Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9-12, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al. (PG/PUB 20220185496) in view over Weber (USPN 6316841) in view over Amari (USPN 12091182) in view over Ives et al. (USPN 11482957)
Claim 1.
Baker et al. teaches a hybrid emergency power unit for an aircraft, comprising:
a controller (figure 2-256)
a generator-motor operatively coupled to the controller (figure 2-116)
a hydraulic pump operatively coupled to the generator-motor (figure 2-120)
a battery pack operatively coupled to the controller (figure 2-250) and
a turbine operatively coupled to the generator-motor (figure 2-114)
wherein during a bleed air mode, the turbine and the generator-motor are configured to supply electricity to the controller (Baker, 0002, 0006-0009, 0018-0023, 0036, 0039, 0044 e.g. see employing bleed mode for power generation during power insufficiency); however, Baker et al. does not expressly teach the rectifying limitations. Ives et al. teaches the rectifying limitations described below.
which is configured to rectify an output of the generator-motor for consumption by one or more electrical systems on the aircraft (Ives, Col 1 lines 26-37)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Ives, namely rectifying the power output of the generator suitable for loads, to the teachings of Baker, namely powering loads using a turbine generator, would achieve an expected and predictable result of providing suitable power to aircraft loads. Ives is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to a problem of powering loads, as described, Summary of Invention.
The combination does not expressly teach the augment mode when bleed air is insufficient and the convert limitations described below; however, Weber teaches an augment mode when bleed air is insufficient and Ives teaches the convert limitations described below.
wherein during an augment mode, when bleed air provides insufficient power, the controller is configured to draw at least some power from the battery pack and convert the output of the generator-motor for consumption by the one or more electrical systems on the aircraft; see directing battery power to motor for supplementation (Weber, ABSTRACT, Col 1 lines 45-57, Col 4 lines 36-67 , Col 5 lines 18-67, claim 1 e.g. see activating stored energy device responsive to determining bleed mode fails to provide sufficient power, and see Weber for activating battery for supplement power responsive to insufficient power, see also Ives for power conversion, Col 1 lines 26-37)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Weber, namely providing battery power when bleed power is not sufficient, to the teachings of Baker, namely powering loads using a turbine generator, to the teachings of Ives, namely converting power output suitable for loads, would achieve an expected and predictable result of providing suitable power to aircraft loads. Weber is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to a problem of powering loads, as described, Summary of Invention.
The applied combination does not expressly teach the emergency mode described below. Amari teaches the emergency mode described below.
wherein during an emergency mode, the controller is configured to draw electricity from the battery pack and provide power to drive the generator-motor, which in turn drives the hydraulic pump and provides electrical power to aircraft systems (Amari, ABSTRACT, figure 2-102, figure 3 e.g. see emergency mode as insufficient turbine power output, and in response, providing battery power to generator motor, and see Weber for invoking battery power to compensate for generator motor loss, the turbine coupled to both the hydraulic pump and generator)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Amari, namely providing battery power during an emergency mode, to the teachings of Baker, namely powering loads using a turbine generator, would achieve an expected and predictable result of providing suitable power to aircraft loads. Amari is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to a problem of providing supplemental power, as described, summary of invention.
Claim 3. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 1, wherein the generator-motor is configured to be in line with the turbine, such that the generator-motor operates at substantially a same speed as the turbine (Baker, figure 2-114, 116)
Claim 4. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 1, further comprising a gearbox operatively coupled to the generator-motor and the hydraulic pump (Baker, figure 2-116)
Claim 5. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 4, wherein the turbine is operatively coupled to the generator-motor via gearing in the gearbox, allowing the generator-motor to operate at a higher speed or a lower speed than the turbine (Baker, figure 2-116)
Claim 7. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 1, wherein during the bleed air mode, the controller is configured to rectify the output of the generator-motor at 400 hertz (Hz) 115 volts alternating current (VAC), supra claim 1.
