DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-12, 14, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Chen et al. (US Pub. 2023/0073671 A1) discloses (see annotated Figure 14):
Regarding claim 1, an ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 1, element 100), configured to receive an image beam (Figure 1, element IB) from an image source side and project the image beam (Figure 1, element IB) toward a projection surface (Figure 1, element IP), wherein the ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 1, element 100) has an optical axis (element OA), the ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 14, element 100’) comprises a reflective optical element (Figure 14, element 110), a first lens group (Figure 14, element G2), a stop (Figure 14, element ST), and a second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) arranged in sequence along the optical axis (Figure 14, element OA), after the image beam from the image source side passes through the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1), the stop (Figure 14, element ST), and the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) in sequence, the image beam is reflected by the reflective optical element (Figure 14, element 110) and projected to the projection surface (page 2, paragraph 0026, lines 13-15); wherein, the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) comprises a plurality of lenses having diopters (i.e. it is well known in the art that all lenses with a non-flat surface have a diopter, which is a unit of measurement for a lens’ optical power); the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) comprises a plurality of lenses having diopters (i.e. it is well known in the art that all lenses with a non-flat surface have a diopter, which is a unit of measurement for the lenses optical power); and the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) and the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) comprise ten lenses (Figure 14, elements L1-L10) having diopters in total.
Regarding claim 2, a reflective surface (Figure 14, element S24) of the reflective optical element (Figure 14, element 110) is a concave surface (clearly illustrated in Figure 14) facing the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) and has a negative diopter (i.e. lens with a concave surface), and the concave surface is an aspherical surface (Figure 14, elements S22 and S23).
Regarding claim 3, the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) and the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) form a focusing group (Figure 14, element A) configured to be moved along the optical axis (Figure 14, element OA) when the ultra-short focus projection lens is focusing (page 4, paragraph 0039, lines 3-8).
Regarding claim 4, the image beam forms an intermediate image (Figure 14, element CP) between the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) and the reflective optical element (Figure 14, element 110).
Regarding clam 5, after the image beam is reflected by the reflective optical element (Figure 14, element 110), a focal point (Figure 14, element P2) is formed between the reflective optical element (Figure 14, element 110) and the projection surface (i.e. imaging plane; element IP).
Regarding claim 6, the image source side (Figure 1, element 60) and the projection surface (i.e. imaging plane; element IP) are located at a same side of the ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 1, element 100).
Regarding claim 7, the ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 14, element 100’) is a telecentric projection lens (clearly illustrated in Figure 14).
Regarding claim 10, in the plurality of lenses of the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2), a lens (Figure 14, element L10) closest to the reflective optical element (Figure 14, element 110) and a lens (Figure 14, element L6) closest to the stop (Figure 14, element ST) both have negative diopters (i.e. negative refractive power).
Regarding claim 11, the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) has a negative diopter (page 3, paragraph 0028, line 17).
Regarding claim 12, one of the plurality of lenses of the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) is an aspheric lens (Figure 14, element L10) with a negative diopter (page 3, paragraph 0028, line 19).
Regarding claim 14, the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) comprises two double cemented lenses (page 4, paragraph 0046, lines 13-16).
Regarding claim 17, the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) comprises four lenses (Figure 14, elements L7, L8, L9 and L10) having diopters (i.e. it is well known in the art that all lenses with a non-flat surface have a diopter, which is a unit of measurement for the lenses optical power), and the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) comprises six lenses (Figure 14, elements L1, L2, L3, L4, L5 and L6) having diopters (i.e. it is well known in the art that all lenses with a non-flat surface have a diopter, which is a unit of measurement for the lenses optical power).
Regarding claim 18, a projection device (Figure 1, element 10), wherein the projection device (Figure 1, element 10) comprises an illumination system (Figure 1, element 50), a light valve (Figure 1, element 60), and an ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 1, element 100), wherein: the illumination system (Figure 1, element 50) is configured to provide an illumination beam (Figure 1, element I); the light valve (Figure 1, element 60) is disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam (Figure 1, element I) and configured to convert the illumination beam (Figure 1, element I) into an image beam (Figure 1, element IB); and the ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 1, element 100) is disposed on a transmission path of the image beam (Figure 1, element IB) and configured to receive the image beam (Figure 1, element IB) from the light valve (Figure 1, element 60) and project the image beam (Figure 1, element PB) toward a projection surface (Figure 1, element IP), the ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 14, element 100’) has an optical axis (Figure 14, element OA), the ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 14, element 100’) comprises a reflective optical element (Figure 14, element 110), a first lens group (Figure 14, element G2), a stop (Figure 14, element ST), and a second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) arranged in sequence along the optical axis (Figure 14, element OA), after the image beam from the light valve (Figure 14, element 60) passes through the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1), the stop (Figure 14, element ST), and the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) in sequence, the image beam (element IB) is reflected by the reflective optical element (Figure 14, element 110) and projected to the projection surface (page 2, paragraph 0026, lines 13-15); wherein, the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) comprises a plurality of lenses (Figure 14, elements L7, L8, L9 and L10) having diopters (i.e. it is well known in the art that all lenses with a non-flat surface have a diopter, which is a unit of measurement for the lenses optical power); the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) comprises a plurality of lenses (Figure 14, elements L1, L2, L3, L4, L5 and L6) having diopters (i.e. it is well known in the art that all lenses with a non-flat surface have a diopter, which is a unit of measurement for the lenses optical power); and the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) and the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) comprise ten lenses (Figure 14, elements L1-L10) having diopters in total.
