DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on 09/08/2025, in which claims 1-16 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended the title to overcome the objection to the title. Accordingly, the objection to the title has been withdrawn.
Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the claim objections. Accordingly, the previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashizume et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0302995 A1 (hereinafter Hashizume), in view of Ihara et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0085918 A1 (hereinafter Ihara).
Regarding claim 1, Hashizume discloses an autonomous working system (see at least Hashizume Fig. 2), comprising:
an autonomous work machine including a battery (see at least Hashizume [0019]: “FIG. 1A is a side view of an autonomous work machine 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention.”; [0023]: “The work machine 1 includes a battery 106 as a power source thereof.”),
the autonomous work machine being configured to move along a work route that sequentially passes through a plurality of work positions and performs a predetermined task at each of the plurality of work positions (see at least Hashizume [0048]: “As shown in FIG. 5B, the work machine 1 performs work in accordance with the current position and a map that has been set along a route RT in advance.”; [0021]: “The work machine 1 includes a work unit 105. The work unit 105 is a mechanism that performs lawn-mowing work on a work ground…With the above configuration, the work unit 105 can perform lawn-mowing work while the work machine 1 moves using the front wheels 103 and the rear wheels 104.”);
a plurality of supplementary charging stations arranged along the work route (see at least Hashizume [0023]: “The battery 106 can be charged by a mobile charging station 2 (also referred to as “mobile charging apparatus” or “mobile station”) or a fixed charging station 3 (also referred to as “fixed charging apparatus” or “fixed station”), which will be described later.”; [0047]: “As shown in FIG. 5A, the work machine 1 and the mobile station 2 starts from the fixed station, and move to about the center of the work ground (work area) WA. Here, the mobile station 2 stops at this position, and waits before charging the work machine 1. On the other hand, the work machine 1 starts working at this position.”),
each of the plurality of supplementary charging stations being configured to charge the battery by wireless power transfer (see at least Hashizume [0023]-[0024]: “The battery 106 can be charged by a mobile charging station 2 (also referred to as “mobile charging apparatus” or “mobile station”) or a fixed charging station 3 (also referred to as “fixed charging apparatus” or “fixed station”), which will be described later. According to this embodiment, charging is performed by a non-contact method.”);
and a controller, the controller being configured to obtain a remaining charge of the battery; to determine whether additional charging of the battery is necessary along the work route based on the remaining charge of the battery (see at least Hashizume [0049]: “As work of the work machine 1 proceeds, the battery is consumed. When the battery residual amount decreases below a predetermined threshold value, the work machine 1 moves to the mobile station 2, which charges the work machine 1…When the work machine 1 is charged by the mobile station 2, the work machine 1 returns to the position where the work machine 1 suspended work, and starts performing work at the position.”);
and to determine the work route to move the autonomous work machine to one of the plurality of supplementary charging stations along the work route to perform the additional charging of the battery upon determining that additional charging is necessary (see at least Hashizume [0055]: “If it is determined that the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to the preset value, the mobile station 2 is requested for position information thereof, and the position information is obtained (step S614). The work machine 1 then moves using the obtained position of the mobile station 2 as a destination, and the work machine 1 is charged at the charging position (step S615).”).
Hashizume fails to expressly disclose performing and completing a predetermined task at a first work position, and then performing and completing a predetermined task at a second work position. However, Ihara teaches
the autonomous work machine moving directly from a start position to a first work position, the autonomous work machine then performing and completing the predetermined task at the first work position (see at least Ihara [0044]: “For example, the movement route planning unit 16 creates a movement route for each autonomous moving body 3 from a start point to a destination point based on information from the autonomous moving body control device 2, information stored in the charger database 13, information stored in the autonomous moving body database 11, and information stored in the indoor map database 14.”; [0049]: “Specifically, the work plan creation apparatus 1 creates the work plan including a date and a time of performing a plurality of works selected from the works stored in the work database 12 such as a work “001”, a work “002”, and a work “003” and a movement route to an implementation position of the work.”; Ihara Fig. 5 shows autonomous moving bodies R01 and R03 move directly to the implementation position of work 001 and work 101, respectively, whereas autonomous moving body R02 must move to a charger before the implementation position of the work),
moving to a second work position separate from the first work position, and then performing and completing the predetermined task at the second work position (see at least Ihara [0061]: “Specifically, the movement route planning unit 16 determines a time at which the autonomous moving body 3 starts moving to the implementation position of the next work from the implementation position of the immediately preceding work. For example, when a period of time in which the movement in an area is suppressed is regulated such as a case where the area including the movement route is crowded during the finish time of the immediately preceding work and the start time of the next work, the movement route planning unit 16 determines the start time and the finish time of the movement of the autonomous moving body 3 so that the movement of the autonomous moving body 3 is completed in a period of time which does not include a period of time in which the movement in the area is suppressed. The movement route planning unit 16 also determines the movement route from the implementation position of the next work to the implementation position of the immediately subsequent work.”; [0045]: “Then, a start time and a finish time of the work of each autonomous moving body 3 and a start time and a finish time of the movement of each autonomous moving body 3 are determined. A planning period of the work plan is determined to be one day, several hours, or one week, for example. The action planning unit 15 creates the work plan (previous work plan) in a next planning period before the planning period of the work plan currently executed is finished.”; Ihara Fig. 5 shows autonomous moving bodies move from a first work implementation position to a second work implementation position)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Hashizume with Ihara with reasonable expectation of success. Ihara is directed towards the related field of work plan creation for autonomous moving bodies. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Hashizume with Ihara to improve work plan efficiency (see at least Ihara [0089]-[0090]: “Accordingly, the autonomous moving body 3 can be made to perform the work without delay when the work needs to be adjusted. A risk of reduction of efficiency of the work plan by changing the work plan can be reduced to a minimum.”).
