DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. The amendments to the claims overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 3/4/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 18-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 18, page 5, line 4: please correct “the fluid backflow” to “fluid backflow”
-Claim 18, page 5, lines 5-6: please correct “the valve member” to “the flexible valve member”
-Claim 18, page 5, line 11: please correct “the resist fluid backflow” to “resist the fluid backflow”
-Claim 18, page 5, line 14: please correct “the outer circumferential perimeter” to “the outer circumferential perimeter of the valve member”
-Claim 18, page 5, line 15: please correct “the outer circumferential perimeter” to “the outer circumferential perimeter of the valve member”
-Claim 19, lines 1-2: please correct “the valve member” to “the flexible valve member”
-Claim 19, line 2: please correct “the valve member” to “the flexible valve member”
-Claim 19, line 4: please correct “the valve member” to “the flexible valve member”
-Claim 19, line 5: please correct “resist fluid backflow” to “resist the fluid backflow”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1 and 8 both recite “a lower housing having a downstream internal surface” and independent claim 18 recites “a downstream internal surface of a lower housing”. However, the written description does not provide support for the lower housing having a downstream internal surface. The written description provides support for the upper housing having a downstream internal surface (see par. [0037], [0056], [0070], [0073], [0075], [0082], [0086], [0089]). The written description also provides support for the lower housing having an upstream internal surface (see par. [0035], [0038]-[0039], [0048]). However, there is no support in the written description for the lower housing having a downstream internal surface.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-17, and 19-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on rejected claims 1, 8, and 18.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1 and 8 both recite “a lower housing having a downstream internal surface” and independent claim 18 recites “a downstream internal surface of a lower housing”. In light of the lack of written description of these limitations as described in the 112(a) rejection of claims 1, 8, and 18 above, it is further unclear how these limitations and all other recitations of the downstream internal surface throughout the claims should be interpreted. It appears that each of the following interpretations would be appropriate: (a) each recitation of “a/the downstream internal surface” could be deleted entirely such that the lower housing doesn’t expressly require any internal surface, (b) each recitation of “a/the downstream surface” could be simply amended to “an internal surface” and “the internal surface of the lower housing”, respectively, or (c) each recitation of “a/the downstream internal surface” could be amended to “an/the upstream internal surface of the lower housing” and each recitation of “the upstream internal surface” currently written in the claims would also need to be amended to “the upstream internal surface of the upper housing”. For examination purposes, the Examiner interprets the claims in view of option (b) above.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-17, and 19-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on rejected claims 1, 8, and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Redmond et al. (US 4,904,236 A).
Regarding claim 1, Redmond discloses a check valve (see Figs. 9-10), comprising:
an upper housing (housing 112) having an upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) and defining an inlet (inlet 114) extending through the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29);
a lower housing (valve body 126) having an internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 below) and defining an outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126) extending through the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 below) of the lower housing (valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29), wherein the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 below) of the lower housing (valve body 126) forms a support portion (web portion 130) having a central aperture (central bore 134) extending through the support portion (web portion 130) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 21-29, col. 8 lines 18-29);
a cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126) interposed between and defined by the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) and the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 below) of the lower housing (valve body 126) for fluidly connecting the inlet (inlet 114) and the outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29); and
a flexible valve member (valve member 120) to selectively permit fluid flow in a first direction from the inlet (inlet 114) to the outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126), and prevent fluid backflow in a second direction from the outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126) to the inlet (inlet 114), the valve member (valve member 120) comprising a valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) and a valve stem portion (stem 122 and member 152) extending axially through opposing surfaces of the valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) along a central axis of the valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) (see Figs. 9-10), the valve stem portion (stem 122 and member 152) coupled to the lower housing (valve body 126) with the valve stem portion (stem 122 and member 152) positioned within the central aperture (central bore 134) of the support portion (web portion 130) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 21-29, col. 8 lines 18-29) and the valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) positioned between the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) and the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 below) of the lower housing (valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10 and annotated Fig. 10 below), wherein an entirety of an outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of the valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) is movable toward the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 below) of the lower housing (valve body 126) and movable toward the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, see annotated Fig. 10 below, col. 8 lines 30-53, the outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124 is movable toward at least a portion of the entire internal surface of valve body 126 and the internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126 when the valve seat engaging surface 147 moves toward the valve seat 136) and does not engage against any of the upper housing (housing 112) and the lower housing (valve body 126) when an upstream pressure is applied to the valve member (valve member 120) and when a downstream pressure is applied to the valve member (valve member 120) (see Figs. 9-10, see annotated Fig. 10 below, col. 7 lines 14-45, col. 8 lines 14-53, col. 9 lines 10-24, the outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124 does not contact the housing 112 or the valve body 126 regardless of upstream or downstream pressure).
Regarding claim 4, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 1, wherein the valve stem portion (stem 122 and member 152) is coupled to a portion of the lower housing (valve body 126) forming the support portion (web portion 130) that protrudes into the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126) from the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-58, col. 8 lines 18-29).
Regarding claim 5, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 4, wherein the support portion (web portion 130) is aligned with a central longitudinal axis of the check valve (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-58, col. 8 lines 18-29).
