DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on February 13, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 10, 12-13, 16, and 18-19 are amended.
Claim 3 and 15 are cancelled.
Claims 21 are new.
Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-21 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenais (WO 2018/083160 A1) in view of Dierendonck et al (US 2015/0036724 A1) and van Diggelen (US 6417801 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Guenais discloses a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receiver comprising [page 7, second paragraph]:
a signal processing unit, configured to make a plurality of phase measurements at a first epoch, each phase measurement being made from a respective different GNSS signal [page 7, paragraphs 10-12];
and at least one processor, configured to: select a first subset of the phase measurements [page 7, paragraph 7-10 for using N (first) phase measurements];
select a second subset of the phase measurements [page 7, paragraph 7-10 for using N’ (second) phase measurements];
for each phase measurement of the first subset, write first bits of the phase measurement to at least one data message for transmission to a remote device for processing [page 7, paragraph 10-12 for using number of bits allocated to the N code information];
for each phase measurement of the second subset, write second bits of the phase measurement to the at least one data message [page 7, paragraph 10-13 for using number of bits allocated to the N code information];
and output the at least one data message containing at least the first and the second bits, wherein the first bits include a coarse part and a fine part of the respective phase measurement [page 7, paragraph 10-13 and page 20, 10th paragraph for getting coarse location from a beacon (remote) device].
Guenais fails to explicitly teach and wherein the first bits describe an integer number of chips and a fractional chip of a spreading code of the respective GNSS signal.
Dierendonck has a method for an advanced GNSS receiver that is operable to provide an ultra-fast, autonomous and reliable TTFF that does not require an initial position (abstract) and teaches wherein and the first bits describe an integer number of chips and a fractional chip of a spreading code of the respective GNSS signal [0127-0130]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the precision calculations as taught by Dierendonck for the purpose to derive accurate code phase measurement based on a very short data length [Dierendonck, 0079].
Guenais fails to explicitly teach and wherein the second bits describe at least a portion of the fine part of and none of the coarse part of the respective phase measurements, and the second bits consist of least significant bits describing a lowest part of the fractional chip of the spreading code of the respective GNSS signals.
van Diggelen has apparatus for computing GPS receiver position without using absolute time information transmitted by the satellite (abstract) and teaches wherein the second bits describe at least a portion of the fine part of and none of the coarse part of the respective phase measurements, and the second bits consist of least significant bits describing a lowest part of the fractional chip of the spreading code of the respective GNSS signals [col 2, lines 20-30 for using sub-millisecond pseudoranges for PN frame boundaries, to resolve integer number of milliseconds associated with each delay with col 4, lines 45-55 also col 8, lines 35-60].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the pseudorange calculations as taught by van Diggelen for the purpose of resolving the unambiguous pseudoranges [van Diggelen, col 2, lines 25-30].
Regarding Claim 2, Guenais discloses the first subset comprises at least four phase measurements [page 23, last two paragraphs for using four code phase measurements].
Regarding Claim 4, Guenais fails to explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured to: obtain at least one quality indicator associated with each phase measurement; and select, as the first subset, the phase measurements having the highest quality, according to the at least one quality indicator.
Dierendonck has a method for an advanced GNSS receiver that is operable to provide an ultra-fast, autonomous and reliable TTFF that does not require an initial position (abstract) and teaches the at least one processor is configured to: obtain at least one quality indicator associated with each phase measurement [0077 for starting with coarse estimates (quality) and correlating values];
and select, as the first subset, the phase measurements having the highest quality, according to the at least one quality indicator [0076 for correlating (quality) values and 0079 for using interpolations to derive accurate code phase measurements].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the precision calculations as taught by Dierendonck for the purpose to derive accurate code phase measurement based on a very short data length [Dierendonck, 0079].
Regarding Claim 5, Guenais fails to explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured to select the second subset from among the phase measurements remaining after the first subset has been selected [page 7, paragraph 10-13 and page 20, 10th paragraph for getting coarse location from a beacon (remote) device].
Guenais fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to select, as the second subset, the phase measurements having the next highest quality, according to the at least one quality indicator.
Dierendonck has a method for an advanced GNSS receiver that is operable to provide an ultra-fast, autonomous and reliable TTFF that does not require an initial position (abstract) and teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to select, as the second subset, the phase measurements having the next highest quality, according to the at least one quality indicator [0093 for determining the number of correlation samples and fitting accuracy using predetermined fitting (levels of quality) and 0094 for having the accuracy requirements (quality)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the precision calculations as taught by Dierendonck for the purpose to calculate several correlation samples [Dierendonck, 0093].
