DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and II (Claims 1-20; claim 17 has been amended to be dependent on claim 1) in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 12, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castillo (US 7,401,764 B1) in view of Arbeloa (4,667,932).
Regarding claim 1¸ Castillo (‘764) discloses a hydraulic jack (figs1-2) comprising:
a housing 4 (col.2 line50) including a lift portion (a portion with an element 38, fig2) and a power supply portion (a portion where an element 42 exits, fig2), the power supply portion configured to removably receive a power supply (col.2 lines62-64, by being plugged in and out);
a reservoir 22 (col.3 line6) supported in the housing 4 and configured to store hydraulic fluid (col.3 line6);
a motor 10 (col.2 line57) supported in the housing 4 and configured to receive power from the power supply (col.2 lines59-61, col.3 lines49-57);
a pump assembly (col.3 lines6-9) configured to receive a rotational output from the motor 10 to generate a flow of hydraulic fluid from the reservoir 22 (col.3 lines1-9, 55-57); and
a lift assembly 38 (col.3 line42) at least partially supported in the lift portion (fig2) and extendable between a retracted position (col.4 lines9-10) and an extended position (col.3 line61-col.4 line1) in response to the flow of hydraulic fluid (col.3 line57-col.4 line10).
However, Castillo does not explicitly disclose that the lift assembly is configured as a multi-stage lift assembly.
Arbeloa (‘932) teaches a use of a multi-stage lift assembly (fig1, having a lift rod 18, a first sleeve 14, and a second sleeve 13, col.3 lines15-27) having a first stage (when the lift rod 18 moves, col.3 lines25-26) and a second stage (when the first sleeve 14 moves, col.3 line44), and the first stage extendable from the second stage in a first manner (threaded manner). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use a multi-stage lift assembly, as taught by Arbeloa, so that the height of the lift assembly can be better adjusted.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 1. Arbeloa teaches a lift rod 18 (col.3 line26, fig1) defines the first stage, a first sleeve 14 (col.3 line 21, fig1) defines the second stage, and a second sleeve 13 (col.3 line20) defines a third stage (when the second sleeve 13 moves) of the lift assembly and the second stage and the third stage are extendable in a second manner (slidable manner via hydraulic fluid) different from the first manner (threaded manner), wherein the lift rod 18 is threadedly received a first end of the first sleeve 14 (col.3 lines23-26), wherein the first sleeve 14 is slidably received in the second sleeve 13 (fig1), and wherein the second sleeve 13 is slidably received in a third sleeve 10 (col.3 line17) coupled to the housing 20 (fig1, col.3 lines28-29).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 2. Castillo discloses wherein the lift assembly further comprises a saddle 39 (col.3 line43) couplable to a first end (top end) of a lift rod (fig2). Arbeloa further teaches wherein a stop (figA below) is disposed at a second end of the first sleeve 14 (figA), and wherein the stop has an engagement portion (a flange/piston portion, figA) extending radially outward beyond the first sleeve 14, wherein the second sleeve 13 defines a first end having a first ridge (figA) extending radially inward and configured to engage the engagement portion (figA). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use a stop with an engagement portion and a first ridge, as further taught by Arbeloa, for the purpose of preventing the first sleeve from falling out from the second sleeve.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 3. Arbeloa teaches wherein the second sleeve 13 has a second end defining a second stop 11 (col.3 line39, fig1) extending radially outward, wherein the third sleeve 10 defining a first end having a second ridge (figA above) extending radially inward, and wherein the second ridge configured to engage the second stop 11 (figA above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use a second stop and a second ridge, as further taught by Arbeloa, for the purpose of preventing the second sleeve from falling out from the third sleeve.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 3. Castillo further discloses wherein the saddle 39 is threadedly coupled to the lift assembly (fig2).