Regarding claim 6, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 1, wherein the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) comprises a projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially at valve body 126) extending into the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126), the projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially outward at valve body 126) being circularly disposed about the central axis of the valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29).
Regarding claim 7, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 6, wherein a distal end of the projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially outward at valve body 126) forms a sealing surface of the projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially outward at valve body 126) configured to be engaged against by the valve member to prevent fluid backflow in a second direction from the outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126) to the inlet (inlet 114) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29, the rim portion 128 engages closely against the internal surface of housing 112 to block flow).
Regarding claim 8, Redmond discloses a check valve (see Figs. 9-10), comprising:
an upper housing (housing 112) having an upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) and defining an inlet (inlet 114) extending through the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29);
a lower housing (valve body 126) having an internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above), a support portion (web portion 130) having a central aperture (central bore 134) extending through the support portion (web portion 130) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 21-29, col. 8 lines 18-29), and defining an outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126) extending through the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29);
a flexible valve member (valve member 120) comprising a valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) and a valve stem portion (stem 122 and member 152) extending axially through opposing surfaces of the valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) along a central axis of the valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) (see Figs. 9-10),
the valve member (valve member 120) positioned within a cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126) formed between the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) and the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10), and with the valve stem portion (stem 122 and member 152) coupled to the support portion (web portion 130) of the lower housing (valve body 126) and positioned within the central aperture (central bore 134) of the support portion (web portion 130) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 21-29, col. 8 lines 18-29), such that an outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of the valve member (valve member 120) is movable toward the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) to permit a fluid flow in a first direction through the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126) from the inlet (inlet 114) to the outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126), and the outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of the valve member (valve member 120) is movable toward the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) to resist fluid backflow in a second direction through the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126) from the outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126) to the inlet (inlet 114) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 8 lines 30-53), wherein an entirety of an outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of the valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) does not engage against any of the upper housing (housing 112) and the lower housing (valve body 126) when the outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of the valve member (valve member 120) is moved toward the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) and when the outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of the valve member (valve member 120) is moved toward the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, see annotated Fig. 10 above, col. 7 lines 14-45, col. 8 lines 14-53, col. 9 lines 10-24, the outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124 does not contact the housing 112 or the valve body 126 regardless of the movement of the elastomeric valve element 124 in Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 9, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 8, wherein the support portion (web portion 130) is aligned with a central longitudinal axis of the check valve (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-58, col. 8 lines 18-29).
Regarding claim 10, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 8, wherein the support portion (web portion 130) protrudes into the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126) from the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-58, col. 8 lines 18-29).
Regarding claim 11, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 8, wherein the lower housing (valve body 126) comprises a plurality of axially extending slots (passageways 132 and central bore 134) forming at least a portion of the outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126) extending through the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 18-29).
Regarding claim 12, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 11, wherein the plurality of axially extending slots (passageways 132 and central bore 134) extend through the support portion (web portion 130) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 18-29).
Regarding claim 13, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 8, wherein the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) comprises a projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially at valve body 126) extending from the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) into the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126), the projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially outward at valve body 126) being circularly disposed about the central axis of the valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29).
Regarding claim 14, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 13, wherein a distal end of the projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially outward at valve body 126) forms a sealing surface of the projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially outward at valve body 126) configured to be engaged against by the valve member when the outer circumferential perimeter of the valve member moves toward the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) to resist the fluid backflow (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29, the rim portion 128 engages closely against the internal surface of housing 112 to block flow).
Regarding claim 15, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 8, wherein the upper housing (housing 112) comprises a rib (tubing that defines inlet 114) that extends radially inward from the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 17, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 8, wherein a fluid flow path extends between the outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of the valve member (valve member 120) and an inner peripheral surface of the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, fluid flows in a path from the inlet 114, through the housing 112 and the valve body 126, and into the outlet 116).