Regarding claim 20, the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) and the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) form a focusing group (Figure 14, element A) configured to be moved along the optical axis (Figure 14, element OA) when the ultra-short focus projection lens is focusing (page 4, paragraph 0039, lines 3-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chen et al. in view of Sieber et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Chen et al. (US Pub. 2023/0073671 A1) discloses the ultra-short focus projection lens (Figure 14, element 100’). However, Chen et al. does not teach an ultra-short focus projection lens that complies with: half field of view >70 degrees.
Sieber et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0190224 A1) teaches an ultra-short focus projection lens (element 14) that complies with: half field of view >70 degrees (page 4, paragraph 0040, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an ultra-short focus projection lens that complies with: half field of view >70 degrees as shown by Sieber et al. in combination with Chen et al.’s invention for the purpose of adjusting the refractive power (Sieber et al., page 4, paragraph 0039, line 3).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chen et al. in view of Bao et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Chen et al. (US Pub. 2023/0073671 A1) discloses a plurality of lenses (Figure 14, elements L7, L8, L9 and L10) of the first lens group (Figure 14, element G2) comprising an aspherical lens (Figure 14, element L10). However, Chen et al. does not teach at least one piece of plastic aspherical lens.
Bao et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0318525 A1) discloses at least one piece of plastic aspherical lens (i.e. deformed plastic lens; page 1, paragraph 0007, lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one piece of plastic aspherical lens as shown by Bao et al. in combination with Chen et al.’s invention for the purpose of reducing the volume of the lens (Bao et al., page 1, paragraph 0007, line 4).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chen et al. in view of Bao et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Chen et al. (US Pub. 2023/0073671 A1) discloses a plurality of lenses (Figure 14, elements L1, L2, L3, L4, L5 and L6) of the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1), and the plurality of lenses (Figure 14, elements L1, L2, L3, L4, L5 and L6) comprise at least one aspherical lens (Figure 14, element L1). However, Chen et al. does not teach the plurality of lenses are all glass lenses.
Bao et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0318525 A1) discloses the plurality of lenses are all glass lenses (page 2, paragraph 0015, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of lenses are all glass lenses as shown by Bao et al. in combination with Chen et al.’s invention for the purpose of effectively correcting the spherical aberration, reducing the total optical length, and reducing the volume of the lens (see Bao et al., page 3, paragraph 0055, lines 10-13).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chen et al. in view of Bao et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Chen et al. (US Pub. 2023/0073671 A1) discloses one of the plurality of lenses (Figure 14, elements L1, L2, L3, L4, L5 and L6) of the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1) is lens (Figure 14, element L1) with a positive diopter (i.e. positive refractive power). However, Chen et al. does not teach a glass aspheric lens.
Bao et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0318525 A1) discloses a glass aspheric lens (page 3, paragraph 0054, lines 8-9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a glass aspheric lens as shown by Bao et al. in combination with Chen et al.’s invention for the purpose of effectively correcting the spherical aberration, reducing the total optical length, and reducing the volume of the lens (see Bao et al., page 3, paragraph 0055, lines 10-13).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chen et al. in view of Huang et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Chen et al. (US Pub. 2023/0073671 A1) discloses a plurality of lenses (Figure 14, elements L1, L2, L3, L4, L5 and L6) of the second lens group (Figure 14, element G1). However, Chen et al. does not teach a glass lens with a refractive index greater than 1.9.
Huang et al. (CN 104570283 A) discloses a glass lens (see translation, paragraph 0047, lines 2-3) with a refractive index greater than 1.9 (see translation, paragraph 0047, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a glass lens with a refractive index greater than 1.9 as shown by Huang et al. in combination with Chen et al.’s invention for the purpose of increasing the system’s ability to focus light (Huang et al., see translation, paragraph 0047, line 3).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chen et al. in view of Yin et al.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Chen et al. (US Pub. 2023/0073671 A1) teaches the salient features of the present invention as explained above except a projection device satisfying the equation (h+h’)/h > 125%, wherein h is a length of an image range formed by the image beam projected on the projection surface along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, and h’ is a distance along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis between a lower edge of the image range formed by the image beam projected on the projection surface and the optical axis.
Yin et al. (WO 2020/187204 A1) discloses (see annotated Figure 1-1) a projection device (Figure 1-1, element 20) satisfying the equation (h+h’)/h > 125%, wherein h (Figure 1-1, element h) is a length of an image range formed by the image beam (Figure 1-1, element C) projected on the projection surface (Figure 1-1, element 10) along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (Figure 1-1, element B), and h’ (Figure 1-1, element A) is a distance along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (Figure 1-1, element B) between a lower edge (Figure 1-1, element D) of the image range formed by the image beam (Figure 1-1, element C) projected on the projection surface (Figure 1-1, element 10) and the optical axis (Figure 1-1, element B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a projection device satisfying the equation (h+h’)/h > 125% as shown by Yin et al. in combination with Chen et al.’s invention for the purpose of projecting a large image at a very short projection distance, and wherein the projection device and the screen are likely to be integrated into one device (Yin et al., see translation, paragraph 0033, lines 8-10).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/05/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action.
Conclusion
/MAGDA CRUZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
04/27/2026