DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-5 are pending in this application. Any rejection(s) and/or objection(s) made in the previous Office Action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments in the response filed on 06/05/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed features "weft-knitted fabric" and "each of the plurality of cut-loop piles being formed by cutting a pile loop which is an extended needle loop and formed from a portion of one of at least two colored yarns" in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is noted that Figs. 1-2 only depict a knit course without providing a representative knit structure and/or a knitting direction, failing to show how the yarns are connected between adjacent courses; consequently, the orientation of the depicted knit course relative to a knitting direction cannot be ascertained. Actually, after a careful review, Figs. 1-2 appear to depict an inversed knit course; and the pile loops 23 appear to be sinker pile loops as each connecting two feet of adjacent yarn loops when Figs. 1-2 are inversed (see the inversed Fig. 2 with annotations below). Therefore, there is no support in the drawings that the pile loops 23 are needle loops.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendment filed 06/05/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. Due to the same reason as discussed above in the Drawings section, the added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: "which is an extended needle loop" in pages 3 and 5.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "each of the plurality of cut-loop piles being formed by cutting a pile loop which is an extended needle loop". However, the original disclosure does not set forth the feature. The original specification does not have the term "needle loop". In addition, as discussed above in the Drawings section, Figs. 1-2 of the drawings appear to show that the pile loops 23 are sinker pile loops. Therefore, claiming the pile loops being extended needle loops constitutes new matter.
The remaining claims each depend from a rejected base claim and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pot d'Or (US 2003/0150243 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pot d'Or discloses a weft-knitted fabric (fig. 2; paras. 0040-0041) with a plurality of cut-loop piles (formed by cutting loops 31 of yarn F2; see annotated fig. 2 with Fig. 2 inversed; paras. 0042, 0044), comprising:
a plurality of basic yarn loops (formed by ground yarn G; see annotated fig. 2 with Fig. 2 inversed; para. 0041), formed from at least one basic yarn (ground yarn G; fig. 2; para. 0041); and
the plurality of cut-loop piles, respectively connected to one of the plurality of basic yarn loops (by remaining portions of yarn F2; fig. 2; paras. 0041-0042), each of the plurality of cut-loop piles being formed by cutting a pile loop which is an extended needle loop and formed from a portion of one of at least two colored yarns (one of two colored yarns F1 and F2; see the inversed fig. 2 with annotations; paras. 0042, 0044), wherein another portion of each of the at least two colored yarns without forming the plurality of cut-loop piles forms at least one of the plurality of basic yarn loops together with the at least one basic yarn (fig. 2; paras. 0041-0042), and colors of the at least two colored yarns are different (para. 0041).
Annotated Fig. 2 from US 2003/0150243 A1
Regarding claim 5, Pot d'Or discloses the weft-knitted fabric with the plurality of cut-loop piles as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein each of the plurality of cut-loop piles comprises a pile base (see the inversed fig. 2 with annotations) connected to at least one of the plurality of basic yarn loops (see the inversed fig. 2 with annotations), and at least one cut pile (see the inversed fig. 2 with annotations) connected to the pile base (see the inversed fig. 2 with annotations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pot d'Or (US 2003/0150243 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Pot d'Or discloses the weft-knitted fabric with the plurality of cut-loop piles as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the weft-knitted fabric comprises a plurality of courses (fig. 2; paras. 0040-0041).
Pot d'Or does not explicitly disclose wherein positions of the plurality of cut-loop piles between the plurality of courses are varied. However, Pot d'Or does disclose that the weft-knitted fabric comprising a knitted pattern with two yarns of different colors and different knitted structures (paras. 0043-0044), and the weft-knitted fabric is manufactured by a circular knitting machine with a pattern-dependent control program which enables knitting the two yarns of different colors by selective needles (paras. 0092-0095). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the weft-knitted fabric as disclosed by Pot d'Or, with wherein positions of the plurality of cut-loop piles between the plurality of courses are varied, in order to provide the weft-knitted fabric with esthetically attractive patterns to consumers. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art by using the circular knitting machine disclosed by Pot d'Or.
Regarding claim 3, Pot d'Or discloses the weft-knitted fabric with the plurality of cut-loop piles as claimed in claim 2, and further discloses wherein the weft-knitted fabric comprises a plurality of courses (fig. 2; paras. 0040-0041).
