DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are pending. Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected herein. This is a Non-Final Rejection after the amendment and arguments (hereinafter “the Response”) dated 26 May 2026. New grounds of rejection are presented herein, therefore the rejection is accordingly made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as being anticipated by AZAR et al. (US 20200363313).
Regarding claim 1: AZAR discloses: An auxiliary operating device (100 in FIG. 2) for a droplet dispenser (10), comprising a droplet sensor (110, 120), having a detected area (interrogation point 165) disposed between a droplet dispenser and a target area (5; FIG. 2), wherein the droplet sensor detects a droplet output from the droplet dispenser (para. 40) and outputs a corresponding droplet detection signal (signal shown in FIG. 12); an imaging device (camera in para. 68), capturing an image of the target area (para. 68); and a processor (140 in FIG. 9A), electrically connected with the droplet sensor and the imaging device (para. 55), obtaining a dripping time point at which the droplet passes through the detected area according to the droplet detection signal (para. 55, 67; FIG. 12), and determining whether the target area is shielded within a first time range according to the image (para. 68), whereby to evaluate whether the droplet has successfully dropped into the target area (“determine if the droplet entered the eye” in para. 68), wherein the first time range includes the dripping time point (FIG. 12 shows the detected time range extending before and after the dripping time point).
Regarding claim 2: AZAR discloses: a movement detector (accelerometer in para. 60; 167 in FIG. 10), electrically connected with the processor (FIG. 10), detecting a movement status of the auxiliary operating device (para. 60), and outputting a corresponding movement signal (para. 60), wherein the processor evaluates whether the droplet has dropped into the target area according to the movement signal within a second time range (para. 60-61; 68).
Regarding claim 3: AZAR discloses: the second time range begins earlier than the dripping time point (Para. 61 states that the accelerometer signal can be used to start the detection signal when the dropper is picked up, which will before the dripping time point.).
Regarding claim 4: AZAR discloses: the second time range includes the dripping time point (Para. 61 states that the accelerometer signal can be used to start the detection signal when the dropper is picked up, which will before the dripping time point.).
Regarding claim 5: AZAR discloses: the movement detector includes an accelerometer (para. 60-61), a gyroscope, a multiaxial sensor, a geomagnetic sensor, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 7: AZAR discloses: the droplet sensor includes a light source (120 in FIG. 2), providing a detecting light to illuminate the detected area (para. 40); and a light detector (110), detecting light intensity variation (para. 43), and generating the corresponding droplet detection signal (para. 43; FIG. 12).
Regarding claim 8: AZAR discloses: the target area is an eye (5 in FIG. 2); the processor determines whether the eye is shielded according to a pupil or iris of the eye in the image (“determine if the droplet entered the eye” in para. 68; Imaging the eye with a camera to determine if the droplet entered the eye will inherently include determining whether the pupil or iris is in the image.).
Regarding claim 10: AZAR discloses: a fixing element (housing 130 in FIG. 2), connected with the droplet dispenser (10; FIG. 2) to enable the auxiliary operating device to be fixed to the droplet dispenser at a relative position (para. 47).
Regarding claim 11: AZAR discloses: a storage element (memory in para. 55), electrically connected with the processor (140 in FIG. 9A; para. 55), and used to store the dripping time points of the droplets and a count of the droplets (number and time of dispensed drops in para. 65).
Regarding claim 12: AZAR discloses: a communication element (inherent in the data transmission discussed in para. 65), electrically connected with the processor, enabling the auxiliary operating device to establish a communication link with an external electronic device and transmit the dripping time points and a count of the droplets to the external electronic device (para. 65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AZAR in view of HUNTER et al. (US 20140187969).
Regarding claim 9: AZAR discloses that an image from a camera is used to determine if the droplet entered the eye (para. 68). However, AZAR does not specify that the processor works out a relative position of the auxiliary operating device and the eye according to a position of the pupil or iris in the image to evaluate whether the droplet successfully drops into the target area.
HUNTER however does teach using the captured image to determine that the droplet ejector is correctly aligned with the eye or predefined area of the eye (para. 100).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the imaging device of AZAR to assure alignment as taught by HUNTER to ensure that the droplets reach their target.
Response to Amendment/Argument
The amendment to claim 3 to overcome the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b) is acknowledged and said rejection is accordingly withdrawn.
The cancellation of claim 13 is acknowledged and the 112(d) rejection thereof is accordingly withdrawn.
The Applicant has argued (pages 4-5 of the Response) that the combination of DECOCK (US 20210267797) and HUNTER does not teach all of the limitations of claim 1 because HUNTER does not teach “using a droplet passage event to define a time reference.” The Applicant has further argued that “Hunter lacks the claimed mechanism of correlating time information derived from a droplet detection event with image-based evaluation of the target area state. These arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. New grounds of rejection have been presented herein and because they were not necessitated by the Applicant’s amendment, this action is accordingly made non-final.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL J KOLB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855