DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 24 October 2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 13, 19, and 25 have been amended, claims 7 and 22 are cancelled, and claims 11 and 28-33 stand withdrawn. Claims 1-6, 8-21, and 23-33 currently stand pending in the application.
The amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the previous claim objections, but a further claim objection is presented below as necessitated by the current claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 8-10, and 12-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: formatting. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 1 is missing a closing period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 19-21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as anticipated by U.S. Patent No. US 8,414,594 to Berger et al. (hereinafter, “Berger”).
As to claim 1, Berger discloses an orthopedic system, FIGS. 7-11, comprising: (a) an orthopedic device (16) comprising an orthopedic device engagement feature (23) (col. 6 / lines 26-28); (b) an orthopedic instrument (24) comprising an elongated instrument shaft and an instrument engagement feature (col. 6 / lines 26-28), FIG. 8; and (c) an orthopedic device caddy (8), comprising: (i) a caddy body comprising two planar exterior surfaces (top surface and planar portion on the side/side panel) that are perpendicular to each other, FIGS. 8 and 10-11; (ii) an elongated opening (10) (col. 6 / line 66 – col. 7 / line 8) extending into the caddy body extending through at least one of the two planar exterior surfaces and into the caddy body at a non-perpendicular and non-parallel angle relative to at least one of the planar exterior surfaces of the caddy body, FIG. 8, the elongated opening comprising an alignment portion (proximal portion of interior of 10) extending along a proximal segment of the elongated opening, the elongated opening further comprising an orthopedic device retention portion (distal portion of interior of 10) extending along a segment of the elongated opening distal to the proximal segment; (iii) wherein the orthopedic device retention portion is configured to hold the orthopedic device (the distal portion of the interior of 10 is configured to hold at least a distal portion of the orthopedic device or other portions of the orthopedic device as it is pushed through the elongated opening and into the bone plate); (iv) wherein the alignment portion is configured to receive a portion of the instrument shaft and align the instrument engagement feature relative to the orthopedic device engagement feature (during insertion of the orthopedic device into the bone plate, the instrument shaft will pass into the alignment portion of the elongated opening), FIG. 8
As to claim 19, Berger discloses an orthopedic system, FIGS. 7-11, comprising an orthopedic device caddy (8), the orthopedic device caddy comprising: (a) a caddy body; (b) an elongated opening (10) (col. 6 / line 66 – col. 7 / line 8) extending into the caddy body at a non-perpendicular and non-parallel angle relative to a planar exterior surface (top surface of 8) of the caddy body, FIG. 8, the elongated opening comprising an alignment portion (proximal portion of interior of 10) extending along a proximal segment of the elongated opening, the elongated opening further comprising an orthopedic device retention portion (distal portion of interior of 10) extending along a segment of the elongated opening distal to the proximal segment, wherein the elongated opening has a length greater than a length of the caddy body (since the elongated opening is at a diagonal), FIG. 9; (c) wherein the orthopedic device retention portion is configured to hold an orthopedic device (the distal portion of the interior of 10 is configured to hold at least a distal portion of an orthopedic device 16 or other portions of the orthopedic device as it is pushed through the elongated opening and into the bone plate), the orthopedic device comprising an orthopedic device engagement feature (23) (col. 6 / lines 26-28); (d) wherein the alignment portion is configured to align an instrument engagement feature of an orthopedic instrument (24) relative to the orthopedic device engagement feature (col. 6 / lines 26-28).
As to claim 20, Berger discloses the orthopedic system of claim 19 wherein the alignment portion is at least three times the length of the orthopedic device retention portion (since the alignment portion and the orthopedic device retention portion are proximal and distal portions of the elongated opening, and the elongated opening can be divided into the portions such that the alignment portion is at least three times the length of the orthopedic device retention portion).
As to claim 21, Berger discloses the orthopedic system of claim 19 wherein the alignment portion is at least twice the length of the orthopedic device retention portion (since the alignment portion and the orthopedic device retention portion are proximal and distal portions of the elongated opening, and the elongated opening can be divided into the portions such that the alignment portion is at least twice the length of the orthopedic device retention portion).
