DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 8/20/2026. Claims 1 and 15-16 are currently amended. Claim 5 is cancelled. Claims 1-4 and 6-16 are pending review in this action.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office Action are partially maintained and partially withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Pertaining amended claim 15, Applicant argues that Kawase fails to expressly or inherently describe “controlling copper content of the negative electrode active material layer to 1% or less by mass” and “obtaining the negative electrode active material layer having a Young’s modulus of 25 GPa or less based on the copper content”. This argument is unpersuasive for the following reasons.
Kawase explicitly teaches depositing silicon onto an electrolytic copper foil current collector via an electron beam vapor deposition method (a gas-phase method) and annealing the deposited silicon at 280 oC for 24 hours [par. 0060]. This operational sequence is identical to the physical steps recited in Claim 15. Applicant’s specification explicitly discloses that performing vapor deposition followed by low-temperature annealing at < 300 oC inherently suppresses copper diffusion into the active layer to < 1% by mass and forms a silicon0copper solid solution that inherently yields a Young’s modulus of < 25 GPa [PgPublication – pars. 0062,0095-97,0117]. Because Kawase employs the identical physical process steps under the identical operating parameters, Kawase inherently and necessarily achieves the recited physical compositional characteristics [MPEP 2112].
Furthermore, the newly added clauses merely state the inherent technical result, underlying physical mechanism, or intended functional purpose of the physical annealing step. Reciting the inherent result or purpose of an otherwise disclosed physical process step does not impart patentability to the method [MPEP 2111.04]. In the alternative, controlling the resulting copper content to < 1 mass% and obtain the resulting modulus of < 25 GPa is an expected property and obvious through routine optimization [MPEP 2144.05(II] (refer to rejection below for details).
Pertaining amended claim 1 and original claim 8, Applicant argues that Ikeda does not describe an active material layer containing “1% or less by mass of copper”, and asserts that the Office action relied on a “conclusory statement of inherency” regarding the Young’s modulus limitation of < 25 GPa. The arguments are unpersuasive for the following reasons.
Ikeda discloses that copper diffuses into the silicon layer to form a solid-solution diffusion layer having an atomic density of 1020 atoms/cm3 or more. In a silicon matrix (density ~2.33 g/cm3), the mass percent of copper is thus 0.45% or more, which overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP 2144.05(I)]. Applicant has provided no evidence of criticality or unexpected results across the claimed range compared to Ikeda’s overlapping value. Furthermore, Ikeda explicitly teaches that while copper solid solution is desirable near the current collector to prevent detachment, the copper concentration should decrease toward the outer surface of the active layer to maximize charge-discharge capacity [par. 0041,0194,0226]. Because copper is electrochemically inactive toward lithium, maintaining the overall copper content at < 1 mass% is an obvious design choice to avoid capacity loss.
Further, Ikeda explicitly recognizes the underlying physical problem and structural solution: volumetric expansion and contraction of silicon during cycling causes peeling, and dividing the silicon active layer into columnar bodies separated by gaps relieves this stress and preserves adhesion to the copper current collector [Ikeda – pars. 0022,0179,0194-195]. Young’s modulus is a recognized result-effective variable directly governing the elastic deformability of the columnar bodies into the accommodating gaps. Because Ikeda explicitly identifies this stress-relief and adhesion mechanism, optimizing the elastic modulus of the columnar silicon bodies to a compliant value of < 25 GPa through routine experimentation is an obvious design choice under MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawase (US20070020523A1), or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kawase.
Regarding Claims 15-16, Kawase discloses a method for manufacturing a battery comprising:
depositing silicon on a negative electrode current collector by a gas phase method (electron beam vapor deposition), and
annealing the deposited silicon at a temperature of lower than or equal to 300° C (280o C) to form a negative electrode having an active material layer, where a time of the annealing is greater than or equal to 5 hours and less than or equal to 30 hours (24 hours) [pars. 0059-60].
Kawase fails to explicitly teach: (1) “controlling copper content of the negative electrode active material to 1% or less by mass”; and (2) “obtaining the negative electrode active material layer having a Young’s modulus of 25 GPa or less based on the copper content”.
However, Kawase performs the identical physical process steps using the identical materials and operational parameters (i.e., depositing silicon on copper foil via EB vapor deposition on copper foil and annealing at 280 oC for 24 hours) [pars. 0059-60] as described in the instant specification. Specifically, as admitted by the instant specification, carrying out gas phase deposition of silicon onto a copper foil current collector and annealing at a temperature of < 300 oC for 5 to 30 hours inherently suppresses copper diffusion to < 1% by mass and inherently forms a silicon-copper solid solution that possesses a Young’s modulus of < 25 GPa [PgPublication – pars. 0062,0095-97,0017]. Because Kawase’s method comprises the identical physical process steps, the recited properties and control are inherently achieved [MPEP 2112].