Regarding claims 7-8, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 3, however, does not explicitly teach a lift height. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05. II. A.). In this case, the hydraulic jack taught by the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa is used for a hydraulic jack for lifting vehicles and teaches each and every positively claimed structural limitations of the instant invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a lift height of about 16.5 inches or 18.5 inches as where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05. II. A.).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 1. Castillo further discloses a control 46 (col.2 line65) electrically coupled to the motor 10.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 1. Castillo further discloses wherein the housing 4 is defined by sides and ends (fig1), and the power supply portion includes a power supply interface (a portion where an element 42 passes through, fig2) configured to slidably (fig2) receive the power supply on one of the sides of the housing 4, wherein the lift assembly further includes a saddle 39 (col.3 line43) removably (via threads, fig2) coupled to the first stage (taught by Arbeloa). Arbeloa further teaches wherein the lift assembly has a third stage (when the second sleeve 13 moves) and the second stage and the third stage are extendable in a second manner (slidable manner via hydraulic fluid) different from the first manner (threaded manner).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 17. Castillo further teaches wherein the power supply interface is disposed on a front side of the housing 4 (fig2).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Castillo (US 7,401,764 B1) and Arbeloa (4,667,932) in view of Dekeuster et al (US 2015/0137052 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 3, however, does not explicitly teach a use of one or more different replaceable saddles. Dekeuster et al (‘052) teaches a use of a jack having removable and interchangeable saddles (abstract) to provide vehicle-specific adaptor configurations, minimizing potential damage (para[0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use one or more different replaceable saddles, as taught by Dekeuster et al, to provide vehicle-specific adaptor configurations, minimizing potential damage (para[0006]).
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Castillo (US 7,401,764 B1) and Arbeloa (4,667,932) in view of Salcedo (US 8,500,095 B1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 1. Castillo et al further discloses wherein the hydraulic jack defines a center of gravity between the lift portion and the power supply portion, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a handle. Salcedo (‘095) teaches a use of a handle 29 (col.2 line56) extends from a housing 20 (col.2 line56-58) wherein a center of gravity is positioned below the handle 29. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use a handle, as taught by Salcedo, so that the hydraulic jack may be conveniently carried from one place to another.
Regarding claim 16¸ the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 1, however, does not explicitly teach a use of a light source. Salcedo teaches a use of a light source 32 (col.2 line59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use a light source, as taught by Salcedo, so that the hydraulic jack can be used in dark atmosphere.
Claim(s) 10-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Castillo (US 7,401,764 B1) and Arbeloa (4,667,932) in view of Lai (CN 2396021 Y).
Regarding claims 10-11, 15¸ the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 1, however, does not explicitly teach a use of a recessed tray. Lai (‘021) teaches a use of a magnetic recessed tray 2 (“hand tool tray 2”, “magnetic material”) which can store a wrench (“when placing hand tools and parts, which is convenient for centralized storage”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use a magnetic recessed tray, as taught by Lai, for the purpose of placing hand tools and parts which is convenient for centralized storage.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Castillo (US 7,401,764 B1) and Arbeloa (4,667,932) in view of Millar (3,918,683).
Regarding claim 13¸ the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 12. Castillo discloses wherein the control 46 is electrically coupled to a cord 42 (col.2 line59), however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a cord storage portion where the cord is windable about the cord storage portion. Millar (‘683) teaches a use of a cord storage portion (fig2, where a cord reel 51 is located within, col.3 lines34-37) wherein a cord 48 (col.3 lines34-37) can be windable (around the cord reel 51, fig2) about the cord storage portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use a cord storage portion wherein the cord is windable about the cord storage portion, as taught by Millar, for better storage (col.3 lines34-37).
Regarding claim 14¸ the combination of Castillo, Arbeloa, and Millar teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 13, however, does not explicitly teach a length of the cord. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05. II. A.). In this case, the cord taught by the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa is used for connecting a power to a motor and teaches each and every positively claimed structural limitations of the instant invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cord with a length of about six feet as where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05. II. A.).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Castillo (US 7,401,764 B1) and Arbeloa (4,667,932) in view of Moen et al (US 12,351,438 B2) and Hung (US 6,468,049 B1).
Regarding claims 18-19¸ the combination of Castillo and Arbeloa teaches the hydraulic jack of claim 17, however, does not explicitly teach further limitations of the power supply interface. Moen et al (‘438) teaches a use of a power supply mount (a recessed mount where a removable battery 925 is placed within, col.5 lines) having a recess (fig9) extending about a perimeter of the power supply mount (fig9), a terminal coupled to the power supply mount wherein the terminal engages the power supply (the removably battery 925, col.5 lines22-23) is being inserted into the power supply mount where the removably battery is to provide power, therefore, it is clear that a terminal is being used to transfer the electricity). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use a power supply mount with a recess and a terminal, as taught by Moen et al, so that a removable, rechargeable battery (power source) can be used to enable the jack to operate without connecting to a vehicle with a cord. Hung (‘049) teaches a use of a clamp assembly 7 (col.2 lines26-30) including first and second support clamps 7 (col.2 lines26-30) to be used for clamping a two parts of a jack. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Castillo to use a clamp assembly including first and second support clamps, as taught by Hung, for better coupling.
Conclusion
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723