Regarding claim 2, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 1 as explained above. Hashizume further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to
acquire work process information related to the predetermined task and to determine whether additional charging of the battery along the work route is necessary based on the work process information and the remaining charge of the battery (see at least Hashizume [0055]: “On the other hand, if it is not determined in step S611 that work is complete, a determination is performed on whether or not the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to a preset value (step S613)…If it is determined that the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to the preset value, the mobile station 2 is requested for position information thereof, and the position information is obtained (step S614). The work machine 1 then moves using the obtained position of the mobile station 2 as a destination, and the work machine 1 is charged at the charging position (step S615).”; under broadest reasonable interpretation work process information includes information that the work is not complete).
Regarding claim 4, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 2 as explained above. Ihara teaches wherein the controller is further configured to
calculate an expected power consumption of the autonomous work machine from the work process information and to determine whether the additional charging of the battery is necessary along the work route based on the expected power consumption and the remaining charge of the battery (see at least Ihara [0065]: “In Step S6, the action planning unit 15 determines whether or not the charge amount of the autonomous moving body 3 selected in Step S2 is sufficient in an optional time in a planning period. For example, the action planning unit 15 determines whether or not the charge amount of the autonomous moving body 3 satisfies a remaining amount necessary to move to a position where the charger 6 is disposed after performing the next work. The charge amount necessary for the autonomous moving body 3 to perform the work can be learned from a past record of a power consumption amount in performing the work, for example. The charge amount necessary for the movement between the works can be learned from a past record of a past movement, for example.”).
Regarding claim 6, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 2 as explained above. Hashizume further discloses
wherein the work process information includes a work amount of the predetermined task (see at least Hashizume [0054]: “A determination is then performed on whether or not work is complete for the entirety of the work ground WA (step S611), and, if it is determined that work is complete, the mobile station 2 is notified that work is complete (step S621).”; [0049]: “Note that, if is there is an area, near the mobile station 2, that has not been subjected to work, the work machine 1 may resume work in this area. In that case, the work machine 1 records an area subjected to work out of the work ground WA in accordance with progress of work such that an area that has not been subjected to work can be specified.”).
Regarding claim 7, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 2 as explained above. Hashizume further discloses
wherein the work process information includes positions of the plurality of work positions and the plurality of supplementary charging stations (see at least Hashizume [0049]: “When the battery residual amount decreases below a predetermined threshold value, the work machine 1 moves to the mobile station 2, which charges the work machine 1. The mobile station 2 has moved to a position that is closer to the work machine 1 than the fixed station 3, and the work machine 1 can move to the charging position in a short time.”; [0055]: “If it is determined that the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to the preset value, the mobile station 2 is requested for position information thereof, and the position information is obtained (step S614). The work machine 1 then moves using the obtained position of the mobile station 2 as a destination, and the work machine 1 is charged at the charging position (step S615).”).
