DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,898,245. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant set of claims are generally broader version of the patented claims, which anticipate the claimed genus in the application being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. Both the patent and the application are directed toward adjusting volume based on a trigger event, and reverting the volume back to original levels once the trigger event ends.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,437,553. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant set of claims are generally broader version of the patented claims, which anticipate the claimed genus in the application being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. Both the patent and the application are directed toward adjusting volume based on a trigger event, and reverting the volume back to original levels once the trigger event ends.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,789,690. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant set of claims are generally broader version of the patented claims, which anticipate the claimed genus in the application being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. Both the patent and the application are directed toward adjusting volume based on a trigger event, and reverting the volume back to original levels once the trigger event ends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 7 – 12, 14 – 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fadell et al. (hereinafter Fadell, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0286424).
Regarding Claim 1, Fadell discloses:
A control system (e.g. device for volume control; see summary, abstract) comprising:
one or more processors (e.g. processor; [0010]);
a network interface (e.g. communications interface; [0058]; further note communications link and interfaces in Fig. 4 as well); and
tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions encoded therein, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the control system to perform functions (e.g. computer readable medium and program instructions for implementing; [0010]) comprising:
detecting occurrence of a trigger condition, wherein the trigger condition relates to an emergency condition detected by a sensor (e.g. triggering ducking; [0022]; further note detect an indication of an “emergency” siren; [0094]; done using a microphone {“sensor”}; [0021], [0022]);
after an emergency alarm corresponding to the detected trigger condition has been activated (e.g. see step 506 of Fig. 5; further note, configured in response to detection and identification of certain specific sounds... detect an indication of an emergency siren such as from an ambulance or fire truck; [0094]), and while two or more playback devices are configured into a playback group (e.g. note use of one or more bone conduction transducers; [0026]; and Fig. 3 detailing each housing 306 includes a BCT; [0054]-[0057]; in other words two BCTs, or a “group” of BCTs) and playing audio content at a volume level at or below a first volume limit for the playback group (e.g. first audio signal may include, for example, music content that is played back to the user of the device 300 via the BCTs; [0074]; note first volume limit interpreted as the maximum volume the device of Fadell can sustain), cause the playback group to activate a second volume limit (e.g. device 300 detects when volume adjustments are desirable and ducks the audio accordingly; [0075]), wherein the second volume limit is lower than a volume of the emergency alarm (e.g. responsively duck the first audio signal to increase the user’s aural awareness; [0094]); and
when the volume level is already below the second volume limit, forgoing trigger condition-based volume level changes to the two or more playback devices (e.g. At block 514, responsive to the determination that the second ambient noise is indicative of ambient speech, the device 300 may continue the ducking of the first audio signal; [0087]; in essence, while the first audio signal is being ducked in 510 and a second ambient noise is received and determined to be of interest in 512, the ducking that was initiated earlier in 508 is continued in 514, or simply put, the volume is unchanged).
Regarding Claim 2¸in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell further discloses:
wherein when the volume level at which the playback group is playing the audio content exceeds the second volume limit (e.g. device 300 detects when volume adjustments are desirable and ducks the audio accordingly; [0075]), causing the playback group to activate the second volume limit additionally causes the playback group to reduce the volume level at which the playback group is playing the audio content to a volume level that is at or below the second volume limit (e.g. detect in the second audio signal an indication of an emergency siren... responsively duck the first audio signal to increase the user's aural awareness; [0094]; See further step 508 of Fig. 5 as well).
Regarding Claim 3¸in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell further discloses:
wherein the first volume limit is configurable (e.g. user may wish to adjust a volume of the music content that is played back from the first audio signal; [0075]; and/or user may not desire to adjust the volume of their music playback; [0080]), and wherein the second volume limit is configurable (e.g. device is “configured” to duck the first audio signal in response to detection of certain sounds; {0094]).
Regarding Claim 4¸in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell further discloses:
wherein the functions further comprise: after detecting deactivation of the trigger condition relating to the emergency condition detected by the sensor, causing the playback group to return to the volume level at which the playback group was playing the audio content before activation of the second volume limit (e.g. when the device determines that the conversation has ended, for instance when it detects no ambient speech, it may return the audio content to its original volume; [0023]; device 300 may duck the first audio signal temporarily, such that the first audio signal will eventually resume to its previous playback state; [0083]; note continued ducking unless speech not detected in subsequent paragraphs as well).
Regarding Claim 5, in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell further discloses:
wherein the volume level is configurable independently of the first volume limit and the second volume limit (e.g. user may wish to adjust a volume of the music content that is played back from the first audio signal; [0075]; and/or user may not desire to adjust the volume of their music playback; [0080]; note ability for user to manually adjust volume and/or play/pause controls of the device; [0095]).
Regarding Claim 7, in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell further discloses:
wherein the control system comprises one of a smart phone (e.g. mobile phone [0026], [0038], [0061]), tablet (e.g. tablet computer; [0004], [0061]), or network device (e.g. laptop computer, desktop computer; [0061]) configured to control the playback group (see control operations effected by above devices detailed in Fig. 5, and paras [0071]+).
Regarding Claim 8, claim 8 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 9, claim 9 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 2 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 10, claim 10 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 3 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 11, claim 11 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 4 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 12, claim 12 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 5 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 14, claim 14 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 7 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 15, claim 15 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 16, claim 16 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 2 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 17, claim 17 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 3 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 18, claim 18 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 4 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 20, claim 20 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claim 7 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadell et al. (hereinafter Fadell, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0286424) in view of Ganatra (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0171813).
Regarding Claim 6, in addition to the elements stated above regarding claim 1, Fadell further discloses:
wherein the second volume limit corresponds to a second playback volume that is less than the first playback volume (e.g. ducking the audio corresponds to lowering the volume; [0075]).
Fadell, however, fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the playback group is configurable to play audio content at a maximum playback volume, wherein the first volume limit corresponds to a first playback volume that is less than the maximum playback volume.
In a related field of endeavor (e.g. ambient audio volume compensation), Ganatra discloses:
wherein the playback group is configurable to play audio content at a maximum playback volume, wherein the first volume limit corresponds to a first playback volume that is less than the maximum playback volume (e.g. in some cases, the adjustment amount may be subject to a maximum amount such that the output volume ceases to increases in corresponding increases of the intensity of the ambient sound; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate ambient sound compensation with volume limits as taught by Ganatra with the device of Fadell, because doing so would have caused the listener's attention to focus on the first category of sounds, and, as such, ought not be concealed or ignored by the listener (e.g., due to interference with the audio) and such that the output volume ceases to increases in corresponding increases of the intensity of the ambient sound ([0033] and [0036] of Ganatra).
Regarding Claim 13, claim 13 is directed to the method corresponding to the system presented in claim 6 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Regarding Claim 19, claim 19 is directed to the computer readable medium corresponding to the system presented in claims 5 and 6 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANDREW C FLANDERS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2655