless communication device to a wireless communication node, the type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (Gao: [0017 & 0032-0033]: “ a UE first decodes uplink grants in PDCCH and then transmits data over a PUSCH based on the decoded control information in the uplink grant such as modulation order & to transmitting PUCCH with HARQ-ACK in the uplink slot of the PUCCH transmission that overlaps with the PDSCH reception or with the PDCCH reception in case of SPS PDSCH release”), which is scheduled by the uplink grant (Gao: [0016-0017]: “ If the PUCCH overlaps with a PUSCH transmission, HARQ feedback can also be conveyed on PUSCH. Uplink data transmissions are also dynamically scheduled using a PDCCH.”),
Gao does not explicitly teach the unicast or multicast PDSCH TDRA table.
Pan however discloses generated using at least one of: a union of unicast PDSCH TDRA table and MBS PDSCH TDRA table, a unicast PDSCH TDRA table, or a multicast PDSCH TDRA (Pan: “ the UE in determining the multicast PDSCH and unicast PDSCH corresponding to the candidate PDSCH receiver set, can be multicast PDSCH and unicast PDSCH of the set of the k1, and the multicast PDSCH and unicast PDSCH of the TDRA.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao view of Pan to figure out unicast or multicast PDSCH TDRA table.. One would be motivated to do so because this technique advantageously aids in performing HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast downlink transmission and unicast downlink transmission. (Pan).
Claim 17 is rejected based on rationale provided for claim 1.
As per claim 3, Gao/Pan discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, comprising: generating, by the wireless communication device (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) includes constructing a dynamic HARQ codebook with a first set of HARQ ACK bits & the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”),
Gao does not explicitly teach the GAQ-ACK for unicast service.
Pan however discloses the type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast service, if a unicast service is received by the wireless communication device (Pan: “ UE can receive unicast service and one or more multicast service & UE receives the PDSCH in the time slot n, and then feeds back the HARQ-ACK at the time slot n + k1, wherein k1 is indicated by the PDCCH of the scheduling PDSCH.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao view of Pan to figure out unicast or multicast PDSCH TDRA table.. One would be motivated to do so because this technique advantageously aids in performing HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast downlink transmission and unicast downlink transmission. (Pan).
As per claim 4, Gao/Pan discloses the wireless communication method of claim 3, comprising: generating, by the wireless communication device (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) includes constructing a dynamic HARQ codebook with a first set of HARQ ACK bits & the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”),
Gao does not explicitly teach the unicast or multicast PDSCH TDRA table.
Pan however discloses the type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast service using a unicast PDSCH TDRA or a unicast PDSCH TDRA table, if a unicast service is received by the wireless communication device (Pan: “the UE in determining the multicast PDSCH and unicast PDSCH corresponding to the candidate PDSCH receiver set, can be multicast PDSCH and unicast PDSCH of the set of the k1, and the multicast PDSCH and unicast PDSCH of the TDRA.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao view of Pan to figure out unicast or multicast PDSCH TDRA table.. One would be motivated to do so because this technique advantageously aids in performing HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast downlink transmission and unicast downlink transmission. (Pan).
As per claim 9, Gao/Pan discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the uplink grant indicative of generating the type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) includes constructing a dynamic HARQ codebook with a first set of HARQ ACK bits & the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”), based on at least one of: a unicast PDSCH TDRA table (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ For Type B PDSCH, some of the TDRAs in the pdsch- TimeDomainAllocationList or in the default table A may be non-overlapping since the start position of the PDSCH can be more flexibly chosen”).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Gao (WO 2021033116 A1) in view of Pan (CN 113573256) and in further view of Yao et al (US PUB # 2022/0321281).
As per claim 5, Gao/Pan discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, comprising: generating, by the wireless communication device (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) includes constructing a dynamic HARQ codebook with a first set of HARQ ACK bits & the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”),
Gao does not explicitly teach the MBS service.
Yao however discloses the type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook for MBS service, if an MBS service is received by the wireless communication device (Yao: [ABS]: “ constructing the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the HARQ-ACK information for the at least one unicast downlink channel and the HARQ-ACK information for the at least one group-common downlink channel, wherein each group-common downlink channel associates with a MBS service.”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Gao view of Yao to figure out unicast or multicast PDSCH TDRA table.. One would be motivated to do so because this technique advantageously aids in constructing a hybrid automatic repeat request—acknowledge character (HARQ-ACK) codebook. (Yao).
As per claim 6, Gao/Pan discloses the wireless communication method of claim 5, comprising: generating, by the wireless communication device (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) includes constructing a dynamic HARQ codebook with a first set of HARQ ACK bits & the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”),
Gao does not explicitly teach the MBS PDSCH TDRA table.
Yao however discloses type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook (Yao: [ABS]: “ constructing the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the HARQ-ACK information for the at least one unicast downlink channel and the HARQ-ACK information for the at least one group-common downlink channel, wherein each group-common downlink channel associates with a MBS service.”), for MBS service using an MBS PDSCH TDRA or an MBS PDSCH TDRA table, if an MBS service is received by the wireless communication device (Yao: [claim 3]: “wherein: the one or more PDSCH configurations include a PDSCH-config-MBS and the second TDRA table is based on the PDSCH-config-MBS; the one or more PDSCH configurations include a PDSCH-config-MBS and the second TDRA table is based on a PDSCH-configcommon-MBS.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Gao view of Yao to figure out unicast or multicast PDSCH TDRA table.. One would be motivated to do so because this technique advantageously aids in constructing a hybrid automatic repeat request—acknowledge character (HARQ-ACK) codebook. (Yao).
As per claim 7, Gao/Pan discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, comprising: generating, by the wireless communication device (Gao: [ABS & 0016]: “ a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) includes constructing a dynamic HARQ codebook with a first set of HARQ ACK bits & the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) ACK is sent to the gNB over the Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”),
Gao does not explicitly teach the MBS service.
Yao however discloses the type 1 HARQ-ACK codebook for MBS service and unicast service, if a unicast service and an MBS service are received by the wireless communication device (Yao: [ABS]: “ constructing the HARQ-ACK codebook based on the HARQ-ACK information for the at least one unicast downlink channel and the HARQ-ACK information for the at least one group-common downlink channel, wherein each group-common downlink channel associates with a MBS service.”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Gao view of Yao to figure out unicast or multicast PDSCH TDRA table.. One would be motivated to do so because this technique advantageously aids in constructing a hybrid automatic repeat request—acknowledge character (HARQ-ACK) codebook. (Yao).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449