DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on August 26, 2026. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Tripathi does not disclose wherein an LTM candidate NTN cell, of the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells, is associated with multiple beams, and the RRC reconfiguration message includes beam identifiers of the multiple beams. At least one beam identifier, of the beam identifiers, associated with a corresponding beam of the multiple beams of the LTM candidate NTN cell.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that Tripathi discloses the features of the amended independent claims “The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)
In view of the above, the rejection using Guo and Tripathi is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2023/0388871) in view of Tripathi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2022/0046490).
Consider claim 1; Guo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code [“FIG. 56 illustrates components capable of reading instructions from a machine-readable or computer-readable medium (e.g. a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium) and perform any of one or more of the methodologies discussed herein. Specifically, FIG. 56 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 5600 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 5610, one or more memory/storage devices 5620…” (par. 803, lines 1-8)]; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories [“FIG. 56 illustrates components capable of reading instructions from a machine-readable or computer-readable medium (e.g. a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium) and perform any of one or more of the methodologies discussed herein. Specifically, FIG. 56 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 5600 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 5610, one or more memory/storage devices 5620…” (par. 803, lines 1-8)], at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the UE [“FIG. 56 illustrates components capable of reading instructions from a machine-readable or computer-readable medium (e.g. a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium) and perform any of one or more of the methodologies discussed herein. Specifically, FIG. 56 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 5600 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 5610, one or more memory/storage devices 5620…” (par. 803, lines 1-8)] to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message associated with one or more layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) triggered mobility (LTM) candidate cells [“The RAN node 5414 transmits an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE 5402, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells…” (par. 432, lines 5-7)];
perform, after receiving the RRC reconfiguration message [“The RAN node 5414 transmits an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE 5402, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells…” (par. 432, lines 5-7)], an early synchronization procedure with at least one of the LTM candidate NTN cells prior to receiving an indication to perform LTM [“Early sync: The UE 5402 may perform DL synchronization and TA acquisition with candidate target cell(s) before receiving the LTM cell switch command…” (par. 433, lines 1-3)], the early synchronization procedure comprising downlink synchronization and timing advance acquisition [“Early sync: The UE 5402 may perform DL synchronization and TA acquisition with candidate target cell(s) before receiving the LTM cell switch command…” (par. 433, lines 1-3)]; and
perform LTM responsive [“The UE 5402 switches to the configuration of the LTM candidate target cell (e.g. the UE 5402 detaches from the source cell and applies target configurations}” (par. 434, lines 8-10)] to the indication to perform LTM [“The RAN node 5414 decides to execute LTM cell switch to a target cell, and transmits a cell switch command MAC CE triggering LTM cell switch by including the candidate configuration index of the target cell…” (par. 434, lines 4-7)].
Guo discloses the claimed inventio except: wherein an LTM candidate NTN cell, of the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells, is associated with multiple beams, and the RRC reconfiguration message includes beam identifiers of the multiple beams; wherein the indication to perform LTM includes a payload that contains at least one beam identifier, of the beam identifiers, associated with a corresponding beam of the multiple beams of the LTM candidate NTN cell.
In an analogous art Tripathi discloses an LTM candidate NTN cell [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], of the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], is associated with multiple beams [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], and the RRC reconfiguration message includes beam identifiers of the multiple beams [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)]; wherein the indication to perform LTM includes a payload that contains at least one beam identifier [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], of the beam identifiers [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], associated with a corresponding beam of the multiple beams of the LTM candidate NTN cell [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)].
It is an object of Guo’s invention to provide a method for inter-cell mobility. It is an object of Tripathi’s invention to provide a method for handover signaling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo by including NTN cells, as taught by Tripathi, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Tripathi discloses the RRC reconfiguration message includes one or more satellite identifiers associated with the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells (par. 259; par. 261, lines 2-8).
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 1; Tripathi discloses perform (par. 129, lines 7-12; par. 141, line 4 – par. 142, line 6), responsive to the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells being within a range of the UE (par. 129, lines 7-12; par. 141, line 4 – par. 142, line 6), one or more L1 measurements associated with the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells (par. 129, lines 7-12; par. 141, line 4 – par. 142, line 6); and transmit one or more L1 measurement reports associated with the one or more L1 measurements (par. 141, line 4 – par. 142, line 6).
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 3; Tripathi discloses perform the one or more L1 measurements responsive to a current time or UE location (par. 141, line 4 – par. 142, line 6), and wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the UE to transmit the one or more L1 measurement reports is further configured to cause the UE to transmit the one or more L1 measurement reports responsive to the one or more L1 measurements satisfying a measurement threshold (par. 141, lines 4-8).