Furthermore, recited the functional result or underlying mechanism (“controlling…” and “obtaining… based on the copper content”) imparts no patentable distinction to an otherwise identical physical method [MPEP 2111.04].
In the alternative, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan practicing Kawase’s deposition and 280 oC annealing process to recognize and control the resulting copper content to < 1% by mass and obtain the resulting Young’s modulus of < 25 GPa as an expected property and result of Kawase’s parameters, or as an obvious optimization to balance capacity retention and layer deformability [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ikeda (JP2002083594A).
Regarding Claims 1-2, Ikeda discloses a battery [par. 0005,0144-146] comprising:
a positive electrode;
a negative electrode; and
an electrolyte layer (e.g., gel-like or inorganic solid electrolyte) located between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [0144],
wherein the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (e.g., copper foil) and a negative electrode active material layer (active material thin film) located between the negative electrode current collector and the electrolyte layer [0135], and
the negative electrode active material layer has a plurality of columnar bodies containing silicon as a primary component [pars. 0177-182].
Furthermore, Ikeda discloses that copper is contained in the silicon thin film, via diffusion from the current collector, at about 1020 atoms/cm3 or more [par. 0266-267], which results in a mass% range of 0.45 mass% or more, overlapping the claimed range and establishing a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Calculation Breakdown
(based on density of pure silicon being ~2.33 g/cm3, mass of 1 cm3 of total material which is predominantly silicon)
Moreover, Ikeda explicitly teaches that while copper solid solution is desirable near the current collector to suppress expansion and peeling, the concentration of copper should decrease toward the outer surface of the active material layer to maintain high charge-discharge capacity [pars. 0041,0194,0226]. Because copper is electrochemically inactive toward lithium storage, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to maintain the overall copper content of the silicon layer at 1% or less by mass to maximize the available battery capacity while maintaining interface adhesion.
Ikeda fails to explicitly teach wherein a Young's modulus of the negative electrode active material layer is less than or equal to 25 GPa, or less than 20 GPa. However, the instant application teaches that when copper contained in the negative electrode active material layer diffuses on the order of ppm in the negative electrode active material layer and is present in a state of a solid solution formed with silicon (i.e., as opposed to a state of intermetallic compound therebetween), Young’s module of 25 GPa or less is readily achieved [PgPublication – par. 0062]. In this regard, Ikeda teaches that the elemental copper component of the current collector diffuses into the silicon thin film near the current collector in a state of a solid solution rather than an intermetallic compound [pars. 0192-194]. Moreover, the instant specification teaches that when Young's modulus of the negative electrode active material layer is less than or equal to 25 GPa, the deformability of the negative electrode active material layer is improved, and therefore, in accordance with expansion of the negative electrode during the first charge of the battery, a gap between adjacent columnar bodies is decreased [PgPublication – par. 0015]. Ikeda also teaches that the concentration of copper is present only near the current collector which allows for less lithium absorption and release near the current collector, and consequently, the expansion and contraction of the silicon thin film is relatively small, and therefore, the stress generated in the silicon thin film near the current collector is reduced, making it less likely for gaps (voids) to form near the current collector that would cause the silicon thin film to peel or detach from the current collector, allowing the bottom of the columnar portion of the silicon thin film to maintain close contact with the current collector [par. 0194], and further, the silicon thin film, separated into columnar shapes by the cuts formed as described above, adheres firmly to the current collector even during the charge-discharge cycle, and the gaps formed around the columnar portions relieve the stress caused by the expansion and contraction of the thin film during the charge-discharge cycle [par. 0195]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Ikeda's negative electrode, which features a plurality of columnar silicon bodies and diffused copper forming a solid solution near the current collector, inherently possesses a Young's modulus of 25 GPa or less, or 20 GPa or less, rendering the claimed numerical limitation an inherent property of the prior art structure, or at least establish a prima facie case of obviousness in which the Young's modulus of Ikeda’s negative electrode active material layer overlaps the claimed Young’s modulus of 25 GPa or less, or 20 GPa or less [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Alternatively, A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have recognized that optimizing the Young's modulus to 20 GPa or less would be an obvious design choice to achieve the exact stress-relief and adhesion benefits identified by Ikeda. Ikeda explicitly teaches that the gaps formed around the columnar portions relieve the stress caused by expansion and contraction [par. 0195]. Because the instant specification confirms that a Young’s modulus of 20 Gpa or less yields the precise deformability and gap-adjustment mechanisms described by Ikeda, a POSITA would have readily arrived at the claimed modulus through routine optimization and experimentation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the negative electrode of Ikeda to possess the claimed Young's modulus [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claim 3, Ikeda discloses wherein a thickness of the negative electrode active material layer is less than or equal to 30 μm (e.g., 2 μm) [par. 0231].
Regarding Claim 4, Ikeda discloses wherein the negative electrode current collector contains copper as a primary component [par. 0143].