Pot d'Or does not explicitly disclose wherein a number of the plurality of cut-loop piles between each of the plurality of courses is varied. However, Pot d'Or does disclose that the weft-knitted fabric comprising a knitted pattern with two yarns of different colors and different knitted structures (paras. 0043-0044), and the weft-knitted fabric is manufactured by a circular knitting machine with a pattern-dependent control program which enables knitting the two yarns of different colors by selective needles (paras. 0092-0095). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the weft-knitted fabric as disclosed by Pot d'Or, with wherein a number of the plurality of cut-loop piles between each of the plurality of courses is varied, in order to provide the weft-knitted fabric with esthetically attractive patterns to consumers. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art by using the circular knitting machine disclosed by Pot d'Or.
Regarding claim 4, Pot d'Or discloses the weft-knitted fabric with the plurality of cut-loop piles as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the weft-knitted fabric comprises a plurality of courses (fig. 2; paras. 0040-0041).
Pot d'Or does not explicitly disclose a number of the plurality of cut-loop piles between the plurality of courses is varied. However, Pot d'Or does disclose that the weft-knitted fabric comprising a knitted pattern with two yarns of different colors and different knitted structures (paras. 0043-0044), and the weft-knitted fabric is manufactured by a circular knitting machine with a pattern-dependent control program which enables knitting the two yarns of different colors by selective needles (paras. 0092-0095). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the weft-knitted fabric as disclosed by Pot d'Or, with wherein a number of the plurality of cut-loop piles between different courses of the plurality of courses is varied, in order to provide the weft-knitted fabric with esthetically attractive patterns to consumers. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art by using the circular knitting machine disclosed by Pot d'Or.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied. Further, Applicant's arguments filed on 06/05/2025 have been fully considered and addressed as follows.
Applicant's remarks: Applicant asserts that the term "needle loop" in the art refers to the upper part of the loop produced by the needle drawing the yarn, and the term "sinker loop" in the art refers to the lower part of the knitted loop which is the connection of two bottom half arcs (feet) belonging to the neighboring loops lying laterally and provided annotated figures to show piles loops 23 are needle loops in the instant application.
Examiner's response: The instant claims are directed to a weft-knitted fabric, and the terms "upper part" and "lower part" can be inversed due to different orientations of the weft-knitted fabric. In other word, an upper part will become a lower part and a lower part will become an upper part when the weft knitted fabric is flipped upside down. The instant drawings only show one knitted course, and fail to provide a view of a weft-knitted fabric or a knit direction when manufacturing the fabric. After a careful review, Figs. 1-2 of the instant application appear to show an inversed knit course; and the pile loops 23 appear to be sinker pile loops because each of the pile loops 23 two adjacent yarn loops when the figures are flipped upside down. See the Fig. 2 annotated by the examiner in the Drawing section. As such, pile loops 23 are actually sinker pile loops. Applicant's arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant's remarks: Applicant asserts that the needle loops are usually shown at the technical front of the fabric, the pile loop formed by extending the needle loop is at the technical front, the sinker loops are usually shown at the technical back of the fabric, and the pile loop formed by extending the sinker loop is at the technical back; therefore, Pot d'Or fails to show the extended needle loops as claimed because the pile loops of Pot d'Or are formed from extended sinker loops on the technical back of the fabric.
Examiner's response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the term "usually" means less than 100%; therefore, one cannot assume that needle loops must be shown at a technical front and sinker loops must be shown at a technical back just because they "usually" do. As such, one of ordinary one cannot assume that a pile loop formed by extending a needle loop must be at a technical front and a pile loop formed by extending a sinker loop must be at a technical back. Therefore, one cannot assume that the pile loops in the cited reference Pot d'Or must be at the technical back as Pot d'Or does not explicitly make such a statement. In addition, the instant drawings fail to provide a view of a representative knit structure of the knitted fabric or a knitting direction as previously discussed, one of ordinary skill of the art cannot recognize that the pile loops 23 must be needle loops at a technical front. Actually, when Fig. 2 of Pot d'Or is inversed, it shows the same structure as Fig. 2 of the instant application and shows the pile loops at the same positions as the pile loops 23 (i.e., "extended needle loops" as Applicant argued) of the instant application; therefore, the pile loops of Pot d'Or can be considered as "extended needle loops" as Applicant argues. Therefore, Pot d'Or still meets the structural requirement of the product claims of the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AIYING ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732