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 3; Tripathi discloses the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells are a single LTM candidate NTN cell (par. 141, lines 4-8), wherein the one or more L1 measurement reports are a single L1 measurement report (par. 141, lines 4-8), and wherein the single L1 measurement report does not contain a cell identifier associated with the single LTM candidate NTN cell (par. 141, lines 4-8).
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 1; Guo discloses the RRC reconfiguration message includes a plurality of configuration identifiers associated with a plurality of LTM candidate NTN cells including the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells [e.g. target cells (par. 432, lines 5-8)], and wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the UE to perform LTM is further configured to cause the UE to: perform LTM responsive to an order associated with the plurality of configuration identifiers (par. 434, lines 1-10).
Consider claim 7, as applied in claim 1; Guo discloses perform LTM responsive to a location of the UE or a current time (par. 434, lines 1-10).
Consider claim 8; Guo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code [“FIG. 56 illustrates components capable of reading instructions from a machine-readable or computer-readable medium (e.g. a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium) and perform any of one or more of the methodologies discussed herein. Specifically, FIG. 56 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 5600 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 5610, one or more memory/storage devices 5620…” (par. 803, lines 1-8)]; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories [“FIG. 56 illustrates components capable of reading instructions from a machine-readable or computer-readable medium (e.g. a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium) and perform any of one or more of the methodologies discussed herein. Specifically, FIG. 56 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 5600 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 5610, one or more memory/storage devices 5620…” (par. 803, lines 1-8)], at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the network node [“FIG. 56 illustrates components capable of reading instructions from a machine-readable or computer-readable medium (e.g. a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium) and perform any of one or more of the methodologies discussed herein. Specifically, FIG. 56 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 5600 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 5610, one or more memory/storage devices 5620…” (par. 803, lines 1-8)] to:
transmit a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message associated with one or more layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) triggered mobility (LTM) candidate cells [“The RAN node 5414 transmits an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE 5402, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells…” (par. 432, lines 5-7)], the RRC reconfiguration message includes information enabling a user equipment (UE) to perform an early synchronization procedure with at least one of the LTM candidate cells [“The RAN node 5414 transmits an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE 5402, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells…” (par. 432, lines 5-7) “Early sync: The UE 5402 may perform DL synchronization and TA acquisition with candidate target cell(s) before receiving the LTM cell switch command…” (par. 433, lines 1-3)] prior to receiving an indication to perform LTM [“The RAN node 5414 decides to execute LTM cell switch to a target cell, and transmits a cell switch command MAC CE triggering LTM cell switch by including the candidate configuration index of the target cell…” (par. 434, lines 4-7)], the early synchronization procedure comprising downlink synchronization and timing advance acquisition [“Early sync: The UE 5402 may perform DL synchronization and TA acquisition with candidate target cell(s) before receiving the LTM cell switch command…” (par. 433, lines 1-3)]; and
initiate [“The RAN node 5414 decides to execute LTM cell switch to a target cell, and transmits a cell switch command MAC CE triggering LTM cell switch by including the candidate configuration index of the target cell…” (par. 434, lines 4-7)], after transmitting the RRC reconfiguration message [“The RAN node 5414 transmits an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE 5402, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells…” (par. 432, lines 5-7)], LTM using an indication to perform LTM [“The RAN node 5414 decides to execute LTM cell switch to a target cell, and transmits a cell switch command MAC CE triggering LTM cell switch by including the candidate configuration index of the target cell…” (par. 434, lines 4-7)].
Guo discloses the claimed inventio except: wherein an LTM candidate NTN cell, of the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells, is associated with multiple beams, and the RRC reconfiguration message includes beam identifiers of the multiple beams; wherein the indication to perform LTM includes a payload that contains at least one beam identifier, of the beam identifiers, associated with a corresponding beam of the multiple beams of the LTM candidate NTN cell.
In an analogous art Tripathi discloses an LTM candidate NTN cell [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], of the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], is associated with multiple beams [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], and the RRC reconfiguration message includes beam identifiers of the multiple beams [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)]; wherein the indication to perform LTM includes a payload that contains at least one beam identifier [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], of the beam identifiers [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], associated with a corresponding beam of the multiple beams of the LTM candidate NTN cell [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)].
It is an object of Guo’s invention to provide a method for inter-cell mobility. It is an object of Tripathi’s invention to provide a method for handover signaling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo by including NTN cells, as taught by Tripathi, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 9, as applied in claim 8; Tripathi discloses the RRC reconfiguration message indicates a plurality of groups associated with a plurality of LTM candidate NTN cells including the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells (par. 107; par. 129, lines 7-12; par. 142, lines 1-6; par. 259).
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 8; Guo discloses the indication to perform LTM is specific to a user equipment (UE) (par. 434, lines 4-10).
Consider claim 11, as applied in claim 10; Guo discloses the payload further contains one or more configuration identifiers associated with the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells (par. 434, lines 4-10).
