DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Reply filed on June 30, 2026.
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejection under double patenting, the Applicant acknowledges the double patenting rejection but did not properly overcome the rejection. Thus, the double patenting rejection has been maintained.
With respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102, on pages 6-9 of the Reply, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of the Reply, the Applicant argues that the prior art reference, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0211889 to Buddhikot et al., does not disclose the limitation “determining, based on the one or more policies, one or more resource requirements of one or more user equipments (UEs) managed by the network.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Buddhikot discloses or teaches that the domain proxy retrieves a policy, which includes information that is used to determine whether the requesting CBSD is permitted to request allocation of resources from the SAS, where the domain proxy determines that the access request is permitted if the policy indicates that the CBSD is active and authorized to request resources and access requests that are permitted are provided to a domain proxy core that is responsible for forwarding the permitted access requests to the SAS via the operator core (see at least paragraphs 40-42 and 52). Buddhikot further discloses that the domain proxy receives a request for allocation of a portion of a frequency band by an SAS to a CBSD, where the request includes information indicating a coverage area of the CBSD, a preferred frequency, a preferred bandwidth, etc., and the domain proxy aggregates the permitted request with permitted requests from other CBSDs and provides the aggregated request to the SAS (see at least paragraphs 50 and 54). In view of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the determining limitation, as recited in claim 1, the Examiner respectfully submits that the teaching of the domain proxy receiving a frequency band allocation request and, based on the policy, aggregating a plurality of permitted requests that indicate a coverage area of the CBSD, a preferred frequency, a preferred bandwidth, etc. can be reasonably interpreted as determining UE resource requirements based on a policy. Thus, Buddhikot discloses or teaches the limitation “determining, based on the one or more policies, one or more resource requirements of one or more user equipments (UEs) managed by the network.”
On page 8 of the Reply, the Applicant argues that Buddhikot does not disclose the limitation “providing the one or more policies and the one or more resource requirements to a system configured to control access to the network.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Buddhikot discloses or teaches that the domain proxy retrieves a policy, which includes information that is used to determine whether the requesting CBSD is permitted to request allocation of resources from the SAS, where the domain proxy determines that the access request is permitted if the policy indicates that the CBSD is active and authorized to request resources and access requests that are permitted are provided to a domain proxy core that is responsible for forwarding the permitted access requests to the SAS via the operator core (see at least paragraphs 40-42 and 52). Buddhikot further discloses that the domain proxy receives a request for allocation of a portion of a frequency band by an SAS to a CBSD, where the request includes information indicating a coverage area of the CBSD, a preferred frequency, a preferred bandwidth, etc., and the domain proxy aggregates the permitted request with permitted requests from other CBSDs and provides the aggregated request to the SAS (see at least paragraphs 50 and 54). The Examiner respectfully submits that the domain proxy providing the aggregated request to the SAS based on the policy implicitly indicates to the SAS that the requests included in the aggregated request are permitted based on the policy. Claim 1 does not specifically define how the one or more policies are being provided. As such, Buddhikot discloses or teaches the limitation “providing the one or more policies and the one or more resource requirements to a system configured to control access to the network.”
Thus, in view of the above reasons, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102 should be maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,800,367. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of each other.