Regarding Claim 6, Ikeda teaches wherein the electrolyte layer contains a solid electrolyte which necessarily has lithium-ion conductivity [par. 0146].
Regarding Claims 8-10, Ikeda discloses a battery [par. 0005,0144-146] comprising:
a positive electrode;
a negative electrode; and
an electrolyte layer (e.g., gel-like or inorganic solid electrolyte) located between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [0144],
wherein the negative electrode includes a negative electrode current collector (e.g., copper foil) and a negative electrode active material layer (active material thin film) located between the negative electrode current collector and the electrolyte layer [0135], and
the negative electrode active material layer has a plurality of columnar bodies containing silicon as a primary component [pars. 0177-182].
Ikeda discloses that copper is contained in the silicon thin film at about 1020 atoms/cm3 or more [par. 0266-267], which results in a mass% range of 0.45 mass% or more, overlapping the claimed range and establishing a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Ikeda fails to explicitly teach wherein a Young's modulus of the negative electrode active material layer is less than or equal to 25 GPa, or less than 20 GPa. However, the instant application teaches that when copper contained in the negative electrode active material layer diffuses on the order of ppm in the negative electrode active material layer and is present in a state of a solid solution formed with silicon (i.e., as opposed to a state of intermetallic compound therebetween), Young’s module of 25 GPa or less is readily achieved [PgPublication – par. 0062]. In this regard, Ikeda teaches that the elemental copper component of the current collector diffuses into the silicon thin film near the current collector in a state of a solid solution rather than an intermetallic compound [pars. 0192-194]. Moreover, the instant specification teaches that when Young's modulus of the negative electrode active material layer is less than or equal to 25 GPa, the deformability of the negative electrode active material layer is improved, and therefore, in accordance with expansion of the negative electrode during the first charge of the battery, a gap between adjacent columnar bodies is decreased [PgPublication – par. 0015]. Ikeda also teaches that the concentration of copper is present only near the current collector which allows for less lithium absorption and release near the current collector, and consequently, the expansion and contraction of the silicon thin film is relatively small, and therefore, the stress generated in the silicon thin film near the current collector is reduced, making it less likely for gaps (voids) to form near the current collector that would cause the silicon thin film to peel or detach from the current collector, allowing the bottom of the columnar portion of the silicon thin film to maintain close contact with the current collector [par. 0194], and further, the silicon thin film, separated into columnar shapes by the cuts formed as described above, adheres firmly to the current collector even during the charge-discharge cycle, and the gaps formed around the columnar portions relieve the stress caused by the expansion and contraction of the thin film during the charge-discharge cycle [par. 0195]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Ikeda's negative electrode, which features a plurality of columnar silicon bodies and diffused copper forming a solid solution near the current collector, inherently possesses a Young's modulus of 25 GPa or less, or 20 GPa or less, rendering the claimed numerical limitation an inherent property of the prior art structure, or at least establish a prima facie case of obviousness in which the Young's modulus of Ikeda’s negative electrode active material layer overlaps the claimed Young’s modulus of 25 GPa or less, or 20 GPa or less [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Alternatively, A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have recognized that optimizing the Young's modulus to 20 GPa or less would be an obvious design choice to achieve the exact stress-relief and adhesion benefits identified by Ikeda. Ikeda explicitly teaches that the gaps formed around the columnar portions relieve the stress caused by expansion and contraction [par. 0195]. Because the instant specification confirms that a Young’s modulus of 20 Gpa or less yields the precise deformability and gap-adjustment mechanisms described by Ikeda, a POSITA would have readily arrived at the claimed modulus through routine optimization and experimentation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the negative electrode of Ikeda to possess the claimed Young's modulus [MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claim 11, Ikeda discloses wherein a thickness of the negative electrode active material layer is less than or equal to 30 μm (e.g., 2 μm) [par. 0231].
Regarding Claim 12, Ikeda discloses wherein the negative electrode current collector contains copper as a primary component [par. 0143].
Regarding Claim 13, Ikeda teaches wherein the electrolyte layer contains a solid electrolyte which necessarily has lithium-ion conductivity [par. 0146].
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda as applied to claims 6 and 13, respectively, and further in view of Miyashita (US20170352916A1).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Ikeda does not teach wherein the solid electrolyte contains a sulfide solid electrolyte. However, Miyashita, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that using sulfide-based solid electrolyte for a lithium ion battery comprising a silicon negative electrode active material to maintain excellent charge-discharge cycle ability (cycle characteristic) even when charging and discharging in a high temperature state [Miyashita –par. 0077]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have modified the solid electrolyte of Ikeda to have contained a sulfide solid electrolyte which, along with the silicon negative electrode active material, in order to maintain excellent charge-discharge cycle ability (cycle characteristic) even when charging and discharging in a high temperature state.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751