DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges:
Fadell discloses a wearable device that may include bone-conduction transducers. For example, Fadell teaches that "[a]n illustrative wearable device may include an ear-piece with a bone-conduction speaker (e.g., a bone conduction transducer or 'BCT')" and that "[a] BCT may be operable to vibrate the wearer's bone structure at a location where the vibrations travel through the wearer's bone structure to the middle ear, such that the brain interprets the vibrations as sounds" (Fadell, [0026]). Fadell further teaches an example device 300 in which "[t]he device 300 includes two frame portions 302 shaped SO as to hook over a wearer's ears," "[w]hen worn, a behind-ear housing 306 is located behind each of the wearer's ears," and "[t]he housings 306 may each include a BCT 308" (Fadell, [0054]). Fadell explains that "BCT 308 may function as a bone-conduction speaker that plays audio to the wearer by vibrating the wearer's bone structure" (Fadell, [0054]). These teachings describe transducer components of a wearable device and do not correspond to "two or more playback devices" that are "configured into a playback group," as recited in previously presented claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner submits that the presence of multiple transducers/speakers used to reproduce audio in stereo (Fadell at [0039], or synchronously together can be construed as a “group,” and thus meets the claimed “two or more playback devices” that are “configured into a playback group.”
Applicant further alleges:
Nevertheless, without conceding the merits of the rejection, and merely to advance prosecution, claim 1 has been amended to recite "communicat[ing], via the network interface, one or more volume-control messages to the playback group, wherein the one or more volume- control messages cause the playback group to activate a second volume limit." As noted above, Fadell's BCTs does not disclose "two or more playback devices" that are "configured into a playback group," let alone disclose or suggest a playback group that receives "one or more volume-control messages" via a "network interface" that "the one or more volume-control messages cause the playback group to activate a second volume limit," in combination with the other claim limitations.
Applicant’s above arguments with respect to the claim(s) as amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,898,245. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant set of claims are generally broader version of the patented claims, which anticipate the claimed genus in the application being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. Both the patent and the application are directed toward adjusting volume based on a trigger event, and reverting the volume back to original levels once the trigger event ends.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,437,553. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant set of claims are generally broader version of the patented claims, which anticipate the claimed genus in the application being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. Both the patent and the application are directed toward adjusting volume based on a trigger event, and reverting the volume back to original levels once the trigger event ends.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,789,690. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant set of claims are generally broader version of the patented claims, which anticipate the claimed genus in the application being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. Both the patent and the application are directed toward adjusting volume based on a trigger event, and reverting the volume back to original levels once the trigger event ends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7 – 12, 14 – 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadell et al. (hereinafter Fadell, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0286424) in view of Kraft et al. (hereinafter Kraft, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0382106).
Regarding Claim 1, Fadell discloses:
A control system (e.g. device for volume control; see summary, abstract) comprising:
one or more processors (e.g. processor; [0010]);
a network interface (e.g. communications interface; [0058]; further note communications link and interfaces in Fig. 4 as well); and
tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions encoded therein, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the control system to perform functions (e.g. computer readable medium and program instructions for implementing; [0010]) comprising:
detecting occurrence of a trigger condition, wherein the trigger condition relates to an emergency condition detected by a sensor (e.g. triggering ducking; [0022]; further note detect an indication of an “emergency” siren; [0094]; done using a microphone {“sensor”}; [0021], [0022]);
after an emergency alarm corresponding to the detected trigger condition has been activated (e.g. see step 506 of Fig. 5; further note, configured in response to detection and identification of certain specific sounds... detect an indication of an emergency siren such as from an ambulance or fire truck; [0094]), and while two or more playback devices are configured into a playback group (e.g. note use of one or more bone conduction transducers; [0026]; and Fig. 3 detailing each housing 306 includes a BCT; [0054]-[0057]; in other words two BCTs, or a “group” of BCTs) and playing audio content at a volume level at or below a first volume limit for the playback group (e.g. first audio signal may include, for example, music content that is played back to the user of the device 300 via the BCTs; [0074]; note first volume limit interpreted as the maximum volume the device of Fadell can sustain).