USPN 11,800,367 discloses:
regarding claim 1 of the current application, a method comprising: receiving, at a network device of a network, one or more policies associated with the network; determining, based on the one or more policies, one or more resource requirements of one or more user equipments (UEs) managed by the network; providing the one or more policies and the one or more resource requirements to a system configured to control access to the network; and receiving, from the system, one or more parameters for allocating resources for communication with the one or more UEs (see claim 1 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 2 of the current application, determining one or more inter-access point (AP) coordination capabilities for coordinating with one or more neighboring networks; and providing the one or more inter-AP coordination capabilities to the system (see claim 2 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 3 of the current application, receiving a time interval for a seamless transition from a current channel to a new channel for the network; and receiving one or more time instances associated with the time interval (see claim 3 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 4 of the current application, determining one or more physical cell identifiers (PCIs) of one or more cells associated with the network and one or more neighboring networks; and providing the one or more PCIs to the system (see claim 4 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 5 of the current application, wherein the one or more parameters comprising at least one of a frequency range in one or more channels or a maximum transmit Effective Isotropic Radiated Power (EIRP); and further comprising: determining resources for the one or more UEs based on the one or more parameters (see claim 5 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 6 of the current application, wherein the one or more policies are received from at least one of a Digital Network Architecture Center (DNA-C) or a network device comprising a network controller (see claim 6 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 7 of the current application, wherein the one or more policies comprise at least one of a priority, a pre-emption capability index, and a pre-emption vulnerability index (see claim 1 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 8 of the current application, a network device comprising: one or more processors; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive one or more policies associated with a network; determine, based on the one or more policies, one or more resource requirements of one or more user equipments (UEs) managed by the network; provide the one or more policies and the one or more resource requirements to a system configured to control access to the network; and receive, from the system, one or more parameters for allocating resources for communication with the one or more UEs (see claim 7 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 9 of the current application, wherein the one or more policies comprise at least one of a priority, a pre-emption capability index, and a pre-emption vulnerability index (see claim 7 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 10 of the current application, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: determine one or more inter-access point (AP) coordination capabilities for coordinating with one or more neighboring networks; and provide the one or more inter-AP coordination capabilities to the system (see claim 8 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 11 of the current application, where the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive a time interval for a seamless transition from a current channel to a new channel for the network; and receive one or more time instances associated with the time interval (see claim 9 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 12 of the current application, the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: determine one or more physical cell identifiers (PCIs) of one or more cells associated with the network and one or more neighboring networks; and provide the one or more PCIs to the SAS (see clam 10 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 13 of the current application, wherein the one or more parameters comprising at least one of a frequency range in one or more channels or a maximum transmit Effective Isotropic Radiated Power (EIRP); and the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: determine resources for the one or more UEs based on the one or more parameters (see claim 11 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 14 of the current application, wherein the one or more policies are received from at least one of a Digital Network Architecture Center (DNA-C) or a network controller (see claim 12 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 15 of the current application, a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive, at a network device, one or more policies associated with a network; determine, based on the one or more policies, one or more resource requirements of one or more user equipments (UEs) managed by the network; provide the one or more policies and the one or more resource requirements to a system; and receive, from the system, one or more parameters for allocating resources for communication with the one or more UEs (see claim 13 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 16 of the current application, further comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:determine one or more inter-access point (AP) coordination capabilities for coordinating with one or more neighboring networks; and provide the one or more inter-AP coordination capabilities to the system (see claim 14 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 17 of the current application, further comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive a time interval for a seamless transition from a current channel to a new channel for the network; and receive one or more time instances associated with the time interval (see claim 15 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 18 of the current application, further comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: determine one or more physical cell identifiers (PCIs) of one or more cells associated with the network and one or more neighboring networks; and provide the one or more PCIs to the system (see claim 16 of USPN 11,800,367);
regarding claim 19 of the current application, wherein the one or more parameters comprising at least one of a frequency range in one or more channels or a maximum transmit Effective Isotropic Radiated Power (EIRP); and further comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: determine resources for the one or more UEs based on the one or more parameters (see claim 17 of USPN 11,800,367); and
regarding claim 20 of the current application, wherein the one or more policies comprise at least one of a priority, a pre-emption capability index, and a pre-emption vulnerability index, and wherein the one or more policies are received from at least one of a Digital Network Architecture Center (DNA-C) or a network controller (see claims 13 and 18 of USPN 11,800,367).
In removing the additional limitation(s), the scope of the claim(s) is merely broadened by eliminating elements and their functions. It has been held that omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 365 (Bd. App. 1969) (omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to not recite the additional limitation(s). The motivation for doing so would be to obtain a well-rounded intellectual protection of the claimed invention.
A terminal disclaimer may be effective to overcome a nonstatutory double patenting rejection over a reference patent (37 CFR 1.321(b) and (c)). A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-10, 13-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0211889 (hereinafter “Buddhikot”).