Regarding Claim 6, Guenais fails to explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured to: obtain at least one quality indicator associated with each phase measurement; assess a first quality criterion for some or all of the phase measurements, wherein the quality criterion is based at least in part on the quality indicators; and responsive to the first quality criterion being satisfied, proceed proceeding to output the at least one data message.
Dierendonck has a method for an advanced GNSS receiver that is operable to provide an ultra-fast, autonomous and reliable TTFF that does not require an initial position (abstract) and teaches the at least one processor is configured to: obtain at least one quality indicator associated with each phase measurement [0077 for starting with coarse estimates (quality) and correlating values];
assess a first quality criterion for some or all of the phase measurements, wherein the quality criterion is based at least in part on the quality indicators [0080-0081 for getting normalized samples and then determining phase misalignment for accuracy];
and responsive to the first quality criterion being satisfied, proceed proceeding to output the at least one data message [0076 for correlating (quality) at different thresholds (criterion)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the precision calculations as taught by Dierendonck for the purpose to derive accurate code phase measurement based on a very short data length [Dierendonck, 0079].
Regarding Claim 7, Guenais discloses the signal processing unit is configured to make a plurality of second phase measurements at a second epoch, each second phase measurement being made from a respective different GNSS signal, and the at least one processor is configured to [page 7, paragraph 7-10 for using N (first) and N’ (second) phase measurements].
Guenais fails to explicitly teach obtain at least one second quality indicator associated with each second phase measurement; assess a second quality criterion for some or all of the second phase measurements, wherein the second quality criterion is based at least in part on the second quality indicators; and responsive to the second quality criterion not being satisfied, suppress the output of a data message for the second epoch.
Dierendonck has a method for an advanced GNSS receiver that is operable to provide an ultra-fast, autonomous and reliable TTFF that does not require an initial position (abstract) and teaches obtain at least one second quality indicator associated with each second phase measurement [0064 for quality of phase measurements];
assess a second quality criterion for some or all of the second phase measurements, wherein the second quality criterion is based at least in part on the second quality indicators [0077 for starting with coarse estimates (quality) and correlating values];
and responsive to the second quality criterion not being satisfied, suppress the output of a data message for the second epoch [0076 for correlating (quality) at different thresholds (criterion), 0149-0154].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the precision calculations as taught by Dierendonck for the purpose to derive accurate code phase measurement based on a very short data length [Dierendonck, 0079].
Regarding Claim 9, Guenais teaches the at least one processor is configured to write to the at least one data message, with the first bits and the second bits, at least one of [page 16, paragraphs 9-12 for using messages with code phase measurements and page 17, first paragraph for using number of bits]
a value of a monotonic counter maintained by the at least one processor;
and a timestamp according to a local clock of the GNSS receiver [page 14 last paragraph to page 15 first paragraph].
Regarding Claim 10, Guenais discloses a method of processing a plurality of phase measurements made at a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receiver, to calculate a position fix, the method comprising [page 7, second paragraph]:
obtaining a coarse position estimate for the GNSS receiver [page 7, paragraphs 10-12];
receiving at least one data message comprising at least, for each phase measurement in a first subset of the plurality of phase measurements, first bits of the phase measurement [page 7, paragraph 7-10 for using N (first) phase measurements],
and for each phase measurement in a second subset of the plurality of phase measurements, second bits of the phase measurement [page 7, paragraph 7-10 for using N’ (second) phase measurements];
obtaining GNSS assistance data [page 7, paragraphs 2-4];
and processing the coarse position estimate, the first bits, the second bits and the GNSS assistance data, wherein each phase measurement of the plurality of phase measurements was made by the GNSS receiver from a respective different GNSS signal [page 8, paragraph 8-11 with page 82, Table 4],
wherein the first bits include a coarse part and a fine part of the respective phase measurement [page 7, paragraph 10-13 and page 20, 10th paragraph for getting coarse location from a beacon (remote) device].
Guenais fails to explicitly teach and wherein the first bits describe an integer number of chips and a fractional chip of a spreading code of the respective GNSS signal.
Dierendonck has a method for an advanced GNSS receiver that is operable to provide an ultra-fast, autonomous and reliable TTFF that does not require an initial position (abstract) and teaches wherein and the first bits describe an integer number of chips and a fractional chip of a spreading code of the respective GNSS signal [0127-0130].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the precision calculations as taught by Dierendonck for the purpose to derive accurate code phase measurement based on a very short data length [Dierendonck, 0079].