As to claim 23, Berger discloses the orthopedic system of claim 21 wherein the caddy body is configured to allow visualization of the orthopedic device in the orthopedic device retention portion of the elongated opening (the orthopedic device can be visualized through a top opening of the elongated opening).
As to claim 24, Berger discloses the orthopedic system of claim 21 wherein the caddy body comprises at least one additional opening (11) extending into the caddy body configured to retain an additional orthopedic device (col. 6 / line 66 – col. 7 / line 8), FIG. 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger in view of U.S. Patent No. US 10,245,086 to Treace et al. (hereinafter, “Treace”).
As to claim 2, Berger discloses the orthopedic system of claim 1 further comprising a sterile package containing the orthopedic device and the orthopedic device caddy (col. 7 / line 66 – col. 8 / line 10).
Berger is silent as to the sterile package containing the orthopedic instrument (claim 2).
Treace teaches that all components of a surgical kit can be included in a single sterile package (col. 29 / lines 18-19).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide all the components of Berger’s system in a single sterile package, as taught by Treace, for ease of shipping and to reduce costs, and to ensure that the practitioner has access to all of the required components of the system when in the operating suite and that the components are ready to use, therefore reducing surgical time. The sterile package would thus contain the orthopedic device, the orthopedic instrument, and the orthopedic device caddy.
Claims 3, 14-18, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger in view of U.S. Patent No. US 10,639,084 to Garcia et al. (hereinafter, “Garcia”).
As to claim 14, Berger discloses the orthopedic system of claim 1 wherein: (i) the orthopedic device comprises a first orthopedic device (16); (ii) wherein the orthopedic device retention portion of the orthopedic device caddy further comprises a first orthopedic device retention portion of the elongated opening; (iii) wherein the first orthopedic device retention portion is configured to hold the first orthopedic device (as above) (col. 7 / lines 9-13), FIG. 8.
As to claim 15, Berger discloses the orthopedic system of claim 14 wherein the first orthopedic device retention portion is distal to the alignment portion.
Berger is silent as to wherein the alignment portion is at least three times a length of the orthopedic device (claim 3); a second orthopedic device; wherein the orthopedic device retention portion of the orthopedic device caddy further comprises a second orthopedic device retention portion of the elongated opening spaced from the first orthopedic device retention portion along the elongated opening; wherein the second orthopedic device retention portion is configured to hold the second orthopedic device (claim 14); wherein the second orthopedic device retention portion is either proximal to or in the alignment portion (claim 15); wherein the second orthopedic device is cannulated and configured to receive the elongated instrument shaft of the orthopedic instrument such that the elongated instrument shaft extends through the cannulation of the second orthopedic device (claim 16).
As to claim 1, Garcia teaches an orthopedic system, FIG. 48, comprising: (a) an orthopedic device (1125 and 1150; both orthopedic devices because they are used in orthopedic surgery) comprising an orthopedic device engagement feature (head driving recess on 1125 and 1155 on 1150) (col. 22 / lines 36-37); (b) an orthopedic instrument (driver; tip shown proximal to 1150 in FIG. 48) comprising an elongated instrument shaft and an instrument engagement feature (distal surface of tip); and (c) an orthopedic device caddy (1144) (col. 22 / lines 19-22), comprising: (i) a caddy body; (ii) an elongated opening (1149) extending into the caddy body (col. 22 / lines 34-37), the elongated opening comprising an alignment portion (proximal portion of interior of 1149) extending along a proximal segment of the elongated opening, the elongated opening further comprising an orthopedic device retention portion (distal portion of interior of 1149) extending along a segment of the elongated opening distal to the proximal segment; (iii) wherein the orthopedic device retention portion is configured to hold the orthopedic device (the distal portion of the interior of 1149 is configured to hold at least a distal portion of the orthopedic device or other portions of the orthopedic device as it is pushed through the elongated opening and into the bone plate); (iv) wherein the alignment portion is configured to receive a portion of the instrument shaft and align the instrument engagement feature relative to the orthopedic device engagement feature (during insertion of the orthopedic device into the bone plate, the instrument shaft will pass into the alignment portion of the elongated opening, where the instrument shaft and its instrument engagement feature are aligned with the orthopedic devices and their engagement features)
As to claim 3, Garcia teaches the orthopedic system of claim 1 wherein the alignment portion is at least three times a length of the orthopedic device (three times the length of the first orthopedic device 1125).
