DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and Species 1(A) in the reply filed on 21 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “while searching the subject matter of independent claim 1, the Examiner will be searching all stackable modules, regardless of the shape. This is not found persuasive, in part because the argument is not understood, as claim 1 does not recite a stackable module. The species of Figs 1 and 2 have mutually exclusive characteristics that require at least different keyword searches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitations are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first electric air heater portion" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites “the heating element of the first electric air heater portion.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, rendering the claim indefinite. There is no heating element associated with the first air electric heater portion, which is first introduced in claim 2.
Claim 4 recites “the heating element of the second electric air heater portion.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, rendering the claim indefinite. There is no heating element associated with the second air electric heater portion, which is introduced in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alagy (US 5,270,016) in view of Kim (KR 101776918).
Regarding claim 1 Alagy discloses:
An electric (col 3 lines 40-41) air heater system (col 3 lines 11-14; the system is capable of heating a gas mixture, so it is capable of heating air), comprising:
a first electric air heater module;
wherein the first electric air heater module comprises:
an outer casing (metallic reinforcement 15, see Fig 2, col 12 lines 61-63), having an inner surface (toward interior in Fig 1E, right side of 15 in Fig 2), a first end, and a second end,
a refractory insulation layer (refractory concrete 14, see Fig 2, col 12 lines 61-63) in tight communication with the outer casing;
an inner cavity (interior of vessel in Fig 1E, space at the right in Fig 2) within the refractory insulation layer;
a plurality of tubes (sheaths 4, col 10 lines 6-8, “The sheaths which surround the resistors so as to avoid direct contact between the gas mixtures of the charge and the resistors are preferably of tubular shape.”) extending through the inner cavity from the first end (left or right end of 4 as shown in Fig 1E) to the second end (left or right end of 4 as shown in Fig 1E), the plurality of tubes (4) each having an exterior surface, wherein each tube is fixed relative to the outer casing at the first end (either end, see Fig 2, col 12 line 67-col 13 line 2 “The sheath 4 is positioned by means of a gland system 16 acting on a covering of refractory material 17, e.g. a covering of ceramic material, in a groove at the level of the metallic reinforcement.”), and each tube has an electrical connection (6a, 6b, col 11 lines 17-25 “The heating sections are independently supplied with electricity by a pair of electrodes (6a, 6b in FIGS. 1D and 1E).”) disposed at the first end;
wherein the plurality of tubes is arranged into one or more bundles (col 11 lines 1-13, “bundle”) of tubes, where each bundle comprises two or more tubes (see Figs 1A, 1B);
and wherein each tube has a heating element (resistor 3, col 12 lines 14-15, “The resistors 3 are pin shaped and are positioned in the sheaths”) axially through a hollow interior of the tube;
and a sleeve (gland system 16, see Fig 2, col 12 line 67-col 13 line 2) supporting each of the plurality of tubes (4) at the second end of the outer casing.
Alagy does not disclose:
each tube has a plurality of fins extending radially from the exterior surface
Alagy discloses that “heat transfer between the process gas and the sheaths is essentially transfer by convection. In such a case the quality of heat exchange will be directly related to the available exchange area and the area/volume ratio” (col 4 lines 11-15).
Kim teaches a heater having a resistor 120 inside a heating element 100, wherein the heating element has heat dissipation fins 150 to increase the surface area for heat transfer (¶45).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heater of Alagy to have fins on the tubes, as taught by Kim, to increase the heat transfer area, thus increasing the “quality of heat exchange” (Alagy col 4 lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 6, insofar as it is understood, the heater of Alagy as modified by the fins of Kim teaches:
the first electrical air heater module has a rectangular cross section (Alagy col 9 line 13 “square or rectangular cross section”) or a cylindrical cross section.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alagy (US 5,270,016) in view of Kim (KR 101776918) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Park (KR 102233386 B1).
Regarding claim 2, insofar as it is understood, the heater of Alagy as modified by the fins of Kim does not teach:
a second electric air heater portion rotated at angle to the first electric air heater portion.
Alagy discloses parallel heating elements that heat a flow of process gas as it flows from inlet 5 to outlet 10 in Fig 1E.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Park teaches:
An air heater having heating elements of various shapes, including portions extending in various directions at angles to each other (see arrows in annotated Fig 5 above). “By overlapping [the various shapes] at regular intervals when arranging them, the hot air generation rate is increased” (¶25).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heater system of Alagy as modified by the fins of Kim to provide overlapping heating elements in various shapes, thus providing a second electric air heater portion rotated at angle to the first electric air heater portion to obtain the benefit of increasing hot air generation rate.
Regarding claim 3, the heater of Alagy as modified by the fins of Kim and the various shapes of Park teaches:
each of the one or more bundles is connected to a separately controlled power bank (Alagy col 11 lines 17-25 “The heating sections are independently supplied with electricity… They enable the temperature of each heating section to be regulated automatically”).
Regarding claim 4, the heater of Alagy as modified by the fins of Kim and the various shapes of Park teaches:
the heating element of the first electric air heater portion is a different heating element type than the heating element of the second electric air heater portion (Alagy col 9 lines 56-57: “The heating elements may be identical or different, both in dimensions and heating power.”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alagy (US 5,270,016) in view of Kim (KR 101776918) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of KR1 (KR 200380432 Y1).
Regarding claim 5, the heater of Alagy as modified by the fins of Kim does not teach:
the plurality of tubes are arranged in two or more rows and wherein one or more rows of tubes are unpowered.
KR1 teaches:
a heated mattress having a spare heating element (20-1, ¶21), wherein power can be connected to the spare heating element in the event of failure of the main heating element (20, ¶20). This allows the product to be used without being repaired (¶24).
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heater of Alagy as modified by the fins of Kim by including one or more spare heating elements that are typically unpowered, but can be connected to power in the event of failure of a main heating element to obtain he benefit Aasen allowing use without waiting for repair.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alagy (US 5,270,016) in view of Kim (KR 101776918) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lord (US 20110150440).
Regarding claim 7, the heater of Alagy as modified by the fins of Kim does not teach:
the first electrical air heater module having the cylindrical cross section comprises: a cylindrical outer casing; a rectangular inner casing configured to receive an air flow; and wherein the refractory insulation layer covers the rectangular inner casing.
Lord teaches:
A system for heating gas. “The shell contains the liquid or gas being heated and is usually cylindrical to provide a good pressure barrier” (¶13). In the embodiment of Fig 11, gas flows through a rectangular baffle 636 (¶59) and a cylindrical outer shell provides a good pressure barrier.
COMBINATION
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Alagy to have a further cylindrical outer casing to obtain the benefit of a good pressure barrier.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 200428048 Y1 discloses heating elements at different angles.
US 20070039938 A1- of subzones of heating control include radially or axially separated portions, combinations and mixtures of radially and axially separated portions, and intermingled arrangements. In a simple example of an intermingled arrangement, the heating elements of one subzone are interdigitated with the heating elements.
Brun (US 8153938) discloses heating elements at different angles.
[AltContent: textbox (D)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]Related Art
The following references are not available under 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2), but are included here for their relevance.
Conclusion
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761