Regarding claim 18, Redmond discloses a method of providing a check valve (see Figs. 9-10), the method comprising:
providing a cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126), formed between an upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) of an upper housing (housing 112) and an internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of a lower housing (valve body 126), for fluidly connecting an inlet (inlet 114) of the upper housing (housing 112) and an outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126) of the lower housing (valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29), wherein the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) forms a support portion (web portion 130) having a central aperture (central bore 134) extending through the support portion (web portion 130) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 21-29, col. 8 lines 18-29);
providing a flexible valve member (valve member 120) within the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126) to selectively permit fluid flow in a first direction from the inlet (inlet 114) to the outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126), and prevent the fluid backflow in a second direction from the outlet (outlet of valve body 126 where fluid exits from valve body 126) to the inlet (inlet 114), wherein a valve stem portion (stem 122 and member 152) of the valve member (valve member 120) is coupled to the support portion (web portion 130) of the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) with the valve stem portion (stem 122 and member 152) positioned within the central aperture (central bore 134) (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 21-29, col. 8 lines 18-29), such that an outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of the flexible valve member (valve member 120) is movable toward the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) to permit the fluid flow in the first direction, and the outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of the flexible valve member (valve member 120) is movable toward the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) to resist fluid backflow in the second direction (see Figs. 9-10, see annotated Fig. 10 above, col. 8 lines 30-53, the outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124 is movable toward at least a portion of the entire internal surface of valve body 126 and the internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126 when the valve seat engaging surface 147 moves toward the valve seat 136), wherein an entirety of an outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) of a valve body (elastomeric valve element 124) of the flexible valve member (valve member 120) does not engage against any of the upper housing (housing 112) and the lower housing (valve body 126) when the outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) is moved toward the internal surface (entire internal surface of valve body 126, see annotated Fig. 10 above) of the lower housing (valve body 126) and when the outer circumferential perimeter (outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124) is moved toward the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) (see Figs. 9-10, see annotated Fig. 10 above, col. 7 lines 14-45, col. 8 lines 14-53, col. 9 lines 10-24, the outermost/transverse edge of elastomeric valve element 124 does not contact the housing 112 or the valve body 126 regardless of the movement of the elastomeric valve element 124 in Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claim 19, Redmond discloses the method of Claim 18, wherein providing the valve member (valve member 120) within the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126) comprises positioning the valve member (valve member 120) adjacent to the support portion (web portion 130) and positioned between the support portion (web portion 130) and a projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially outward at valve body 126) extending from the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) into the cavity (space for fluid flow between inlet 114 and valve body 126), wherein the valve member (valve member 120) is configured to contact the projection (internal surface of housing 112 projects radially outward at valve body 126) when moved toward the upstream internal surface (internal surface of housing 112 upstream of valve body 126) to resist fluid backflow (see Figs. 9-10, col. 7 lines 14-29, the rim portion 128 engages closely against the internal surface of housing 112 to block flow).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redmond et al. (US 4,904,236 A), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Brignola (US 4,244,378 A).
Regarding claim 2, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 1. However, Redmond fails to expressly state a plurality of feet extending longitudinally from the outer circumferential perimeter of the valve body.
Brignola teaches a check valve (see Figs. 4-7) comprising a plurality of feet (legs 42) extending longitudinally from an outer circumferential perimeter of the valve body (valve element 28) which engage against an internal surface (bottom wall 50) of the lower housing (inner housing section 24a) (see Figs. 4-5, col. 5 lines 11-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve of Redmond to include a plurality of feet extending longitudinally from an outer circumferential perimeter of the rear surface 150 of the elastomeric valve element 124 and to modify the valve body 126 to include an additional surface for the plurality of feet to engage against, as taught by Brignola, in order to allow the plurality of feet to further aid in pressing the valve body against the sealing surface of the check valve to maintain a good sealing engagement (see Brignola col. 5 lines 26-33).
Claims 3, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redmond et al. (US 4,904,236 A), as applied to claims 1, 15, and 18 above, in view of Carmody et al. (US 2015/0352349 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 1. However, Redmond fails to expressly state a filter member coupled to an inner surface of the upper housing, the filter member being disposed upstream of the valve member.
Carmody teaches a check valve (check valve 12, see Fig. 5) comprising a filter member (filter medium 102) coupled to an inner surface of the upper housing (entrance housing section 60), the filter member (filter medium 102) being disposed upstream of the valve member (elastomeric membrane 80) (see Fig. 5, par. [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve of Redmond to include a filter member coupled to an inner surface of the upper housing, the filter member being disposed upstream of the valve member, as taught by Carmody, in order to protect the check valve from contaminants which interfere with the sealing of the valve (see Carmody par. [0002] and [0005]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 16, Redmond discloses the check valve of Claim 8. However, Redmond fails to expressly state a filter member positioned between the valve member and the rib.
Carmody teaches a check valve (check valve 12, see Fig. 5) comprising a filter member (filter medium 102) positioned between the valve member (elastomeric membrane 80) and the rib (annular valve seat 86) (see Fig. 5, par. [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the check valve of Redmond to include a filter member positioned between the valve member and the rib, as taught by Carmody, in order to protect the check valve from contaminants which interfere with the sealing of the valve (see Carmody par. [0002] and [0005]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 20, Redmond discloses the method of Claim 18. However, Redmond fails to expressly state providing a filter member between the inlet of the upper housing and the cavity.
Carmody teaches a method of providing a check valve (check valve 12, see Fig. 5), the method comprising providing a filter member (filter medium 102) between the inlet (bore 64) of the upper housing (entrance housing section 60) and the cavity (cavity 76) (see Fig. 5, par. [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Redmond to include providing a filter member between the inlet of the upper housing and the cavity, as taught by Carmody, in order to protect the check valve from contaminants which interfere with the sealing of the valve (see Carmody par. [0002] and [0005]-[0008]).
Response to Arguments
Note: this Office Action is a second non-final office action due to the added 112(a) and 112(b) rejections included above.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Redmond does not teach the limitations added in the amendment of 6/1/2026. These arguments are not found to be persuasive. The annotated Fig. 10 of Redmond above shows how the interpretation of the internal surface of the lower housing now includes the entire internal surface of the valve body 126. With this interpretation, Redmond still meets each and every limitation described in amended claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/AVERY SMALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783