Regarding claim 8, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 1 as explained above. Hashizume further discloses
wherein the plurality of work positions includes a first work position and a second work position next to the first work position (see at least Hashizume [0048]: “As shown in FIG. 5B, the work machine 1 performs work in accordance with the current position and a map that has been set along a route RT in advance.”; Fig. 5B shows the route is made up of a plurality of points located next to each other),
and the controller is further configured to determine whether the remaining charge of the battery is sufficient for a required power amount to the second work position (see at least Hashizume [0055]: “On the other hand, if it is not determined in step S611 that work is complete, a determination is performed on whether or not the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to a preset value (step S613).”; under broadest reasonable interpretation determining whether the remaining charge of the battery is sufficient for a required power amount to the second work position includes determining if battery residual amount is higher than a preset value to continue work without charging);
to control the autonomous work machine to move directly from the first work position to the second work position when the remaining charge of the battery is sufficient for the required power amount to the second work position (see at least Hashizume [0055]: “If the battery residual amount is not lower than or equal to the preset value, the procedure returns to step S609, and the work continues.”; the work machine moves directly from the first work position to the second work position by continuing work along the route);
and to determine the work route to move the autonomous work machine to one of the supplementary charging stations to perform the additional charging of the battery between the first work position and the second work position when the remaining charge of the battery is insufficient for the required power amount to the second work position (see at least Hashizume [0055]: “If it is determined that the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to the preset value, the mobile station 2 is requested for position information thereof, and the position information is obtained (step S614). The work machine 1 then moves using the obtained position of the mobile station 2 as a destination, and the work machine 1 is charged at the charging position (step S615).”; [0056]: “When charging is complete, the work machine 1 moves using the position at which the work was suspended as a destination, and resumes the work from that position (step S619).”).
Regarding claim 10, Hashizume in view of Ihara discloses all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 1 as explained above. Hashizume further discloses
wherein the work route includes a start position (see at least Hashizume [0047]: “As shown in FIG. 5A, the work machine 1 and the mobile station 2 starts from the fixed station, and move to about the center of the work ground (work area) WA.”),
the plurality of work positions includes a first work position next to the start position (see at least Hashizume [0047]: “As shown in FIG. 5A, the work machine 1 and the mobile station 2 starts from the fixed station, and move to about the center of the work ground (work area) WA.”; [0048]: “As shown in FIG. 5B, the work machine 1 performs work in accordance with the current position and a map that has been set along a route RT in advance.”),
and the controller is further configured to determine whether the remaining charge of the battery is sufficient for a required power amount to the first work position (see at least Hashizume [0052]: “First, a determination is performed on whether or not the work machine 1 is fully charged (step S601)…Note that, even if it is determined in step S601 that the work machine 1 is not fully charged, a determination is performed on whether or not the charging level is higher than or equal to a certain threshold value, and, if the charging level has not reached the threshold value, the procedure may branch to step S603.”);
to control the autonomous work machine to move directly from the start position to the first work position when the remaining charge of the battery is sufficient for the required power amount to the first work position (see at least Hashizume [0053]: “Next, the work machine 1 moves to about the center of the determined work range (step S607).”; Fig. 6 shows the work machine only moves to the center of the work range (i.e., the first work position) from the starting position in step S607 when the charging level of the work machine is determined to be greater than a threshold value in step S601)
Ihara further teaches
and to determine the work route to move the autonomous work machine to one of the plurality of supplementary charging stations between the start position and the first work position to perform the additional charging of the battery when the remaining charge of the battery is insufficient for the required power amount to the first work position (see at least Ihara [0065]: “In Step S6, the action planning unit 15 determines whether or not the charge amount of the autonomous moving body 3 selected in Step S2 is sufficient in an optional time in a planning period…The charge amount necessary for the autonomous moving body 3 to perform the work can be learned from a past record of a power consumption amount in performing the work, for example. The charge amount necessary for the movement between the works can be learned from a past record of a past movement, for example.”; Ihara Fig. 5 shows autonomous moving body R02 moves to a charging location before beginning work, whereas autonomous moving bodies R01 and R03 can move directly to the work implementation positions).
Regarding claim 11, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 1 as explained above. Hashizume discloses the system further comprising
a main charging station, wherein the work route includes a start position, the main charging station is arranged at the start position (see at least Hashizume [0046]: “The work machine 1 starts from the mobile station 2 (or may start from the fixed station 3), performs lawn-mowing work on the work ground WA, and returns to the mobile station 2 (or the fixed station 3).”),
the plurality of work positions includes a first work position next to the start position (see at least Hashizume [0047]: “As shown in FIG. 5A, the work machine 1 and the mobile station 2 starts from the fixed station, and move to about the center of the work ground (work area) WA.”; [0048]: “As shown in FIG. 5B, the work machine 1 performs work in accordance with the current position and a map that has been set along a route RT in advance.”),
and the controller is further configured to determine whether the remaining charge of the battery is sufficient for a required power amount to the first work position (see at least Hashizume [0052]: “First, a determination is performed on whether or not the work machine 1 is fully charged (step S601)…Note that, even if it is determined in step S601 that the work machine 1 is not fully charged, a determination is performed on whether or not the charging level is higher than or equal to a certain threshold value, and, if the charging level has not reached the threshold value, the procedure may branch to step S603.”);
to control the autonomous work machine to move directly from the start position to the first work position when the remaining charge of the battery is sufficient for the required power amount to the first work position (see at least Hashizume [0053]: “Next, the work machine 1 moves to about the center of the determined work range (step S607).”; Fig. 6 shows the work machine only moves to the center of the work range (i.e., the first work position) from the starting position in step S607 when the charging level of the work machine is determined to be greater than a threshold value in step S601);
and to control the autonomous work machine to charge the autonomous work machine at the main charging station when the remaining charge of the battery is insufficient for the required power amount to the first work position (see at least Hashizume [0052]: “If the work machine 1 is not fully charged, the mobile station 2 continues to charge the work machine 1 (step S603). Note that, even if it is determined in step S601 that the work machine 1 is not fully charged, a determination is performed on whether or not the charging level is higher than or equal to a certain threshold value, and, if the charging level has not reached the threshold value, the procedure may branch to step S603.”; Fig. 6 shows the work machine is charged at the main charging station because the work machine does not move from the starting position to begin work until the battery is determined to be sufficient in step S601).