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 8; Tripathi discloses the indication to perform LTM is associated with a plurality of user equipments (UEs) [e.g. groupcast/multicast (par. 107)].
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 12; Tripathi discloses the RRC reconfiguration message indicates a group identifier associated with the plurality of UEs [e.g. via the groupcast/multicast (par. 107)].
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 12; Tripathi discloses the indication to perform LTM indicates a group identifier associated with the plurality of UEs [e.g. via the groupcast/multicast (par. 107; par. 141, lines 4-8)].
Consider claim 15, as applied in claim 14; Tripathi discloses the indication to perform LTM explicitly indicates a group identifier or indicates a bitmap associated with the group identifier, and wherein the plurality of UEs are configured to perform LTM using respective LTM configurations [e.g. via the groupcast/multicast (par. 107)].
Consider claim 16; Guo discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message associated with one or more layer 1 (L1) or layer 2 (L2) triggered mobility (LTM) candidate cells [“The RAN node 5414 transmits an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE 5402, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells…” (par. 432, lines 5-7)];
perform, after receiving the RRC reconfiguration message [“The RAN node 5414 transmits an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE 5402, which includes the configuration of one or multiple LTM candidate target cells…” (par. 432, lines 5-7)], an early synchronization procedure with at least one of the LTM candidate NTN cells prior to receiving an indication to perform LTM [“Early sync: The UE 5402 may perform DL synchronization and TA acquisition with candidate target cell(s) before receiving the LTM cell switch command…” (par. 433, lines 1-3)], the early synchronization procedure comprising downlink synchronization and timing advance acquisition [“Early sync: The UE 5402 may perform DL synchronization and TA acquisition with candidate target cell(s) before receiving the LTM cell switch command…” (par. 433, lines 1-3)]; and
perform LTM responsive [“The UE 5402 switches to the configuration of the LTM candidate target cell (e.g. the UE 5402 detaches from the source cell and applies target configurations}” (par. 434, lines 8-10)] to the indication to perform LTM [“The RAN node 5414 decides to execute LTM cell switch to a target cell, and transmits a cell switch command MAC CE triggering LTM cell switch by including the candidate configuration index of the target cell…” (par. 434, lines 4-7)].
Guo discloses the claimed inventio except: wherein an LTM candidate NTN cell, of the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells, is associated with multiple beams, and the RRC reconfiguration message includes beam identifiers of the multiple beams; wherein the indication to perform LTM includes a payload that contains at least one beam identifier, of the beam identifiers, associated with a corresponding beam of the multiple beams of the LTM candidate NTN cell.
In an analogous art Tripathi discloses an LTM candidate NTN cell [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], of the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], is associated with multiple beams [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], and the RRC reconfiguration message includes beam identifiers of the multiple beams [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)]; wherein the indication to perform LTM includes a payload that contains at least one beam identifier [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], of the beam identifiers [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)], associated with a corresponding beam of the multiple beams of the LTM candidate NTN cell [“The NTN type may include GEO, LEO with fixed-earth beams, or LEO with moving beams. The information regarding information classification may include cell/beam specific information…” (par. 87, lines 7-11) “The gNB/eNB makes a handover decision, gets the approval of the target gNB/eNB and sends a handover command to the UE…in the form of an RRC message such as RRC Reconfiguration.” (par. 142, lines 3-6) “the gNB…chooses a candidate set of triggering quantities, trigger-combining methods, reporting quantities, and the handover decision-making approach, which are optimal for a given NTN Type.” (par. 263, lines 1-5) “…the gNB may select a handover approach that makes a handover decision when the UE near the cell edge when the NTN Type is “Earth-moving cells with moving beams.” (par. 263, lines 16-18)].
It is an object of Guo’s invention to provide a method for inter-cell mobility. It is an object of Tripathi’s invention to provide a method for handover signaling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo by including NTN cells, as taught by Tripathi, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 17, as applied in claim 16; Tripathi discloses the RRC reconfiguration message indicates a plurality of groups associated with a plurality of LTM candidate NTN cells including the one or more LTM candidate NTN cells (par. 107; par. 129, lines 7-12; par. 142, lines 1-6; par. 259).
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 16; Guo discloses the indication to perform LTM is specific to a user equipment (UE) (par. 434, lines 4-10), or the indication to perform LTM is associated with a plurality of UEs including the UE.
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 18; Tripathi discloses the RRC reconfiguration message indicates a group identifier associated with the plurality of UEs [e.g. via the groupcast/multicast (par. 107)].
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 18; Tripathi discloses the indication to perform LTM indicates a group identifier associated with the plurality of UEs [e.g. via the groupcast/multicast (par. 107; par. 141, lines 4-8)].
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646