Fadell is not explicit in teaching:
communicate, via the network interface, one or more volume-control messages to the playback group.
Fadell, however, does disclose volume attenuation that is responsive to various triggers, see for example, element 514 of Fig. 5. Fadell also discloses a communication interface used with the Fig. 3 embodiment [0061] that includes a communication link allowing for advance voice control and interaction with applications running on another device [0063]. In essence, it is likely that Fadell communicates some indication of a volume control signal in order to effectuate the volume attention. Nevertheless, Fadell is not explicit in this respect.
In a related field of endeavor (e.g. ambient audio volume compensation), Ganatra discloses:
communicate, via the network interface, one or more volume-control messages to the playback group (e.g. Fadell’s worn device depicted in Fig. 3, now adapted to operate with the features detailed by Kraft’s similar earbud/headphone type device arrangement [0010], [0020], [0028] of Kraft, which is depicted in Fig. 2 and includes a wireless interface 225, much like Fadell’s device, and is configured to transmit and receive audio data via a wireless network as well as parameters for use by the processor to produce digitized process sound; [0034] of Kraft. Kraft’s parameters are applied to the audio to attenuate or increase the volume based on a profile; [0056] of Kraft. Kraft also details how the parameter memory may be distributed between the secondary audio system and a personal computing device coupled to the secondary audio system by a wireless communications link [0062] of Kraft, which provides similar communicative functionality as that of Fig. 4 in Fadell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the features taught by Kraft into the system detailed by Fadell. Both Fadell and Kraft are directed to similar devices, in that they are both worn (e.g. headphones/earbuds; see Fadell Fig. 3 and Kraft at [0028]), they both include communication with a computing device for audio data/information transmission (Fadell Fig. 4, Kraft at [0034 and Figs. 1, 2), and they both are directed to volume adjustment to emphasize or deemphasize sounds according to user preferences (Fadell’s Ducking for attenuating audio [0002], [0082] and Kraft’s attenuation based on parameters [0049], [0056]. Given the substantial overlap and similarity between Fadell and Kraft, and given that it is likely Fadell uses similar techniques for attenuating, but falls short of explicit disclosure, incorporation of the features from one reference to the other would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, adding the features of Kraft to Fadell would have furthered the goals of improving the user’s experience when reproducing audio through selective attenuation, see Fadell at [0008] and [0002]-[0007] by deriving additional benefit from the real-time combination of ambient and secondary audio sources enabling a user to fully experience ambient sound with both its overt and less obvious audio aspects/cues further clarifying, accentuating, or otherwise making the combination more positive/informative, see Kraft [0019], [0020] for a user of Fadell’s system.
Kraft in the combination further discloses:
wherein the one or more volume-control message cause the playback group to activate a second volume limit (e.g. device 300 detects when volume adjustments are desirable and ducks the audio accordingly; [0075], now as modified by the parameters of Kraft as reasoned above), wherein the second volume limit is lower than a volume of the emergency alarm (e.g. responsively duck the first audio signal to increase the user’s aural awareness; [0094]); and
when the volume level is already below the second volume limit, forgoing trigger condition-based volume level changes to the two or more playback devices (e.g. At block 514, responsive to the determination that the second ambient noise is indicative of ambient speech, the device 300 may continue the ducking of the first audio signal; [0087]; in essence, while the first audio signal is being ducked in 510 and a second ambient noise is received and determined to be of interest in 512, the ducking that was initiated earlier in 508 is continued in 514, or simply put, the volume is unchanged).
Regarding Claim 2¸in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell in the combination further discloses:
wherein when the volume level at which the playback group is playing the audio content exceeds the second volume limit (e.g. device 300 detects when volume adjustments are desirable and ducks the audio accordingly; [0075]), causing the playback group to activate the second volume limit additionally causes the playback group to reduce the volume level at which the playback group is playing the audio content to a volume level that is at or below the second volume limit (e.g. detect in the second audio signal an indication of an emergency siren... responsively duck the first audio signal to increase the user's aural awareness; [0094]; See further step 508 of Fig. 5 as well).