Regarding claim 13, Hashizume discloses a method for controlling an autonomous work machine that includes a battery (Hashizume Fig. 6)
and that is configured to move along a work route that sequentially passes through a plurality of work positions to perform a predetermined task at each of the plurality of work positions, the method comprising (see at least Hashizume [0048]: “As shown in FIG. 5B, the work machine 1 performs work in accordance with the current position and a map that has been set along a route RT in advance.”; [0021]: “The work machine 1 includes a work unit 105. The work unit 105 is a mechanism that performs lawn-mowing work on a work ground…With the above configuration, the work unit 105 can perform lawn-mowing work while the work machine 1 moves using the front wheels 103 and the rear wheels 104.”):
directing the autonomous work machine to move directly from a start position having a main charging station to a first work position (see at least Hashizume [0046]: “The work machine 1 starts from the mobile station 2 (or may start from the fixed station 3), performs lawn-mowing work on the work ground WA, and returns to the mobile station 2 (or the fixed station 3).”; under broadest reasonable interpretation a first work position is a position on the work ground that the work machine performs lawn-mowing work)
obtaining a remaining charge of the battery (see at least Hashizume [0049]: “As work of the work machine 1 proceeds, the battery is consumed. When the battery residual amount decreases below a predetermined threshold value, the work machine 1 moves to the mobile station 2, which charges the work machine 1…When the work machine 1 is charged by the mobile station 2, the work machine 1 returns to the position where the work machine 1 suspended work, and starts performing work at the position.”);
determining the work route to move the autonomous work machine to a first of a plurality of supplementary charging stations that are arranged along the work route (see at least Hashizume [0055]: “If it is determined that the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to the preset value, the mobile station 2 is requested for position information thereof, and the position information is obtained (step S614). The work machine 1 then moves using the obtained position of the mobile station 2 as a destination, and the work machine 1 is charged at the charging position (step S615).”; [0023]: “The battery 106 can be charged by a mobile charging station 2 (also referred to as “mobile charging apparatus” or “mobile station”) or a fixed charging station 3 (also referred to as “fixed charging apparatus” or “fixed station”), which will be described later.”)
obtaining a remaining charge of the battery (see at least Hashizume [0049]: “As work of the work machine 1 proceeds, the battery is consumed. When the battery residual amount decreases below a predetermined threshold value, the work machine 1 moves to the mobile station 2, which charges the work machine 1…When the work machine 1 is charged by the mobile station 2, the work machine 1 returns to the position where the work machine 1 suspended work, and starts performing work at the position.”);
Hashizume fails to expressly determining and performing additional charging between the start position and the first work position, and between the first work position and the second work position. However, Ihara teaches
determining whether additional charging of the battery is necessary between the start position and the first work position along the work route based on the remaining charge of the battery (see at least Ihara [0065]: “In Step S6, the action planning unit 15 determines whether or not the charge amount of the autonomous moving body 3 selected in Step S2 is sufficient in an optional time in a planning period…The charge amount necessary for the autonomous moving body 3 to perform the work can be learned from a past record of a power consumption amount in performing the work, for example. The charge amount necessary for the movement between the works can be learned from a past record of a past movement, for example.”);
and to charge the battery by wireless power transfer to perform the additional charging of the battery between the start position and the first work position along the work route upon determining that the additional charging is necessary (This limitation is taught through the combination of Ihara and Hashizume. Ihara discloses performing additional charging of battery between the start position and the first work position (Ihara [0065], Fig. 5). Ihara fails to expressly disclose charging the battery using wireless power transfer. However, Hashizume teaches charging the battery by wireless power transfer (Hashizume [0023]-[0024]: “The battery 106 can be charged by a mobile charging station 2 (also referred to as “mobile charging apparatus” or “mobile station”) or a fixed charging station 3 (also referred to as “fixed charging apparatus” or “fixed station”), which will be described later. According to this embodiment, charging is performed by a non-contact method.”). Therefore, Ihara and Hashizume teach the entirety of this limitation.);