As to claim 14, Garcia teaches the orthopedic system of claim 1 wherein: (i) the orthopedic device comprises a first orthopedic device (1125) and a second orthopedic device (1150) (both orthopedic devices because they are used in orthopedic surgery); (ii) wherein the orthopedic device retention portion of the orthopedic device caddy further comprises a first orthopedic device retention portion (smaller diameter distal portion of 1149) of the elongated opening and a second orthopedic device retention portion (portion of 1149 that holds 1150, proximal to the shoulder in 1149) of the elongated opening spaced from the first orthopedic device retention portion along the elongated opening; (iii) wherein the first orthopedic device retention portion is configured to hold the first orthopedic device; and (iv) wherein the second orthopedic device retention portion is configured to hold the second orthopedic device (col. 22 / lines 34-52).
As to claim 15, Garcia teaches the orthopedic system of claim 14 wherein the first orthopedic device retention portion is distal to the alignment portion and wherein the second orthopedic device retention portion is either proximal to or in the alignment portion (the second orthopedic device retention portion is in the alignment portion).
As to claim 16, Garcia teaches the orthopedic system of claim 15 wherein the second orthopedic device is cannulated (at 1155) and configured to receive the elongated instrument shaft (a distal portion of the shaft) of the orthopedic instrument such that the elongated instrument shaft extends through the cannulation (the distal portion of the instrument shaft extends through or into the cannulation) of the second orthopedic device.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berger’s system to include a second orthopedic device (a driver bit) to facilitate driving of the first orthopedic device, and to modify the caddy and its elongated openings to accommodate the first and second orthopedic devices by elongating the length of the elongated opening and providing the stepped interior to allow holding of each of the orthopedic devices in their respective retention portions, as taught by Garcia. Driver bits are well known in the orthopedic art and would allow use of the same instrument shaft to drive different orthopedic devices with different engagement features by simply changing the corresponding engagement features of the second orthopedic device/driver bit. As taught by Garcia, the alignment portion is at least three times a length of the orthopedic device to accommodate the second orthopedic device/driver bit. The orthopedic device retention portion of the elongated opening would include a first orthopedic device retention portion (smaller diameter distal portion) to hold the first orthopedic device, and a second orthopedic device retention portion (portion proximal to the shoulder) spaced from the first orthopedic device retention portion along the elongated opening to hold the second orthopedic device, as taught by Garcia.
As to claims 17 and 18, Berger is silent as to wherein the caddy body further comprises a port extending into the caddy body proximate the second orthopedic device retention portion (claim 17); wherein the second orthopedic device is physically manipulable through the port when the second orthopedic device is located in the second orthopedic device retention portion.
In another embodiment, Garcia teaches a port (slit in 1044) extending into the caddy body, FIG. 43.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the caddy body of Berger a port extending into the caddy body as taught by Garcia, to facilitate cleaning and sterilization and allow viewing of the orthopedic devices therein. The port would be proximate the second orthopedic device retention portion since it extends a length of the elongated opening, and the second orthopedic device would be physically manipulable through the port (since the port is a through opening) when the second orthopedic device is located in the second orthopedic device retention portion.
As to claim 25, Berger discloses an orthopedic system, FIGS. 7-11, comprising an orthopedic device caddy (8), the orthopedic device caddy comprising: (a) a caddy body; (b) an elongated opening (10) (col. 6 / line 66 – col. 7 / line 8) extending into the caddy body from a proximal end to a distal end, the elongated opening comprising a first portion (distal portion of interior of 10) and a second portion (proximal portion of interior of 10) proximal to the first portion; (c) a first orthopedic device (16) removably positioned in the first portion of the elongated opening (at least a distal portion of the orthopedic device is removably positioned in the distal portion of the interior of 10 or other portions of the orthopedic device are removably positioned in the distal portion of 10 as it is pushed through the elongated opening and into the bone plate).