Guenais fails to explicitly teach and wherein the second bits describe at least a portion of the fine part of and none of the coarse part of the respective phase measurements, and the second bits consist of least significant bits describing a lowest part of the fractional chip of the spreading code of the respective GNSS signals.
van Diggelen has apparatus for computing GPS receiver position without using absolute time information transmitted by the satellite (abstract) and teaches wherein the second bits describe at least a portion of the fine part of and none of the coarse part of the respective phase measurements, and the second bits consist of least significant bits describing a lowest part of the fractional chip of the spreading code of the respective GNSS signals [col 2, lines 20-30 for using sub-millisecond pseudoranges for PN frame boundaries, to resolve integer number of milliseconds associated with each delay with col 4, lines 45-55].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the pseudorange calculations as taught by van Diggelen for the purpose of resolving the unambiguous pseudoranges [van Diggelen, col 2, lines 25-30].
Regarding Claim 11, Guenais discloses the coarse position estimate is based on at least one of: a previous position estimate calculated for the GNSS receiver; or a known geographical area of operation of the GNSS receiver [page 14, 7th paragraph].
Regarding Claim 13, Guenais discloses receiving the at least one data message comprising a temporal sequence marker comprising at least one of [page 15, 9th paragraph]:
a monotonic counter value produced by the GNSS receiver, associated with an epoch at which the plurality of phase measurements have been made [page 15, 6th paragraph];
or a timestamp produced by the GNSS receiver, associated with the epoch at which the plurality of phase measurements have been made, comparing the temporal sequence marker with a previous temporal sequence marker associated with a previous data message obtained from the GNSS receiver [page 14 last paragraph to page 15 first paragraph],
to determine whether the temporal sequence marker is valid or invalid, and responsive to determining that the temporal sequence marker is invalid, detecting a replay attack [page 14 last paragraph to page 15 first paragraph].
Regarding Claim 14, Guenais discloses obtaining the coarse position estimate comprises receiving user input of the coarse position estimate [page 23, paragraphs 4-5].
Regarding Claim 16, Guenais discloses an apparatus comprising one or more tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising [page 7, paragraphs 10-12]:
obtaining a coarse position estimate for a Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) receiver [page 7, paragraphs 10-12];
receiving at least one data message comprising at least, for each phase measurement in a first subset of a plurality of phase measurements, first bits of the phase measurement [page 7, paragraph 7-10 for using N (first) phase measurements],
and for each phase measurement in a second subset of the plurality of phase measurements, second bits of the phase measurement [page 7, paragraph 7-10 for using N’ (second) phase measurements];
obtaining GNSS assistance data [page 7, paragraphs 2-4];
and processing the coarse position estimate, the first bits, the second bits and the GNSS assistance data, wherein each phase measurement of the plurality of phase measurements was made by the GNSS receiver from a respective different GNSS signal [page 8, paragraph 8-11 with page 82, Table 4],
wherein the first bits include a coarse part and a fine part of the respective phase measurement [page 7, paragraph 10-13 and page 20, 10th paragraph for getting coarse location from a beacon (remote) device].
Guenais fails to explicitly teach and wherein the first bits describe an integer number of chips and a fractional chip of a spreading code of the respective GNSS signal.
Dierendonck has a method for an advanced GNSS receiver that is operable to provide an ultra-fast, autonomous and reliable TTFF that does not require an initial position (abstract) and teaches wherein and the first bits describe an integer number of chips and a fractional chip of a spreading code of the respective GNSS signal [0148-0150].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the precision calculations as taught by Dierendonck for the purpose to derive accurate code phase measurement based on a very short data length [Dierendonck, 0079].
Guenais fails to explicitly teach and wherein the second bits describe at least a portion of the fine part of and none of the coarse part of the respective phase measurements, and the second bits consist of least significant bits describing a lowest part of the fractional chip of the spreading code of the respective GNSS signals.
van Diggelen has apparatus for computing GPS receiver position without using absolute time information transmitted by the satellite (abstract) and teaches wherein the second bits describe at least a portion of the fine part of and none of the coarse part of the respective phase measurements, and the second bits consist of least significant bits describing a lowest part of the fractional chip of the spreading code of the respective GNSS signals [col 2, lines 20-30 for using sub-millisecond pseudoranges for PN frame boundaries, to resolve integer number of milliseconds associated with each delay with col 4, lines 45-55].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the pseudorange calculations as taught by van Diggelen for the purpose of resolving the unambiguous pseudoranges [van Diggelen, col 2, lines 25-30].