directing the autonomous work machine to perform the predetermined task at the first work position (see at least Ihara [0038]: “FIG. 2 is a diagram for explaining the work database 12. The work stored in the work database 12 indicates a job which a user of the work plan creation apparatus 1 requests the autonomous moving body 3 to perform.”; [0049]: “Specifically, the work plan creation apparatus 1 creates the work plan including a date and a time of performing a plurality of works selected from the works stored in the work database 12 such as a work “001”, a work “002”, and a work “003” and a movement route to an implementation position of the work.”);
directing the autonomous work machine to move directly from the first work position to a second work position (see at least Ihara [0044]: “For example, the movement route planning unit 16 creates a movement route for each autonomous moving body 3 from a start point to a destination point based on information from the autonomous moving body control device 2, information stored in the charger database 13, information stored in the autonomous moving body database 11, and information stored in the indoor map database 14.”; [0049]: “Specifically, the work plan creation apparatus 1 creates the work plan including a date and a time of performing a plurality of works selected from the works stored in the work database 12 such as a work “001”, a work “002”, and a work “003” and a movement route to an implementation position of the work.”; Ihara Fig. 5 shows at least autonomous moving body R01 moving directly to the implementation position of work 004 from work 102 without needing to charge);
determining whether additional charging of the battery is necessary between the first work position and the second work position along the work route based on the remaining charge of the battery (see at least Ihara [0065]: “In Step S6, the action planning unit 15 determines whether or not the charge amount of the autonomous moving body 3 selected in Step S2 is sufficient in an optional time in a planning period…The charge amount necessary for the autonomous moving body 3 to perform the work can be learned from a past record of a power consumption amount in performing the work, for example. The charge amount necessary for the movement between the works can be learned from a past record of a past movement, for example.”);
and determining the work route to move the autonomous work machine to a second of a plurality of supplementary charging stations that are arranged along the work route (see at least Ihara [0049]: “As illustrated in FIG. 5, for example, the work plan creation apparatus 1 creates the work plan of each of the autonomous moving body 3 of “R01”, the autonomous moving body 3 of “R02”, and the autonomous moving body 3 of “R03”.”; Ihara Fig. 5 shows at least autonomous moving body R03 moving to charge multiple times along the work route; Ihara Fig. 4 shows a plurality of charger locations)
and to charge the battery by wireless power transfer to perform the additional charging of the battery between the first work position and the second work position along the work route upon detenining that the additional charging is necessary (This limitation is taught through the combination of Ihara and Hashizume. Ihara discloses performing additional charging of battery between the first work position and the second work position (Ihara [0065], Fig. 5). Ihara fails to expressly disclose charging the battery using wireless power transfer. However, Hashizume teaches charging the battery by wireless power transfer (Hashizume [0023]-[0024]: “The battery 106 can be charged by a mobile charging station 2 (also referred to as “mobile charging apparatus” or “mobile station”) or a fixed charging station 3 (also referred to as “fixed charging apparatus” or “fixed station”), which will be described later. According to this embodiment, charging is performed by a non-contact method.”). Therefore, Ihara and Hashizume teach the entirety of this limitation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Hashizume with Ihara with reasonable expectation of success. Ihara is directed towards the related field of work plan creation for autonomous moving bodies. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Hashizume with Ihara to improve work plan efficiency (see at least Ihara [0089]-[0090]: “Accordingly, the autonomous moving body 3 can be made to perform the work without delay when the work needs to be adjusted. A risk of reduction of efficiency of the work plan by changing the work plan can be reduced to a minimum.”).