Berger is silent as to the second portion is wider than the first portion, the caddy body defining a shoulder between the first portion and the second portion; a second orthopedic device removably positioned in the second portion of the elongated opening (claim 25); wherein the second orthopedic device is cannulated, with the cannulation extending from a proximal end of the second orthopedic device to a distal end of the second orthopedic device (claim 26); wherein, when the first and second orthopedic devices are removably positioned in the first and second portions of the elongated opening, the distal end of the second orthopedic device is spaced apart from a proximal end of the first orthopedic device (claim 27).
As to claim 25, Garcia teaches an orthopedic system, FIG. 48, comprising an orthopedic device caddy (1144) (col. 22 / lines 19-22), the orthopedic device caddy comprising: (a) a caddy body; (b) an elongated opening (1149) extending into the caddy body from a proximal end to a distal end (col. 22 / lines 34-37), the elongated opening comprising a first portion (distal portion of interior of 1149) and a second portion (proximal portion of interior of 1149, proximal to shoulder) proximal to the first portion that is wider than the first portion, FIG. 48, the caddy body defining a shoulder between the first portion and the second portion, FIG. 48; (c) a first orthopedic device (1125) removably positioned in the first portion of the elongated opening; and (d) a second orthopedic device (1150; both orthopedic devices because they are used in orthopedic surgery) removably positioned in the second portion of the elongated opening (col. 22 / lines 34-52).
As to claim 26, Garcia teaches the orthopedic system of claim 25 wherein the second orthopedic device is cannulated (at 1155), with the cannulation extending from a proximal end (proximal end portion) of the second orthopedic device to a distal end (distal end portion) of the second orthopedic device (where the distal end extends up to the end of 1155 so that 1155 extends to the distal end).
As to claim 27, Garcia teaches the orthopedic system of claim 26 wherein, when the first and second orthopedic devices are removably positioned in the first and second portions of the elongated opening, FIG. 48, the distal end of the second orthopedic device is spaced apart from a proximal end of the first orthopedic device (at least in the position of FIG. 48, and even when the first device is in the elongated opening, the distal end of the second device is spaced apart from the proximal end of the first device before driving engagement, and even during driving engagement, a proximal section of the distal end would be spaced apart).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berger’s system to include a second orthopedic device (a driver bit) to facilitate driving of the first orthopedic device, and to modify the caddy and its elongated openings to accommodate the first and second orthopedic devices by elongating the length of the elongated opening and providing the stepped interior to allow holding of each of the orthopedic devices in their respective first or second portions, as taught by Garcia. Driver bits are well known in the orthopedic art and would allow use of the same instrument shaft to drive different orthopedic devices with different engagement features by simply changing the corresponding engagement features of the second orthopedic device/driver bit. The first portion would be a smaller diameter distal portion to hold the first orthopedic device, and the second portion would be wider than the first portion and separated therefrom by a shoulder to hold the second orthopedic device, as taught by Garcia.
Claims 4-6, 8, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger in view of Treace (hereinafter, “Berger/Treace”), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Garcia.
As to claim 8, Berger/Treace disclose the orthopedic system of claim 4 wherein the caddy body is configured to allow visualization of the orthopedic device in the orthopedic device retention portion of the elongated opening (the orthopedic device can be visualized through a top opening of the elongated opening).
As to claim 10, Berger/Treace disclose the orthopedic system of claim 8 where the caddy body comprises a visualization opening (11; for visualization of the screw in 11) extending into the caddy body proximate (at least part of 11 is near the orthopedic device retention portion of 10) the orthopedic device retention portion of the elongated opening, FIG. 8.
As to claim 12, Berger/Treace disclose the orthopedic system of claim 4 wherein the caddy body comprises at least one additional opening (11) extending into the caddy body configured to retain an additional orthopedic device (col. 6 / line 66 – col. 7 / line 8), FIG. 8.
As to claim 13, Berger/Treace disclose the orthopedic system of claim 12 wherein the additional orthopedic device comprises an orthopedic screw (16) (col. 7 / lines 9-13), FIG. 8.