Buddhikot discloses or suggest:
regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, a method and a system comprising:
one or more processors (see at least paragraph 55); and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium (see at least paragraphs 55 and 56) containing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive, at a network device of a network, one or more policies associated with the network (see at least paragraphs 40, 41, 50, 51, and 52, the domain proxy accesses a policy from a database, where the database is implemented external to the domain proxy and the domain proxy accesses the database over an interface, where the domain proxy receives a request for allocation of a portion of a frequency band, where the request includes information indicating a preferred frequency, a preferred bandwidth, a time interval for usage of the allocated frequency, and the like);
determine, based on the one or more policies, one or more resource requirements of one or more user equipments (UEs) managed by the network (see at least paragraphs 50 and 54, the domain proxy receives a request for allocation of a portion of a frequency band, where the request includes information indicating a preferred frequency, a preferred bandwidth, a time interval for usage of the allocated frequency, and the like, and the domain proxy aggregates the permitted request with permitted requests from other CBSDs);
provide the one or more policies and the one or more resource requirements to a system configured to control access to the network (see at least paragraph 54, the domain proxy aggregates the permitted requests from a plurality of CBSDs and provides the aggregated request to the SAS); and
receive, from the system, one or more parameters for allocating resources for communication with the one or more UEs (see at least paragraph 54, the domain proxy subsequently receives one or more message from the SAS including information indicating the allocated portions of the frequency band for the requesting CBSDs, where the requesting CBSDs begin communication on the basis of the received information);
regarding claims 2, 10, and 16, determining one or more inter-access point (AP) coordination capabilities for coordinating with one or more neighboring networks (see at least paragraphs 40, 41, 51, and 52, the policy includes information that is used to determine whether the requesting CBSD is permitted to request allocation resources from the SAS, where the policy includes information indicating a group that includes the requesting CBSD, whether the CBSD or group is active, inactive, or blocked, whether the CBSD is authorized to request resources from the SAS, time intervals in which the CBSD or group is active, and the like); and
providing the one or more inter-AP coordination capabilities to the system (see at least paragraphs 50 and 54, the domain proxy receives a request for allocation of a portion of a frequency band, where the request includes information indicating a preferred frequency, a preferred bandwidth, a time interval for usage of the allocated frequency, and the like, and the domain proxy aggregates the permitted request with permitted requests from other CBSDs);
regarding claims 5, 13, and 19, the one or more parameters comprising at least one of a frequency range in one or more channels or a maximum transmit Effective Isotropic Radiated Power (EIRP) (see at least paragraph 54, the domain proxy subsequently receives one or more messages from the SAS including information indicating the allocated portions of the frequency band for the requesting CBSDs); and further comprising:
determine resources for the one or more CBRS UEs based on the one or more parameters (see at least paragraph 54, the domain proxy subsequently receives one or more messages from the SAS including information indicating the allocated portions of the frequency band for the requesting CBSDs); and
regarding claims 6, 7, 9, 14, and 20, the one or more policies are received from at least one of a Digital Network Architecture Center (DNA-C) or a network device comprising a network controller (see at least paragraphs 40, 41, 50, 51, and 52, the domain proxy accesses a policy from a database, where the database is implemented external to the domain proxy and the domain proxy accesses the database over an interface),
wherein the one or more policies comprise at least one of a priority, a pre-emption capability index, and a pre-emption vulnerability index (see at least paragraphs 40, 41, 51, and 52, the policy includes information that is used to determine whether the requesting CBSD is permitted to request allocation resources from the SAS, where the policy includes information indicating a group that includes the requesting CBSD, whether the CBSD or group is active, inactive, or blocked, whether the CBSD is authorized to request resources from the SAS, time intervals in which the CBSD or group is active, and the like; furthermore, the policy for the CBSD indicates whether the CBSD is activated and authorized to request access or not, which corresponds to a priority to request access).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buddhikot in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0275355 (hereinafter “Dhillon”).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 17, Buddhikot discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention as addressed above except receiving a time interval for a seamless transition from a current channel to a new channel for the network; and receiving one or more time instances associated with the time interval.
Dhillon, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests receiving a time interval for a seamless transition from a current channel to a new channel for the network; and receiving one or more time instances associated with the time interval (see at least Fig. 7, Fig. 8, and paragraphs 124, 125, and 133-136, the wireless base station (such as a CBSD) receives allocation of wireless channels from a CBRS wireless spectrum from the SAS, where wireless channels #1, #11, and #12 are available between time T1 and time T2 and then another wireless channel #14 is available for shared use between time T2 and time T4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Dhillon in to the invention of Buddhikot in order to optimize the usage the CBRS wireless spectrum.
Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buddhikot in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0352505 (hereinafter “Sevindik”).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 18, Buddhikot discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention as addressed above except determining one or more physical cell identifiers (PCIs) of one or more cells associated with the network and one or more neighboring networks and providing the one or more PCIs to the system.
Sevindik, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests determining one or more physical cell identifiers (PCIs) of one or more cells associated with the network and one or more neighboring networks and providing the one or more PCIs to the system (see at least paragraphs 40-42, determining a number of PCIs that the connected dual SIM device detects and reporting the number of detected PCIs to the SAS via controller and/or in an implementation).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Sevindik in to the invention of Buddhikot in order to allow the SAS to determine an inter-cluster interference and intra-cluster interference using the reported PCIs.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 08/24/2026