Regarding claim 14, Hashizume discloses an autonomous working system (Hashizume Fig. 2), comprising:
an autonomous work machine including a battery (see at least Hashizume [0019]: “FIG. 1A is a side view of an autonomous work machine 1 according to an embodiment of the present invention.”; [0023]: “The work machine 1 includes a battery 106 as a power source thereof.”),
the autonomous work machine being configured to move along a work route that sequentially passes through a plurality of work positions and performs a predetermined task at each of the plurality of work positions (see at least Hashizume [0048]: “As shown in FIG. 5B, the work machine 1 performs work in accordance with the current position and a map that has been set along a route RT in advance.”; [0021]: “The work machine 1 includes a work unit 105. The work unit 105 is a mechanism that performs lawn-mowing work on a work ground…With the above configuration, the work unit 105 can perform lawn-mowing work while the work machine 1 moves using the front wheels 103 and the rear wheels 104.”);
a main charging station being configured to charge the battery by wireless power transfer, the main charging station being arranged at a start of the work route (see at least Hashizume [0046]: “The work machine 1 starts from the mobile station 2 (or may start from the fixed station 3), performs lawn-mowing work on the work ground WA, and returns to the mobile station 2 (or the fixed station 3).”; [0024]: “According to this embodiment, charging is performed by a non-contact method.”);
a first supplementary charging station being configured to charge the battery by wireless power transfer, the first supplementary charging station being arranged along the work route (see at least Hashizume [0055]: “If it is determined that the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to the preset value, the mobile station 2 is requested for position information thereof, and the position information is obtained (step S614). The work machine 1 then moves using the obtained position of the mobile station 2 as a destination, and the work machine 1 is charged at the charging position (step S615).”; [0023]-[0024]: “The battery 106 can be charged by a mobile charging station 2 (also referred to as “mobile charging apparatus” or “mobile station”) or a fixed charging station 3 (also referred to as “fixed charging apparatus” or “fixed station”), which will be described later. According to this embodiment, charging is performed by a non-contact method.”);
and a controller, the controller being configured to obtain a remaining charge of the battery (see at least Hashizume [0049]: “As work of the work machine 1 proceeds, the battery is consumed. When the battery residual amount decreases below a predetermined threshold value, the work machine 1 moves to the mobile station 2, which charges the work machine 1…When the work machine 1 is charged by the mobile station 2, the work machine 1 returns to the position where the work machine 1 suspended work, and starts performing work at the position.”);
to determine whether additional charging of the battery is necessary along the work route based on the remaining charge of the battery (see at least Hashizume [0049]: “As work of the work machine 1 proceeds, the battery is consumed. When the battery residual amount decreases below a predetermined threshold value, the work machine 1 moves to the mobile station 2, which charges the work machine 1…When the work machine 1 is charged by the mobile station 2, the work machine 1 returns to the position where the work machine 1 suspended work, and starts performing work at the position.”);
and to determine the work route to move the autonomous work machine to one of the plurality of supplementary charging stations along the work route to perform the additional charging of the battery upon determining that additional charging is necessary (see at least Hashizume [0055]: “If it is determined that the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to the preset value, the mobile station 2 is requested for position information thereof, and the position information is obtained (step S614). The work machine 1 then moves using the obtained position of the mobile station 2 as a destination, and the work machine 1 is charged at the charging position (step S615).”).
Hashizume fails to expressly a second supplementary charging station along the work route. However, Ihara teaches
a second supplementary charging station being configured to charge the battery by wireless power transfer, the second supplementary charging station being arranged along the work route (This limitation is taught through the combination of Ihara and Hashizume. Ihara discloses a second supplementary charging station along the work route (Ihara [0068]: “In Step S8, the action planning unit 15 stores the next work designed before, the movement to the implementation position of the next work, and the schedule of the charge as the work plan of the autonomous moving body 3 selected in Step S2.”; Ihara Fig. 5 shows autonomous moving bodies moving to charge multiple times along the work route; Ihara Fig. 4 shows a plurality of charging stations with varying locations). Ihara fails to expressly disclose charging the battery using wireless power transfer. However, Hashizume teaches charging the battery by wireless power transfer (Hashizume [0023]-[0024]). Therefore, Ihara and Hashizume teach the entirety of this limitation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Hashizume with Ihara with reasonable expectation of success. Ihara is directed towards the related field of work plan creation for autonomous moving bodies. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Hashizume with Ihara to improve work plan efficiency (see at least Ihara [0089]-[0090]: “Accordingly, the autonomous moving body 3 can be made to perform the work without delay when the work needs to be adjusted. A risk of reduction of efficiency of the work plan by changing the work plan can be reduced to a minimum.”).
Regarding claim 15, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 14 as explained above. Ihara further teaches wherein
the first supplementary charging station is arranged between the start of the work route and a first work position (see at least Ihara [0065]: “In Step S6, the action planning unit 15 determines whether or not the charge amount of the autonomous moving body 3 selected in Step S2 is sufficient in an optional time in a planning period…The charge amount necessary for the autonomous moving body 3 to perform the work can be learned from a past record of a power consumption amount in performing the work, for example. The charge amount necessary for the movement between the works can be learned from a past record of a past movement, for example.”; Ihara Fig. 5 shows at least autonomous moving body R02 can move to a charging location before moving to the work 002 implementation position);
and the second supplementary charging station is arranged between the first work position and a second work position (see at least Ihara [0065]: “In Step S6, the action planning unit 15 determines whether or not the charge amount of the autonomous moving body 3 selected in Step S2 is sufficient in an optional time in a planning period…The charge amount necessary for the autonomous moving body 3 to perform the work can be learned from a past record of a power consumption amount in performing the work, for example. The charge amount necessary for the movement between the works can be learned from a past record of a past movement, for example.”; Ihara Fig. 5 shows at least autonomous moving body R02 can move to a charging location in between the work 302 implementation position and the work 203 implementation position; Ihara Fig. 4 shows a plurality of charging locations with varying location information).