Berger/Treace are silent as to wherein the alignment portion is at least twice a length of the orthopedic device (claim 4); wherein an outer diameter of the portion of the instrument shaft is less than 1 mm smaller than an inner diameter of the alignment portion of the elongated opening (claim 5); wherein an outer diameter of the portion of the instrument shaft is less than 0.5 mm smaller than an inner diameter of the alignment portion of the elongated opening (claim 6).
As to claim 1, Garcia teaches an orthopedic system, FIG. 48, comprising: (a) an orthopedic device (1125) comprising an orthopedic device engagement feature (head driving recess on 1125) (col. 22 / lines 36-37); (b) an orthopedic instrument (driver and 1150) comprising an elongated instrument shaft (including 1150) and an instrument engagement feature (1152); and (c) an orthopedic device caddy (1144) (col. 22 / lines 19-22), comprising: (i) a caddy body; (ii) an elongated opening (1149) extending into the caddy body (col. 22 / lines 34-37), the elongated opening comprising an alignment portion (proximal portion of interior of 1149) extending along a proximal segment of the elongated opening, the elongated opening further comprising an orthopedic device retention portion (distal portion of interior of 1149) extending along a segment of the elongated opening distal to the proximal segment; (iii) wherein the orthopedic device retention portion is configured to hold the orthopedic device (the distal portion of the interior of 1149 is configured to hold at least a distal portion of the orthopedic device or other portions of the orthopedic device as it is pushed through the elongated opening and into the bone plate); (iv) wherein the alignment portion is configured to receive a portion of the instrument shaft (including 1150) and align the instrument engagement feature relative to the orthopedic device engagement feature (col. 22 / lines 34-52)
As to claim 4, Garcia teaches the orthopedic system of claim 2 wherein the alignment portion is at least twice a length of the orthopedic device (at least twice the length of the orthopedic device 1125).
As to claim 5, Garcia teaches the orthopedic system of claim 4 wherein an outer diameter of the portion of the instrument shaft (outer diameter at 1154 of 1150) is less than 1 mm smaller than an inner diameter of the alignment portion of the elongated opening (because the instrument shaft at 1154 slidably engages the elongated opening with a friction fit, col. 22 / lines 40-46).
As to claim 6, Garcia teaches the orthopedic system of claim 4 wherein an outer diameter of the portion of the instrument shaft (outer diameter at 1154 of 1150) is less than 0.5 mm smaller than an inner diameter of the alignment portion of the elongated opening (because the instrument shaft at 1154 slidably engages the elongated opening with a friction fit, col. 22 / lines 40-46).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berger’s system to include a driver bit (Garcia, 1150) to facilitate driving of the orthopedic device, and to modify the caddy and its elongated openings to accommodate the orthopedic device and the driver bit by elongating the length of the elongated opening and providing the stepped interior to allow holding of the orthopedic device and the driver bit, as taught by Garcia. Driver bits are well known in the orthopedic art and would allow use of the same instrument shaft to drive different orthopedic devices with different engagement features by simply changing the corresponding engagement features of the driver bit. As taught by Garcia, the alignment portion is at least twice a length of the orthopedic device to accommodate the driver bit. As taught by Garcia, the outer diameter of the driver bit of the instrument shaft is less than 0.5 mm smaller than an inner diameter of the alignment portion of the elongated opening because the driver bit is sized to be held in place in the elongated opening by friction fit.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger/Treace in view of Garcia (hereinafter, “Berger/Treace/Garcia”), as applied to claims 4-6, 8, 10, 12, and 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,201,893 to Holloway et al. (hereinafter, “Holloway”).
Berger/Treace/Garcia contemplate wherein the caddy body is made of a sterilizable plastic material such as polypropylene (Berger, col. 5 / lines 46-50) but are silent as to wherein the caddy body is at least partially translucent.
Holloway teaches that clarified polypropylene is translucent and sterilizable (col. 7 / line 61 – col. 8 / line 3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to comprise the caddy body of translucent clarified polypropylene, since this is taught by Holloway as being easily sterilizable, non-toxic, and relatively rigid, and therefore appropriate for use in Berger/Treace/Garcia’s caddy body, particularly since Berger contemplates the use of polypropylene.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY L KAMIKAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3775