Regarding Claim 17, Guenais teaches the coarse position estimate is based on at least one of: a previous position estimate calculated for the GNSS receiver; or a known geographical area of operation of the GNSS receiver [page 14, 7th paragraph].
Regarding Claim 19, Guenais discloses the operations further comprise [page 16, paragraphs 9-12 for using messages with code phase measurements and page 17, first paragraph for using number of bits]:
responsive to receiving the at least one data message comprising a temporal sequence marker comprising at least one of (i) a monotonic counter value produced by the GNSS receiver, associated with an epoch at which the plurality of phase measurements have been made (ii) or a timestamp produced by the GNSS receiver, associated with the epoch at which the plurality of phase measurements have been made, comparing the temporal sequence marker with a previous temporal sequence marker associated with a previous data message obtained from the GNSS receiver, to determine whether the temporal sequence marker is valid or invalid, and responsive to determining that the temporal sequence marker is invalid, detecting a replay attack [page 14 last paragraph to page 15 first paragraph].
Regarding Claim 20, Guenais discloses obtaining the coarse position estimate comprises receiving user input of the coarse position estimate [page 23, paragraphs 4-5].
Claims 8, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenais (WO 2018/083160 A1) in view of Dierendonck et al (US 2015/0036724 A1) and van Diggelen (US 6417801 B1), as applied to Claim 1, 10, and 16 above, and further in view of Krasner et al (WO 2013/019986 Al).
Regarding Claim 8, Guenais fails to explicitly teach the at least one processor is configured to apply a cryptographic signature to the first bits and second bits, and to write the cryptographic signature to the at least one data message for transmission to a remote device for processing.
Krasner has a position location system comprises transmitters that broadcast positioning signals (abstract) and teaches the at least one processor is configured to apply a cryptographic signature to the first bits and second bits, and to write the cryptographic signature to the at least one data message for transmission to a remote device for processing [page 91, lines 1-12].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the encryptions key calculations as taught by Krasner for protection from unauthorized access [Krasner, page 91, lines 1-10].
Regarding Claim 12, Guenais fails to explicitly teach receiving the at least one data message comprising a cryptographic signature associated with the plurality of phase measurements; and verifying an authenticity of the cryptographic signature.
Krasner has a position location system comprises transmitters that broadcast positioning signals (abstract) and teaches receiving the at least one data message comprising a cryptographic signature associated with the plurality of phase measurements [page 91, lines 15-25 for using encrypted messages that are parity protected];
and verifying the authenticity of the cryptographic signature [page 91, lines 1-12].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the encryptions key calculations as taught by Krasner for protection from unauthorized access [Krasner, page 91, lines 1-10].
Regarding Claim 18, Guenais fails to explicitly teach the operations further comprise: responsive to receiving the at least one data message comprising a cryptographic signature associated with the plurality of phase measurements, verifying an authenticity of the cryptographic signature.
Krasner has a position location system comprises transmitters that broadcast positioning signals (abstract) and teaches the operations further comprise: responsive to receiving the at least one data message comprising a cryptographic signature associated with the plurality of phase measurements, verifying the authenticity of the cryptographic signature [page 91, lines 1-12].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Guenais, further including the encryptions key calculations as taught by Krasner for protection from unauthorized access [Krasner, page 91, lines 1-10].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In applicant’s arguments page 10, fifth paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Guenais fails to teach the least significant bits describing the lowest part of the factional chip of the spreading code. The examiner respectfully disagrees. VanDiggelen’s using sub-milli-second pseudoranges found in the integer resolution process at Figure 3, step 318-322, where the transmitted value is already by definition on the residual timing offset below on PN frame boundary (chip epoch) or the lowers order fractional portion of the full code phase measurement since higher order values have been stripped away [van Diggelen, col 8, lines 35-60].
In applicant’s arguments page 10, fifth paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Dierendonck fails to teach the least significant bits describing the lowest part of the factional chip of the spreading code. The examiner respectfully disagrees. VanDiggelen’s teaches this feature, see the above explanation.
The examiner acknowledges that this is a broader interpretation than Applicant’s.
However, examiners are not only allowed to apply broad interpretations, but are required to do so, as it reduces the possibility that the claims, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. MPEP §2111. Patentability is determined by the “broadest reasonable interpretation
consistent with the specification” (MPEP §2111), not the narrowest reasonable interpretation. And Applicant does not have an explicit lexicographical statement in line with MPEP §2111.01
subsection IV requiring a specific interpretation of the relevant phrases which forces the examiner to interpret them only one way.
The express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
For applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648