Claim 9. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 1, wherein during the augment mode, the controller is configured to convert electrical energy from the generator-motor at 400 Hz 115 VAC, supra claim 1
Claim 10. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 1, wherein during the augment mode, the controller is configured to supply power to the generator-motor to aid in driving the hydraulic pump, which is configured to provide hydraulic flow to one or more hydraulic systems onboard the aircraft, supra claim 1
Claim 11. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 1, wherein during the emergency mode, the hydraulic pump is configured to provide hydraulic flow to one or more hydraulic systems onboard the aircraft, supra claim 1
Claim 12. A hybrid emergency power unit for an aircraft, comprising:
a controller, supra claim 1
a generator-motor operatively coupled to the controller; supra claim 1
a hydraulic pump operatively coupled to the generator-motor; supra claim 1
a battery pack operatively coupled to the controller; supra claim 1
a turbine operatively coupled to the generator-motor; supra claim 1
a gearbox operatively coupled to the generator-motor and the hydraulic pump; supra claim 1
wherein the generator-motor is configured to be in line with the turbine, such that the generator-motor operates at substantially a same speed as the turbine; supra claim 1
wherein during a bleed air mode, the turbine and the generator-motor are configured to supply electricity to the controller, which is configured to rectify an output of the generator-motor for consumption by one or more electrical systems on the aircraft; supra claim 1
wherein during an augment mode, when bleed air provides insufficient power, the controller is configured to draw at least some power from the battery pack and convert the output of the generator-motor for consumption by the one or more electrical systems on the aircraft; supra claim 1
wherein during an emergency mode, the controller is configured to draw electricity from the battery pack and provide power to drive the generator-motor, which in turn drives the hydraulic pump and provides electrical power to aircraft systems. supra claim 1
Claim 15. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 12, wherein during the bleed air mode, the controller is configured to rectify the output of the generator-motor at 400 Hz 115 VAC, supra claim 1 (Ives)
Claim 17. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 12, wherein during the augment mode, the controller is configured to convert electrical energy from the generator-motor at 400 Hz 115 VAC, supra claim 1 (Ives)
Claim 18. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 12, wherein during the augment mode, the controller is configured to supply power to the generator-motor to aid in driving the hydraulic pump, which is configured to provide hydraulic flow to one or more hydraulic systems onboard the aircraft, supra claim 1 (e.g. see hydraulic pump connected to turbine generator configured to receive additional power via bleed and/or battery)
Claim 19. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 12, wherein during the emergency mode, the hydraulic pump is configured to provide hydraulic flow to one or more hydraulic systems onboard the aircraft, supra claim 1 (see hydraulic pump connected to turbine generator configured to receive additional power via bleed and/or battery)
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al. (PG/PUB 20220185496) in view over Weber (USPN 6316841) in view over Amari (USPN 12091182) in view over Ives et al. (USPN 11482957) in view over Rouguer et al. (USPN 11365686)
Claim 2. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 1 but does not teach the magnet limitations described below. Rougier teaches the magnet limitations described below
wherein the generator-motor comprises a permanent magnet generator-motor (ABSTRACT, Figure 3B)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Rougier, namely providing a generator-motor comprises a permanent magnet generator-motor to the teachings of Baker, namely powering loads via an aircraft generator, would achieve an expected and predictable result of providing a raised output as described, summary of invention.
Claim 13. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 12, wherein the generator-motor comprises a permanent magnet generator-motor, supra claim 2
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al. (PG/PUB 20220185496) in view over Weber (USPN 6316841) in view over Amari (USPN 12091182) in view over Ives et al. (USPN 11482957) in view over Butt (USPN 7543439)
Claim 6. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 4 but does not teach the sprag clutch. Butt teaches the sprag clutch.
further comprising a sprag clutch coupled between the gearbox and the turbine (Col 3 lines 24-27)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Butt, namely providing a sprag clutch to the gearbox, to the teachings of Baker, namely powering loads via an aircraft generator, would achieve an expected and predictable result of controlling generator rotation as described, Col 3 lines 56-67
Claim 14. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 12, further comprising a sprag clutch coupled between the gearbox and the turbine, supra claim 6
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al. (PG/PUB 20220185496) in view over Weber (USPN 6316841) in view over Amari (USPN 12091182) in view over Ives et al. (USPN 11482957) in view over HO (PG/PUB 20160362999)
Claim 8. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 1 but does not teach the excess power for battery charging described below. HO teaches the excess power limitations described below
wherein during the bleed air mode, the controller is configured to recharge the battery pack when there is excess power from the generator-motor (0043 e.g. see charging the battery using additional power generated via bleed mode)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of HO namely charging the battery using excess power via bleed mode, to the teachings of Baker, namely powering loads via an aircraft generator, would achieve an expected and predictable result of ensuring battery levels are maintained for supplementing turbine power, as described.
Claim 16. The hybrid emergency power unit of claim 12, wherein during the bleed air mode, the controller is configured to recharge the battery pack when there is excess power from the generator-motor, supra claim 8
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Claim 1 relevancy
20240388084 11482957 20180155044 20160362999 8957539 20140125121
20120318914 : battery power to critical loads during insufficient turbine power -0010-11
Claim 2 relevancy
15039533 5767601 6467725
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117