Regarding Claim 3¸in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell in the combination further discloses:
wherein the first volume limit is configurable (e.g. user may wish to adjust a volume of the music content that is played back from the first audio signal; [0075]; and/or user may not desire to adjust the volume of their music playback; [0080]), and wherein the second volume limit is configurable (e.g. device is “configured” to duck the first audio signal in response to detection of certain sounds; {0094]).
Regarding Claim 4¸in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell in the combination further discloses:
wherein the functions further comprise: after detecting deactivation of the trigger condition relating to the emergency condition detected by the sensor, causing the playback group to return to the volume level at which the playback group was playing the audio content before activation of the second volume limit (e.g. when the device determines that the conversation has ended, for instance when it detects no ambient speech, it may return the audio content to its original volume; [0023]; device 300 may duck the first audio signal temporarily, such that the first audio signal will eventually resume to its previous playback state; [0083]; note continued ducking unless speech not detected in subsequent paragraphs as well).
Regarding Claim 5, in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell in the combination further discloses:
wherein the volume level is configurable independently of the first volume limit and the second volume limit (e.g. user may wish to adjust a volume of the music content that is played back from the first audio signal; [0075]; and/or user may not desire to adjust the volume of their music playback; [0080]; note ability for user to manually adjust volume and/or play/pause controls of the device; [0095]).
Regarding Claim 7, in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell in the combination further discloses:
wherein the control system comprises one of a smart phone (e.g. mobile phone [0026], [0038], [0061]), tablet (e.g. tablet computer; [0004], [0061]), or network device (e.g. laptop computer, desktop computer; [0061]) configured to control the playback group (see control operations effected by above devices detailed in Fig. 5, and paras [0071]+).
Regarding Claim 8, claim 8 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 9, claim 9 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 2 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 10, claim 10 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 3 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 11, claim 11 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 4 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 12, claim 12 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 5 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 14, claim 14 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 7 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 15, claim 15 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 16, claim 16 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 2 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 17, claim 17 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 3 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 18, claim 18 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 4 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 20, claim 20 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 7 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadell et al. (hereinafter Fadell, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0286424) in view of Kraft et al. (hereinafter Kraft, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0382106) in further view of Ganatra (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0171813).
Regarding Claim 6, in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell in the combination further discloses:
wherein the second volume limit corresponds to a second playback volume that is less than the first playback volume (e.g. ducking the audio corresponds to lowering the volume; [0075]).
The combination, however, fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the playback group is configurable to play audio content at a maximum playback volume, wherein the first volume limit corresponds to a first playback volume that is less than the maximum playback volume.
In a related field of endeavor (e.g. ambient audio volume compensation), Ganatra discloses:
wherein the playback group is configurable to play audio content at a maximum playback volume, wherein the first volume limit corresponds to a first playback volume that is less than the maximum playback volume (e.g. in some cases, the adjustment amount may be subject to a maximum amount such that the output volume ceases to increases in corresponding increases of the intensity of the ambient sound; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate ambient sound compensation with volume limits as taught by Ganatra with the combination of Fadell in view of Kraft, because doing so would have caused the listener's attention to focus on the first category of sounds, and, as such, ought not be concealed or ignored by the listener (e.g., due to interference with the audio) and such that the output volume ceases to increases in corresponding increases of the intensity of the ambient sound ([0033] and [0036] of Ganatra). Additionally, the modification would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art given the substantial overlap and given Kraft details parameters such as an overall maximum or minimum volume as one of the potential parameters; see [0058] of Kraft.
Regarding Claim 13, claim 13 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 6 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 19, claim 19 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claims 5 and 6 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANDREW C FLANDERS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2655