Regarding claim 16, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 15 as explained above. Ihara further teaches wherein
the controller determines whether the remaining charge of the battery is sufficient for a required power amount from the start of the work route to the first work position (see at least Ihara [0065]: “In Step S6, the action planning unit 15 determines whether or not the charge amount of the autonomous moving body 3 selected in Step S2 is sufficient in an optional time in a planning period…The charge amount necessary for the autonomous moving body 3 to perform the work can be learned from a past record of a power consumption amount in performing the work, for example. The charge amount necessary for the movement between the works can be learned from a past record of a past movement, for example.”),
and whether the remaining charge of the battery is sufficient for a required power amount from the first work position to the second work position (see at least Ihara [0065]: “In Step S6, the action planning unit 15 determines whether or not the charge amount of the autonomous moving body 3 selected in Step S2 is sufficient in an optional time in a planning period…The charge amount necessary for the autonomous moving body 3 to perform the work can be learned from a past record of a power consumption amount in performing the work, for example. The charge amount necessary for the movement between the works can be learned from a past record of a past movement, for example.”),
Hashizume further teaches
when the remaining charge is insufficient, the controller routes the autonomous work machine to the first or second supplementary charging station (see at least Hashizume [0055]: “If it is determined that the battery residual amount is lower than or equal to the preset value, the mobile station 2 is requested for position information thereof, and the position information is obtained (step S614). The work machine 1 then moves using the obtained position of the mobile station 2 as a destination, and the work machine 1 is charged at the charging position (step S615).”).
Claims 3, 5, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashizume in view of Ihara, and further in view of Williams et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0010089 A1 (hereinafter Williams).
Regarding claim 3, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 2 as explained above. Hashizume in view of Ihara fail to expressly disclose determining a charging time based on work process information and the remaining charge. However, Williams teaches wherein the controller is further configured to
determine a charging time for the additional charging based on the work process information and the remaining charge of the battery (see at least Williams [0117]: “In some aspects, an estimated time of arrival (ETA) for the EV 310B at the destination 370B may be determined based upon an expected amount of time for (i) the further charging vehicle 332B to deliver, to the EV 310B, the electrical power until the EV 310B has at least the minimum amount of charge and (ii) the further charging station 322B to deliver, to the EV 310B, an additional amount of charge.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Hashizume in view of Ihara with the charging time taught by Williams with reasonable expectation of success. Williams is directed towards the related field of charging electric vehicles. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Hashizume in view of Ihara with the charging time taught by Williams to reduce delays (see at least Williams [0003]-[0004]: “However, conventional techniques of dispatching a tow truck to tow the EV to a charging station may result in significant delays. For example, tow trucks may have limited resources and may be unable to travel to the EV's location for a long time. Further, EV occupants may be required, for example, to wait for: (1) a tow truck to arrive, (2) the tow truck to tow the EV to a charging station, and (3) the EV to sufficiently recharge at the charging station. Such delays may result in inconvenience or hardship for EV occupants, with depleted battery power rendering their EV unable to transport them to important engagements or other desired destinations. Further, this may be dangerous for drivers and/or passengers waiting for a tow truck to arrive, particularly when there are extreme weather conditions outside of the vehicle, such as heavy rain, snow, or very low temperatures. Conventional techniques may include additional inconveniences, inefficiencies, or drawbacks as well.”).
Regarding claim 5, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 2 as explained above. Hashizume in view of Ihara fail to expressly disclose work process information including a distance between work positions. However, Williams teaches
wherein the work process information includes a distance between the plurality of work positions (see at least Williams [0143]: “When the amount of charge remaining in the EV 108A is less than a threshold amount of charge, the distance to the nearest charging and/or fueling station is greater than a threshold distance, or any suitable combination of these, the EV 108A may automatically transmit 672 a notification to the remote server 150B including vehicle data and requesting charging services.”; [0018]: “determining, by the one or more processors, a minimum charge level required for the EV to travel to a target location based upon the EV location data and the battery data, wherein the target location is a charging station or a destination”; under broadest reasonable interpretation the plurality of work positions includes a current location of a vehicle and a location of a charging station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Hashizume in view of Ihara with the distance information taught by Williams with reasonable expectation of success. Williams is directed towards the related field of charging electric vehicles. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Hashizume in view of Ihara with the distance information taught by Williams to reduce delays (see at least Williams [0003]: “When an EV is running out of battery power and does not have enough range to reach the nearest fueling and/or charging station, the EV may need roadside services, such as a tow truck to tow the EV to a nearby fueling and/or charging station. However, conventional techniques of dispatching a tow truck to tow the EV to a charging station may result in significant delays. For example, tow trucks may have limited resources and may be unable to travel to the EV's location for a long time.”).
Regarding claim 9, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 8 as explained above. Hashizume in view of Ihara fail to expressly disclose a charging time based on remaining charge and a required power to the second position. However, Williams teaches wherein the controller is further configured to
determine a charging time for the additional charging based on the remaining charge of the battery and the required power amount to the second work position (see at least Williams [0117]: “In some aspects, an estimated time of arrival (ETA) for the EV 310B at the destination 370B may be determined based upon an expected amount of time for (i) the further charging vehicle 332B to deliver, to the EV 310B, the electrical power until the EV 310B has at least the minimum amount of charge and (ii) the further charging station 322B to deliver, to the EV 310B, an additional amount of charge.”; [0162]: “The remote server 150B may also transmit an instruction to the charging vehicle 140B to charge the EV 108A until the battery power in the EV 108A reaches the minimum amount of charge required to travel to the charging station 320A. Once the amount of charge remaining in the battery of the EV 108A reaches the minimum amount of charge, the EV 108A may travel to the charging station 320A for example, to fully charge.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Hashizume in view of Ihara with the charging time taught by Williams with reasonable expectation of success. Williams is directed towards the related field of charging electric vehicles. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Hashizume in view of Ihara with the charging time taught by Williams to reduce delays (see at least Williams [0003]-[0004]: “However, conventional techniques of dispatching a tow truck to tow the EV to a charging station may result in significant delays. For example, tow trucks may have limited resources and may be unable to travel to the EV's location for a long time. Further, EV occupants may be required, for example, to wait for: (1) a tow truck to arrive, (2) the tow truck to tow the EV to a charging station, and (3) the EV to sufficiently recharge at the charging station. Such delays may result in inconvenience or hardship for EV occupants, with depleted battery power rendering their EV unable to transport them to important engagements or other desired destinations. Further, this may be dangerous for drivers and/or passengers waiting for a tow truck to arrive, particularly when there are extreme weather conditions outside of the vehicle, such as heavy rain, snow, or very low temperatures. Conventional techniques may include additional inconveniences, inefficiencies, or drawbacks as well.”).
Regarding claim 12, Hashizume in view of Ihara teach all elements of the autonomous work system according to claim 11 as explained above. Hashizume in view of Ihara fails to expressly disclose a charging time based on remaining charge and a required power to the first position. However, Williams teaches wherein the controller is further configured to
determine a charging time at the main charging station based on the remaining charge of the battery and the required power amount to the first work position (see at least Williams [0117]: “In some aspects, an estimated time of arrival (ETA) for the EV 310B at the destination 370B may be determined based upon an expected amount of time for (i) the further charging vehicle 332B to deliver, to the EV 310B, the electrical power until the EV 310B has at least the minimum amount of charge and (ii) the further charging station 322B to deliver, to the EV 310B, an additional amount of charge.”; [0162]: “The remote server 150B may also transmit an instruction to the charging vehicle 140B to charge the EV 108A until the battery power in the EV 108A reaches the minimum amount of charge required to travel to the charging station 320A. Once the amount of charge remaining in the battery of the EV 108A reaches the minimum amount of charge, the EV 108A may travel to the charging station 320A for example, to fully charge.”; [0099]: “If the EV 310A is completely out of battery power, the nearest charging vehicle 320A may be dispatched to the current location of the EV 310A as a meeting point.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system disclosed by Hashizume in view of Ihara with the charging time taught by Williams with reasonable expectation of success. Williams is directed towards the related field of charging electric vehicles. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Hashizume in view of Ihara with the charging time taught by Williams to reduce delays (see at least Williams [0003]-[0004]: “However, conventional techniques of dispatching a tow truck to tow the EV to a charging station may result in significant delays. For example, tow trucks may have limited resources and may be unable to travel to the EV's location for a long time. Further, EV occupants may be required, for example, to wait for: (1) a tow truck to arrive, (2) the tow truck to tow the EV to a charging station, and (3) the EV to sufficiently recharge at the charging station. Such delays may result in inconvenience or hardship for EV occupants, with depleted battery power rendering their EV unable to transport them to important engagements or other desired destinations. Further, this may be dangerous for drivers and/or passengers waiting for a tow truck to arrive, particularly when there are extreme weather conditions outside of the vehicle, such as heavy rain, snow, or very low temperatures. Conventional techniques may include additional inconveniences, inefficiencies, or drawbacks as well.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH J SLOWIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662